Find companies:
JELD-WEN
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

JELD-WEN Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Service Manager (Former Employee), torontoFebruary 3, 2013
Keeps you busy.Good people to work with.Worked up from service man to service manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical production to delivery door and window outlet.
Class one delivery driver, Production worker (Current Employee), Langley, BCJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: i hour of o/t a day for drivers to eat on the run, day shift weekends off, learning a lot about construction and assembly of doors and door windows.
Cons: slow work periods during the year, handling customer complaints, no designated routes, summer vacation was difficult because of the busy season, commuting fr kerrisdale to langley.
Start 7am. Review documentation with dock workers and assist to load or load truck by myself. Drive two runs a day normally over the lower mainland and Vancouver district area. Drive fork lift and load trucks by had as well. Do production work prepping and assembling of Exterior single pre-hung doors for delivery. Operating various saws and nailers – more... and machinery. Crating of products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in manufacturing
Forklift Operator/Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee), Ozark, ALDecember 14, 2014
Pros: at least 40 hrs per week
Cons: no advancement.
Working in manufacturing is a fast paced and sometimes slow paced line of work. There is not a lot of chance for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Quality Control Inspector Trim-Saw (Current Employee), Rocklin, CANovember 22, 2014
Pros: working 4 days full-time, environment, co-workers, pay plus great benefits.
Cons: very short breaks, no hour lunch, repetitive work load.
I have learned a lot about the business of door manufacturing. It's rather interesting to see the finished product everyday. Typical day is a repetitive experience. It's a kind of job you get really good at within a few months. The co-workers are easy to get along with like at any other place. A very diverse work force to say the least, we have different – more... ethnic groups through out the plant. Management is very competent and concerned about the safety of their team. Hardest part of the job is the breaking in period, theres a certain level of fatigue involved that you have to get used to. Overall Jeld-Wen is a good place to work with some advancement opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but felt a little like a dead end
Laborer (Former Employee), Stayton, ORNovember 18, 2014
Pros: good co-workers, good benefits, and a clean safe environment.
Cons: most supervisors are hired straight from college and don't have a clue what they're doing.
Start to finish it wasn't a bad place to work. I learned much about making windows and sliding doors. Management was a little clumsy and tended to want everyone to bend to their way which was more difficult. Management was also changed around almost bi-weekly. Co-workers were great, the hardest part was the number crunch, goals were set a little high – more... for the speed of the equipment and people. I really enjoyed the people I worked with, they made it worth it to go back day after day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jeld-Wen Work Day
Coordinating Group Manager (Former Employee), Bend, ORNovember 14, 2014
Pros: working with my employees, getting to know them, and reaching all department weekly goals!
Cons: missing my employees. they were great employees!
I worked in management in JELD-WEN for almost 18 years. I oversaw multiple departments and employees throughout the years. Although demanding and every changing work environment, I really enjoyed my position. I enjoyed working with all my workers to reach the weekly goals. They believed in me and I appreciated all their efforts they gave each and everyday – more... to be successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great people to work with
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Bend, OROctober 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: wish we got more overtime
since I've been employed here I have been treated great, management listens to you're concerns and they care about your well being and also you're safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place.
Dock Worker/Labeler (Former Employee), Potsville PAAugust 22, 2014
Full time worker.
1st Shift 6:45 to 2:45
I've learned a lot about the trucking industury while working with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid rural corporation
Group Manager-LFI (long-fiber injection) (Former Employee), Chiloquin, ORAugust 19, 2014
Love the small town nature of all production facilities. Promotes family recruitment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Group Manager (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FL.August 11, 2014
Pros: gave opportunities to learn the hard ways and best ways in most situtations
Cons: constantly looked like a bad guy to line employees, company culture was top down and led to some unhappiness in the facility.
Long hours, but were productive and experiential.

I learned to maintain my patience and gained the understanding that everyone is motivated differently.

Managed multiple processes and groups of people.

Gained multiple different perspectives/outlooks in various situations. Learned to work closely with upstream personnel, processes and products.

Trying – more... to understand and implement the evolving and rapidly changing desires of upper management.

