Find companies:
InterContinental Hotels Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
348 reviews

InterContinental Hotels Group Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two Directors to report to with different ideas on how things should be done
SENIOR CONVENTION AND CATERING MANAGER (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: lunch offered for $1.50 a day. gm was excellent and very good for the hotel.
Cons: the above mentioned in review.
As mentioned reported to two Directors who both had different ways of doing task. Very "I'm In charge" attitude. Always different ways of doing things. If I asked one how to do something, I would follow that advice and be chastised by the other for doing it wrong. Very much a power struggle. The rest of the team were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and free working environment
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee), KathmanduSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Intercontentinental Systems follows independent task oriented culture. There was opportunity to go oversees for customer support. Bonus and incentives were frequently shared.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went through several Organizational and management changes
IT Project Manager/Scrum Master (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 28, 2014
The transition to Agile Scrum was a great, yet challenging experience. Agile is the best methodology for a system maintenance group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Full Time Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Fort Knox, KYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: comfortable working environment
Cons: travelling distance to work
A typical day at work , catering to the needs of customers. I learned patience, courtesy and how to deal with the different personalities I encounter everyday. Management was very supportive. My co-workers were also supportive and were all team players. The hardest part of my job was telling a customer we have no rooms available. The most enjoyable part was the interaction with satisfied customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IHG is a great company to work for
MANAGER, BRAND MARKETING (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 25, 2014
This is a great company to work for. Plenty of room to grow, shift careers, etc. There are many "life-ers" at IHG, and it's very easy to see why someone would stay 25+ years. I think the best part about the company is its people. There is a wonderful resource pool within the building, of people who genuinely care about the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense with emerging technologies
(Consultant) (Current Employee), atlanta, gaAugust 23, 2014
Pros: flex schedule
Cons: very routine no frills environment
My typical workday includes creating and modifying documentation, developing test cases, and testing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was very good
Work as Receptionist (Former Employee), kabul afghanistanAugust 14, 2014
I was working hard and every one was happy about me, It was enjoyment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding Company to Work for.
Deputy General Manager (Current Employee), Warwick, ENGAugust 11, 2014
Pros: meeting people, developing skills, challenging
Cons: long hours sometimes, never enough time!!
A typical day at work for me, is firstly helping my team serve breakfast in the morning, conversing and hosting the guests and creating a great atmosphere for my guests to start the day.
Then dealing with check outs and payments on the front desk ,dealing with any issues or complaints a guest may have. I coach and motivate my team and lead by example.
I have a huge range of other jobs and tasks I do, admin related, reservation related, management related but each day is different at the hotel and offers a fresh new exciting challenge to overcome, and this is too small a space to really explain in detail what the job role consists of.

The main thing to remember is its all about the guests and great customer service!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IHG is very good compnany
Analyst (Former Employee), Gurgaon, HRAugust 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch and cab
IHG is a very good company and give good facilities to their employees and colleagues are very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated and professional housekeeping staff
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Jackson, SCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great gm, great employees
Cons: excessive workload, makeup the rules as they go along
IHG was a good place to work with a great staff. The workload is excessive and detrimental the positive motivation and morale of the workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oversee all reservations and room inventory, monitor billing, run reports
Reservations Coordination Manager (Current Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: insurance, 401k from company, time off occural
Cons: no room to advance, no structure from district
 Maintain all rooms and services are to Brand Standards.
 Ensure that each Guests needs are met and maintained.
 Complete and Submit P&L reports and Facility Forecasts in regards to Revenue.
 Liaison to Joint Visitors Bureau for all Distinguished Visitors including Officers and Generals
 Correspondence with Points of Contact for all Military bases.
 Oversee the data entry of all large incoming Military group exercises.
 Manage all room inventories to maintain a balanced status.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work, felt like family, wonderful mgmt.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: intoxicated guests
great place to work, as security I had to deal with noise complaints, intoxicated guests but was not that bad. My co-workers were great for the most part. Mgmt. was great and supported my dicisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Butler (Former Employee), Mumbai, MHAugust 5, 2014
Good.
Learn many new skill.
Friendly Enviroment.
Long work hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard labor, great people.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 4, 2014
moving furniture, tearing out old carpet material and laying new flooring(carpet, tile, hardwood). I learned self-management skills, trade, and budgeting. Management was great and easy-going. hardest part of the job and the strain on your knees and rarely some customers. most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the product from start to finish and customers loving your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
(a). Assistant Branch Service Head (Former Employee), Abuja NigeriaAugust 4, 2014
Helped in deepening my business unit’s VAS portfolio by sourcing for new customers and proactively reaching existing customers ones
Top down system of management.
I had wonderful working relationship with my co-workers
The job is target based, meet your target and get promoted, missed your target four times in 2years you are out
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 30, 2014
Good place to work. Good people. Pleasant atmosphere. No complaints. Did not like what my position transformed into, but that is just a personal matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and unorganized
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 28, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the day is seeing daily customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and productive
Hotel Housekeeping (Current Employee), Sydney, NSWJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours
The most enjoyable part of the job for me is, no discrimination of the race.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#1 Intercontinental in the U.S.
BANQUET CAPTAIN (Current Employee), Monterey, CAJuly 20, 2014
Since we have opened we have never slipped under the # 3 spot for Intercontinentals but this year we are the # 1 Intercontinental for the year. This number is based on guest satisfaction.
It is the staff we have a bunch of customer service pros.
I built our banquet department from the beginning and I have pushed happy guest from day one and we have never looked back. We have had the #1 Banquet department since we opened whether the hotel dropped under or not.
We have averaged over 92% guest satisfaction since the opening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Employment
Chef 2 (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 16, 2014
This company taught me many things I did not know before I started working here. They were willing to educate me and get my knowledge to a standard that was above that which i started.

About InterContinental Hotels Group

IHG® (InterContinental Hotels Group) is a global organisation with a broad portfolio of nine hotel brands, including InterContinental® – Read more

InterContinental Hotels Group Photos