The Launch

Inmarsat-5 Flight 4 (I-5 F4) launched with SpaceX on its two-stage Falcon 9 rocket from historic Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, Florida on 15 May at 19:21 EDT/00:21 BST.

Launch Complex 39A has an illustrious history dating back to the early days of the Apollo programme. It was from here that Apollo 11 took off in July 1969 to become the first manned mission to land on the Moon.

Following satellite separation at 19:53 EDT/00:53 BST, I-5 F4 came under the command of the Boeing and Inmarsat satellite operations teams based at the Boeing facility in El Segundo. The first signal was acquired from our Perth ground station at 20:04 EDT/01:04 BST.

I-5 F4 will now be manoeuvred to its geostationary orbit, 35,786km (22,236 miles) above Earth, where it will deploy its solar arrays and reflectors and undergo intensive payload testing by our Satellite Control Centre in London, before beginning commercial service.

Reviews

Overall

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9

About Inmarsat

Inmarsat was set up in 1979 by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) to enable ships to stay in constant touch with shore or to call for help in an emergency, no matter how far out to sea.

With a presence in more than 60 locations across every continent, our world-class products, services and solutions and 24/7/365 customer support facilities
 – more... 

Claimed Profile
Headquarters
99 City Rd, London EC1Y 1BJ
Revenue
$1bn to $5bn (CAD)
Employees
1,001 to 5,000
Industry
Links
Inmarsat website

Twitter

Facebook