Find companies:
Imperial Oil
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to gain the tools and knoledge to advance in the field
Intermediate HSE Advisor (Former Employee), Aspen/Athabasca Field ProjectNovember 27, 2014
• Review and revise all existing Job Safety Analysis’ for Predator Drillings entire operations as well as create additional JSA’s that may not have been previously available
• Review and revise all existing Standard Operating Procedures with elected drilling supervisors providing assistance
• Host pre-tower safety meetings and safety “stand-ups” providing – more... information regarding any potential safety concerns relating to the operations
• Observe and participate in safety meetings held by crews prior to operations and attest their performance
• Perform Loss Prevention Observations to grade the crews overall effectiveness when engaged in their respective roles and to confirm that the standard operating procedures are being followed or, if in need of revision, are promptly revised
• Review all Hazard Identifications, Behaviour Based Observations & Near Misses daily, and enter the data into a “real time” statistics report that is used to follow trending pattern on site
• Provide daily, weekly, and monthly inspection reports on various aspects of the entire work site
• Provide information in a morning conference call regarding daily activities, trending patterns and primary objectives that the crews are focusing on relating to their specific tasks
• Orientate new to site workers and ensure that not only is all their respective documentation up to date, but that they understand the code and conduct of each and every employee on site, as well as the expectations of the prime contractor and other contractors on site
• Coordinate with other safety advisors within the project and provided a weekly statistics report for both the Contractor and Prime Contractor of the project.
• Develop an Emergency Response Plan as well as a Human Construction Traffic Interface Plan for each site and provide access to these plans to all workers present on site
• Upon incident, organize an investigation as to the nature of the incident and provide an incident report that is to be generated by a team of on-site supervisors
• Assist and mentor crews in performing man-down drills, hazard hunts and other safety conscious exercises to help encourage crewmembers active participation in these activities
• Review all active and existing permits and inspections on site and ensure they are completed properly and in a timely manner
• Select and award an individual, weekly, that was on site and demonstrated a commitment to safety, not only to himself but to his fellow workers
• Act as a private confidante for any and all crewmembers that felt the need to share certain aspects of their lives that may attribute to their performance and ultimately, the safety of themselves and others
• Provide recommendations at the end of the project season on ways to improve the overall safety and performance of the workers on site as well as third party – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imperial Oil
Mine Material Handling Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 13, 2014
A great place to work with great professionals. They pay above average but expect above average results in return. A good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a pleasant place to work
Journeyman Scaffolder/ scaffold inspector (Current Employee), kearl lakeOctober 30, 2014
have to say the boys I worked with there were a great bunch, perhaps some day I will return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided customer service on job
Commodity Tax Specialist (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 25, 2014
Excellent experience
Great opportunities to advance
Great autonomy for individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Execution Engineer (Hatted Contractor) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 22, 2014
Imperial offers challenging jobs for people willing to take challenge, make decisions, and increase their knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IOL
Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 7, 2014
Busy environment, good place for training, heavy workload, opportunity for movement to new positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team at Imperial Oil
Fleet Support Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: distance to work
Enjoyed knowing can come in to work, and work on my own, and learned alot about imperial oil works, and how sitecards are draw up for deliveries, Mangement is Great, Very understanding and fair when time need off from work to take my kids for their app't.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for those with good work ethic!
Employee (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 17, 2014
Loved: Flexibility, Pay, Minimal Micromanagement

Dislike: Job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, learned a lot
Laboratory analyst (Former Employee), kearl oil-sandsJune 12, 2014
good place to learn a lot, management was amaizing.
working schedule was tedious but not like hard to manage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Representative projects (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Learned alot. Very freindly enviroment. Deadlines were the hardest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing staff and team oriented
o Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCMay 22, 2014
Working for Imperial Oil gave me the opportunity to work directly with consumers which provided me the opportunity to apply being patient, be tactful and diplomatic.

The staff were all friendly and always willing to provide the best customer service as well as to over look for their peers.

As I had to work directly with money I also had the responsibility – more... to make bank deposits as well as ensure to keep tracking of time of all employees.

Working for Imperial Oil was a part time job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a different atmosphere than I am used to.
Site Administrator - F/T Contract (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 20, 2014
I gained some new Skills via the Site Administrator at ESSO.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew environment
Plant Operator (Former Employee), Cold Lake OperationsMay 5, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: the culture. still old mentality
At this company you will work 12 hour shifts, on a 5/4, 4/5 rotation. You can expect to work night shifts once you are qualified to work in all units.

A typical day at Imperial can get really busy as you have to write permits first thing in the morning, followed by a morning meeting to discuss the days work in each units, but it can also be followed – more... by a few welcomed slack days.

While at one of the plants, I've learned to work in all 3 units. I was also blessed to be trained by this company in the art of working safely and to look after your fellow team mates.

Co-workers were the greatest as most had plenty of experience to draw from. Really fun environment with great co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is to be available at multiple work sites within your unit when a lot of things are happening at the same time. Being safe becomes more so a priority and communicating with co-workers and contractors alike is very important. Besides having to do your own work, dealing with other priorities can be stressful, making this I think the most difficult part of the job.

Getting together with co-workers and management on a scheduled event such as playing golf and other extra curricular activities is the greatest part I think. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Price Admin.at Imp.Oil 20 yrs of my 30 yr career. (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: top company respected by many others
Best company in Atlantic Provinces !!
Treated me very fairly while working and I have been retired now for almost 11 years and my wife and I have full benefit package for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best employer ever
FUELS MARKETING (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioMarch 23, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: nothing
I worked for Imperial Oil for 4 years on contract. I must say I was well respected and highly paid. I was sad to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Safety Culture
COMMERCIAL FLEET ACCOUNT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Saint JohnMarch 14, 2014
reporting new Commercial diesel account leads to territory manager, Technical writing, reporting, presentations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Imperial Oil Ltd (Former Employee), Cold Lake, ABMarch 6, 2014
Pros: great benefits, weekends off
Cons: some long days
Imperial is an excellent company to work for
learned every aspect of the heavy oil operation
excellent co-workers
fun placce towork
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work and I was lucky to work with so many great people
Service Manager (Former Employee), Amherst, NSFebruary 25, 2014
Schedule service appointments and dispatch service techs on emergency service calls as well.

Arrange heating equipment quotes, financing and schedule installs.

Invoice the service calls and order parts and equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice building
Mail and File Clerk (Former Employee), Don Mills, ONFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: lunch room
Cons: almost everything
stuffy and cold, boring filing work
dropping off mail to the same desks every moring without even a thank you

continuous filing of paperwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto CanadaFebruary 21, 2014
In a busy environment
market analyzed
production and sales progress

1 2 3

About Imperial Oil

Imperial Oil Limited (French: Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Limitée) (TSX: IMO AMEX: IMO) is Canada's – Read more