Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 155 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best
Intermediate Software Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
People are great, management does not care to spend money on updating and keeping the company systems up to date. They also lack process for achieving ones work flow.
Pros
great coworks
Cons
Management needs to be replaced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB11 April 2017
Had a great experience working there. Acquired a lot of valuable knowledge. Great team and working environment. Understanding and highly professional management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan5 April 2017
Promises made for a long employment term and a large support team never came to fruition. Work hours were in excess of eight hours daily and any and all overtime was never paid.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no support from head office in Calgary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shutdown contract
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB30 March 2017
I worked in a two month shutdown in a 6 day on and 1 day off rotation. Coworkers were great to work with but in this type of job there is no job/ life balance.
Pros
Good money and coworkers were great to work with.
Cons
long hours and no home life
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot of design engineering technics
Senior Piping Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 March 2017
During my stay in this company all my co-workers, supervisors are very helpful, I have learned a lot of design experience regarding Piping Designing with the 3D software tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with a great team
Structural Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  calgary25 March 2017
I have acquired a good experience working with different people with different culture supporting each other to finish assigned jobs on time and with good quality for our client's satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job!
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 March 2017
Basic day in day out job, great people, great job, good money. Learnt to do certain activities, Mostly cleaning, Management was great and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and educational
Day and night crew shut down manpower (Former Employee) –  Southdown Rd. Port Credit8 March 2017
It was a great experience to be educated to a new level of safety and awareness while on the premises at Petro Canada. Met quite a few new friends and was offered to stay on after the final date of the official Shut-down.
Pros
Over time availability
Cons
The distance from home to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Pipe Welder (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SK6 March 2017
it was a shutdown i work for jacobs and i work my welding rig truck;
it was one of the best jobs i work for all the types of welding
you got your job in the am gather all your permits in the morning then did your lockout on the equipment . and went to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for Jacobs
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2017
Really enjoyed working for Jacobs, in fact I wished I still worked there, there was a lot of office politics that happened the last few months I was there so decided it was best to leave as I wasn't into getting into the office politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to work hard and work my way up with the company
Sr. Document Controller (Co-Lead) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
Management was able to help me with my goals and I was able to meet them. The employees that worked for the company are very hard works and are just nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working Engineering Company to work with.
Senior Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2017
-Company with good benefits.
-Nice workplace and people I worked with.
-The culture of caring amongst employees.
-No racial descrimination amongst employees.
-Staff are knowledgeable and works as a team.
Pros
There is always room for advancement in your career.
Cons
Higher management lacks concern of your next job when your project is done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I&C Engineering department
Control Systems Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 January 2017
It goes well when there are enough project work. As you get assigned to projects and billed to clients, always stressful when moving between projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political
Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2017
Great pay, work and life balance, very poor job security, poor management, and a very bad job culture. I had a great team but too political at the top with too much focus on individuals climbing the ladder then the whole benefit of the people and the company.
Pros
pay, experience
Cons
politics and job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly stressful, yet rewarding job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB13 January 2017
A typical day at work would be somewhat planned according to preventative maintenance scheduled work. Workers would also be on call for any situation or unscheduled work that came up.

I became very knowledgeable in industrial maintenance and in the general operations of a refinery. I also worked with tools, equipment, and warehousing.

The management was somewhat antiquated and unwilling to conform to standard practices.

My co workers were also very experienced and hard working.

The hardest part of my job was the highway travel to and from work

The best part of my job was the people and the experience I gained from my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great learning to be had. Foreman has little to no epeirance in this line of work and it shows
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 January 2017
Great shop, well equipt, workers are great. Foreman and upper management do not make the job worth it, however. Foreman adds pressure on trivial jobs and is not confident on serious jobs. Pressure shows and is unable to handle it.
Pros
Great for learning.
Cons
High pressure from foreman with lack of expirance
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Structural Design Specialist (Current Employee) –  calgary30 December 2016
This is a good company to work but currently there is no work and a lots of layoffs are happening.
There are a lot of good, skilled people with a lot of experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Jr. Project Controls (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 December 2016
Great team work and mentorship as required. Excellent work place and benefits.

I was kept up to date on the projects I was working on. Help was never denied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 December 2016
Company with a branch plant mentality and not promoting from within. Singularly focused on profit without motivation to create best financial deal for clients.
Pros
salary ok
Cons
employees are simply profit centers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality deliverables
Mechanical Engineering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2016
In Jacobs, the engineering deliverables to client is well maintained high.
Engineers are working hard to meet client's requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,597 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

82%
371 ratings
Add your rating