Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 162 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly stressful, yet rewarding job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB13 January 2017
A typical day at work would be somewhat planned according to preventative maintenance scheduled work. Workers would also be on call for any situation or unscheduled work that came up.

I became very knowledgeable in industrial maintenance and in the general operations of a refinery. I also worked with tools, equipment, and warehousing.

The management was somewhat antiquated and unwilling to conform to standard practices.

My co workers were also very experienced and hard working.

The hardest part of my job was the highway travel to and from work

The best part of my job was the people and the experience I gained from my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great learning to be had. Foreman has little to no epeirance in this line of work and it shows
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 January 2017
Great shop, well equipt, workers are great. Foreman and upper management do not make the job worth it, however. Foreman adds pressure on trivial jobs and is not confident on serious jobs. Pressure shows and is unable to handle it.
Pros
Great for learning.
Cons
High pressure from foreman with lack of expirance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Structural Design Specialist (Current Employee) –  calgary30 December 2016
This is a good company to work but currently there is no work and a lots of layoffs are happening.
There are a lot of good, skilled people with a lot of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Jr. Project Controls (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 December 2016
Great team work and mentorship as required. Excellent work place and benefits.

I was kept up to date on the projects I was working on. Help was never denied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 December 2016
Company with a branch plant mentality and not promoting from within. Singularly focused on profit without motivation to create best financial deal for clients.
Pros
salary ok
Cons
employees are simply profit centers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality deliverables
Mechanical Engineering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2016
In Jacobs, the engineering deliverables to client is well maintained high.
Engineers are working hard to meet client's requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very pleasant work place.
1st Year Scaffloder (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB16 December 2016
I enjoyed my duration with jacobs and believe they are a good employer to work for. They are unpunctual and they explain what you need to do very clear.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
project accounting contract
Contractor, Project Accounting (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2016
High volume spreadsheet processing and analysis. high volume filing and other duties by managers. mostly worked on auditing files, year end preparation
Pros
nice environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Intermediate Field Accountant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 December 2016
Good place to work.
Good Management.
Excellent co-workers.
Fair Salary/Benefits.
High loads of work.
Overall rating 4/5.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs Canada
Senior Contract Specialist (Former Employee) –  Alberta, Canada9 December 2016
Good Work life balance. Work 9 hours per day with the added benefit of having the second Friday off after you accrue work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cold
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Come By Chance, NL29 November 2016
Cold and wet weather for most of the time. Long hours and very little parking .but the people were great to work with. Learned a lot when I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional, EPC philosophy, full of opportunities and challenges
Project Controls Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 November 2016
The day at work is enjoyable. Multiple projects that offers opportunities to learned. People is very friendly and you can enjoy a good coffee in Jacobs cafetiere.
Jacobs facilities are open from Monday to Sunday so you can achieve your professional goals and enjoy good family time
Pros
Big company, easy to work there
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the diverse background of employees
H&S Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 November 2016
Really enjoyed interacting with all personnel on site, from the client (Shell) to various other contractors. Every day was a learning experience; challenging at times when issues arose but I was always able to call on my supervisor for guidance and direction.
I would not hesitate to work for Jacobs again should the opportunity arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs is the best
Principal Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 November 2016
I worked for this company almost 10 years, and year by year I felt it is my home. The work environmet, culture, ease of obtaining technical documents and resorces were excellent.
Pros
Fun, Energetic colleague
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Senior Piping Designer & checker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 November 2016
This is leading Engineering procurement and construction company in areas of oil and gas. Company has presence in multiple countries and has clients like CNRL, SUNCOR, Saudi ARMCO.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamork
Manager of Project Accounting Field Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 October 2016
Jacobs had to be the best example of team work that I have ever seen. Team members would actively seek out to help other team members when their work duties allowed it rather than sitting with nothing to do. This was a top down management style where everyone was prepared to pitch in to ensure monthly deadlines and requirements were met. Team members actively coached and mentored other team members by sharing knowledge, job skills and experience.
Pros
work environment
Cons
Drive to job location from residence
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Sr Subcontracts Specialist, JFSL/NWR Project (Current Employee) –  Redwater, AB17 October 2016
Great home office management .support for field staff. As a previous employee I was happy to return. As this type of work is project based, it eventually comes to an end and in this current work environment no future opportunities are available with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and dynamic place to work.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 October 2016
Majority of the work is project oriented with tight deadliness and strict budgets. Lots of noon hour learning sessions given on industry concepts (for example: heavy oil production). The concept of relationship based contracts takes away the antagonistic attitudes of clients so they are genuinely fun to work with.
Pros
Good project leadership. Lots of parking at Quarry Park location.
Cons
None come to mind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitask
Drafter/Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 October 2016
Good place to work. You must be multitask, ability to switch work very quickly. Nice environment. Learning new standards, possibility to interact with other companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 October 2016
working at Jacobs is the besting in my life because all of my co-workers there are very polite and friendly, they always smiling at you specially my Piping Department Manager.
Pros
nice place to work
Cons
long hours but enjoying
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,663 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8