Find companies:
ING Financial Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

ING Financial Services Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Saint Cloud, MNMarch 27, 2013
Pros: fun environment, pay
Cons: very busy, repetitive
ING Direct really values its culture. The job has a high focus on sales but there are great opportunities for promotion. Every day you have to answer incoming phone calls and assist the customer and at the same time try to sell them a bank product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young Firm
Sales (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMarch 13, 2013
They pay less and demand less. Doing a lot of changes and moves to try and get it right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Consultant (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAMarch 12, 2013
Opportunity for advancement is unlimited.
Great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Payments Assocaite (Current Employee), ReadingMarch 9, 2013
Pros: lunch breaks
I have worked at ING for 4 years but they have now become Barclays Direct from March 2013.

I get on with many of my co-workers and i have a good work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that supports innovation
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Mumbai, IndiaMarch 7, 2013
a very creative and innovative organization that is a connoisseur of innovation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Tax & Insurance Escrow Associate (Former Employee), Saint Cloud, MNMarch 5, 2013
A typical day was answering customer calls, posting fees, refunding premiums and contacting insurance companies and tax jurisdictions. We also did a lot of research requests sent in from customers. I worked on a very small team so team work was very important. Our moto was never stop learning. Things change constantly and that was probably one of the – more... hardest parts of the job. The most enjoyable part of my job was being knowledgable and being the go to person for questions. In my 10 years of employment I have always met my goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
complaints manger (Former Employee), sydenyFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: the pay could be better
i worked the 8 years says it all i lernt valuble skills that have oaved my operate carreer and the suprt from the people is amzing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro-managment at its finest.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Windsor, CTFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: co-workers, training, medical
Cons: too micro-managed. they need to give their employees some breathing room.
Most of these reviews are not Customer Service Call Center positions. I wanted to specifically review the Customer Service Rep position. I've worked at other call centers and this one is very confining. My biggest problem were the managers looking over your shoulder every second. I expect mangers to monitor calls and make sure you are handling your – more... calls in a timely fashion, but this was way more constrictive. They looked at every second you were away from your desk, even if you were trying to help a customer by faxing, which for the first 6 months is on the other side of the room. You'll get criticized for saying a specific word too many times on a call, going to the restroom, how long it takes you to finish work in-between calls and God forbid if you have a cell phone in sight. It's company policy that all cell phones have to be put away while you are at your desk and they can only be used in break rooms, cafeteria and outside. You cannot even step outside the call center and take a call without someone monitoring you like you're in the High School hallway. That bothered me a lot because for the people who have children, it's hard in case an emergency arises. Also, any job I've had in the past your email was basically yours unless management had a reason to look at someones email. At ING, they look at your email constantly. I had made folders for myself when I first worked there to organize all the emails that were being sent to me and I came in the next day to find all my folders deleted with new folders made by my manager and all of my emails rearranged. I've never experienced anything like that in the years I've worked in Customer Service. Some people organize their work differently than others so I felt that maybe there should of been a discussion on what was expected before they just went in and deleted everything I created. I just want people to be prepared. The other reviewer was correct. The reason why there are postings for Customer Service Reps so often is because there is extreme turnover. Some people can work like machines and get things done under these kinds of conditions and that's great because you can move to different departments if you put in your time, but just be prepared that it's a very confining department and it can be a lot to deal with on a day-to-day basis. The customers are a lot to deal with alone especially because of the economy and many people having to go into their retirement plans just to survive. Right there, you have a stressful day ahead of you. When you add all the micro-management, it's makes it a lot to handle. I had great co-workers and the medical benefits are fair, but the salary is quite low unless you work the 11-8 shift and get the differential and also work overtime, which is available a lot. Good luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very knowledgeable upper management
Senior Portfolio Management Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: the exposure to top management and recognition.
Cons: the amount of liability levied on my department with little benefit.
Processed ad hoc requests from clients. Equitized high cash levels and executed program equity orders to raise cash levels for fees and withdrawals. I learned VBA for Microsoft Office and Bloomberg. I also progressed my learning with data integration for Checkfree's APL and Charles River.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and enjoyable experience
