IWK Health Centre Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work. Job was interesting and at the end of the day felt very satisfied with what you accomplished.
Anesthesia tech (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS23 August 2017
Management was ready to help and understanding. All staff got along with each other. We felt like one big family. We were always there for each other.i felt patient care was upmost important to all staff. We were treated with respect and showed respected in return.
Pros
Personal satifaction, vacation and health benifits.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Care Team Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 June 2017
Very nice place to work! Still need to be a few kinks ironed out as to where the CTAs fit in.The parking is insanely expensive and they move staff around alot.
Pros
Lovely work environment
Cons
Expensive parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend to anyone
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 May 2017
Would not recommend to anyone. Has a management team who is friends with select housekeepers. Takes advantage of you and books you for times that aren't in your availability and if you don't work the shift you lose the hours. Hard to get on as full time as full timers have seniority over casuals and they jump from position to position leaving the casuals with no way to get full time.
Pros
Rewarding work and a few great employees
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, with people and kids.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS16 March 2017
While working at the IWK information desk, you got to tell everyone who was lost entering the hospital where to go. I learned how top mange rude patients or people. My favorite part of the job would be, handing the little kids out finger puppets they always seemed to enjoy them.
Pros
You got to be friendly with people.
Cons
The people were sometimes rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Info Desk Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 February 2017
I volunteered here in the summer and I really enjoyed it, I plan to go back for at least one day a week in the upcoming summer. I would start each shift by getting the patient log sheet and then go unlock the desk. I helped people get around the hospital. I had to help people with multiple different disabilities and people that spoke different languages, this made me very patient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS21 August 2016
Great place to work. It is easy to reach the management. Work/life balance is important for the company. Everyone loves what they do. Always new things to learn.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace. experience with public
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Information desk26 July 2016
It is definitely a place to work. you get to know your community and get to meet new people. I did learn new things, that not everyone is respectful but you just have to handle it politely and be respectful to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very up-beat work place with great people
Volunteer Experiences (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS29 May 2016
I volunteer here once a month. There are other many great members, but being a Junior Leader means having the most responsibility. I come up with creative activity ideas for the group members who join. I help make people feel comfortable and welcome. I learned to communicate well with people and keep a positive personality. Helping teens going through mental health disorders is not easy, but in the end it is worth it.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS2 May 2016
- ronald mcdonald family room is a great place to volunteer
- great friendly staff to work with
- very coordinated and easy to find all details needed for work
- very clean space and fun to hang out with the families and kids
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific place to work!
Administrative Assistant to Director of Forensics (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS4 March 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working at the IWK. The environment was energetic and positive.

I was in a term position and I have since retired from my permanent job so I am currently hoping to return to the IWK on a part time basis as a Registration/Scheduling Clerk or a similar position.
Pros
Environment and Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and friendly place to work + clowns in the halls. lol
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS29 August 2015
The IWK Health Centre is a children's hospital. It is a great place to work with pleasant staff and great benefits. I was thrilled when I was hired to work there. It made me feel proud as the IWK has a great reputation across Canada.
Pros
A special atmosphere, friendly people and great benefits.
Cons
None that I am aware of except for my long trip on the bus there and back. lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive Environment
Staffing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Centralized Staffing Office13 February 2015
Although acute care is a patient focussed environment, The IWK does an excellent job of caring about their employees. In any range of positions the management and staff work towards the same goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with children and families is very rewarding.
Medical Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS29 March 2014
Collaborating with allied health is interesting. The chance to do different types of work - individual counselling, family counselling and group facilitation.
Pros
opportunity to work with other professionals such as physiotherapists, nutritionists, child life specialists, psychologists
Cons
micro managers, management is made up entirely of nurses, and therefore there is no one to see or address the needs of other allied health professionals
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

See more IWK Health Centre reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IWK Health Centre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
4.3

IWK Health Centre Reviews by Location