Find companies:
Islamic Relief
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Islamic Relief Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Summer Volunteering (Former Employee), Whitechapel, ENGSeptember 28, 2014
helping the needy is not always easy but humanity is in need.
A typical day consist of shifting through heaps of clothes and sorting them into good and bad piles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace but heavy workload
Volunteer (Former Employee), Leicester, ENGMay 30, 2014
Pros: fun and friendly workplace
Cons: big workload
a typical day at work would start at 9:30am and would end at 5:00pm. Sometimes there would be no jobs to do except aiding the customers and/or keeping the store clean. however, once the donations piled in the workload increased drastically. there were heavy things to carry and unpack and display. on the other hand, the staff were friendly and i enjoyed – more... my time there. i learnt key skills i could utilize elsewhere, such as, customer service, stock replenishing and commuting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, enjoyable and engaging
Volunteer (Current Employee), Birmingham, ENGMay 21, 2014
I had decided to be part of Islamic Relief to help boost my work experience and skills. This voluntary job is really fun and engaging and entailed me to carry out several types of job activities with the community. In my opinion, this is the best job I have been in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
drivers mate/handyperson (Former Employee), bradfordJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: good breaks
Cons: long hours
Company would ring me twice or three times a week and i would be available to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Customer Services Sales (Current Employee), Bradford, ENGJanuary 1, 2014
it is a really good place to work at

good people to get along with

hardest part at this job is loading and unloading the van
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Shop Assistant (Current Employee), ManchesterDecember 11, 2013
• Served customers, handled and processed sales.
• Responded to telephone calls and dealt with enquires.
• Ensured the shop was always clean & fulfilled necessary administrative duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
islamic relief
Cleaner assistant (Former Employee), Walthamstow, ENGNovember 4, 2013
Pros: free coffe
Cons: 4 hours a day
the management was good andbefore i started work i was show the quickest exits that made me fell safe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
charity shop
General Assistant (Current Employee), DerbyOctober 31, 2013
Providing excellent customer service
Working on cash and card registers
Preparing products ready for sale
General cleaning duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and interesting
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great frienship with team, saw regular costumers.
Cons: it wasn't that busy.
At the charity store the roles I had to carry were to sort clothes that had been donated, by folding them and arranging them in racks as neat as possible so people could easily find the things they wanted; doing this helped me become more creative and aware of different clothing and how its arrangement could attract possible buyers, as well as improving – more... my team work skills with the other workers. During this voluntary job I also improved my communication skills when dealing with complaints by costumers.
The hardest part of the job was to deal with costumer complaints when I first started but soon I ban to deal with it well. The part I enjoyed the most was that I made great friendships in my team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun energetic challenging
volunteer (Current Employee), birminghamMarch 17, 2013
this is a voluntary job for fundraising for children n people in different parts of the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vonteery work
customer service assistant (Former Employee), bradfordFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: had a 1 hour lunch
Cons: vonteery work
i really liked working there on my 3 mouth work placement they where very nice people lovely to work with team and i had a good ref of team and told the course and they where very pleased with me and i had good customer services assistant helped outer people really had lots of fun doing vonteery work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Islmaic Relief Retail Job
Stock room and Shop floor Asisstant (Former Employee), LeicesterFebruary 4, 2013
A typical day at work would be to clear out the chairty clothes that come in everyday and sort them out into sections.What i learnt while doing my wor experience here was building my communication skills with people and helping them to their needs.I managed well in hard situations and overcomed my dutys by focussing on my targets and reaching my deadline – more... on time.My hardest part of the job was to wake up early everyday and arrive at he work place but i overcomed this by putting on a earlier alarm time.The most enjoyable part for me was to interact with different people from different age n races building a srong bond which we all got on well together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, busy and fun work environment
Voluntary Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Small Heath, BirminghamDecember 13, 2012
Having the opportunity to be a volunteer at the Islamic Relief chairty store I had the responsibilities included till operation, helping customers on the shop floor, sorting donated clothing and accessories and providing product knowledge to customers. I gained valuable experience and this kept me busy during my spare time as I was learning and interacting – more... with customers and staff.
The only hardest part of the job was knowing how to operate the till and the most enjoyable part was deciding what donated items would sell on the shop floor, as this gave me more independence to think on my initiative and see perspectives from the customers' point of view i.e will they be willing to spend money on a item which was in a certain condition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a brillant company which is very rewarding
helper (Former Employee), LondonNovember 15, 2012
Pros: brillaint staff and working environment
I loved every minute that i worked there, also i enjoyed the satisfaction of helping others by selling goods, which then the money was used to help people in thrid world countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working enviroment
Staff (Former Employee), BirminghamNovember 3, 2012
Every day is different as you get different customers, it's always rewarding to help them out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Voluntary retail aisstant (Former Employee), bradfordJuly 2, 2012
Cons: lots of work
I really enjoyed working at Islamic relief charity shop in bradford
Because i was able to do a lot work which involved manual skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leuk vrijwilligerswerk
Vrijwilligster (Current Employee), Amsterdam, NHOctober 28, 2014
Bij Islamic Relief doe ik uitsluitend vrijwilligerswerk. Hier houd ik mij een aantal keer in het jaar mee bezig. Ik ervaar het altijd als leuk en motiverend als ik meehelp tijdens een evenement of een promotieactie.

About Islamic Relief

Islamic Relief is an international relief and development organization, with permanent locations in 30 countries across the world. – Read more