Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Found 100 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON28 April 2015
This job was a casual position but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

I was able to work in various departments and thrived in learning new skills while I was there.

I was offered a full-time position with the Sarnia Police Service which was why I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Espacio para crecimiento
Equipo de Gestión de Registro de Horarios (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 April 2015
La industria del petróleo es intensiva, y la sensación de trabajo duro me deja un buen sabor de boca.

Para mi esta posición fue interesante porque pude trabajar solo durante un horario diferente, esto me permitió conocerme más a fondo y aprender nuevas habilidades. El hecho de que mi equipo haya perdido una cuarta parte de su capacidad fue para mi una oportunidad para demostrarme a mi mismo que puedo trabajar bajo presión y manejar obligaciones adicionales. Eso me gustó.

Faltó tiempo y organización para ensamblar el equipo, y en general creo que la industria (no solamente Imperial Oil) puede hacer mucho más para reducir costos e incrementar el rendimiento de sus contratistas.

El marco informal de nuestra oficina fue refrescante y me dejó ver una nueva faceta de la vida laboral que hasta ese momento no conocía.
Pros
Salario, experiencia
Cons
Horarios, procesos
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and well-organized with great atmosphere
Millwright Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB15 April 2015
I was a summer co-op student working as an apprentice millwright and enjoyed the learning experience. Everyone was knowledgeable and easy to get along with at Esso-Imperial Cold Lake. Safety was a very high priority and had good communication between management and the maintenance department I was stationed.

Would work there again if given the opportunity.
Pros
Scheduling, great atmosphere, good equipment, charity events, transportation provided
Cons
long commute and bad roads
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work and safety environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 February 2015
Lovely place to work. Unique culture that supports advancement and ethical work practices. The hardest part was adjusting to the many processes in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn lot on commissioning and start up works
Lead Project Controls (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 January 2015
Learn lot on commissioning and start up works. Very good systems and procedures in place.Every one on the project always support each other an share information. Like to work with this company in future.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technically Inclined Work Environment
Technical Contact Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON4 January 2015
Computerized tech support is surprisingly useful within Imperial Oil and Exxon Mobil, although it may take a day or two for the knowledgeable agent to contact you.

Typically 8 am - 5 pm with a 30 min lunch. Solving difficult operational problems in the Tech Contact role. Management is understanding, and co-workers are willing to assist when appropriate.

It was sometimes hard to accept a shortcut simplification solution due to the time permitted, when a more technically accurate solution was in sight.

