Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 174 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with.
Manager of Projects / Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray Alberta21 September 2017
Company management very responsive and supportive of employee questions and timely in resolution as applicable. Great project culture as I was assigned to an international location and team work was critical and worked very well.
Pros
Excellent prject management. Employee safety was first order of business
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large American-based EPC firm
Principal Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2017
Long history of quality engineering service. Substantial American influence on company culture and staffing strategies. Excellent office location in Calgary Quarry Park.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Jr. Electrical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2017
high salary, not much benefit. poor management. Have to find task for yourself after one is done too keep yourself busy and safe your position.
Kind people, give juniors opportunity to learn and expand their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs management had a follow up & feed back process so there would be no surprises.
Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2017
A good place to work & advance. I was on contract through an agency when I worked there. The work day was spent following up with suppliers & other members of the team. I learned how to work with a new data system. Management were fine. The workplace encouraged a follow up & feed back process.
The hardest part was moving & getting used to the new facility.
The enjoyable part was that Jacobs had a great cafeteria.
Pros
The good friends I made there, the cafeteria, the encouragement I received to become a member of the Wild Rose Expeding Group
Cons
Management were a bit aloof.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 August 2017
I enjoyed my time working for Jacobs, they treated me well and advanced me very quickly. The corporate culture was a little competitive and hardcore, however I like it!
Pros
Great Job with loads of freedom
Cons
Long hours and a lot of travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful
Employee (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON1 August 2017
I only worked for a couple of years for Jacobs however it was a very positive experience with assistance when needed. All employees felt part of the team and were able to build positive relationships with the vendor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Ft. McMurry19 July 2017
Tools were not readily available.
Poor set up of tools and equipment at work location.
No set schedule.
Worked with some great guys, true professional's who got job done despite obstacles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Manager/ Highways and Infrastructures (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada22 June 2017
This is a great company to work in. Highly professional and very clean workplace. All colleauges are one team and helping each other. Everyone is participating positively in work assignments.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 June 2017
tool box talk
daily issues concerning const
things to improve on
safety is paramount
the hardest part is there is none
the most enjoyable is the the production of the site .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an Ok place to work
Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
It's an ok place to work. The people were nice.

There was an attempt to give more culture to the company.

The location was really nice. Not downtown and very convenient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and hours
Health Safety & Environment Supervisor (shutdown) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 June 2017
Was only a contract and I regret not trying harder to stay around. I was young an naive. Constantly trying to get back. If you get hired, learn from my mistake!
Pros
2 free meals per shift
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
IM Lead & Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2017
The Jacobs "culture of caring", its focus on safety, great department managers have all been great assets and measures of success. It was a real pleasure to work there for ten years.
Pros
A welcoming, friendly open environment.
Cons
Limited upward/sideways movement opportunities. It has become more political in the past few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
HSE Supervisor and Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 May 2017
My time with Jacobs was very educational. I learned a lot as they gave me the opportunity when I didn't have very much construction experience for which I am eternally grateful.
Pros
Excellent compensation, great people
Cons
Too much time at work not enough time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and fun workplace
Project Coordinator/Document Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 May 2017
It has a gym where you can workout during lunch break or whenever you are stressed from your work. The workplace culture is fantastic. They have Jacobs school on line where you can take trainings on line and they offer management and leadership training.
Pros
Lunch and Learn, gym in the office
Cons
Worksharing with Mumbai
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides Full time employment
Scaffolder Builder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2017
Jacobs has the culture of taking the time to perform job duties safely. I learned that no job is important enough that i can't take the time to do it safely. supervisors help workers with organization. working at heights above 50ft.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work!!
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB, Canada12 May 2017
Put in your days work for a days pay and many doors can be opened, much better than most companies I've worked with.

*********************************
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Year 2 Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 May 2017
Jacobs was a fair employer.
A typical day of work included installation of electrical components.
The hardest part of the job was working at heights.
The workplace culture was forward thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, professional and enjoyable work place.
Principal Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
Jacobs is multi-offices company across the world. I did learn multi-office project execution.
I did learn Packaged mechanical equipment and rotating equipment for SAGD projects.
Work place culture was very professional and safe.
Pros
Enjoyable and safe work place.
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to the EPC environment.
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2017
I enjoyed my time at Jacobs and learned a great deal about the EPC environment. This experience really developed my skills and increased my understanding of the integration of EPC and Operations.
Pros
Project EPC purchasing exposure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best
Intermediate Software Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 April 2017
People are great, management does not care to spend money on updating and keeping the company systems up to date. They also lack process for achieving ones work flow.
Pros
great coworks
Cons
Management needs to be replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,836 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8