Challenging myself and my group to remain flexible and adaptable in the face of evolving needs/commands and overcoming them.

At the end of the day, my time spent at JELD-WEN was great! It helped me grow up and experience real working life. It has shaped me into who I am and I appreciated everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on quality improvements while reducing manufacturing costs
R&D Special Projects Manager (Former Employee), Towanda, PAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: the people at the plant.
Cons: corporate policy
Excellent workforce at the plant where I was situated.
Excellent quality control / quality assurance system in place.
Continuous improvement activities were always going on.
Team work and multifunctional task teams were the norm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Lay up Line, Paint Line, Utilities (Former Employee), Sulphur Springs, TXJuly 30, 2014
Pros: benifits
Steady work place and positive management as well as employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged and lack of identifiable chain of command, which unqualified supervisor's create an atmosphere lacking managerial work ethic and morale
laborer (Former Employee), RingtownJune 24, 2014
Cons: management
Working at Jeld-Wen Ringtown for nearly 2 months proved to be the biggest disappointment in the 10 years I worked in a factory setting. First off the interview is conducted by factory higher ups who if are interested in the worker will "talk-up" their company to no end, which will later prove regurgitation would of been better to have come out of their – more... mouths for that long.
When they talk about department heads, line leads, supervisors, etc., they are talking about those on the floor who do nothing to help the employees they expect so much out of for so little. Incentive is not in existence because they will never set a goal possible for reaching, nor will any managers that oversee their floor staff has professional work ethics. It is great to give young people a chance at supervising position, but not when they know nothing about manager positions. The department was unsafe, people on phones when they were supposed to be taking windows off of worker next to them, jumping around line jobs and just causing chaos for the new worker.
It was a very miserable and pathetic excuse for a work environment, no manager with real credentials would consider Ringtown, PA's Jeld-Wen a place that has any possible laborer respect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Factory Worker (Current Employee), Hawkins, WIJune 23, 2014
Loved working here. Great kids and great employees. Hardest part of the job is leaving at the end of the night. It is a great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
popular door manufacturer
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee), Rockford, ILJune 21, 2014
good place to work for. To bad they closed the plant. decent hours and decent pay. only downfall was that is was not very well climate controlled
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Risk Management
Risk Management Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Klamath Falls, ORMay 17, 2014
Pros: good office experience
Cons: low wages
Worked with staff.
Processed Workman's Compensation Claim Files.
Answered the Telephone.
Take Messages.
Worked with spreadsheets.
Other tasks assigned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cleaner (Former Employee), Sheffield, ENGMay 4, 2014
Pros: great apmosphere
Cons: traveling
great place to work and meeting new people and lovely apmosphere to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked and underpaid
Group Manager (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 22, 2014
Life at Jeld-Wen involves working 12 hr days 6 days a week with no overtime pay or bonus structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company conuosly stiving to be better and more eficiant
Supervisor Chris Hoffman (Current Employee), Yakima, WAApril 17, 2014
Pros: good hours, breaks
Everyday we would stat our day with a quick meeting to put out what we had to get done that day and how much we had. Following that we have a safety topic to briefly go over. Once a week we would have a safety test. After our meeting we would all go out to our areas and get to work. through out the day our supervisors would come by to see where we were – more... in our job that day and to make sure we were working safe. Halfway through the day we would have a half hour lunch break. We would then go back to work until we finished. when we were finished sometimes we would have the option to g hoe or jump on another line to help them finish. This was a team environment that help each other. Safety was very important. It was important for all individuals to be self-motivated and hard working cause a lot of the time we didn't have someone sitting over our shoulders making sure we were getting the job done. I think the best part about this job was the competitiveness between coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Wrap Machine Operator (Former Employee), Rantoul, ILApril 8, 2014
Fast pace, productive, and straightforward on business goals. Open communication between the chain of commands. Hard work doesn't go unacknowledged.

1 2 3 4

About JELD-WEN

JELD-WEN's business strategy is open and shut. A leading maker of windows and doors, the company offers aluminum, vinyl, and wood – Read more