Helping solve problems that co-workers had been struggling with was enjoyable.
Pros
Satisfying real-time results from work done.
Cons
Technically difficult position.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to gain the tools and knoledge to advance in the field
Intermediate HSE Advisor (Former Employee) –  Aspen/Athabasca Field Project27 November 2014
• Review and revise all existing Job Safety Analysis’ for Predator Drillings entire operations as well as create additional JSA’s that may not have been previously available
• Review and revise all existing Standard Operating Procedures with elected drilling supervisors providing assistance
• Host pre-tower safety meetings and safety “stand-ups” providing information regarding any potential safety concerns relating to the operations
• Observe and participate in safety meetings held by crews prior to operations and attest their performance
• Perform Loss Prevention Observations to grade the crews overall effectiveness when engaged in their respective roles and to confirm that the standard operating procedures are being followed or, if in need of revision, are promptly revised
• Review all Hazard Identifications, Behaviour Based Observations & Near Misses daily, and enter the data into a “real time” statistics report that is used to follow trending pattern on site
• Provide daily, weekly, and monthly inspection reports on various aspects of the entire work site
• Provide information in a morning conference call regarding daily activities, trending patterns and primary objectives that the crews are focusing on relating to their specific tasks
• Orientate new to site workers and ensure that not only is all their respective documentation up to date, but that they understand the code and conduct of each and every employee on site, as well as the expectations of the prime contractor and other contractors on site
• Coordinate with other safety advisors within the project and
  more... provided a weekly statistics report for both the Contractor and Prime Contractor of the project.
• Develop an Emergency Response Plan as well as a Human Construction Traffic Interface Plan for each site and provide access to these plans to all workers present on site
• Upon incident, organize an investigation as to the nature of the incident and provide an incident report that is to be generated by a team of on-site supervisors
• Assist and mentor crews in performing man-down drills, hazard hunts and other safety conscious exercises to help encourage crewmembers active participation in these activities
• Review all active and existing permits and inspections on site and ensure they are completed properly and in a timely manner
• Select and award an individual, weekly, that was on site and demonstrated a commitment to safety, not only to himself but to his fellow workers
• Act as a private confidante for any and all crewmembers that felt the need to share certain aspects of their lives that may attribute to their performance and ultimately, the safety of themselves and others
• Provide recommendations at the end of the project season on ways to improve the overall safety and performance of the workers on site as well as third party
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imperial Oil
Mine Material Handling Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 November 2014
A great place to work with great professionals. They pay above average but expect above average results in return. A good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a pleasant place to work
Journeyman Scaffolder/ scaffold inspector (Current Employee) –  kearl lake30 October 2014
have to say the boys I worked with there were a great bunch, perhaps some day I will return.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided customer service on job
Commodity Tax Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 October 2014
Excellent experience
Great opportunities to advance
Great autonomy for individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Execution Engineer (Hatted Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 October 2014
Imperial offers challenging jobs for people willing to take challenge, make decisions, and increase their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iol
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2014
Busy environment, good place for training, heavy workload, opportunity for movement to new positions
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team at Imperial Oil
Fleet Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 June 2014
Enjoyed knowing can come in to work, and work on my own, and learned alot about imperial oil works, and how sitecards are draw up for deliveries, Mangement is Great, Very understanding and fair when time need off from work to take my kids for their app't.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
distance to work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for those with good work ethic!
Employee (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2014
Loved: Flexibility, Pay, Minimal Micromanagement

Dislike: Job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, learned a lot
Laboratory analyst (Former Employee) –  kearl oil-sands12 June 2014
good place to learn a lot, management was amaizing.
working schedule was tedious but not like hard to manage
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Representative projects (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2014
Learned alot. Very freindly enviroment. Deadlines were the hardest.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing staff and team oriented
o Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC22 May 2014
Working for Imperial Oil gave me the opportunity to work directly with consumers which provided me the opportunity to apply being patient, be tactful and diplomatic.

The staff were all friendly and always willing to provide the best customer service as well as to over look for their peers.

As I had to work directly with money I also had the responsibility to make bank deposits as well as ensure to keep tracking of time of all employees.

Working for Imperial Oil was a part time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a different atmosphere than I am used to.
Site Administrator - F/T Contract (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 May 2014
I gained some new Skills via the Site Administrator at ESSO.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew environment
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake Operations5 May 2014
At this company you will work 12 hour shifts, on a 5/4, 4/5 rotation. You can expect to work night shifts once you are qualified to work in all units.

A typical day at Imperial can get really busy as you have to write permits first thing in the morning, followed by a morning meeting to discuss the days work in each units, but it can also be followed by a few welcomed slack days.

While at one of the plants, I've learned to work in all 3 units. I was also blessed to be trained by this company in the art of working safely and to look after your fellow team mates.

Co-workers were the greatest as most had plenty of experience to draw from. Really fun environment with great co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is to be available at multiple work sites within your unit when a lot of things are happening at the same time. Being safe becomes more so a priority and communicating with co-workers and contractors alike is very important. Besides having to do your own work, dealing with other priorities can be stressful, making this I think the most difficult part of the job.

Getting together with co-workers and management on a scheduled event such as playing golf and other extra curricular activities is the greatest part I think.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
The culture. Still old mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes21No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with very busy location
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto GTA26 March 2014
Good customer as well excellent staff.
Multitasking while i am alone at job location.
Got various technical skills.
Pros
Love to do this Job
Cons
Very Very busy location
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Imperial Oil. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 101 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9