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: friendly work place
The job was enjoyable and management was great. Learned a lot about the industry and how to handle administrative office support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible place to work and a strong value for family.
Marketing Officer (Current Employee), Luxembourg, EuropeJanuary 23, 2013
There are no time badges for coming in and out of the office. You are expected to do your 8 hours a day and work extra hours one day if you had to leave early the day before.
If you are interested in receiving a training that would benefit you and your job it is normally approved and encouraged.
The hardest part of the job is that I do not have an education – more... in finance, but after working in the financial world I have been able to pick up on a lot of the important factors.
I like the people I work with and am happy to go to the office every day. That is so important!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee), SydneyJanuary 13, 2013
ING Financial Services was a rewarding and greatly enjoyable place to work. The office culture is warm, friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sr ETL Consultant (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEJanuary 10, 2013
good management with good team. and mainly working in agile methodology is a new experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was one of the best financial insitutions ever.
Sales Associate II (Former Employee), Los AngelesJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: great culture, benefits, and career advancement.
Cons: gone too soon, acquired by capital one and la was shut down.
It was a great place. They had a great culture, management was very approachable, awesome benefits, and they really cared about your advancement in the company. They have recurrent training and when you are ready to move up, they would make sure to train you. Even though an employee would know who the management is, you would never feel intimidated – more... nor would there be a hint of hierarchy. Employees are always in the know with regard to the company's progress and plans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 10, 2012
ING is a great place to work. Coworkers are very friendly and knowledge able in the work place. i would recommend the company any day of the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great networking
Broker Relations Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 5, 2012
• Review Broker applications based on production to qualify for approval and discuss lending compensation plans
• Responsible for handling service and sales calls by recommending ING DIRECT liability products
• Acquire new mortgage Clients, service existing liability Clients and seize cross-selling opportunities
• Participate in the Operation Team to – more... provide excellent customer satisfaction by supporting Clients’ needs regarding account specific questions through online secure messaging – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Loan Sepcialist (Former Employee), Saint Cloud, MNNovember 29, 2012
Pros: great benefits, good money
Cons: no advancement opportunities
Was on the phone for 10 hours a day. When not answering phone calls was working documents for loan applications. Answered incoming customer questions and made outgoing calls for any needed information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do you like being confined to your desk like a dog tied to a tree?
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Windsor, CTNovember 25, 2012
Pros: new, clean building. traning is great.
Cons: low pay, no room for advancement, no incentives, degrading supervisors, no flexibility
The reason ING posts ads for new Call Center Reps every 5 minutes is because they can't keep anyone. The training is great, but once they throw you onto the call center floor, the nightmare begins. As if the constant (absolutely nonstop) steam of verbal harassment from unhappy callers isn't enough, the call center managers are condescending, refuse – more... to help, and they monitor every moment of everyday. As a CSA, your supervisor will be calculating (to the second) how long you spend in the restroom each day, reviewing every e-mail sent & received, and questioning every minute spent away from your desk (why are you faxing/printing/doing anything but taking more calls!? get back on the phone!) Oh, and don't get too excited about the chunk of Paid Time Off they'll try to lure you in with-- You will never be allowed to take it without corrective action, and that includes if you request it off 6 months in advance. My supervisor referred to his team as his "minions." Seriously, this job is degrading and the chances of you earning a cent above your base salary is slim to none. – less

January 28, 2013

How low is the "low salary"?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to work
Portfolio Management/ Fixed Income Intern (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2012
I interned here in college, not sure I got the best idea of the culture and values. I did really enjoy the program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with great training program and support.
Registered Representative (Former Employee), Des Moines, IANovember 1, 2012
Average day revolved around generating sales from leads and cultivating referrals from every appointment. Business was focussed on financial services and life insurance/annuity products. I had Series 6/63 licenses.

Co-workers were and still are friends who cared about your success and made work a fun place to be. Management created an environment that – more... focussed on results, but made it fun and competitive too.

Hardest aspect of job was remaining self-motivated to keep producing results, but was very rewarding when you did. I learned a tremendous amount about closing and value selling. I made an impact on several clients who remain friends and seek advice. – less

About ING Financial Services

ING U.S. is the American arm of Dutch financial services firm ING Groep. It offers retirement, investment, and insurance (mostly – Read more