Find companies:
JELD-WEN
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

JELD-WEN Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Service Manager (Former Employee), torontoFebruary 3, 2013
Keeps you busy.Good people to work with.Worked up from service man to service manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical production to delivery door and window outlet.
Class one delivery driver, Production worker (Current Employee), Langley, BCJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: i hour of o/t a day for drivers to eat on the run, day shift weekends off, learning a lot about construction and assembly of doors and door windows.
Cons: slow work periods during the year, handling customer complaints, no designated routes, summer vacation was difficult because of the busy season, commuting fr kerrisdale to langley.
Start 7am. Review documentation with dock workers and assist to load or load truck by myself. Drive two runs a day normally over the lower mainland and Vancouver district area. Drive fork lift and load trucks by had as well. Do production work prepping and assembling of Exterior single pre-hung doors for delivery. Operating various saws and nailers – more... and machinery. Crating of products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged and lack of identifiable chain of command, which unqualified supervisor's create an atmosphere lacking managerial work ethic and morale
laborer (Former Employee), RingtownJune 24, 2014
Cons: management
Working at Jeld-Wen Ringtown for nearly 2 months proved to be the biggest disappointment in the 10 years I worked in a factory setting. First off the interview is conducted by factory higher ups who if are interested in the worker will "talk-up" their company to no end, which will later prove regurgitation would of been better to have come out of their – more... mouths for that long.
When they talk about department heads, line leads, supervisors, etc., they are talking about those on the floor who do nothing to help the employees they expect so much out of for so little. Incentive is not in existence because they will never set a goal possible for reaching, nor will any managers that oversee their floor staff has professional work ethics. It is great to give young people a chance at supervising position, but not when they know nothing about manager positions. The department was unsafe, people on phones when they were supposed to be taking windows off of worker next to them, jumping around line jobs and just causing chaos for the new worker.
It was a very miserable and pathetic excuse for a work environment, no manager with real credentials would consider Ringtown, PA's Jeld-Wen a place that has any possible laborer respect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Factory Worker (Current Employee), Hawkins, WIJune 23, 2014
Loved working here. Great kids and great employees. Hardest part of the job is leaving at the end of the night. It is a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
popular door manufacturer
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee), Rockford, ILJune 21, 2014
good place to work for. To bad they closed the plant. decent hours and decent pay. only downfall was that is was not very well climate controlled
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risk Management
Risk Management Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Klamath Falls, ORMay 17, 2014
Pros: good office experience
Cons: low wages
Worked with staff.
Processed Workman's Compensation Claim Files.
Answered the Telephone.
Take Messages.
Worked with spreadsheets.
Other tasks assigned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cleaner (Former Employee), Sheffield, ENGMay 4, 2014
Pros: great apmosphere
Cons: traveling
great place to work and meeting new people and lovely apmosphere to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked and underpaid
Group Manager (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 22, 2014
Life at Jeld-Wen involves working 12 hr days 6 days a week with no overtime pay or bonus structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company conuosly stiving to be better and more eficiant
Supervisor Chris Hoffman (Current Employee), Yakima, WAApril 17, 2014
Pros: good hours, breaks
Everyday we would stat our day with a quick meeting to put out what we had to get done that day and how much we had. Following that we have a safety topic to briefly go over. Once a week we would have a safety test. After our meeting we would all go out to our areas and get to work. through out the day our supervisors would come by to see where we were – more... in our job that day and to make sure we were working safe. Halfway through the day we would have a half hour lunch break. We would then go back to work until we finished. when we were finished sometimes we would have the option to g hoe or jump on another line to help them finish. This was a team environment that help each other. Safety was very important. It was important for all individuals to be self-motivated and hard working cause a lot of the time we didn't have someone sitting over our shoulders making sure we were getting the job done. I think the best part about this job was the competitiveness between coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Wrap Machine Operator (Former Employee), Rantoul, ILApril 8, 2014
Fast pace, productive, and straightforward on business goals. Open communication between the chain of commands. Hard work doesn't go unacknowledged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new skills every day and how to use those skills.
Back Rip Operator/Finger Jointer Operator/Feeder (Former Employee), Bend, ORMarch 17, 2014
