Find companies:
J. Crew Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
153 reviews

J. Crew Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Mens Personal Stylist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: great culture, good compensation
Cons: micromanagement, poor work/life balance
I enjoyed working here, the relationships you maintain with repeat customers being the best part, but at times the management can impede your ability to help customers as you may feel you should.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Stylist (Current Employee), Westport, CTSeptember 9, 2013
Great company---looking to grow and start a career with 770
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales driven, good compensation for the top people
Personal Shopper (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2013
Very corporate environment, that is sales driven. Good opportunity to advance in sales if you are the top person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job.
Merchandising | Sales | Training (Former Employee), Lead CashierAugust 27, 2013
Pros: good staff, good management, incentives, trained in all aspect of the store.
Cons: hours are shaky if part time
you were trained to do all aspect of the store so when you moved on or up with the company you were prepared. Also gave all necessary tools that was needed to be the best seller you could be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great PArt time but cant live off the salary here
Sales associate (Current Employee), Short Hills, NJAugust 19, 2013
Pros: great discount fun people
Cons: varying hours, on call shifts
Its a great place to work if you are looking to get out of the house, are in college, or right out of college but unless you are a manager it can be rough
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job but they have a bad rep for job security.
Former Call center rep (Former Employee), Main Call Center in Lynchburg, VAAugust 16, 2013
All I can tell you is that I was a top performer according to my customers and the world famous CEO, Mickey Drexler. Someone got "scared" I suppose and I was let go for reasons which are still unclear. Apparently, SO unclear that the Virginia Unemployment Commission couldn't understand it either and awarded me benefits which this "gem" of a company – more... appealed and LOST! They are known by former employees and other local agencies to practice very unreasonable personnel/human resource policies. That is why they are ALWAYS hiring! Just a heads up, pretty cool job, but if you get hired, keep sending out resumes cuz you're gonna be lookin' for work again soon. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job
Stock Person (Former Employee), Ardmore, PAAugust 13, 2013
A good job with nice and understanding bosses. It was great and clean atmosphere and the customers were very pleasant. It also a business when u have to work pretty fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fashion company to work for
Resource Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2013
Great exposure to high level executives
Good balance between work and life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJuly 31, 2013
Pros: supportive management
Cons: rude customers
This was in New York, so it was a great working environment. Very diverse group of people and coming to work was always interesting and exciting. There is a certain standard of people who can be a little demanding who shop there, however the managers and staff make it enjoyable and easy to service these customers. I had a lot of fun working there and – more... I also learned a lot about retail as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Seasonal Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: sometimes theres not much of a workload.
The work load wasn't bad. I even got very bored in there sometimes. It just wasn't the job for me. Pay was great and they don't mind paying overtime at all. Plus they give incentives for working overtime during the hollidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite Job ever.Wish it paid more.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kittery, MEJuly 18, 2013
Pros: flexible, 30% off everything
Cons: low pay, health insurance for associates isn't that great(it's worth what you pay for it)
I worked in two different locations and both stores were amazing. The management is very professional and fair. They let me take off whenever I needed to, and if I had to come in late or leave early it was ok with everyone. I definitely learned a lot about sales and how to establish LASTING relationships with customers. Unlike other retail jobs, both – more... managers and associates kept their jobs for a very long time (some 15 years or more - even part time associates). I think it is in part because management usually picks the best candidates for the job, and also you are treated very well. I worked there all through college and I now have a couple degrees so I'd like to receive higher pay than what they can offer me. Otherwise, I think I could stay there forever. Oh and the discounts are AWESOME! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect to work for FREE
Very Personal Stylist (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 16, 2013
Pros: highest level of seller in the store, role model, personal email for client contact
Cons: poor management, lack of communication, working for free
Responsibilities
My day-to-day responsibility was to be the women's problem solver. My role was really meant to be focused on selling (gaining new personal clients, contacting existing ones, selling to walk-in customers) when in reality I was answering the phone, cleaning up after fellow associates, pinning alterations for clients that were not mine – more... and folding even though we had support associates. I was unable to prosper and management couldn't care less. They only looked at numbers and the messy fitting rooms. I am one person in the second highest volume J.Crew in Manhattan and could not do it all on my own.

Accomplishments
Although my personal selling numbers were phenomenal, most of my work was done at home and for free. I was not allowed to clock-in for personal shopping appointments on my days off when a client needed me, and I wasn't allowed to use shift time to reach out to clients. All that work was to be done on my own time. I was expected to meet minimum requirements, but was often unable to due to 'regulations' I feel did not exist. With eight different managers, they were never on the same page and there was little communication. As a die hard J.Crewaholic, it was very difficult being let go from the company after so much hard work.

Skills Used
I was forced to jump right into selling, there was no training and no grace period. Luckily I am a natural people person and love the J.Crew brand, so it was easy to sell and I had to sell a lot! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven Client Account Specialist
Client Specialist-Key Accounts/Recruiter (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits; great management style
Cons: little career advancement
-Maintain top VIP clients (individual clients who spend $10,000 plus a year and help them with their every day J. Crew needs
- Prepare marketing and advertising collateral to send out to top clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), san antonioJune 27, 2013
makes orders for J Crew catalogs and online website.
also take orders from retail stores when they are out of stock of an item
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with inspiring company values and goals
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 25, 2013
Pros: employee discounts, great management, great products, positive outlooks
Cons: short shift hours
This job provides a great opportunity to interact with people and create relationships with your customers. Management helps you keep track of company and personal goals, always in an encouraging way. Customer satisfaction is the absolute priority, and if necessary, we can bend the rules to ensure a pleasant experience. J.Crew has an inspiring vision – more... of what it means to be a successful and thoughtful company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ellenton, FLJune 10, 2013
Pros: great quality
Never a dull moment by far the Highest Volume Company I've ever worked for.
Loved the New Trends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring, hated this job more than school
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), San Marcos, TXJune 7, 2013
Cons: short breaks
I never felt welcome there even after working there for one month. I felt like everyone just ared about what you wore to work and even though I tried to wear what I thought looked like "J crew" attire, people treated me different. I wasn't white like the other employees. I was a biology major and everybody talked about how hard majoring in art was...which – more... drove me insane! Hardest part of the job was trying to get along with my employees. My duties on the job weren't difficult, just folded clothes and they want it perfect but since I am a perfectionist that wasn't a challenge, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inspections & LPN Clerk (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 7, 2013
Pros: have different games that are raffle out on days for great quota also good attendance
Cons: short breaks
On a typical day there was always meeting..I learned what is done to clothes on a daily basics..Management was okay..My co-coworkers we all worked like a team and always got along with my shift we had became life family on the job.....The hardest Part of the Job they were slow on certain things when it came down to getting something solve in some Management – more... Department .The best Part of the Job I learned alot for different Supervisors and Management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
CSR (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAJune 5, 2013
great environment to work in outstanding supervisors mail order catalog no longer open
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales associate (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 4, 2013
Sales, support, merchandising, etc.

People are great to work with.

Compensation is terrible compared to other retailers.

About J. Crew Group, Inc.

J.Crew debuted in 1983 with the mailing of its first catalog. Six years later, we opened a flagship store at New York's South – Read more