Find companies:
J. Crew Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
150 reviews

J. Crew Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Interactions with the sales team and with customers
J.Crew Sales Associate (Former Employee), Birch Run, MIMay 2, 2014
At J.Crew, we hold great value toward customer satisfaction, starting with the customer's first step into the store and ending with their finalized purchase at the register. J.Crew values each working associate for their interpersonal fashion skills, allowing each associate to personally interact with customers and work one-on-one with the customer – more... to find the needs of the customer, including full wardrobe advice, finding perfect fits between the different styles J.Crew has to offer as well as giving suggestions of the versatile wear of each J.Crew piece. The J.Crew team works well together to help give each customer top-notch experience with the store and the team members to improve their shopping experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 30, 2014
Typical day included all back of house work, covering in front of house, covering wherever needed. Managing heavy work load in office. I learned a lot of office duties. Management often had a critique but no solutions. Co-workers were always amazing to work with. The hardest part of the job was trying to finish my work load, but then being pulled in – more... other areas that were not as important. The most enjoyable part of the job was being busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
Sales Support Associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 23, 2014
I love J.Crew because the management time lets us enjoy ourselves while doing what we love. They understand that retail probably isn't where we see ourselves in the future and they do what they can to help us follow our dreams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Discount
Sales Support, Cashier (Former Employee), Paramus, NJApril 16, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: drama amongst personal shoppers
Give great discounts for employees. Very Busy especially around holidays. Concept Store. Very competitive amongst the personal shoppers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable, Enjoyable workplace
IQA Associate (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
The warehouse environment is a great place to work in my opinion. I learned what amount of hard work and different departments have to work together to give consumers what they demand in a fast, efficient manner. My co workers were like family to me, everyone works and gets along so well. The hardest part of my job was the physical aspect but techniques – more... and lessons made it easy and enjoyable for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, great work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 11, 2014
i had the utmost honor of meeting people from different walks of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visual Merchandiser
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), Pearl, MSApril 3, 2014
Pros: less days at work to find a better job
Cons: low hours, low wages, and bad management
Due to low hours set by corporate, I do not make the money I need to survive. I love the job but the hours are horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun retail place of work
Cash Register, J.Crew Menʼs Shop (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 2, 2014
Process sales, exchanges at the cash register help customer find items backstock check items for customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work in this environment!
Associate Manager (Former Employee), georgiaMarch 29, 2014
This company was not at all fair. Management expected to do everything, all the work, cleaning bathrooms, etc... Store director did nothing. A long day, no breaks. Horrible hours, all weekends..Low pay for Management. Horrible raises. Terrible accountability system. If you receive complaints, you are in trouble. If you receive compliments, no thank – more... you's. No incentives for Management. Too many rules. Horribly unfair HR in New York. Brand is overpriced and not exciting any longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Sale Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gaffney, SCMarch 25, 2014
Working with the public matured me a lot in my job field because i had to different cultures and different age groups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inspiring company to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 24, 2014
J.Crew is such an excellent brand it is truly an exciting place to work. The designers are so innovative it is really great to see how they are able to keep an established brand so incredibly current.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 15, 2014
Balance cash registers
Process cash transactions.Opportunity for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy going people and fast tempo work.
Packing Associate (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMarch 9, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: un-paid short breaks
Typical days at work would consist of packing boxes with clothes. I learned how to work individually and prioritize everything with my own self motivation. The management as well as my co-workers were both very easy-going and not difficult to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with a high associate ownership, accountability and level of support.
Store Director (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMarch 8, 2014
The most productive teams and places to work. J. Crew allows personal skills to come to the forefront while developing talent to be industry leaders. Best experience for growing talent and skills in retail!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Place
Sales Support (Former Employee), Aventura, FLFebruary 17, 2014
J crew was a pretty mellow but hard working place my first Job in Florida so I had a lot of adjusting to do as far as Traveling, the people, and environment. I was mainly in the stock room taking care of shipment and organizing the clothes and also maintaining the floor from time to time, when asked upon I would also be on the sales floor helping customers – more... and taking care of Cashier duties. Management was decent, co-workers were pretty professional and hardworking I worked well them. The hardest part of the Job was just getting used to the distance I was fresh in the area so I had a hard time getting there, and the most enjoyable part was the discount we were given by the company to enjoy the wonderful cothes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck up
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Queenstown, MDFebruary 10, 2014
typical day all I did was fold and neaten store. Learned nothing, coworkers were rude, hardest part was learning anything when they are not willing to teach you. Nothing enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair practices--Let go for no reason
Distribution Center (Former Employee), Arden, NCFebruary 7, 2014
Cons: management don't care
With J.Crew don't think about advancement opportunities. If you are not young, you will never be hired. Put in applications over 10 times and never got an interview. Don't matter if you have experience. People come in and work 2 weeks and get hired if you are young and you know someone. They make you think everything is fine, then get canned for some – more... stupid reason and you did not even know anything was wrong. Will go on unemployment before I would ever work for them again. Supervisors are sneaky and can let you go without giving their name. Management don't care about their employees only themselves. God sees everything when they treat people wrong. Management need to be careful that the same thing does not happen to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bypass this Company!! (JCrew)
Associate (Former Employee), Destin, FLJanuary 30, 2014
With J.Crew there is no work/life balance and dont even think about advancement opportunities they dont exist. The discount is worth nothing as a customer you have a better deal. Upper management dont care about there employees only themselves. Benefits suck!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast fashion
Personal Shopper (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
high turnover rate, quality of life is tested with the pay rate, great management, seamless advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy Job
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 28, 2014
This job was very easy to preform but it became so incredibly boring it was almost unbearable.

About J. Crew Group, Inc.

J.Crew debuted in 1983 with the mailing of its first catalog. Six years later, we opened a flagship store at New York's South – Read more