Investors Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 184 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only worked there for 1 month
Director of Content Strategy (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 March 2017
///// All of my co-workers were fantastic. I was engaged in multiple projects and my colleagues valued my help. I was very excited about my position, and hurt when it ended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very saled oriented
Co-op Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 March 2017
I found investors group to be great in the sense of managing your own book of clients. It provides a sort of entrepreneurial workplace for people to do everything on their own time. It was challenging but also rewarding for when your efforts begin to show results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, flexible environment
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 March 2017
Support promised but not offered, as well as poor management.

Continuing education is helpful and excellent but not well facilitated.

Relationship building and autonomy are encouraged but expect micro managing.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wokring Environment
Financial consultant assistant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON6 March 2017
I was a financial advisor assistant at Investors Group and I truly enjoyed my stay at the company. With the stretching support by my senior and other colleagues, I learned a lot of business related knowledge. Also, I conducted cold calling and I was able to build up my skills of communication with clients for clientele expansion.
Pros
Relaxing environment
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kenora, ON20 February 2017
Great job for sales oriented person. Must be willing to accept low income for first year or two but if you can stick it out, the rewards can be unlimited.
Pros
Excellent training
Cons
Commission based
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investors Group
HR Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 February 2017
Pros
Make your own hours
Amazing $$$ opportunities
You are your own boss

Cons
Long hours with no compensation
Upper Managment
Sell Sell Sell
High fees for software
Commission only

Advice to Management
Be upfront that your warm market may not be so warm!
Treat all employees the same
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2017
-good people to work with
-good training
-lots of support
-need a good list of warm market people to go after
-salary was fair
Pros
-own hours
Cons
-commission only
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good training & support
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ontario8 February 2017
Long hours. Hard to succeed in the first two years without a strong list of prospects. Ongoing pressure to reach sales targets. This highly regulated industry makes it difficult to give adequate time to keep up with income-generating activities. Fees and expenses make it difficult to net a reasonable income. Income can be good after several years of extraordinary hours.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Long hours, unrealistic sales expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work lots of hours and eventually you'll make money
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 February 2017
This job had a fun atmosphere and the management do support you most of the time. To be successful expect to put in 50+ hours of work per week at all times of the day.
Pros
Endless potential of cash
Cons
Endless amounts of hours to work to make that cash. Required to pay monthly expenses
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2017
If you're willing to work hard, there's a lot to learn and plenty of room for growth - both personal and professional. A great place to work with fantastic people!
Pros
Terrific people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love my job
CSA 2 (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 January 2017
I have loved working with Investors Group. My management team is amazing and it makes coming into work everyday enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and company culture.
Financial Advisor Part Time (Former Employee) –  Whitby, Ontario25 January 2017
Great training and company culture. Always enjoyed the challenge and rewards of working with the clients that we engaged with, and the other employees and advisors that I worked with as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice solid company
Client Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2017
Working for IG the company is a fantastic opportunity. Solid products, high level of investment in their advisors and their corporate staff.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
minimal cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, room to grow, good culture
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC16 January 2017
The leadership and training is top shelf. The office culture is very good. There is no limitations to growth short of your own capabilities and it's fun being surrounded by entrepreneurs. Everyone feels good about what they do and make good money. It's not for everyone as it is not an employee relationship but a business you own and run with IG's support. The new compensation model released in late 2016 is really good; maybe the best in the industry.
Pros
Leadership, training, income
Cons
Have to stay self motivated
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fake
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 January 2017
learned quite a bit about the finance industry and found that many of my earlier experiences dealing with individuals in this role was quite the norm. narrow minded, manipulating and fake people trying to convince you they know best. The hardest part of this job was determining who you could trust,
Pros
Perks
Cons
Generating good clientele
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Very Good
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Grimsby, ON19 December 2016
Excellent place for entry level financial worker.
Excellent training
Flexible schedule
Good benefit and award program
Systematic management
Well self-study educational program
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free and Fun Workplace, sales concentrated
Consultant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 December 2016
After all the training, you can manage most of your time for your own business. People are nice and most positive. You can always ask and will be always given good advice. Lots of training and workshop will be done through your IG work life.

Just the sales challenge is cruel. You have to make it so you can survive and sustain the business. For those new to mutual fund/investment and insurance world, not very recommended. However, if you want to dig your ability in sales and dealing with people, it worth trying.
Pros
Flexible time, good people
Cons
Tough sales, high expense
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and opportunity
CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 December 2016
Excellent company - great opportunity
Able to locate across Canada
The education and training are excellent
The products and services are varied and very good quality
A collegial and helpful corporate culture
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON2 December 2016
Investors Group has new annual requirements each consultant must achieve in order to work for the company.
16 New investment clients as well as retaining 1.75 million in assets annually. If you do not complete the minimums your contract will not renew.
Co-workers are fantastic.
High office fees, high specialist fees and no one is allowed their own private office.
Private office space is only given to directors or high performers.
Pros
Weekly Training
Cons
No Mentor-ships
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough business with no salary
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 November 2016
good culture in the office,m but a tough business to be in with no salary. Independent work, compensation is entirely based on assets brought in to IG.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 184 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9