Find companies:
Jacobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
365 reviews

Jacobs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy, busy Day
Lead Project Admin (Former Employee), Texas City, TexasMay 2, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: had to leave
Jacobs Engineering was a great company to work for!! I worked in the home office and in field in Texas CIty. I was Lead Project Secretary so I was involved in many things, but my main job was assisting the Director. The hardest part was being "Mom" to 250 team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract was joint venture between Jacobs and Mercury Eng which worked majority of contract due good communication.
Mechanical Inspector (Former Employee), Corrib Gas plantApril 30, 2014
Pros: free and healthy canteen, golf section
Cons: no work on site most weekends
A typical day would normally involve Generating Piping test packs ,witnessing pressure tests,walking down and punching piping systems ,and keeping flange management records up to date.
I learned that good open communication between management and contractors is essential to complete systems in designated time scale.
The hardest part of job was when – more... systems were presented to punch late prior to Tri party walk down causing postponement of walk down to complete any punch list items.
The most enjoyable part of job was most fellow workers tried to work as part of a team to complete Test Packs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Process Engineer-II (Current Employee), houstonApril 28, 2014
Pros: good work schedule
Cons: least focus on employee
-political environment.
-least focus on employees.
-good work schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and great learning opportunities
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 26, 2014
Mid management down is full of great people who work hard to help you grow and care about you as a person. Truly enjoyed my time there and learn allot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs offers a fast paced environment to develop your skills.
Project Engineer (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 22, 2014
I enjoy being part of the Jacob's team working toward helping our clients reach their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A few months on the job...
Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
Pros: flexible hours for start/finish of work day.
Cons: work assignment could require placement outside home office
Jacobs is quick to hire in anticipation of work and quick to layoff when there is little work. Makes me very uncomfortable about my longevity with the company.

The hardest part of the job... not having any idea what management will do next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Corporate Environment
SQL Server Database Administrator (Former Employee), Oak Ridge, TNApril 21, 2014
Pros: remote work available; 4 and 1/2 day work week
I worked seven months as a contract database administrator at Jacobs Engineering. It was, without a doubt, one of the single most positive work experiences of my life.

Jacobs adheres to a policy of safety and work/life balance to which they do not just give "lip service."
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work saftey practice
Maintenance Contractor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 16, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: hours
The training was always very informational. Also it helped grow as a processor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer. Wish I had never left
Technician (Former Employee), Albany, GAApril 13, 2014
Pros: great environment.
Jacobs is a tremendous company that I wish I was still with. The only thing that pulled me away was the draw of owning my own business.

Jacobs is upfront about their values as a company, their core values, and it's part of why the company has been successful. They offered a good rate of pay, challenging work that wasn't beyond one's capabilities, and – more... an all around great environment.

I hope to find some way back into Jacobs in the near future since my business fell due to the poor economy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work with constantly new things to learn
Administrative Assistant/HSE Support (Current Employee), Elkview, WVApril 9, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: sometimes work slows down
A typical day goes by quickly because there is plenty of work to do.
I have learned support for Project Management, Safety Management and Team Work.
Management is varied with many personalities to add to the flavor of the job.
Co-workers are reliable and dependable.
The hardest part of the job is folding the Drawings.
The most enjoyable part of the – more... job is the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to be a team member of.
Elect. Inspector; Commissioning Specialist; Q/A . (Former Employee), NYC/DCApril 9, 2014
Jacobs is a great company with great people. Offered many types of opportunities in PM/QC projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Opportunities
IT Systems Manager (Current Employee), Livermore, CAApril 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: benefits somewhat lacking
Routine IT Management, working with a wide variety of industry and technical professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought I had job security after 8 years but did not
Office manager, all word processing duties (Former Employee), Norcross, GAApril 8, 2014
Did not appreciate being forced to take a week of my vacation time (which I had not accumulated) at Christmas. A little notice would have been nice in order to accumulate some time. As it was we were notified of this at Thanksgiving. My PTO went into the negative and was hard to build it back up to positive hours. We had no choice in the matter. No – more... consideration to employees at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be stressful
Senior Contracts Administrator/Project Accountant (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 4, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: location
Company is great to work for.
Awesome compensation.
Long hours and can be stressful at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Starter
Ecologist (Current Employee), CardiffApril 3, 2014
A new starter at the moment so unable to give an accurate review at this time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PIPING DESIGNER - PDMS
PDMS PIPING DESIGNER (Current Employee), MumbaiMarch 30, 2014
PDMS- Design: Piping, Equipment, Hangers and Supports.
Detailing of piping in PDMS ver 12.0 as per codes and standards.
Modeling of Equipments such as Pumps, Heat Exchanger, Vessels, Tanks.
Nozzle orientation of Equipments and Study Phase routings of piping.
Extraction of Isometrics & checking wrt to P & ID, PMS, Instrumentation details and Project – more... Design Basis standards.
Clash check, consistency check and resolving comments in model.
Follow through with P& ID, PMS, Valve Data Sheet, Special parts Data sheet, Instrument Hook-Up.
Modeling of Hanger and support model as per given stress isos in PDMS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project review every week.
Senior Piping Checker (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: free launch on job meeting.
Cons: short breaks
Co worker are friendly and cooperating with the job assignment.
Learned more on PDS 3d piping modeling and checking.
Group meeting on the job progress report.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Superintendant Clerk (Former Employee), Morenci, AZMarch 25, 2014
I greatly enjoyed working with a variety of people in all faucets of the company. I learned a great deal from this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. They really took care of their employees.
Frontline Supervisor (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: there was always something to do.
Cons: the company shut their doors.
Drove around in company truck from site to site. Assisted welders, Chevron operators and any other operators that were on the job site. Helped with shut downs on gauge settings and refineries. Worked in confined spaces. I really enjoyed my co-workers and management. They hardest part of my job was going under air with a gas mask. The best part of my – more... job was repairing the compressor sites and replacing the valves. Basically, working with my hands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good engineering company, most of the employee are profissional
Control System Engineer V (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 20, 2014
I feel happy during my work in the Jacobs, i learned and updated my knowledge with working with professional engineer.

About Jacobs

Jacobs Engineering fuels its rise up the ladder with oil, gas, and chemicals. The group provides technical, professional,¬†and – Read more