Find companies:
J. Crew Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
147 reviews

J. Crew Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job
Stock Person (Former Employee), Ardmore, PAAugust 13, 2013
A good job with nice and understanding bosses. It was great and clean atmosphere and the customers were very pleasant. It also a business when u have to work pretty fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fashion company to work for
Resource Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 12, 2013
Great exposure to high level executives
Good balance between work and life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJuly 31, 2013
Pros: supportive management
Cons: rude customers
This was in New York, so it was a great working environment. Very diverse group of people and coming to work was always interesting and exciting. There is a certain standard of people who can be a little demanding who shop there, however the managers and staff make it enjoyable and easy to service these customers. I had a lot of fun working there and – more... I also learned a lot about retail as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Seasonal Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJuly 29, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: sometimes theres not much of a workload.
The work load wasn't bad. I even got very bored in there sometimes. It just wasn't the job for me. Pay was great and they don't mind paying overtime at all. Plus they give incentives for working overtime during the hollidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite Job ever.Wish it paid more.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kittery, MEJuly 18, 2013
Pros: flexible, 30% off everything
Cons: low pay, health insurance for associates isn't that great(it's worth what you pay for it)
I worked in two different locations and both stores were amazing. The management is very professional and fair. They let me take off whenever I needed to, and if I had to come in late or leave early it was ok with everyone. I definitely learned a lot about sales and how to establish LASTING relationships with customers. Unlike other retail jobs, both – more... managers and associates kept their jobs for a very long time (some 15 years or more - even part time associates). I think it is in part because management usually picks the best candidates for the job, and also you are treated very well. I worked there all through college and I now have a couple degrees so I'd like to receive higher pay than what they can offer me. Otherwise, I think I could stay there forever. Oh and the discounts are AWESOME! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect to work for FREE
Very Personal Stylist (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 16, 2013
Pros: highest level of seller in the store, role model, personal email for client contact
Cons: poor management, lack of communication, working for free
Responsibilities
My day-to-day responsibility was to be the women's problem solver. My role was really meant to be focused on selling (gaining new personal clients, contacting existing ones, selling to walk-in customers) when in reality I was answering the phone, cleaning up after fellow associates, pinning alterations for clients that were not mine – more... and folding even though we had support associates. I was unable to prosper and management couldn't care less. They only looked at numbers and the messy fitting rooms. I am one person in the second highest volume J.Crew in Manhattan and could not do it all on my own.

Accomplishments
Although my personal selling numbers were phenomenal, most of my work was done at home and for free. I was not allowed to clock-in for personal shopping appointments on my days off when a client needed me, and I wasn't allowed to use shift time to reach out to clients. All that work was to be done on my own time. I was expected to meet minimum requirements, but was often unable to due to 'regulations' I feel did not exist. With eight different managers, they were never on the same page and there was little communication. As a die hard J.Crewaholic, it was very difficult being let go from the company after so much hard work.

Skills Used
I was forced to jump right into selling, there was no training and no grace period. Luckily I am a natural people person and love the J.Crew brand, so it was easy to sell and I had to sell a lot! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Driven Client Account Specialist
Client Specialist-Key Accounts/Recruiter (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits; great management style
Cons: little career advancement
-Maintain top VIP clients (individual clients who spend $10,000 plus a year and help them with their every day J. Crew needs
- Prepare marketing and advertising collateral to send out to top clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), san antonioJune 27, 2013
makes orders for J Crew catalogs and online website.
also take orders from retail stores when they are out of stock of an item
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with inspiring company values and goals
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 25, 2013
Pros: employee discounts, great management, great products, positive outlooks
Cons: short shift hours
This job provides a great opportunity to interact with people and create relationships with your customers. Management helps you keep track of company and personal goals, always in an encouraging way. Customer satisfaction is the absolute priority, and if necessary, we can bend the rules to ensure a pleasant experience. J.Crew has an inspiring vision – more... of what it means to be a successful and thoughtful company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ellenton, FLJune 10, 2013
Pros: great quality
Never a dull moment by far the Highest Volume Company I've ever worked for.
Loved the New Trends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring, hated this job more than school
Apparel Associate (Former Employee), San Marcos, TXJune 7, 2013
Cons: short breaks
I never felt welcome there even after working there for one month. I felt like everyone just ared about what you wore to work and even though I tried to wear what I thought looked like "J crew" attire, people treated me different. I wasn't white like the other employees. I was a biology major and everybody talked about how hard majoring in art was...which – more... drove me insane! Hardest part of the job was trying to get along with my employees. My duties on the job weren't difficult, just folded clothes and they want it perfect but since I am a perfectionist that wasn't a challenge, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inspections & LPN Clerk (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 7, 2013
Pros: have different games that are raffle out on days for great quota also good attendance
Cons: short breaks
On a typical day there was always meeting..I learned what is done to clothes on a daily basics..Management was okay..My co-coworkers we all worked like a team and always got along with my shift we had became life family on the job.....The hardest Part of the Job they were slow on certain things when it came down to getting something solve in some Management – more... Department .The best Part of the Job I learned alot for different Supervisors and Management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center
CSR (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAJune 5, 2013
great environment to work in outstanding supervisors mail order catalog no longer open
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales associate (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 4, 2013
Sales, support, merchandising, etc.

People are great to work with.

Compensation is terrible compared to other retailers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Place to work
Sales Representative & Personal Stylist (seasonal) (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 29, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: pay
Selling High fashion products was an every day duty, assuring customers got the best service. Wonderful employees and manager. The hardest part was dealing with certain customers. The best part was meeting new people and bonding with them everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Allentown, PAMay 22, 2013
Pros: short hours, great employee discount, meet new people, good environment
Cons: decent pay, not much room for advancement.
This is a great company to work for, especially if you're a student. If you are looking for a full time job, then you should apply for management or somewhere else. Sales associates work between 8-15 hours a week. You will be able to work more hours if you pick up another employees shift. This is a great way to meet new people and work in a great environment. – more... Also, you receive a good discount! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrriblee entirely
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Auburn Hills, MIMay 21, 2013
was wayyy too far away from me. 45 minute drive. barely made 80 dollars in 2 weeks. manager never scheduled me in my available timings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not like it used to be
merchandise processor (Current Employee), Lynchburg,vaMay 11, 2013
Pros: good time off
Cons: can never make more money in a job youve been in for 27 years..capped out
my typical day at work is starting off with lectures more than encouragment from the bosses.all about going green, yellow, all about numbers.quality..they dont care...how you feel..they dont care..are you hurting from your repetitive motions daily...they dont care...that should be there motto...they would rather bring in temps or part time people and – more... pay them less and let the long time..dedicated associates go..a selfish company that does not pay hardworking warehouses people what they deserve..especially after 27 years...I think i could make more working at food lion after all those years...13 an hr...whoop whoop,

management is out of control...they make bad desicions and its all about them...
love my co workers..most of them:) they get me through the day, actually they are the only ones nice to you..management are to good to talk to you..plus they are told not to...
The hardest part of my job is the standing 8 to 9 hrs daily and repetitive motions..robots..why yes we are:)!
the most enjoyable part of my job...3 oclock!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 9, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management
Typical day included picking and packing new orders and processing for shipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great growth in a fast paced retail setting
Associate Store Manager (Current Employee), Ardmore, PAApril 23, 2013
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: on your feet all day
J Crew is a retail setting where an individual can learn specific skills in customer service, team building, and leadership all within a fast paced, well rounded environment.

About J. Crew Group, Inc.

J.Crew debuted in 1983 with the mailing of its first catalog. Six years later, we opened a flagship store at New York's South – Read more