Find companies:
JDSU
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

JDSU Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall work
Assembler (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 6, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: lunch to short
Well a typical day is building product, I've learn lots of hand and eye coordination and eye for details as well as working in a team environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and good team work
Quality Control Inspector and Trainer (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: lots of over time:-)
Cons: most time you can't say no to overtime;-)
I enjoy working with many people and good team member. No pressure from Management as long as we finished our work. good benefit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Assembler (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 15, 2014
ITS NOT THERE ANY MORE
NO MRE
NO MORE
EXCELENT WORK PLACE . IT WOULD BE NICE IF THE COMPONY STAY THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Fibre Optic Component Assembler FLC (Former Employee), Nepean, ONAugust 7, 2013
Make your Quota of the day

Try not to have too many defects on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
IT Analyst Level 2 (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 8, 2013
Duties and Responsibilities:
Responsible for maintain and troubleshoot thousands of computers in JDSU, administrate Active Directory server, Exchange server.  Maintain and troubleshoot corporation network (routers and switches). Troubleshoot and support Cisco VOIP call center systems, including Cisco unified communications manager, Cisco Emergency Responder, – more... Cisco Unity Connection, Cisco IP Communicator etc.
Deploy, administrate and maintain various software and applications such as Lotus Notes, Oracle, VPN and many other systems is also a key component of this position. Closely work with the other teams such as Desktop service, transport, Messaging and coordinate the tasks which need multiple groups be involved. Do incidents management daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly envirnment.
Assmbler (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 9, 2013
Pros: very good company with a fair treatment to all workers.
Cons: sitting for long hours.
Working with JDSU, was really a rich experince that I gained a lot. I worked as a an assmbler, testing microscopic devices. The team was really helpful and very friendly, my co-workers were really nice and fun to work with. The management was approachable most of the time to all workers. I learned how to work and meet deadlines all the time, coping – more... with stress sometimes helped me being a better worker. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Centric
Hardware Manager, WaveReady Products (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 20, 2013
Typical High Tech atmosphere without the upside benefits for most people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working in a fast paced environment
Assembler (Former Employee), ottawaJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: attend seminars
Cons: irregular hours
Making center pieces in a repetitive manner, working with friendly and energetic team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lens and connector
QUALITY CONTROLLER (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 18, 2012
worked with different products and connectors that were used in the manufacture of humidifier systems and was responsible for training new employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed very much working at JDS Uniphase
Assembler, Quality control, Document control (Former Employee), Nepean, Ottawa, ON, CanadaAugust 26, 2012
Pros: lots of activities, fun time for all employees, & good benefits
Cons: cant really find one
I did assembling and testing of products (fiber optics)
MRB- Material Report board with damaged or failled product report & did Quality control.The last year prior the layoff got the opportunity to work in Document Control wich I enjoyed very much. JDS gave me a lot of opportunities to explore & learn in manufacture facility...to understand to connection – more... between each departement, able to collaborate with others to ensure sucessful accomplishments,strong analytical skill and the ability to see both the big picture and critical details....The hardest part of the job was learning new department process & expectation,but as time goes by it gets easier. The most enjoyable part of the job was the new challenge of the day & the people all around were very friendly, helpful & fun to interact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembler/Operator (Former Employee), Nepean, ONAugust 13, 2012
Busy all the time. Learn how to handle the fiber optics carefully. How the fiber or where will be the fiber optics to be use for. Management are well organized. Interacted and worked well to co-workers with different cultures. The most enjoyable part of the job is the production that you have contribute at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with too much company politics
Director (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: good diversity and benefits
Cons: work hours and company politics
It makes sense to have stretched goals and objectives, but it seems management is stretching the teams way too thin and setting unrealistic goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very good job. Was able to work independently and also with teams.
Enginering Technician (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTJuly 17, 2014
One of the best places I had worked for. Great work atmosphere and management. All co-workers were helpful and all worked well together. Company became a victim of the dot-com bust in 2000 and was forced to scale back drastically. Was very sad to lose that job. Best job I ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Lead (Current Employee), Bloomfield, CTJuly 15, 2014
I lead/manage 13 coworkers on what product needs to get done out on the floor.
I multitask on any machine or telescope if someone is out
get reports done
I have my supervisor or manager operation telling what needs to get done by the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Industry
Customer Care Rep (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 1, 2014
Pros: pay, culture
Cons: outsourcing, loss of jobs
JDSU is a very interesting company to work for. Being a global corporation, the learning potential was endless. Working closely with different cultures to obtain the same goal can be quit rewarding. They offer a competitive salary with great benefits. Including domestic partnership insurance coverage options.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee), Milpitas, CAJune 9, 2014
Great place to work, people are excellent, management is laid back, I would recommended JDSU to a friend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Process Development and Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), marylandMay 29, 2014
Busy long days but great people to work with. I would recommend this place to others without delay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice environment to work, break room has ping pong table for employee to play on break time.
FIBER INTERFACE TECHNICIAN III (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAMay 22, 2014
Pros: flexible working hour
Cons: no free lunch on weekend shift
very nice environment to work, break room has ping pong table for employee to play on break time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 31, 2014
• Inspect dimensional of incoming parts by using caliper, micrometer, pin gages, drop gages, go-no go gages, ROI machine…
• Able to read and understand drawings, specifications and sample plans.
• First Article Inspection
• Prepare paperwork prior to inspecting parts
• Set up and inspecting parts by using CMM machine (MicroVu Vertex 320) , Quick Vision – more... system and Instron machine
• Record the inspection results as required
• Cross training other inspectors
• Record inspection time and lot of inspection into IQC log book – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging company to work for with opportunity to keep current with new technologies
Americas Manager/Engineer Fiberoptics (Former Employee), Milpitas, CAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: compensation was excellent
Cons: too many layers of management not enough field staff
My work day varied and included both office and travel requirements. When in office, review Salesforce opportunities and/or interact remotely with sales and/or customers to provide technical support via webex, email or creation of training material. Management implements new processes annually and change and reorganization occurs frequently. My co-workers – more... work hard but due to the fact that we all work remotely, miscommunication occurs frequently. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers resolve network issues. – less

1 2 3 4

About JDSU

JDSU serves markets that are at the heart of what’s important, making virtually every network in the world faster and more – Read more