Imperial Oil Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 82 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer of Choice - 5 Stars
Contractor - Not Employee (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 19, 2016
Imperial is an outstanding company that is world class in all operations. This is one of a small handful of large companies that continuously perform best in class everyday.
Pros
World Class Company
Cons
Career Advancement Opportunities are Limited / Slow to Happen
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Lab - Well oiled machine
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 18, 2016
Everyone working in the Imperial Oil lab is very professional and respectful. Hard working, very well organized. Everyone works in all areas and help is always offered if needed. Hardest part of the job is keeping up with all the work.
Pros
lots of company outings and event.s
Cons
early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety is number one,one team one goal nobody gets hurt.
Journeyman 309A Red Seal (Former Employee) –  Nanticoke, ONFebruary 23, 2016
Great safe place to work and gain respect for procedures and others. Awesome staff, friendly always willing to help and get answers for you. The main focus at IOL is safety not production witch makes the worker feel comfortable and can stay focused on the task at hand.
Pros
Safety
Cons
Not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not just a company but truly a community focused on excellence with a prioity on HSE followed by flawless execution and continous improvement .
TurnaroundPlanner (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMarch 4, 2016
Truly a company where you can have a career only limited by your own choices . Where the focus is on pursuit of excellence , no matter what the endeavor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Labour Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSMarch 27, 2016
Now off the bat i will say why i gave it a one star in Job Security/Advancement. I was once again contracted threw this company with Labor Ready so i wasn't really going to advance here, BUT i still loved this Job due to everything being almost perfect with it. Safety was threw the roof, the people were extremely friendly, and the pay that even i was making and ALL i was told was i wasn't making half of what they make and i was making over a grand every two weeks. i NEVER had a bad day at all. I lost this sight due to an ex who was my dependable ride at the time as i had to be at sight before 6 am and no bus went out that way at said time and it was to pricey of a cab at the time which i lived in South End Halifax and the sight was in Woodside Oil refinery again i digress as i was also to blame for not implementing how imperative that i get there before 6 and she simply took to long getting ready.
Pros
Great Place. Great People. Amazing Safety. Amazing Pay. and Great Hours.
Cons
Gotta be willing to get really dirty and stinky.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company to work for
Programs Coordinator (Retail) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 4, 2016
Great company, great salary, great benefits.People are very caring. Plus the one friday off is a great bonus to run errands that you need to run on weekdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place to work
Steam Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, ABJuly 7, 2016
Very safe company to work for they make sure its the first thought before any task at work. Friendly community don't allow for anyone to discriminate against another.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Sharon, ONAugust 6, 2016
System management, staff management , Company procedure , interaction with customer, customer service, government regulation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work and life balance
Reservoir Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 6, 2016
Good work environment and learning experience. Great training programs and good mentorship to grow ones career. Good work and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Senior Process Engineer Imperial Oil/Exxon Mobil (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMarch 15, 2016
The job was good and all was fine till oil prices dropped and it all ended for contractors and many permanents and very quickly.
Pros
good contract work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with lots to teach
Proces Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2016
I was knew coming in to the tax department, but learned a great deal by the grace of my colleagues. I felt very welcome as part of the team and greatly enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Small Container Operations/Blending Operation (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 1, 2016
Given many tools to take control of your career. Long days, cold days, constant threat around you. Many transitions through management and interchanging of managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotational
(Contract) Senior Admin (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, ABMarch 3, 2016
This was a fly in/fly out camp position. I enjoyed the flexibility of working 3 weeks and then having 2 weeks off.

I was contract to Imperial and not an employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety First
Process Operations Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONOctober 26, 2015
Great place to learn different process equipment. The company praises on there safety first logo and is shown in how the people work and prepare equipment for mechanical work. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues, taking in new learning experiences and being able to plan and conquer tasks also individually.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well respectfull work enviroment. My co-workers and supervisors listened and worked well with others.
ELECTRICAL LEAD, Kentz Canada (Former Employee) –  kearl lake ft mcmurry ,October 21, 2015
Great place to work , issues resoved in a timely fashon, changes made as identified and an enjoyable work environment. Organizational structure and communication between different groups was ok, and improved as in problems identified.
Pros
great work enviroment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays Well but no life work balance
WCMP - Senior Information Management Coordinator (Current Employee) –  CalgaryDecember 17, 2015
Long hours with the expectation to work weekends. Respectful and professional work environment. Excellent working groups, lots of collaboration
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABNovember 2, 2015
Many things to be learned. Extremely competitive work environment. Dynamic personalities. Heavily enforced data integrity. Encourages highly efficient rate of task completion in order to keep production running at an acceptable pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great woking environment
Inspection Engineering Co-op (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ONJanuary 7, 2016
Enjoyed working there a lot! Great company, great people. Was involved extensively with many departments within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Caring Employer
Cost Estimator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 23, 2015
This company provided great benefits to full time employees but not to contractors which is understandable.

They care for employees very well and keep them engaged and informed for any strategic decision.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Mulitiple Level Ownership for work
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exemplary work environment conducive to successful building of customer service skills
Attendant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BCNovember 26, 2015
Esso/On the Run, a subsidiary of Imperial Oil, is an exemplary place to work and comes highly recommended for all of the skills one can develop there. The average day consists of interactions with approximately 300 customers and forces one to think quickly on their feet and adapt their approach to a very diverse group of customers so as to speed up the process yet still leave customers feeling happy.
The management was exceptional, with the owner/manager ensuring he himself helped out during the weekdays and checked in on weekends. This helped to keep staff morale elevated.
The coworkers were a great group as well, mainly of South Asian descent but full of enthusiasm for working and a willingness to learn on the fly.
The hardest part of the job would arguably be the lack of breaks, with a lone attendant unable to close down the store to take a quick break. Fortunately, this was rectified by the attendant being allowed to take multiple moments to collect themselves in between customers, effectively serving as replacements for one long extended break.
Pros
Varied clientele, quick pace, flexible scheduling.
Cons
No breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0