Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 162 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
HSE Supervisor and Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 May 2017
My time with Jacobs was very educational. I learned a lot as they gave me the opportunity when I didn't have very much construction experience for which I am eternally grateful.
Pros
Excellent compensation, great people
Cons
Too much time at work not enough time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun workplace
Project Coordinator/Document Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2017
It has a gym where you can workout during lunch break or whenever you are stressed from your work. The workplace culture is fantastic. They have Jacobs school on line where you can take trainings on line and they offer management and leadership training.
Pros
Lunch and Learn, gym in the office
Cons
Worksharing with Mumbai
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides Full time employment
Scaffolder Builder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2017
Jacobs has the culture of taking the time to perform job duties safely. I learned that no job is important enough that i can't take the time to do it safely. supervisors help workers with organization. working at heights above 50ft.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work!!
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB, Canada12 May 2017
Put in your days work for a days pay and many doors can be opened, much better than most companies I've worked with.

*********************************
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Year 2 Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 May 2017
Jacobs was a fair employer.
A typical day of work included installation of electrical components.
The hardest part of the job was working at heights.
The workplace culture was forward thinking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional and enjoyable work place.
Principal Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
Jacobs is multi-offices company across the world. I did learn multi-office project execution.
I did learn Packaged mechanical equipment and rotating equipment for SAGD projects.
Work place culture was very professional and safe.
Pros
Enjoyable and safe work place.
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to the EPC environment.
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2017
I enjoyed my time at Jacobs and learned a great deal about the EPC environment. This experience really developed my skills and increased my understanding of the integration of EPC and Operations.
Pros
Project EPC purchasing exposure.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best
Intermediate Software Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
People are great, management does not care to spend money on updating and keeping the company systems up to date. They also lack process for achieving ones work flow.
Pros
great coworks
Cons
Management needs to be replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB11 April 2017
Had a great experience working there. Acquired a lot of valuable knowledge. Great team and working environment. Understanding and highly professional management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan5 April 2017
Promises made for a long employment term and a large support team never came to fruition. Work hours were in excess of eight hours daily and any and all overtime was never paid.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no support from head office in Calgary
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shutdown contract
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB30 March 2017
I worked in a two month shutdown in a 6 day on and 1 day off rotation. Coworkers were great to work with but in this type of job there is no job/ life balance.
Pros
Good money and coworkers were great to work with.
Cons
long hours and no home life
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot of design engineering technics
Senior Piping Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 March 2017
During my stay in this company all my co-workers, supervisors are very helpful, I have learned a lot of design experience regarding Piping Designing with the 3D software tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with a great team
Structural Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  calgary25 March 2017
I have acquired a good experience working with different people with different culture supporting each other to finish assigned jobs on time and with good quality for our client's satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job!
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 March 2017
Basic day in day out job, great people, great job, good money. Learnt to do certain activities, Mostly cleaning, Management was great and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and educational
Day and night crew shut down manpower (Former Employee) –  Southdown Rd. Port Credit8 March 2017
It was a great experience to be educated to a new level of safety and awareness while on the premises at Petro Canada. Met quite a few new friends and was offered to stay on after the final date of the official Shut-down.
Pros
Over time availability
Cons
The distance from home to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Pipe Welder (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK6 March 2017
it was a shutdown i work for jacobs and i work my welding rig truck;
it was one of the best jobs i work for all the types of welding
you got your job in the am gather all your permits in the morning then did your lockout on the equipment . and went to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for Jacobs
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2017
Really enjoyed working for Jacobs, in fact I wished I still worked there, there was a lot of office politics that happened the last few months I was there so decided it was best to leave as I wasn't into getting into the office politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to work hard and work my way up with the company
Sr. Document Controller (Co-Lead) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
Management was able to help me with my goals and I was able to meet them. The employees that worked for the company are very hard works and are just nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working Engineering Company to work with.
Senior Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2017
-Company with good benefits.
-Nice workplace and people I worked with.
-The culture of caring amongst employees.
-No racial descrimination amongst employees.
-Staff are knowledgeable and works as a team.
Pros
There is always room for advancement in your career.
Cons
Higher management lacks concern of your next job when your project is done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I&C Engineering department
Control Systems Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 January 2017
It goes well when there are enough project work. As you get assigned to projects and billed to clients, always stressful when moving between projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,663 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8