Find companies:
J. Crew Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
194 reviews

J. Crew Group, Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion
Personal Stylist (Former Employee), Toronto,ONJuly 29, 2014
Pros: loved
Cons: hours
Customer Service. Personal Stylist. amazing time work there as a part time stylist. meet customer need by selecting the right outfit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solidified my retail passion
Cash/ Sales /Stock / Visual Merch (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2014
Pros: great learning opportunities
Cons: not enough room to grow competing with favourites
This job was an amazing experience, everyday was different but you had your regulars who are in love with the brand. You are able to go to management and get scheduling issues resolved. the only thing is after three years it became stagnant for some individuals and it was because management started to favour different individuals, that was out in the – more... open and many people ended their careers there because of it. But jcrew is a strong company with great training, opened up many opportunities as small as being able to change a light bulb in the changing rooms to processing shipments in and out with a great stock manager. Ive gotten to dabble in the visual merchandising time and did overnights when new seasons came in. This company solidified my passion for the retail industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company and job I've ever had!
Visual Merchandising Associate (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: being awarded for doing a good job (free breakfast before work) and fulfilling customer's needs.
Cons: long, fun hours! dealing with challenges in the work environment
My typical day as a visual merchandising associate would start at 7 a.m. When I was hired to do this job I had no retail experience but the hiring manager believed my previous experience would be ideal for the position. I learned to be a visual merchandiser as I usually received shipment and had to work on the display if the merchandise. I also took – more... care of the markdowns and anything that was related to merchandising.
When I was done with that I normally worked on the floor to sell. I enjoyed interacting with the customers and getting comfortable each day! My sales were as good as the associates that had worked for the company longer than I and mostly in the top 3.
The most enjoyable part of this job was when customers that I helped left the store satisfied with my service and help. That always made my day.
When I was a fashion design student I knew I wanted to work in the industry but not as a designer. I feel sales is something that I was meant to do- I enjoy customer service and the creative side of it so much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passion for Fashion
Stylist and Sales Support Staff (Current Employee), TorontoOctober 30, 2012
Pros: clothing discount
Cons: salary
I admire those who work at JCrew and their extensive knowledge of the product line and being able to assist clients in finding their style.
It can get hectic on the floor, but it is to be expected when the company is just beginning to grow in Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
JCREW Review
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Greenwich, CTNovember 24, 2014
Learned how to interact with customers. Helped design mannequins and organized the store. Helped with the cash register. Sweep floors and made the store look presentable. Helped motivate employees with different incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail job
Sales and Merchandising and Customer Service (Former Employee), Short Hills, NJNovember 13, 2014
Pros: lots of just out of college aged kids
Cons: long hours
Worked on the merch team for 2+ years. Hours were long and the senior management played favorites with team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured infrastructure with congenial work environment.
SAP BASIS and Oracle DBA (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 7, 2014
Well structured infrastructure with congenial work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great lunch area
Picking and Packing (Current Employee), Lynchburg, VANovember 3, 2014
Weekend shift 6a-6p. 3 twenty minute breaks. standing constant moving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and extremely hectic
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Emeryville, CAOctober 29, 2014
My day to day duties included everything from greeting and assisting customers into fitting rooms, with outfits, to occasionally working as cashier as well. Our goal at J. Crew was to make sure that every customer left satisfied with our customer services. We wanted the customers to know that they will do anything and everything that we can to meet – more... their needs. If we did not have a certain item in our stores that they wanted, it was our responsibility to call other J. Crew locations to see if they had it, and if that didn’t work out then we would order certain products for the customers online and if was not available for them in certain sizes then we would use the what we called the red phone in the store and order products for the customers outside of California and made sure that their orders got shipped to their front steps. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for J.Crew
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 27, 2014
J.Crew was a fun company to work for, it didnt even feel like work while I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, but a lot of sitting!
Client Specialist (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: cubicle-style work space
In my typical day, as I did every day, I answered the phone with an elegant remark as, "Thank you for calling J.Crew, my name is Kayla, how can I help you today?" After my introduction I would then apply my training, guides, and policies to use by assisting the customer in their needs. I learned a lot about myself, and found that sitting in a cubicle – more... in a call center is just not for me. My co-workers were the best part about the job- everyone is friendly and willing to give you a helping hand whenever you needed it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Support (Current Employee), Pleasanton, CAOctober 16, 2014
Great part-time job for people who are passionate about fashion, visual merchandising, customer service, and recruiting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging work environment
International Marketing Summer Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2014
Co-Workers were extremely helpful and pleasant.
Great desk set ups and computers.
Room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work part time.
SALES ASSOCIATE/CASHIER/PERSONAL SHOPPER (Former Employee), Commerce, GAOctober 14, 2014
I worked with them for over 4 years and don't have a single negative thing to say about the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sales and Clientele Specialist (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 26, 2014
Very organized and structured work environment. J.crew takes training seriously and invests on its people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice and easy work place
Senior Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: amazingly flexible with schedules
Cons: short lunches
I enjoyed working at Jcrew and had my longest stay with this company. I felt nothing but support when it came to the management. I just was able to maintain the distance/attendance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Wisconsin Dells, WISeptember 23, 2014
My coworkers feel like family. We have a great client database. The discount is fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stylish Company, Stypish Work
Client Specialist (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: free coffe, massage chairs, positive atmosphere
Cons: after holidays cut
Working as a Client Specialist I constatnly sold credit cards and merchandise to my customers via phone. The customers were great, most of the time, and was quite rewarding. My manager was great, and they love feedback on how to improve your work life. They had free coffee and a massage chair for when the holdiays got really stressful! Unfortunately – more... a lot of people constantly get cut after the holiday rush and there's a 50/50 chance you'd be hired back on. But overall not a bad place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
customer services / Sales Consultant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 9, 2014
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Stock Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: good environment of people to work around.
Cons: no cons!
The j crew experience is good. This is one of the top brands in the fashion business. Learning many things about middle level/preppy high fashion. Quality of fabric and design comes first!

1 2 3 4 5

About J. Crew Group, Inc.

J.Crew debuted in 1983 with the mailing of its first catalog. Six years later, we opened a flagship store at New York's South – Read more

J. Crew Group, Inc. Photos