Investors Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 170 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, room to grow, good culture
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC16 January 2017
The leadership and training is top shelf. The office culture is very good. There is no limitations to growth short of your own capabilities and it's fun being surrounded by entrepreneurs. Everyone feels good about what they do and make good money. It's not for everyone as it is not an employee relationship but a business you own and run with IG's support. The new compensation model released in late 2016 is really good; maybe the best in the industry.
Pros
Leadership, training, income
Cons
Have to stay self motivated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free and Fun Workplace, sales concentrated
Consultant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 December 2016
After all the training, you can manage most of your time for your own business. People are nice and most positive. You can always ask and will be always given good advice. Lots of training and workshop will be done through your IG work life.

Just the sales challenge is cruel. You have to make it so you can survive and sustain the business. For those new to mutual fund/investment and insurance world, not very recommended. However, if you want to dig your ability in sales and dealing with people, it worth trying.
Pros
Flexible time, good people
Cons
Tough sales, high expense
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON2 December 2016
Investors Group has new annual requirements each consultant must achieve in order to work for the company.
16 New investment clients as well as retaining 1.75 million in assets annually. If you do not complete the minimums your contract will not renew.
Co-workers are fantastic.
High office fees, high specialist fees and no one is allowed their own private office.
Private office space is only given to directors or high performers.
Pros
Weekly Training
Cons
No Mentor-ships
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fake
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 January 2017
learned quite a bit about the finance industry and found that many of my earlier experiences dealing with individuals in this role was quite the norm. narrow minded, manipulating and fake people trying to convince you they know best. The hardest part of this job was determining who you could trust,
Pros
Perks
Cons
Generating good clientele
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Independent Financial Consultant (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB14 November 2016
Great culture with a flexible schedule. Great recognition programs however there is a declining compensation structure for new consultants. Each region office has their own leadership and cultural design.
Pros
GREAT TRAINING PROGRAMS
Cons
NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT, LIMITED PRODUCT SHELF
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need to provide small salary
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ontario31 July 2016
need to know people with alot of money
very stressful
fees too high

flexible schedule good but need to be able to make sales quickly and continual

co workers good all in same boat

managers misleading, management doesn't care about success get paid either way

learned alot about financial planning
Pros
flexible independent learning environment
Cons
pay comission hard to make a living
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Financial Consultant (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON24 October 2016
IG is focused on their clients. The company is all about ensuring the future of their clients.

The focus is to make sure that every client has a Financial Plan that can show them where they will be throughout there life financially.
Pros
Customer Focused
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL25 July 2016
I enjoy my career with Investors Group. Wonderful experiences and team building. I have a strong relationship with co-workers and CEO. I value relationship building with employees and clients. As part of the management team I won awards for top achievement in the Financial Planning industry. The most difficult part of the role is the 100% commission. Thus I am looking for a salary position.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and opportunity
CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 December 2016
Excellent company - great opportunity
Able to locate across Canada
The education and training are excellent
The products and services are varied and very good quality
A collegial and helpful corporate culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, full of challenging and flexible
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 October 2016
My daily works are

1. Asking for appointments from warm market and cold market

2. Reading market indexes

3. Preparing the appointment if I had

4. Improving myself to be more professional
Pros
Free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold-hearted, Fake People
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 November 2016
Money hungry people with no heart. Dog eat dog attitude. Customer is definitely not first. It's all sales, go go go, more more more, for me me me. Very shrewd place!
Pros
None
Cons
Dog eat dog, fend for yourself among them.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Admin/Assistant/Marketing (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON21 November 2016
Great management good perks and benefits. Always depend on who you work for as their assistant. Can be a stressful environment because you are working for a commissioned employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very Positive Experience
financial consultant (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC15 November 2016
I enjoyed my work as I was able to use my abilities and personality to grow a business. I received the education and training to do the job and yet enjoyed the freedom to work independently.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 November 2016
This place is a self motivated workplace. good for young entrepreneurs to build themselves from the ground up and be able to use what they learn to create their own small business
Pros
entrepreneur
Cons
commission
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Very Good
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Grimsby, ON19 December 2016
Excellent place for entry level financial worker.
Excellent training
Flexible schedule
Good benefit and award program
Systematic management
Well self-study educational program
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too brief
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2016
I was not with this company for any significant period to provide a meaningful review. For the brief period with the company I found the management and colleagues very supportive and willing to help me in my pursuit of building my portfolio.
Pros
Very professional and supportive management
Cons
Need reasonable financial base from which to grow portfolio of business
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough business with no salary
Financial Planner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 November 2016
good culture in the office,m but a tough business to be in with no salary. Independent work, compensation is entirely based on assets brought in to IG.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Business Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON14 May 2016
Investors Group is an insurance company that primarily generates revenue from hiring consultants to do the brunt of the prospecting and bringing clients into the company--mostly friends and family members, as well as their references. If sales targets aren't met within the quarter or within half a year, consultants lose their business to their division manager.

I learned a lot: prospecting, talking with business owners, getting past the gatekeepers, etc. The culture was fantastic, and most people were pretty friendly and talkative.
Pros
- Learned a lot; culture was fantastic and everybody was very friendly
Cons
- Prospecting was not easy
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Executive Recruiting Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 October 2016
Working for a senior advisor gave an insight on what the company and the business they do is all about. Great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great Learning Experience
Intern - Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2016
It was a great learning experience to work at investors group. There was great office culture and all the team leaders were very supportive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 170 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9