Pros: if you wanted to learn some thing the chace was there.
Cons: most people were there just for a paycheck and not to work.
Do the best you can do with the skills an knowledge you have at that time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good workplace for me that advanced my skills.
Bill of Materials Clerk (Former Employee), Bend, ORFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: internal advancement
Cons: the number of changes in ownership while i was employed there.
This employer brought me from the production floor to a job in Bill of Materials. I developed so many new skills and learned how to connect to different departments through my final position there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
CAD Operator/Warehouse (Former Employee), Gainesville, GAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: got a hour lunch
Cons: management, pay, benefits
Management was terrible. Job was ok. People where ok. the economy crashed this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department: Die Form
C-operator (Former Employee), Towanda, PAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: benefits, stability, pay-day
Cons: swingshift
I really enjoyed this job, great benefits and a good starting salary of $16.01 per hour. In this department you work harder than most other departments. rack boards, swing shift, overtime always available, advancement is somewhat difficult in this department. It's a close family-like department seems there's about 20 employees per shift. The easiest – more... part of the job is the days your doing anything but racking boards. For instance, one day you rack boards the next day you watch boards being cut by a saw which is extremely easy work. Some days you drive forklift and send out production door facings. Hardest part of the job is dealing with the heat in the summer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only thing i liked were the co-workers
forklift operator (Former Employee), Wyoming, MIFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: co-worker free filtered water
Cons: short breaks, no outside life, poorly managed, work 5-7 days a week, poorly made doors.
They cannot meet production needs for customers. if production are not met they make you work an extra hour a day plus saturdays and maybe sundays. Their production needs are way to high..example:they want to cut 5000 doors a night with one saw where an average it may cut 3400 if it doesnt break down including special ordered doors. Very unorganized, – more... if OSHA would walk in there..it would be shut down in a heart beat. When I was taking forklift test i seen over 100,000 dollars worth of fines.They do not care about their employees. They ship out damaged doors to customers and they already shut one plant down in VA, so this is not a secure place to work. Poorly managed, poor equipment, poor environment. Plus they go through a temp service which is professional staffing so DO NOT APPLY...OR BUY THEIR PRODUCT i seen how they make them and its very poor quality made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi National company built on manufacturing locally, in an enviroment that is not conjusive to manufacturing
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Western Suburbs MelbourneDecember 26, 2013
Pros: multi national company
Cons: technologically deficient
Large Multi National company with potential to control market place, but lacked vision and know how to control market. Market forces where imported and price driven. Product similar making JELD-WEN just part of the pack (death in the middle). computer aided programmes where owned by JELD-WEN however not utilised and licences has lapsed. This would have – more... been able to improve productivity by up to 50%, there by improving work life balance.
Logistics and manufacturing at peak in current environment.
Returning home every day after 8 hours on the road and hand drawing quotes and emailing prior to next day could take up to four and five hours extra per night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A FAMILY WORK RELATED ENVIRONMENT
OFFICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Pataskala, OHDecember 3, 2013
ONE OF THE BEST PLACES I HAVE EVER WORKED. I LEARNED HOW TO DO SO MANY OFFICE FUNCTIONS AS WELL AS MAKE DOORS. CO WORKERS AND MANAGEMENT ARE VERY WELL NATURED.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Overall everyone is there to enjoy work and the people around them.
laborer (Current Employee), Rocklin, CANovember 21, 2013
4 of 5. Good complany that has some tough times with slow work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going to work and felling a sense of accomplishment
Line Lead (Former Employee), Ringtown, PANovember 4, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: lack of job knowledge by management
My work day would would consist of planning a way to complete schedule's and supplying the material needed to work in an efficient manor. Learned how to be a leader and the workings of a production plant. I didn't feel all the manager's were giving their all to help the employee's do the job requested of them. There were a lot of employee's that were – more... just there for a paycheck and that was hard at times. Meeting new and interesting people I would say was the most enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jeld-Wen Values Employees
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Klamath Falls, OROctober 18, 2013
JELD-WEN managers listen to their employees by soliciting their feedback on various work-related issues.

1 2 3

About JELD-WEN

JELD-WEN's business strategy is open and shut. A leading maker of windows and doors, the company offers aluminum, vinyl, and wood – Read more