J.B. Hunt Employee Reviews

Showing all 858 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Client Services Tech/Business Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARSeptember 26, 2016
J.B. Hunt is a good place to work and start or career or to jump start another. They will take the time to train in new positions.
Pros
Management
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is always available
Driver/Installer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 24, 2016
There is always work available. The company is flexible with traveling. They have a good training program and reward program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place, great people good company
Frontend Developer (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARSeptember 23, 2016
Excellent place to work. very supportive people and very good management group.employee benefits also very good. career growth also very good as always more opportunities to explore on different tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Casualty Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARSeptember 22, 2016
Answering phones, fielding questions, entering data. I learned a great deal about the trucking industry and all its moving parts. Management was tough but fair. Enjoyed all my coworkers. Hardest part......Working a seriously bad accident. Enjoyable part is working with good hardworking people.
Pros
I was able to build my knowledge base
Cons
Very high stress job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yard jockey
Yard Jockey (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARSeptember 22, 2016
Enjoy my job at jb hunt and the work I do at the toys r us in lees summit mo the people I work with are the best we all wor as a team and that helps the yard run very smooth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYSeptember 20, 2016
I am so sorry I had to leave j.b.hunt. the reason I had to leave was because I had a child that needed me home because of so personal problems he was having and I couldn't be safe driving for j.b.hunt while he was going through what he was going through. my mind was always on him and I knew it would affect my driving safely so I decided to quit with help from my councilor at the time. this company treated me excellent and I am sorry to have had left and hope they didn't think ill of me how I left. the people I worked made the time away from home not so bad lol a great bunch of people I worked with and the drivers. I found friends with some
Pros
always there for you
Cons
my leaving this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, Interesting & Challenging - But no life
Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 20, 2016
Constantly learning, constantly growing, see open positions for better positions all the time. But, you give up large portions of your life for this job and that is the toughest aspect to deal with.
Pros
Great "Employee First" Environment
Cons
No Work-Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun tanker company
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Eldon, MOSeptember 19, 2016
The guys in the office try to keep you going as much as they can. They are very helpful and family is a big part of the company's founder. They are an excellent group of guys to work for!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility to own your career and advancement opportunities
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 9, 2016
JB Hunt was my first job out of college and it was very enjoyable. They also provided a good environment to learn and develop as well as travel to gain industry experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Long haul truck driver (Former Employee) –  Cullman, ALSeptember 8, 2016
In times past was a great place to work. The original owner retired and the new manager did not apply an acceptable work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reserved
Trailer Detention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARSeptember 7, 2016
Worked in a large company, which I enjoyed very much. I worked on a team with 12 other people doing similar duties. We had a team leader who guided us when needed.
Pros
Always had someone if needed
Cons
You had to learn to block people out
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Driver
Tractor Trailer Driver (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VASeptember 3, 2016
Local work and hours are not according to what local work should be however, I am currently injured receiving workmen's comp and hope to find work after my surgery.
Pros
New Trucks
Cons
Hours of work are not doable according to DOT standard.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to work for
Local Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 2, 2016
while working for jb hunt I experienced a lot of problems dealing with loads and routes and pay, and also you work on a thin line no room for error expect you to move like a robot don't understand your also human and everybody makes mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Van, OHSeptember 2, 2016
they took good care of their employes. always had frieght. a fun and productive environment. good place for advancemanet
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Stuttgart, ARSeptember 2, 2016
It seems that there is no organization about this company, the pay is not good at all for being away from home. This would be a grt company to work for if the pay was better.
Pros
home weekends
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont do it
Driver (Current Employee) –  Iowa City, IASeptember 1, 2016
Have worked here a month. Sad sad sad. Recruiter totally embellished n she didn't have to because my expectations were so low to begin with. Lol no miles. Poor planning. Have a family vacation scheduled in 8 weeks. Hope I don't go broke before then.
Pros
lots of time to eat sleep n workout
Cons
have to use my savings to buy food. otherwise I'd starve .
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Switchboard Operator/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARAugust 30, 2016
Fast paced, great co-workers
Enjoyed working with the customers, and the drivers on the phone.
Good atmosphere, professional setting
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big company to work for. Very secure
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARAugust 29, 2016
Excellent company to work for. Good money,flexible home time.A good stable company to drive for. Open door policy.Friendy group of staff and driver.
Pros
they get you home on time
Cons
runs are closer and shorter
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was not the type of job explained to me by JB Hunt Recruiter
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Harvey, MIAugust 28, 2016
Job is not hard but is fast paced. Your pay depends on your output. Job consist of delivering coal and stone to the Cleavland Cliffs Mines. The equipment is beat up and needs replacing. They are in the middle of contract renewal or extension talks so I kind of understand them not wanting to replace equipment yet.
Pros
Pay is not too bad as long as you produce
Cons
hours, recruiter either lied or didnt have correct info, work is 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and organized work environment
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 27, 2016
Arrived at work and received dispatch. did pre-trip on tractor and trailer to make sure all lights and equipment was in working order. I picked up loaded trailer at Budweiser and scaled it out and made deliveries to the distributors. I waited for the trailer to get unloaded or dropped it off and picked up and empty trailer and headed back to the yard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 858 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1