Find companies:
JDSU
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

JDSU Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and good team work
Quality Control Inspector and Trainer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: lots of over time:-)
Cons: most time you can't say no to overtime;-)
I enjoy working with many people and good team member. No pressure from Management as long as we finished our work. good benefit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Assembler (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 15, 2014
ITS NOT THERE ANY MORE
NO MRE
NO MORE
EXCELENT WORK PLACE . IT WOULD BE NICE IF THE COMPONY STAY THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Fibre Optic Component Assembler FLC (Former Employee), Nepean, ONAugust 7, 2013
Make your Quota of the day

Try not to have too many defects on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
IT Analyst Level 2 (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 8, 2013
Duties and Responsibilities:
Responsible for maintain and troubleshoot thousands of computers in JDSU, administrate Active Directory server, Exchange server.  Maintain and troubleshoot corporation network (routers and switches). Troubleshoot and support Cisco VOIP call center systems, including Cisco unified communications manager, Cisco Emergency Responder, – more... Cisco Unity Connection, Cisco IP Communicator etc.
Deploy, administrate and maintain various software and applications such as Lotus Notes, Oracle, VPN and many other systems is also a key component of this position. Closely work with the other teams such as Desktop service, transport, Messaging and coordinate the tasks which need multiple groups be involved. Do incidents management daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirnment.
Assmbler (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 9, 2013
Pros: very good company with a fair treatment to all workers.
Cons: sitting for long hours.
Working with JDSU, was really a rich experince that I gained a lot. I worked as a an assmbler, testing microscopic devices. The team was really helpful and very friendly, my co-workers were really nice and fun to work with. The management was approachable most of the time to all workers. I learned how to work and meet deadlines all the time, coping – more... with stress sometimes helped me being a better worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Centric
Hardware Manager, WaveReady Products (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 20, 2013
Typical High Tech atmosphere without the upside benefits for most people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working in a fast paced environment
Assembler (Former Employee), ottawaJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: attend seminars
Cons: irregular hours
Making center pieces in a repetitive manner, working with friendly and energetic team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management !!
Sales (Former Employee), MilpitasJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: learn about tech
Cons: bad management, people are always stress because job security.
there is no managers experience on this company, they think making an ITIL training is all the need to become a manager,
Managers make you feel you are a horrible person and do head games a lot.
Pay is ok, could be better, for Salary rate increase, you need to go to Anual Review, Managers make all possible with Excuses and Stuff you did all year to – more... give you low rate and show Head office, its cheap labour and good Job, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lens and connector
QUALITY CONTROLLER (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 18, 2012
worked with different products and connectors that were used in the manufacture of humidifier systems and was responsible for training new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed very much working at JDS Uniphase
Assembler, Quality control, Document control (Former Employee), Nepean, Ottawa, ON, CanadaAugust 26, 2012
Pros: lots of activities, fun time for all employees, & good benefits
Cons: cant really find one
I did assembling and testing of products (fiber optics)
MRB- Material Report board with damaged or failled product report & did Quality control.The last year prior the layoff got the opportunity to work in Document Control wich I enjoyed very much. JDS gave me a lot of opportunities to explore & learn in manufacture facility...to understand to connection – more... between each departement, able to collaborate with others to ensure sucessful accomplishments,strong analytical skill and the ability to see both the big picture and critical details....The hardest part of the job was learning new department process & expectation,but as time goes by it gets easier. The most enjoyable part of the job was the new challenge of the day & the people all around were very friendly, helpful & fun to interact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembler/Operator (Former Employee), Nepean, ONAugust 13, 2012
Busy all the time. Learn how to handle the fiber optics carefully. How the fiber or where will be the fiber optics to be use for. Management are well organized. Interacted and worked well to co-workers with different cultures. The most enjoyable part of the job is the production that you have contribute at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 31, 2014
• Inspect dimensional of incoming parts by using caliper, micrometer, pin gages, drop gages, go-no go gages, ROI machine…
• Able to read and understand drawings, specifications and sample plans.
• First Article Inspection
• Prepare paperwork prior to inspecting parts
• Set up and inspecting parts by using CMM machine (MicroVu Vertex 320) , Quick Vision – more... system and Instron machine
• Record the inspection results as required
• Cross training other inspectors
• Record inspection time and lot of inspection into IQC log book – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging company to work for with opportunity to keep current with new technologies
Americas Manager/Engineer Fiberoptics (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: compensation was excellent
Cons: too many layers of management not enough field staff
My work day varied and included both office and travel requirements. When in office, review Salesforce opportunities and/or interact remotely with sales and/or customers to provide technical support via webex, email or creation of training material. Management implements new processes annually and change and reorganization occurs frequently. My co-workers – more... work hard but due to the fact that we all work remotely, miscommunication occurs frequently. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers resolve network issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JDS Uniphase
Customer Service / TAC Support (Former Employee), Germantown, MDMarch 14, 2014
Pros: oracle
Cons: change in business model
1 of the finest positions I have served. Met great people both internally & externally. Trained on products & simple business model.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, great co-workers
Senior Secretary/Document Controller II (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits, flexibility and supportive culture.
Cons: i thoroughly enjoyed every single day.
I was a regular FT employee with JDSU for almost 12 years when I was laid off the first time. I loved my job as a Document Controller II and Learning System Administrator. I worked alongside the Quality Manager and many Engineers, Planners, Sales, etc. and all of them were quick to answer questions, teach me new skills and to share whatever knowledge – more... they had. Excellent learning culture and awesome co-workers at that time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Key to success: flexability and a broad range of knowledge and skills
Client Services Program Manager - Telecomms Test (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: company in contraction.
JDSU is a company based on mergers and acquisitions. JDSU acquired Agilent Technology's Network Solutions Division in May 2010. At that time Agilent was the leader in Access7 solutions. There were 10 project managers servicing customers in North America. By January, 2014 JDSU has fallen to number 4 in Access7 solutions. JDSU now has 3 project managers – more... in North America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional reputation for providing technical support and training to diverse groups by providing successful trouble-shooting and problem solving
Sr. Mechanical CAD Designer R&D Engineering (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAJanuary 25, 2014
·Create layouts of precise optical modules & stages
·Document and release project system designs in SolidWorks-07
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subpar
Optical Electronics Test Engineer (Current Employee), Bloomfield, CTJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: incentive programs, workload, employee moral
Day to day tasks include sustaining production, building and repairing test stations, troubleshooting issues on production and all other stations. Company organization is poor and disorganized. Amount of work is lacking, as of late.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging Place to work
Hazardous Materials & Waste Technician II (Current Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: i am able to preform my daily duties without supervision
Cons: the lack of cross training to learn and perform other job duties
Daily, Environmental Regulatory Compliance, Documented Inspections.

I have learned a lot about Wastewater Treatment Systems, pH probe calibrations and wastewater monitoring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sub assembler
Assembler (Former Employee), san joseJanuary 10, 2014
to build blocks for wirebonding requirements on fiber optics,by using equipment evaporation sputterring,degreaser and plamsa etcher. infrared belt furnace to attached preform.laser products build lens thg shg.digitalcam measurements.using different kinds of glues.curing thru oven and solder and inspect.

1 2 3

About JDSU

JDSU serves markets that are at the heart of what’s important, making virtually every network in the world faster and more – Read more