Find companies:
intertek
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

intertek Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
inspector (Former Employee), new orleansAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: no schedule
pay was great, no schedule i was on cal 24/7, so the balance is rough sometimes barely home long enough for a nap, managment is good at playing to everyones skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They teach you how to be an employee, but not how to do your job.
Tester (Former Employee), Dallas TXAugust 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches sometimes
No training program; you're supposed to figure it out for yourself.

The summary of the training guidance "If you have a question, ask someone (else)."
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized
Inspector (Former Employee), Sulphur, LAAugust 8, 2014
Pros: always busy and 4 days on and 4 days off
Cons: no truck allowance and not the best management with ok pay
on call work week is 4 on 4 off will work in into the ground on ur 4 on but they leave u alone on your 4 off ok pay but not the best benefits management is very unorganized can move up due to high turn over rate due to burning people out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were terrible employers
office administrator (Former Employee), LeicesterAugust 5, 2014
Cons: terrible pay, terrible management
They are more interested in making as much money as possible and treat their employees really badly,

They are in the process of making redundancies and it is envisaged that the Leicester factory will close at Christmas 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse than living in a box
Lab tech (Former Employee), Nederland, TxJuly 25, 2014
The manager is crazy! Her turn around rate is at least 10 employees within a 3 month period. She does everything by email but yet in her quality meetings she wants the employees to choose a Lego figurine to help with communications in the lab. She watches everyone on camera all day long and reviews the night crew upon her morning arrival. It's been – more... over a month now and I can't get my last paycheck....good luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lab
lab technicians (Current Employee), Romeoville IllinoisJuly 8, 2014
Pros: benefits and some of your coworkers
Cons: pay, lack of leadership, lack of communication and lack of respect
Lab employees have little to no training, we have lab techs with less then 2 months of employment training new hires. Lab manager has zero management skills and less interpersonal skills. Supervisors are dictators and not leaders. There are a few dedicated employees that go above beyond there job duties that make this place run.until upper management – more... opens there eyes to the ineptness of lab management, I would highly avoid the Intertek lab in Romeoville Illinois. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, learning experience
QC Inspector (Former Employee), Portland, ORJune 26, 2014
Pros: the people that i've met and worked with.
Cons: no healthcare, away from home more than a year sometimes.
Typical day of work, inspection of pipe welds, steel, and coating. Logistics, and tracking. Management was really nice and knowledgeable. Co-workers extremely helpful and courteous. Hardest part of the job is traveling state to state. The most enjoyable part was everyday I am learning something new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Petroleum Inspector (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 19, 2014
OK place to work very flexible, good management and god owner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Test Engineer (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMay 9, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: not a modern organization
Has pretty good benefits and great PTO. However, there are not a lot of options for development or advancement. Management is only so-so. Great co-workers. Everything is based on hierarchies, which is just not up to today’s standards. If you can deal with this, Intertek is a pretty good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable Emloyeer
Associate Engineer (Current Employee), Cortland, NYMay 2, 2014
Company is expanding and there's a good sense of job security. Work schedule can be hectic. Not a lot of training support - have to learn a lot on your own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of customer focus
Employee (Former Employee), United StatesApril 13, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: high turnover, lack of direction, not customer oriented.
Company's focus is too much for profit and not for customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Experience With An Orwellian Management Structure
QA Engineer (Former Employee), Pleasanton, Ca.April 9, 2014
Pros: pete's coffee machine and bagel fridays
Cons: everything else
I'd like to start by explaining my title: Management = Inner Circle, Employees = Outer Circle, Everyone else = Proles. They hire everyone as a temp with the thought of being "converted" to an employee eventually as a carrot on the stick. I bought it.

Some of the people who had been there longer warned me not to trust the management but I chose to give – more... them the benefit of the doubt. From day one I worked all the OT they offered and jumped on any project that was offered to me hoping to show my value and be converted. I stuck it out good times and bad. There were a lot of times where we didn't have enough work for a full 40 hour week. Supervisors would pick names from a hat to decide who worked the next day. After about a year and a half I was told I was on the list for the next group to be converted. That never happened.

During this time I learned that politics get you further than anything and the management is interested in nothing other than getting to the next pay grade. HR will side with management over employees. The GM sexually harassed the receptionist on a near daily basis but HR would fire her if she complained. The other manager struts around the office like he's everybody's friend to get you to talk to him only to sell you out to the GM. The month they were going to make me an employee they had me train new people and then let me go. Only one person from the list remained to become an employee.

I've read other reviews of the company from other offices and they all say the same thing. HR doesn't care about the employees and management isn't interested in their employees. I should also note that they aren't interested in testing things properly as long as they can charge the client for more hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere with great core values and team unity
Inspector (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: lots of time with family
Cons: sometimes you have to work the holidays but not all the time
I have been working for intertek for 3 years and they have truly helped me and my family after getting out of the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement - Typical Favoritism
Scientist (Current Employee), USAApril 7, 2014
Pros: can be fun at times
Cons: no growth potential, clueless management
Continually striving to better the business but consistently passed over for promotions. Forced to work with ancient equipment and work miracles with it. Management has never heard of positive reinforcement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much politics which has effected the business and too many good people leaving for well over a year now.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Twinsburg, OHApril 7, 2014
Pros: started out with 4 weeks pto time to use how i wanted. up to 5 weeks now.
Cons: rules aren't the same for everyone. too much politics and focus on the bottom dollar.
At the front desk. Answer phones, transfer calls, faxes, greet clients, help clients on the phone if possible, great immediate general manager now, no problems with other workers that are still here, watching so many leave our office. I enjoy my job but more so when I had much more to do. Combining with Columbus office and so many have left which my – more... job will no longer be needed in the near future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intertek
Project Manager/Technical Lead (Current Employee), Blue Bell, PAMarch 31, 2014
Flexible Work environment. high Intensity, software testing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Stay
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Livonia MIMarch 13, 2014
I was hired to bring in sales but all of time was spent baby sitting one customer who pulled all their work. I was there 4 months when 10 of us were laid off permanently. Seems screwed up since I was courted to come work for them. As I mentioned all my time was devoted to that one customer which didn't allow me to focus on bringing new business in. – more... Other female account manager was "favored by management"-(she would not give you a glass of water if you were a dying man". NO SUPPORT FROM MANAGEMENT – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work- Lots of overtime
PETROLEUM INSPECTOR (Current Employee), Benicia, CAMarch 11, 2014
Excellent company & staff. Excellent ongoing training and benefits package. A lot of long hours, but I love working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruited Twice, No Dice!!!!
none (Former Employee), noneMarch 11, 2014
Pros: havent seen any
Cons: " cons" says it all!!
I have been recruited Twice by Intertek in the past year. Both times the jobs were either cancelled or postponed! Mgmt never called to let me know so as i sit and waited for job to start I was turning down real jobs thinking I was comitted to Intertek. Both times the company contacted me saying they needed me badly there was noone else available and – more... they never even had the work to begin with!!! Thanks for keeping food out of my kids mouths! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced company
Project Engineer (Current Employee), Plano, TXMarch 9, 2014
Long working hours. In some cases, one person does the work of three people.

1 2 3 4 5

About intertek

Intertek is a nosy nellie when it comes to product safety and international trade. The company, a leading provider of testing – Read more