Find companies:
Imperial Oil
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

Imperial Oil Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IOL
Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 7, 2014
Busy environment, good place for training, heavy workload, opportunity for movement to new positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team at Imperial Oil
Fleet Support Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: distance to work
Enjoyed knowing can come in to work, and work on my own, and learned alot about imperial oil works, and how sitecards are draw up for deliveries, Mangement is Great, Very understanding and fair when time need off from work to take my kids for their app't.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for those with good work ethic!
Employee (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 17, 2014
Loved: Flexibility, Pay, Minimal Micromanagement

Dislike: Job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, learned a lot
Laboratory analyst (Former Employee), kearl oil-sandsJune 12, 2014
good place to learn a lot, management was amaizing.
working schedule was tedious but not like hard to manage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Representative projects (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Learned alot. Very freindly enviroment. Deadlines were the hardest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing staff and team oriented
o Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCMay 22, 2014
Working for Imperial Oil gave me the opportunity to work directly with consumers which provided me the opportunity to apply being patient, be tactful and diplomatic.

The staff were all friendly and always willing to provide the best customer service as well as to over look for their peers.

As I had to work directly with money I also had the responsibility – more... to make bank deposits as well as ensure to keep tracking of time of all employees.

Working for Imperial Oil was a part time job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a different atmosphere than I am used to.
Site Administrator - F/T Contract (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 20, 2014
I gained some new Skills via the Site Administrator at ESSO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew environment
Plant Operator (Former Employee), Cold Lake OperationsMay 5, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: the culture. still old mentality
At this company you will work 12 hour shifts, on a 5/4, 4/5 rotation. You can expect to work night shifts once you are qualified to work in all units.

A typical day at Imperial can get really busy as you have to write permits first thing in the morning, followed by a morning meeting to discuss the days work in each units, but it can also be followed – more... by a few welcomed slack days.

While at one of the plants, I've learned to work in all 3 units. I was also blessed to be trained by this company in the art of working safely and to look after your fellow team mates.

Co-workers were the greatest as most had plenty of experience to draw from. Really fun environment with great co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is to be available at multiple work sites within your unit when a lot of things are happening at the same time. Being safe becomes more so a priority and communicating with co-workers and contractors alike is very important. Besides having to do your own work, dealing with other priorities can be stressful, making this I think the most difficult part of the job.

Getting together with co-workers and management on a scheduled event such as playing golf and other extra curricular activities is the greatest part I think. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Price Admin.at Imp.Oil 20 yrs of my 30 yr career. (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: top company respected by many others
Best company in Atlantic Provinces !!
Treated me very fairly while working and I have been retired now for almost 11 years and my wife and I have full benefit package for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best employer ever
FUELS MARKETING (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioMarch 23, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: nothing
I worked for Imperial Oil for 4 years on contract. I must say I was well respected and highly paid. I was sad to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Safety Culture
COMMERCIAL FLEET ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Saint JohnMarch 14, 2014
reporting new Commercial diesel account leads to territory manager, Technical writing, reporting, presentations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Imperial Oil Ltd (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABMarch 6, 2014
Pros: great benefits, weekends off
Cons: some long days
Imperial is an excellent company to work for
learned every aspect of the heavy oil operation
excellent co-workers
fun placce towork
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work and I was lucky to work with so many great people
Service Manager (Former Employee), Amherst, NSFebruary 25, 2014
Schedule service appointments and dispatch service techs on emergency service calls as well.

Arrange heating equipment quotes, financing and schedule installs.

Invoice the service calls and order parts and equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice building
Mail and File Clerk (Former Employee), Don Mills, ONFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: lunch room
Cons: almost everything
stuffy and cold, boring filing work
dropping off mail to the same desks every moring without even a thank you

continuous filing of paperwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto CanadaFebruary 21, 2014
In a busy environment
market analyzed
production and sales progress
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and atmosphere to work in.
Afe Analyst-Exploration Support (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaFebruary 13, 2014
Good Company all around. Very busy at times and other times very slow. The people i worked with were great and very helpful and knowledgeable in their fields. Very interesting work in Geoscience Technology Exploration. I did learn quite a bit in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work for , Just wasn't challeging enough for me.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Cold LakeJanuary 8, 2014
Waitinrg for pemits to start work in mornings hardest part of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management at high level
Manager (Former Employee), Montréal, QCDecember 25, 2013
Manage the HR and the inventory
Planogram and execute the procedure.
it's a wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONDecember 13, 2013
Nice to work with experienced, skilled personnel. In my opinion, one of the best organizations to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Green" Project proud to be apart of.
SSH Lead/Advisor-ATM Project Phase 1 (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 18, 2013
This Plant will recycle water to reduce need for water. Green!

1 2 3

About Imperial Oil

Imperial Oil Limited (French: Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Limitée) (TSX: IMO AMEX: IMO) is Canada's – Read more