Find companies:
ITT-AES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
195 reviews

ITT-AES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXFebruary 5, 2013
Very Helpful in making sure you have everything to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't lose any students!
Department Chair (Former Employee), IowaFebruary 3, 2013
Pros: decent pay for chairs and up.
Cons: poor caliber students, poor pay for adjuncts, being evaluated on terms you can't effect or control
Nearly five years with this company and I've watched it collapse downhill. From what used to be a fun job with even a bonus pay structure has become a nightmare where YOU the instructor and especially the dept chair are required to save and bring in students that you are blamed for losing in the first place. As a department chair, you are expected to – more... now teach several classes and somehow fit in your responsibilities, which are mainly bringing in re-entry students, some of whom shouldn't be in school anyway. The students are on the whole, with exceptions, bottom barrel. I have many students who can't read or write because the acceptance standards are so low. The place is a revolving door nailing chairs mainly who don't reach their numbers. Management will side with students almost always, as I've seen students stay after striking instructors, fighting, and even serious disrespect of instructors. Evaluations are a joke as you are expected to handle things you can't control. For example, as a instructor, if a student drops out, that affects you. You and your department chair MUST get that student back in school which is done mainly through obsessive phone calls. Those calls are monitored, counted, and you are held responsible for outcomes. Recently, a Iowa senator has gone after ITT in defense of students, but I argue he should defend EMPLOYEES. Students get support, not staff.

Stay away from this place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive on the support of the US Govt
HAZMAT Waste Manager (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GA / KuwaitFebruary 2, 2013
Productive in the support of missions to the US Military Soldiers during combat
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair compensation for work performed
Mechanical Source / Receiving Inspector (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: poor planning for product delivery (always an emergency)
Enjoyable work environment
Co-Workers are friendly easy to work with
Management doesn't necessarily follow corporate values
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open communication, support, and teamwork.
Material Support Specialist (Former Employee), Wahiawā, HIJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: open communication, support, and teamwork.
A typical day at work would be checking my Outlook Inbox and responding to all inquiries. Establish and maintain stock records and other documents such as inventory, material control, accounting and supply reports. Receive, unload, unpack, visually inspect, count, segregate, palletize, and store all incoming supplies and equipment. Add parts, individually, – more... into SAMSE. Imputing the NSN or Part Number into the database for easier research and finding. Communicate with management and Government personnel on needed materials. Research and order materials online at the cheapest price with my Company credit card. Keep track of each purchase, collect Invoices, and allocate each purchase online. Interface with warehouse personnel in receiving materials. Quarterly, I would do a one hundred percent inventory on my Stockroom. My coworkers were reliable and professional. The most enjoyable part of the job was everyone was a team player. The lines of communication were open and we supported each other, tremendously. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
TECH. ASSEMBLER/ LEAD OPERATOR (Current Employee), West Springfield, MAJanuary 23, 2013
I run a Mydata pick and place machine. i also am the Lead Operator/Cell Leader in my department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civilian Secured COntractor
ADPE Technician Supervisor/ Systems Technician (Former Employee), PARJanuary 21, 2013
Not an employee but a contractor. JOb security is limited. Management needs improvement generally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work , very clean and very laid back
Quality Assurance technician/Test/ NVG Assembly (Current Employee), Roanoke, VAJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: very clean place to work . great people .
Cons: having to leave there...
6:30 am to 2:30 pm very productive . extensive training in electronics .Management very good to the employees . coworkers are the greatest . leaving it . Knowing that what i did was very helpful to the government and to the military...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teachers are expected to spend their own money for the lab supplies
Adjunct instructor (Former Employee), OhioJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: always hiring because instructors are quitting faster than they can be hired
Cons: low pay, expected to spend personal money for class supplies
I taught at ITT Tech and I was asked to purchase materials for the science labs. The management explained that ITT share prices are too low, so there is no budget for lab materials. Even though each student paid over $2,000 for the class and that science class brought over $40,000 per quarter, the share holders would not allow $500 for lab supplies.
If – more... you teach sciene at ITT Tech, you will be paying ITT to teach there.
Do not teach at ITT Tech, where profit is first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working. high pressure enviroment
Lead Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), KuwaitJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: good overall package
Cons: long hours. we worked 12 hours 6 days a week.
I had a team of around 55 inspectors working with me. I had to assign daily work load, ensure timelines were met and was the bridge betweent the company and the customer of the final product. I learned to become an efffective team leader, i improved my customer relationship skills and was in constant touch with management on work progress. My co-workers – more... were a diverse team of many nationalities. The hardest part of the job was finding the perfect balance to ensure the companies needs were met whilst keeping customer satisfaction high. I enjoyed the challenge and the constant change that came with the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Engineering Special Purpose Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), KuwaitJanuary 9, 2013
For A one year contract great place to work and meet new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Easy to work for. Low Stress but high expectations.
