Find companies:
J. Crew Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
144 reviews

J. Crew Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life Balancer
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMarch 22, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks and short lunches
At J. Crew you will spend most of your time on the phone assisting customers with orders and also recommending and "upselling" items to customers. 50% of your calls will be some sort of error that occurred between order placement and delievery; and the other will be placing orders with customers. Management really flexible an ready to work with you – more... through various different resources. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMarch 21, 2013
typical day at work was talking with customers on the phone helping them complete with what they had called for that day. Whether helping them complete and make payments on orders or fix problems that may have happened to the order. I learned how to multitask with having to talk with the customers and use a computer to complete two tasks at one time. – more... The management tried to keep things as fair as possible in the work environment and for the most part the co-workers were fun to be around. The hardest part of the job was having to complete the tasks and hand while also having to work in the difficult circumstances. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an interesting work environment
Cashier (Current Employee), NYMarch 19, 2013
J. Crew was the first and only work place where it was never hectic, definitely a different pace from any other retail places that I've experienced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT Staff!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Marlton, NJMarch 15, 2013
Working at J.Crew was a wonderful experience. The company culture is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job for college student or someone that needs a part-time job
Sales Support (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 11, 2013
Great atmosphere to work in. All my fellow associates have a personality and treat each other as if we are family. J. Crew does a good job encouraging their associates to accomplish the goal without using harsh punishment tactics. Instead they offer rewards as an incentive and no one feels pressured. Discounts are great and an associate my find that – more... approximately 40% of the monies earned is invested back into the company in exchanged for the merchandise. I can only speak for my specific managers and they are all awesome. They balance giving authority and being companion very well. The management is very competent and motivative. The most enjoyable part about my job is working with my other associates and being a part of a team of great people and lifetime friends. I hope that I can move up in the company and that the atmosphere is the same and the job feels as rewarding at the corporate level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love being able to style people
Sales Support Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 7, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: salary and commission is not competitive
The managers and staff are great to work with.
Flexible schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, growing retailer with fresh ideas and great staff
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 7, 2013
Working at J.Crew involves a retail work experience that is in some ways typical, though in other ways unusual. The level of customer service surpasses that of most other companies, and associates are empowered to deliver such an experience to the customer. On the product side, J.Crew is certainly growing in popularity (as has been the case for the – more... past five years roughly) and its creative direction is compelling and cohesive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Locust Grove, GAFebruary 20, 2013
Honest company great discount incentives for employess, lacks in pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Burlington, MAFebruary 7, 2013
An upbeat company with a dedication to customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workplace environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAFebruary 6, 2013
Managers were willing to teach new things about how to do daily tasks throughout the store. Had great management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Personal Shopper/Stylist (Current Employee), Portland, ORFebruary 5, 2013
Great co workers, friendly environment. Some of the management are not great at communicating. Amazing employee discount. would recommend for anyone who is outgoing and wants a part time job working retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse was torture
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJanuary 28, 2013
Cons: short breaks, boring work, dark warehouse
The work was the same thing everyday and it was quite simple. Just worked the job because it was a job. It was temporary work (seasonal) and i was let go after the holidays. The people were fine and so was the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with your best friends
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Napa, CAJanuary 23, 2013
Fast pace but yet the day goes quickly when working with people who are nice and friendly. You interact with the customers and get to know them.

Honestly there are no bad reviews for working at J Crew, the best part about working there is that I love what I'm doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
J.Crew (Former Employee), Hanover, MDJanuary 22, 2013
A typical day at work is getting the work floor prepared for recieving costumers. Welcoming and greeting customers when they enter the store and leaving the store. Always asking if someone needs help or is looking for something. if you are a cashier making sure you offer the j.crew card. In making sure you walk the bag around to your customer.

The – more... most enjoy put of being a visual asst. is rollout nights. When new product is recieved and you the 1st one to see it. In you can be the first to suggest to other customers the most have items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but has it's downsides.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cabazon, CAJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: great company
Cons: unreliable hours, competitive sales.
The company as a whole is great. But the one thing they really need to work on is being able to budget hours for payroll a little better so the employees have a better understanding of what they will typically be working each week. Also, the sales goals for the employees are kind of high, and it is very competitive. I would prefer more of a TEAM effort – more... on sales for the store. I love working there, my co-workers are all fun to be around, and I love the merchandise, I just wish they had more hours to give to all of their employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: health insuance, tution reembusiment, and security.
I loved working for J.Crew. They are a great company that takes care of their staff. The only problem is that it is hard to move up because there is so much competion within the company. With such a great staff and management team it isn't surprising. I would gladly work for J. Crew again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Head Cashier (Current Employee), CT and MAJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: schedule
J. Crew is a great company to work for beside for the fact that it's a retail environment and everyone knows they are not exactly "fun." The majority of people and management are nice to work with and its not tolling working, but sometimes being told you'll be out at 10 pm. when in reality you get out at 12 am is fairly annoying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun work environment with both challenging and rewarding opportunities.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Towson, MDJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: open, welcoming company
Cons: not enough hours to give to employees
A typically day at work in to clock in, find out what our sales goals are. Normally I am put immediately into a project, let it be bringing out more merchandise, figuring out a place for new merchandise or just folding it. We are always re arranging the store to enhance the stores appearance and best way to show case the items with in the store. The – more... hardest part of the job is dealing with some customers who are just having a bad day and taking it out on you, but that is to be expected in any customer service atmosphere. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to connect with the customers and help them feel comfortable in their own bodies with our clothes and accessories. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of staff
Part-time Sales Associate (Current Employee), Clinton, CTJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: great discount on clothes
Cons: not many hours
J Crew has a great team of managers. With the goals set for me each work day, they make it fun to work with goals at hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different experience everyday
Cashier/Sales Support (Current Employee), NYJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: co-workers, product
You always do something different at work. Whether it's assist a customer with product knowledge, help behind the registers or organize product in the stockrooms.

About J. Crew Group, Inc.

J.Crew debuted in 1983 with the mailing of its first catalog. Six years later, we opened a flagship store at New York's South – Read more