Jacobs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good team spirited
Administrator/Site Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 November 2017
Although I was only there compared to some people a short time I loved working for these people and would not hesitate in a heartbeat to go back the work was clean and overtime was shared very fairly not always the top guns getting the cream of the crop so to speak management and supervisors were really good don't have much to do with the higher management but found what I did see was good
Pros
Free Gloves etc
Cons
Very Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No long term plans -only short term gains.
Senior Piping Squad Leader-Staff Position (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2017
Management still requires adjustment.
Working in Edmonton -your leads are in Calgary -that problem will be there final move to closing their doors in Canada.
Pros
I was paid
Cons
Short term thinking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and proactive, great safety culture
H&S Specialist Shell Fort Saskatchewan (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 October 2017
- Performing standard duties of a safety specialist/supervisor, walking, observing, communicating, coaching, and mentoring employees
- Great training provided, promoting growth and a desire to succeed
- Wonderful manager always had time to listen and would follow thru on suggestions
- heavily male-oriented, would like to see more hiring of women in safety
- given tasks to perform with a certain amount of free rein to be creative
Pros
Excellent supervisor
Cons
Not many full time positions available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fine
Welder's Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 October 2017
Only a short shutdown. Nothing special to report. I got paid on time and they even payed out in full without taking anything off for taxes. Give it a go!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic but enjoyable
Manager of Instrumentation and Controls Department (Current Employee) –  Calgary AB10 October 2017
Meeting with my team to assign tasks and evaluate progress.
Day to day coordination activities for all the projects
Scheduling, resource planning, hiring personal.
Management meetings.
Reviewing and approving technical engineering documents
Pros
excellent salary compensation
Cons
stressful and hectic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management communication
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK10 October 2017
management seems to need more smokes than to actually do their jobs. and your lucky to get paid on time. was working a shut down and morale was zero everyone just sat in lunch room . full of false hope. they should try hiring guys that have knowledge not a bunch of unticketed yes men
Pros
didnt need to do anything
Cons
couldnt get paif
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working experiance is good
Senior I & C Specialist (Lead) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada26 September 2017
Jacobs is a very good company to work, Office work culture is very god and work station is very neat and clean, management staff is friendly. lot of scope for hardworking staff to grow in the company.
Pros
No
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with.
Manager of Projects / Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray Alberta21 September 2017
Company management very responsive and supportive of employee questions and timely in resolution as applicable. Great project culture as I was assigned to an international location and team work was critical and worked very well.
Pros
Excellent prject management. Employee safety was first order of business
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large American-based EPC firm
Principal Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2017
Long history of quality engineering service. Substantial American influence on company culture and staffing strategies. Excellent office location in Calgary Quarry Park.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Jr. Electrical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2017
high salary, not much benefit. poor management. Have to find task for yourself after one is done too keep yourself busy and safe your position.
Kind people, give juniors opportunity to learn and expand their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Jacobs?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jacobs management had a follow up & feed back process so there would be no surprises.
Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2017
A good place to work & advance. I was on contract through an agency when I worked there. The work day was spent following up with suppliers & other members of the team. I learned how to work with a new data system. Management were fine. The workplace encouraged a follow up & feed back process.
The hardest part was moving & getting used to the new facility.
The enjoyable part was that Jacobs had a great cafeteria.
Pros
The good friends I made there, the cafeteria, the encouragement I received to become a member of the Wild Rose Expeding Group
Cons
Management were a bit aloof.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 August 2017
I enjoyed my time working for Jacobs, they treated me well and advanced me very quickly. The corporate culture was a little competitive and hardcore, however I like it!
Pros
Great Job with loads of freedom
Cons
Long hours and a lot of travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful
Employee (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON1 August 2017
I only worked for a couple of years for Jacobs however it was a very positive experience with assistance when needed. All employees felt part of the team and were able to build positive relationships with the vendor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Pipefitter (Current Employee) –  Ft. McMurry19 July 2017
Tools were not readily available.
Poor set up of tools and equipment at work location.
No set schedule.
Worked with some great guys, true professional's who got job done despite obstacles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Manager/ Highways and Infrastructures (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada22 June 2017
This is a great company to work in. Highly professional and very clean workplace. All colleauges are one team and helping each other. Everyone is participating positively in work assignments.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 June 2017
tool box talk
daily issues concerning const
things to improve on
safety is paramount
the hardest part is there is none
the most enjoyable is the the production of the site .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an Ok place to work
Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 June 2017
It's an ok place to work. The people were nice.

There was an attempt to give more culture to the company.

The location was really nice. Not downtown and very convenient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and hours
Health Safety & Environment Supervisor (shutdown) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 June 2017
Was only a contract and I regret not trying harder to stay around. I was young an naive. Constantly trying to get back. If you get hired, learn from my mistake!
Pros
2 free meals per shift
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
IM Lead & Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2017
The Jacobs "culture of caring", its focus on safety, great department managers have all been great assets and measures of success. It was a real pleasure to work there for ten years.
Pros
A welcoming, friendly open environment.
Cons
Limited upward/sideways movement opportunities. It has become more political in the past few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
HSE Supervisor and Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 May 2017
My time with Jacobs was very educational. I learned a lot as they gave me the opportunity when I didn't have very much construction experience for which I am eternally grateful.
Pros
Excellent compensation, great people
Cons
Too much time at work not enough time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Jacobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,915 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8