Find companies:
J. Crew Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
188 reviews

J. Crew Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Store Associate
Sales Associate, Visuals (Former Employee), Wayne, NJJuly 9, 2014
Pros: knowledgeable in fabrics, clothing, and accessories
Cons: holidays and weekends
"Wordrobe" and assist customers with product knowledge. I was able to give customers my opinion and assist in finding the perfect outfit,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!!
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Denver ColoradoJuly 9, 2014
Fast pace, great opportunity. A bit challenging for a work life balance at times. Great training program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kittery, MEJuly 8, 2014
Well run company. Good people and they communicate well. Meet with employees before each shift and give sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 30, 2014
Managers acknowledged when associates wanted to grow. It was a chill place. Very team oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with great coworkers
Parttime (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAJune 24, 2014
I learned so much more about merchandising and visuals. The managers were upbeat and motivating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Part Time Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJune 23, 2014
Culture is young and hard working. Fun people, can be a fun job. Not as stressful as a typical retail job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Stamford, CTJune 20, 2014
A typical day as a manager at J Crew consists of a number of different responsibilities. These include but are not limited to overseeing employees, providing excellent customer service, and managing administrative duties. The most enjoyable thing about my job is the ability to be fully rounded in all aspects of management duties from HR to operations, – more... and customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and Cool Company
Personal Stylist & Sales Associate (Current Employee), Malibu, CAJune 18, 2014
I have loved my time at J Crew. The discount is incredible but the management can be catty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sorter/Packer (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAJune 18, 2014
A typical day at work is to sort out clothing for my packer to ship out to customers.
While working with JCrew I've learned good work ethics and good communication skills.
Management at JCrew is not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Seasonal sales assistant (Former Employee), Chestnut hill, MAJune 16, 2014
would say hello to everyone upfront, entering the store.
would fold clothes and keep my section organized.

i learned that working in commission and a rich area, its very competitive and challenging.

co-workers were mean and would try to steal your commission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Store Director (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: respects employees rights, customer oriented, exciting product
Love working for J.Crew - great upper management, improved training opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J.Crew
Sales Associate * Customer Service (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 29, 2014
Pros: laid back environment, great team
Cons: compensation/commission isn't worth it
J.Crew is a great company to work for. I'm currently in school for Fashion Marketing and Management with prior management experience. I have excellent qualifications but they do not provide me with enough hours to show them what I can do. I work one day a week and in this horrible economy, and me being a college student, that does not really help the – more... matter. I spend more money going out to work than I make.
I would recommend J.Crew to someone who is looking for more than just a sales associate position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Control Clerk (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 18, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was when we exceeded the expected numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fashion focused
Customer Representative (Former Employee), Lake Grove, NYMay 15, 2014
Great company to work for! Love for fashion and people person a must
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment, favoritism and no personal life
Associate manager (Former Employee), Lake George,NYMay 10, 2014
I was an associate manager with this company. The lay of the land was the more productive you were at selling the more hours you'd get. Not the case at this location, the top sales person did not get the best selling hours (as promised) and as associate manager you'd be in charge to rally up your team and then have to explain why their not getting hours – more... after a great selling week. The other management was lazy and only cares for their own personal life so you'll be working more hours and more late night shifts. It's hard to keep an up beat attitude when the rest of managment complains and doesn't hold any accountability for their actions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Co-workers make the workplace enjoyable
Stock Lead (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 8, 2014
My coworkers are great. I learned inventory management as well as handling large projects in limited time. Management was a solid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable workplace.
Distribution Center Supervisor (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 7, 2014
The associates at this facility are always willing to support their peers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT STAFF PRODUCTIVE ENVIRONMENT
Retail sales associate PT (Current Employee), Chestnut Hill, MAMay 6, 2014
Pros: discounts, great co workers = family like environment at times
Cons: lack of advancement from within, long hours, low pay, barely any commission/bonuses
Corporate policies interfere with potential harmonious work environment.

Great people, good product, long hours, low pay. PT Retail sales...It is what it is but it could be managed better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Associate Manager (Former Employee), New Canaan, CTMay 4, 2014
Long hours, not much room for advancement. Co-workers are nice, management isn't the most encouraging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FANTASTIC!
Sale Associate (Current Employee), San Marcos, TXMay 2, 2014
Cons: only working part time
I love working here! The managers are terrific and very understanding. While I was taking classes they worked around my schedule and didn't hold it against me. Most of the employees have been at this store location at least a year because IT IS AN AMAZING WORK ENVIRONMENT!

About J. Crew Group, Inc.

J.Crew debuted in 1983 with the mailing of its first catalog. Six years later, we opened a flagship store at New York's South – Read more

J. Crew Group, Inc. Photos