Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Ft. McMurry19 July 2017
Tools were not readily available.
Poor set up of tools and equipment at work location.
No set schedule.
Worked with some great guys, true professional's who got job done despite obstacles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Manager/ Highways and Infrastructures (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada22 June 2017
This is a great company to work in. Highly professional and very clean workplace. All colleauges are one team and helping each other. Everyone is participating positively in work assignments.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 June 2017
tool box talk
daily issues concerning const
things to improve on
safety is paramount
the hardest part is there is none
the most enjoyable is the the production of the site .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an Ok place to work
Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
It's an ok place to work. The people were nice.

There was an attempt to give more culture to the company.

The location was really nice. Not downtown and very convenient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and hours
Health Safety & Environment Supervisor (shutdown) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 June 2017
Was only a contract and I regret not trying harder to stay around. I was young an naive. Constantly trying to get back. If you get hired, learn from my mistake!
Pros
2 free meals per shift
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
IM Lead & Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2017
The Jacobs "culture of caring", its focus on safety, great department managers have all been great assets and measures of success. It was a real pleasure to work there for ten years.
Pros
A welcoming, friendly open environment.
Cons
Limited upward/sideways movement opportunities. It has become more political in the past few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
HSE Supervisor and Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 May 2017
My time with Jacobs was very educational. I learned a lot as they gave me the opportunity when I didn't have very much construction experience for which I am eternally grateful.
Pros
Excellent compensation, great people
Cons
Too much time at work not enough time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun workplace
Project Coordinator/Document Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2017
It has a gym where you can workout during lunch break or whenever you are stressed from your work. The workplace culture is fantastic. They have Jacobs school on line where you can take trainings on line and they offer management and leadership training.
Pros
Lunch and Learn, gym in the office
Cons
Worksharing with Mumbai
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides Full time employment
Scaffolder Builder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2017
Jacobs has the culture of taking the time to perform job duties safely. I learned that no job is important enough that i can't take the time to do it safely. supervisors help workers with organization. working at heights above 50ft.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work!!
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB, Canada12 May 2017
Put in your days work for a days pay and many doors can be opened, much better than most companies I've worked with.

*********************************
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Year 2 Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 May 2017
Jacobs was a fair employer.
A typical day of work included installation of electrical components.
The hardest part of the job was working at heights.
The workplace culture was forward thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional and enjoyable work place.
Principal Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
Jacobs is multi-offices company across the world. I did learn multi-office project execution.
I did learn Packaged mechanical equipment and rotating equipment for SAGD projects.
Work place culture was very professional and safe.
Pros
Enjoyable and safe work place.
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to the EPC environment.
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2017
I enjoyed my time at Jacobs and learned a great deal about the EPC environment. This experience really developed my skills and increased my understanding of the integration of EPC and Operations.
Pros
Project EPC purchasing exposure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best
Intermediate Software Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
People are great, management does not care to spend money on updating and keeping the company systems up to date. They also lack process for achieving ones work flow.
Pros
great coworks
Cons
Management needs to be replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB11 April 2017
Had a great experience working there. Acquired a lot of valuable knowledge. Great team and working environment. Understanding and highly professional management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan5 April 2017
Promises made for a long employment term and a large support team never came to fruition. Work hours were in excess of eight hours daily and any and all overtime was never paid.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no support from head office in Calgary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shutdown contract
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB30 March 2017
I worked in a two month shutdown in a 6 day on and 1 day off rotation. Coworkers were great to work with but in this type of job there is no job/ life balance.
Pros
Good money and coworkers were great to work with.
Cons
long hours and no home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot of design engineering technics
Senior Piping Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 March 2017
During my stay in this company all my co-workers, supervisors are very helpful, I have learned a lot of design experience regarding Piping Designing with the 3D software tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with a great team
Structural Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  calgary25 March 2017
I have acquired a good experience working with different people with different culture supporting each other to finish assigned jobs on time and with good quality for our client's satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job!
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 March 2017
Basic day in day out job, great people, great job, good money. Learnt to do certain activities, Mostly cleaning, Management was great and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,740 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8