Find companies:
Irving Oil
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Irving Oil Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Oil & Gas Technician (Current Employee), nova scotiaJune 26, 2014
alot of traveling on call most of time, limited life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
cashier (Former Employee), Oromocto, NBFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: great hours, great management
Cons: poor salary
I loved working here, i had lots of regular customers that would come in everyday to see me and have coffee, Managment was amazing they understood how a store should be run and did it smoothly,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work emvironment
Machine Analysis Engineer (Former Employee), Saint John, NBJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: high salaries and benefits
This is a great company to work for. High salaries plus benefits.
I liked it because I was doing what I studied for, analyzing the rotating equipment performance data. The team members were great as well plus I got so much support from senior staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for The subway section of Irving Oil
subway (Former Employee), Shelburne, NSNovember 21, 2013
Pros: a great work experience.
Cons: being able to work with customers who are ignorant. ( its a self control thing, just smile and bare it and you are okay)
I worked for The subway section of Irving Oil.
A typical day was busy by rewarding. Time flies when you are busy,
Management was alright however I didn't like the fact you didn't go home with tips, but at the end of the month you went home with Irving gift certificates. I loved the employees I worked with, and the schedule I had. I enjoyed the customers – more... talking, and the one lady who said she likes to see people cleaning the tables because it reassures her that it is clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanted a permanent position
Customer Management Support Associate (Former Employee), Saint John, NBNovember 5, 2013
Pros: great employer, flexability for extra hours
Cons: hard to advance
I loved my job working in the B2C department of Irving Oil. They are extremely good to their employees.
I became a pro at my job and often trained others. I worked extra hours and also took on some extra work from other departments that needed my help.
My day consisted of reconciling accounts, doing match offs, credits and rebills and working with a – more... program called Peoplesoft.
I was hired through Adecco on a 3 month contract, but my contract was extended. I wanted a permanent position there so badly! I wanted to officially be part of the JDI team. As time passed, people I had trained (who were also hired from Adecco) were given full time employment. I would often ask my boss if there was anything I could do to also be offered a job. She would often say "in another few months" or "when we move over to the Aliant building" but I was never offered a full time, permanent position. I asked Adecco what I could do. They told me in order to apply for a permanent position, my current position would have to let me go. As long as I was tied to my department, another department couldn't take me on full time. So I put in my 2 weeks notice, determined to reapply and be rehired as an official employee. As I waited to get a reply to my resume, I took on more contract work and was hired for permanent position elsewhere. I never did hear from Irving again. Till this day I still reapply, but I do think perhaps I was misinformed and should have stayed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 years in with a great company!
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Saint John, NBJuly 15, 2013
Lots of work to be done. Lots of people to meet. Never a dull moment!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service Representative - Full Time (Former Employee), Saint John, NBFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: good
Good - lots of room for advancement, nothing bad to say, everyone is friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
CASHIER/GAS ATTENDANT (Former Employee), Hawkes Bay,NLJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: was close to home
Cons: closed
Left because my husband found a job elsewhere so I followed him,but this was a great job and by the time I came back this business was shut down and sold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irving Oil Ltd
Office Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee), Golden Ball Saint John N.bNovember 2, 2012
Pros: family orintated
Fantastic Company to work for,but buisness is buisness and they had to lay me off because of cut backs.Loved working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean facility
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Saint John, NBSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: lunch rooms
Cons: not enough work
good place to work,clean facilities and very safety aware. I was a shipper receiver and demolition of waste materials
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Employee (Former Employee), Saint John, NBAugust 9, 2012
Productive company to work for with good medical benifits. Great people as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for in that region
Project Manager (Former Employee), Saint John, NBJuly 25, 2014
Management is good. Old-fashioned culture. Pay is OK.
Good and supportive to learn and grow for some areas, really depends on what manager you are reporting to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irving OIl Company / Circle K
Assistant Store Manager/Bakery Manager (Former Employee), Raymond, NHMay 20, 2014
I absolutely loved working for these companies. Most of my employment was solely with Irving Oil Corporation prior to the company merger with Circle K. Irving oil company really held onto the family fundamentals of an employer/employee relationship. My district manager was amazing. I started out working there as a third shift cashier, within 3 months – more... time I was on second shift and holding a Shift Leader title. Within 6-8 months after that I became the store Assistant Manager and the bakery Manager. I loved every aspect of my job; the company I worked for, their mission statement, my employee's, and especially the customers. Our store was much like an extended family between the employee's and our customers. They knew us by name and we knew them by name. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job overall...
Cashier/Maintenance/3rd shift supervisor (Former Employee), Springfield, VTJanuary 6, 2014
Typical convenience store/gas station work. Good hours, alright pay for the job and not a lot of stressful work. Some days were worse than others, but customers typically aren't that bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gas station
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Whately, MAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: its a job that pays you. free coffee.
Cons: you work at a gas station. gas station coffee.
You work at a gas station. People hate you because of gas prices. Regular manager turnover created unease among employees. Real danger of being robbed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover - For a Reason
Manager (Former Employee), New HampshireOctober 8, 2013
Cons: long hours - little job security
Not a good long-term career choice. Many... Many... MANY hours are expected with little reward. Very high turnover, and there's a good reason for that!

Poor customer service because of kaos within Irving... Not an employer to be proud of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), South Portland, MEAugust 29, 2013
i worked as asst. manager for 5 yrs. when store was closed because they purchased two new store in same area company only took store manager all others let go
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great job and wonderful people and I would go back if I was asked.
Propane and oil trick driver and delivery person (Former Employee), Brewer, MEAugust 16, 2013
Pros: enjoying days off with family
Cons: driving and delivering in inclement weather
Responsibility of getting my work done on time and safely. I learned how to manage many tasks effectively and efficiently. I had good rapore with all the management staff. I enjoyed my coworkers and working and training them to the best of my ability. The hardest part of my job was inner city driving with challenging areas that were tourist friendly. – more... I loved my job and my coworkers and will miss this very important time of my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but no chances for advancement
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), MEJune 27, 2013
Pros: lots of people interaction
Cons: no chance for advancement
Management was always fair and treated each employee as equals. Employees got along great and always helped each other with tasks as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very family oriented business that valued their employees
Facility Manager (Current Employee), Portland, MEApril 29, 2013
Pros: feeling valued, lots of opportunity for growth, training, field work
Cons: with my job, being on call 24/7.
Phenominal Company to work for. Irving Oil is a very family oriented business. They are very generous and truly make their employees feel empowered, important and are treated like an individual not another number. They care about making sure that you have all the tools and training available to do your job completely. They always want the employees – more... to provide feedback, good, constructive or developmental. This allows them to make changes for the better. The are very supportive for non-profit organizations such as March of Dimes, Childrens Miracle Network, Special Olympics etc. They care about making a difference. – less

About Irving Oil

Highlands Fuel Delivery (dba Irving Oil), the US arm of Irving Oil Limited, is engaged in the refining and distribution of oil – Read more

Irving Oil Photos