Network Administrator/ Systems Administrator (Former Employee), BaghdadJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: easy to work for and plenty opportunities for professional growth and advancement.
Cons: the distance from family. sometimes the pay was not as high as competing employers.
ITT give every employee the opportunity for professional growth but also advance their skill set by allowing them to cross train and learn different job that are not always in the scope for their job description.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career opportunities but being in the Middle east for 9 yrs, its time to go home.
Property Manager (CIF) (Current Employee), Kuwait (3 different US Army bases)January 1, 2013
Pros: communication, keeping the us army (customers) happy (the war-fighter's moving up to afghanistan).
Cons: directors whom are micro managers and will look over your shoulder in all that you do.
I enjoyed working and supporting the US Army and the interaction was terrific and rewarding but after 9 yrs in the Middle East, it's time to get my 6.5 yr old daughter in a US carricullum (AZ) and being close to my folks who are in their 70's. I have become a more professional Manger and can really motivate people to get their job completed in timely – more... manner. I have pride in what they do (which is a direct example of my skills and attributes) and get the Army to understand that the customer is our #1 priority, besides safegaurding the OCIE (Organizational Clothing and Individual Equipment) in the warehouses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with good salary benefits
Lead HMEM (Former Employee), Camp Arifjan,kuwaitDecember 30, 2012
Pros: free lunch and allowance
Cons: according to the work load
Disciplined and respect towards the employees by the management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Equipment Mechanic
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GADecember 25, 2012
Pros: regular hours with government holidays..
Cons: expensive healthcare insurance
Performed services on wide variety of heavy mechanical equipment. M1 series, M2, M3 Bradley Fighting Vehicles, M113 Series, Blue Bird Buses and M88 Recovery vehicles. Responsibilities included preventive maintenance and work order services such as selecting proper oils or lubricants, checking fluid levels, replacing fluids, and cleaning battery boxes – more... and performing annual, biannual, and semiannual services IAW Technical Manual requirements. Responsible for taking oil samples in accordance with Army Oil Analysis Program procedures. Operate vehicles to bring up to proper temperature for sampling. Prepare and post required documentation for AOAP. Prepare AOAP for shipment. Operate vehicles in order to test for proper operation, isolate faults and install cables and parts associated with the proper operation of hoist, main winch and hydraulic systems. Complete Road Test on vehicles to determine serviceability. Have knowledge of the characteristics of a variety of lubricants, coolants, and hydraulic fluids. Must also have a basic knowledge of operation of all equipment serviced to complete assigned duties such as draining and changing lubricants in engines, transmissions, final drives, and hydraulic system; replacing oil, hydraulic, and air filters; checking fluid level in batteries, and hydraulic systems. Be skilled in the use of hydrometers, antifreeze, and battery testers. Be able to read and interpret regulations and technical publications. Have knowledge of various accessories such as winches and lifts in order to check for proper operation. Ability to recognize signs if age and wear in components. Must have skill in handling vehicle controls to start, stop and drive vehicles and equipment. Must be knowledgeable of safety rules and regulations for moving vehicles and operating knowledge of all equipment to be serviced testing for proper operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first exposure to the border manufacturing processes
Materials Superintendent (Former Employee), Rio Bravo MexicoDecember 25, 2012
I really enjoyed working for ITT due to it was my school on learning all my actual working principles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iraq
Sr. ADPE Technician (Former Employee), BaghdadDecember 22, 2012
Pros: job enviroment
Cons: war zone
Do your job, and do it right because the troops depend on it. All my co-workers are smart, the best supervisors and managers, a lots of traveling and I learned a lot about the job and life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Education Recruiter (Former Employee), Duluth, MNDecember 19, 2012
Pros: holiday breaks
Cons: healthcare benefits werent good
at ITT-Technical Institute, on a daily basis was alot of management intimidation, enormous favoritism, unethical place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working environment
heavy equipment operator (Former Employee), kuwaitDecember 18, 2012
a typical day at work can be steady but constant and room for learning is always available, the management can be very understanding at times and some are great to get along with,
the most enjoyable part of the job is finishing time and the hardest part is getting the motivation to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talking about my last place of employment
Technician (Former Employee), Roanoke, VADecember 14, 2012
Each day was enjoyable it was all ways a challenge dealing with computers doing differrent things on a daily basic also most of the co-workers that I worked with were team players.It really was'nt a hard part of my job because I enjoy what I did.The enjoyable part was complete my work and get the job done and knowing that I did my best.