Irving Oil Refinery Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay .
Journeyman scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB19 December 2016
worked on the maintenance side , work was slow not my style.. 4 10 schedule which was nice but, just no pay. co-workers were all great Although there was a click.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint John NB.21 October 2016
Nothing but good things to say about the refinery. Great place to work and the people were nothing short of excellent in their treatment of others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irving Oil
Engineering co-op student, vibration analyst (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB16 July 2016
Specialization and following specific directions is important when working with this company. They are ever learning and improving. A great company to work for when a person wants to work in an environment that is continuously learning.
Pros
great people
Cons
deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work among many knowledgable employees
Chemical Engineering Student (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB11 January 2016
A typical workday would involve meeting with the other members of my team, performing the daily required work, and relaying the required information to those needing it in an understandable manner. I learned how to apply chemical engineering concepts received from class to industrial scenarios and problems, as well as the various internal programs required to complete my job efficiently such as developing block flow diagrams and other related engineering diagrams.
Pros
Interesting work always being performed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place
GE Water & Process Technology - Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB22 October 2015
Work place was excellent but since I was on call 24/7, I developed stress problems due to lack of schedules. Co-workers were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mature individual, strong team player and always up for a challenge.
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Saint John NB7 August 2014
Strong communication skills with attention to detail. Enjoy being a team player and great customer service skills. Accomplishing a challenge is very rewarding.
Pros
Team players
Cons
Bad attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work atmosphere
Refinery Technician/Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB1 January 2014
Productive and good work atmosphere-excellent meals for reaching goals
Pros
good work schedule for shift work
Cons
outside work in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the opportunity to learn new things each day
Power Engineer (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB11 September 2013
A typical day would involve the safe and efficient operation of the area in the Refinery to which I'd been assinged.
What I learned was how to teach and instruct my co-workers in various aspects to the job.
The management was of the mind set that the more responsibility you where willing to accept the more would be given to you.
The hardest part of the job was shift work
The most enjoyable part of the job was applying my knowledge to get the job done
Pros
excellent pay
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plant operator
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB10 September 2012
Plant operator,team leader/shift trainer. I was also on the emergency response team
Pros
good money
Cons
lack of jobs in nb
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Irving Oil Refinery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Irving Oil Refinery Reviews by Location