Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Found 92 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided customer service on job
Commodity Tax Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 October 2014
Excellent experience
Great opportunities to advance
Great autonomy for individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Execution Engineer (Hatted Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 October 2014
Imperial offers challenging jobs for people willing to take challenge, make decisions, and increase their knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IOL
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2014
Busy environment, good place for training, heavy workload, opportunity for movement to new positions
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team at Imperial Oil
Fleet Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 June 2014
Enjoyed knowing can come in to work, and work on my own, and learned alot about imperial oil works, and how sitecards are draw up for deliveries, Mangement is Great, Very understanding and fair when time need off from work to take my kids for their app't.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
distance to work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for those with good work ethic!
Employee (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 June 2014
Loved: Flexibility, Pay, Minimal Micromanagement

Dislike: Job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, learned a lot
Laboratory analyst (Former Employee) –  kearl oil-sands12 June 2014
good place to learn a lot, management was amaizing.
working schedule was tedious but not like hard to manage
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Representative projects (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2014
Learned alot. Very freindly enviroment. Deadlines were the hardest.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing staff and team oriented
o Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC22 May 2014
Working for Imperial Oil gave me the opportunity to work directly with consumers which provided me the opportunity to apply being patient, be tactful and diplomatic.

The staff were all friendly and always willing to provide the best customer service as well as to over look for their peers.

As I had to work directly with money I also had the responsibility to make bank deposits as well as ensure to keep tracking of time of all employees.

Working for Imperial Oil was a part time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a different atmosphere than I am used to.
Site Administrator - F/T Contract (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB20 May 2014
I gained some new Skills via the Site Administrator at ESSO.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew environment
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake Operations5 May 2014
At this company you will work 12 hour shifts, on a 5/4, 4/5 rotation. You can expect to work night shifts once you are qualified to work in all units.

A typical day at Imperial can get really busy as you have to write permits first thing in the morning, followed by a morning meeting to discuss the days work in each units, but it can also be followed by a few welcomed slack days.

While at one of the plants, I've learned to work in all 3 units. I was also blessed to be trained by this company in the art of working safely and to look after your fellow team mates.

Co-workers were the greatest as most had plenty of experience to draw from. Really fun environment with great co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is to be available at multiple work sites within your unit when a lot of things are happening at the same time. Being safe becomes more so a priority and communicating with co-workers and contractors alike is very important. Besides having to do your own work, dealing with other priorities can be stressful, making this I think the most difficult part of the job.

Getting together with co-workers and management on a scheduled event such as playing golf and other extra curricular activities is the greatest part I think.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
The culture. Still old mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace with very busy location
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto GTA26 March 2014
Good customer as well excellent staff.
Multitasking while i am alone at job location.
Got various technical skills.
Pros
Love to do this Job
Cons
Very Very busy location
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Price Admin.at Imp.Oil 20 yrs of my 30 yr career. (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS24 March 2014
Best company in Atlantic Provinces !!
Treated me very fairly while working and I have been retired now for almost 11 years and my wife and I have full benefit package for life.
Pros
Top Company respected by many others
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best employer ever
FUELS MARKETING (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario23 March 2014
I worked for Imperial Oil for 4 years on contract. I must say I was well respected and highly paid. I was sad to leave.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Safety Culture
COMMERCIAL FLEET ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Saint John14 March 2014
reporting new Commercial diesel account leads to territory manager, Technical writing, reporting, presentations.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Imperial Oil Ltd (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB6 March 2014
Imperial is an excellent company to work for
learned every aspect of the heavy oil operation
excellent co-workers
fun placce towork
Pros
great benefits, weekends off
Cons
some long days
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work and I was lucky to work with so many great people
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS25 February 2014
Schedule service appointments and dispatch service techs on emergency service calls as well.

Arrange heating equipment quotes, financing and schedule installs.

Invoice the service calls and order parts and equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice building
Mail and File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Don Mills, ON24 February 2014
stuffy and cold, boring filing work
dropping off mail to the same desks every moring without even a thank you

continuous filing of paperwork
Pros
lunch room
Cons
almost everything
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto Canada21 February 2014
In a busy environment
market analyzed
production and sales progress
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and atmosphere to work in.
Afe Analyst-Exploration Support (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta13 February 2014
Good Company all around. Very busy at times and other times very slow. The people i worked with were great and very helpful and knowledgeable in their fields. Very interesting work in Geoscience Technology Exploration. I did learn quite a bit in this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work for , Just wasn't challeging enough for me.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake8 January 2014
Waitinrg for pemits to start work in mornings hardest part of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 93 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9