Jacobs Employee Reviews

Found 152 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working Engineering Company to work with.
Senior Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2017
-Company with good benefits.
-Nice workplace and people I worked with.
-The culture of caring amongst employees.
-No racial descrimination amongst employees.
-Staff are knowledgeable and works as a team.
Pros
There is always room for advancement in your career.
Cons
Higher management lacks concern of your next job when your project is done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 December 2016
Company with a branch plant mentality and not promoting from within. Singularly focused on profit without motivation to create best financial deal for clients.
Pros
salary ok
Cons
employees are simply profit centers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Intermediate Field Accountant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 December 2016
Good place to work.
Good Management.
Excellent co-workers.
Fair Salary/Benefits.
High loads of work.
Overall rating 4/5.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Jr. Project Controls (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 December 2016
Great team work and mentorship as required. Excellent work place and benefits.

I was kept up to date on the projects I was working on. Help was never denied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political
Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2017
Great pay, work and life balance, very poor job security, poor management, and a very bad job culture. I had a great team but too political at the top with too much focus on individuals climbing the ladder then the whole benefit of the people and the company.
Pros
pay, experience
Cons
politics and job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly stressful, yet rewarding job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB13 January 2017
A typical day at work would be somewhat planned according to preventative maintenance scheduled work. Workers would also be on call for any situation or unscheduled work that came up.

I became very knowledgeable in industrial maintenance and in the general operations of a refinery. I also worked with tools, equipment, and warehousing.

The management was somewhat antiquated and unwilling to conform to standard practices.

My co workers were also very experienced and hard working.

The hardest part of my job was the highway travel to and from work

The best part of my job was the people and the experience I gained from my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people.
Senior Instrumentation Technologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2016
Work/life balance was good, salary was competitive, job security not great and too much focus on work sharing with overseas offices.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamork
Manager of Project Accounting Field Services (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 October 2016
Jacobs had to be the best example of team work that I have ever seen. Team members would actively seek out to help other team members when their work duties allowed it rather than sitting with nothing to do. This was a top down management style where everyone was prepared to pitch in to ensure monthly deadlines and requirements were met. Team members actively coached and mentored other team members by sharing knowledge, job skills and experience.
Pros
work environment
Cons
Drive to job location from residence
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great learning to be had. Foreman has little to no epeirance in this line of work and it shows
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 January 2017
Great shop, well equipt, workers are great. Foreman and upper management do not make the job worth it, however. Foreman adds pressure on trivial jobs and is not confident on serious jobs. Pressure shows and is unable to handle it.
Pros
Great for learning.
Cons
High pressure from foreman with lack of expirance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good family oriented working environment
Instrumentation Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 May 2016
A typical day at work is just like any ordinary desk work where you are just on your computer throughout the day.
What I learned from this company is their culture of caring for the business, your goals and self improvement, and the well being of their employees.
Management is average and can be improve better.
Co-workers or colleagues are probably the best thing about this company. Very friendly and family oriented environment.
Hardest part of the job probably be sometimes trying to meet deadlines with such tight schedules.
Most enjoyable part of the job is probably the people you work with and the somewhat relaxed nature of the work depending on which position in the company you're in.
Pros
Corporate Challenge, Coffee breaks, Friendly work environment, room for career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about Jacobs?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs is the best
Principal Process Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 November 2016
I worked for this company almost 10 years, and year by year I felt it is my home. The work environmet, culture, ease of obtaining technical documents and resorces were excellent.
Pros
Fun, Energetic colleague
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for Jacobs
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2017
Really enjoyed working for Jacobs, in fact I wished I still worked there, there was a lot of office politics that happened the last few months I was there so decided it was best to leave as I wasn't into getting into the office politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for job work/Life balance
DOCUMENT CONTROLLER (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 April 2016
Love the work schedule. Having at least 1 friday off a month was great so you can get any appointments done or just time with the family.
Great co-worker, Grest team atmosphere.
The salary and benefits are good
Pros
Great work schedule
Cons
No parking or expensive Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to work hard and work my way up with the company
Sr. Document Controller (Co-Lead) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2017
Management was able to help me with my goals and I was able to meet them. The employees that worked for the company are very hard works and are just nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs - decent company, great people
F.Q. Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 March 2016
A great place to work with lots of growth and learning opportunities. Salary is not that great but people are amazing. Management was great until they started losing lots of projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs Canada
Senior Contract Specialist (Former Employee) –  Alberta, Canada9 December 2016
Good Work life balance. Work 9 hours per day with the added benefit of having the second Friday off after you accrue work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 October 2016
working at Jacobs is the besting in my life because all of my co-workers there are very polite and friendly, they always smiling at you specially my Piping Department Manager.
Pros
nice place to work
Cons
long hours but enjoying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cold
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Come By Chance, NL29 November 2016
Cold and wet weather for most of the time. Long hours and very little parking .but the people were great to work with. Learned a lot when I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional, EPC philosophy, full of opportunities and challenges
Project Controls Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 November 2016
The day at work is enjoyable. Multiple projects that offers opportunities to learned. People is very friendly and you can enjoy a good coffee in Jacobs cafetiere.
Jacobs facilities are open from Monday to Sunday so you can achieve your professional goals and enjoy good family time
Pros
Big company, easy to work there
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with a great team
Structural Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  calgary25 March 2017
I have acquired a good experience working with different people with different culture supporting each other to finish assigned jobs on time and with good quality for our client's satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,567 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8