Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Found 96 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Line Supervisor Imperial Oil field Supervisor
Front Line Supervisor Imperial Oil (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON23 March 2017
I enjoyed my time there as a Front Line Supervisor Imperial Oil working with contractors . Supervisor very good to work with . Colleges promote supportive work environment. Safety is ah high level second to none.
Pros
Training
Cons
Job hazards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safety concious
Scaffold Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB2 March 2017
I was just working for a subcontractor while on an Esso site but they seemed like a great company who were very interested in the safety and well being of their employees.
Pros
well paying and appreicitave.
Cons
dailey commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team work
Senior Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Calgary2 March 2017
Enjoyed training and helping people. Expert in SAP.
Buyer for 4 years. Trained employees in Halifax, Sarnia, Cold Lake, Toronto, St.John's, Montreal and Thailand
Pros
Great cafeteria
Cons
Stressing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Disciplined
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON28 February 2017
As a process tech you are well trained and prepared for your task, good schedule, good benefits, good pay. Prospurous future I believe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good institute
Customer Service Executive (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 February 2017
good company to work. relaxed work culture. workload is not very much. everyone cooperative and helpful. overall good to start career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative work environment amongst team members. Long hours required to be recognized and rewarded for efforts.
Retail Sales - Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto6 February 2017
Imperial Oil offered continuous learning and developments of skills throughout career through on-the-job and corporate training. Fostered the "individual contributor" environment in a corporate setting. Enjoyed the daily challenges of relationship management, growing the business and flawless executions of customer service, operations, safety and site performance measures.
Pros
Benefits, Peers and co-workers, many positions are work-from-home office.
Cons
Work-life balance, Long hours, quantity of work equal in importance to quality to be recognized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great group of guys to work with.
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Northern Alberta Canada12 January 2017
The most important thing was safety first. The well being of the men and women on the job. For example: And by the way this is true. If it took 12 hours to make the job safe for a 15 minute job! Then that's what it took. Like I was saying, the well being of the men and women was there top concern. I'm not saying they didn't want the job completed, cause they did. But it was done right and safe.
Pros
They were always giving out safety awards to everybody, I mit and its was quaility items at that.
Cons
It was cold.lol
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great challenging Career
Facility Planning Manager (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth NS23 November 2016
Imperial Oil is an excellent company that provides a professional, technical, challenging safe work environment. It was an honour to work in such an environment and I fully enjoyed my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced , great coworkers
Shipping/Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 September 2016
Was a great place to work when it came to the people. It was not organized when it came to the leadership. I felt as if the wrong people were in the position of power and the deserving ones were overlooked. Otherwise it was alright to work in this environment.
Pros
Work was not that demanding.
Cons
No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place with Gym at the work place
Project Services Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2016
Competitive work environment. Great benefits consistent with the top companies in the oil and gas industries. Excellent work life balance, 17 flex days off for personal activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much office politics, not enough recognition for contributions, good job security
PE (Former Employee) –  Sarnia21 September 2016
Work/life balance can be a challenge, too much office politics, not enough direct recognition for contributions. Management seeks all the benefits of profitable business and often tend to take credit for results. The workers do not tend to work as a team as there is significant internal competition. The work environment is competitive and therefore offers a good learning experience to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work camp environment. Imperial takes the PC movement to a whole new level.
mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 September 2016
Kearl is full of backstabbing weasels ready to throw you under the bus to try and get ahead, beware of offending anyone as you'll be fired so quickly it will make your head spin. If you enjoy working for a bunch of fairies who pretend to care about you it's a great place. No union equals no job security. They can do what they want with whomever and they do !
Pros
paycheques
Cons
Politically correctness out of control, very limited food options
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Area Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 September 2016
A fast pace environment with great opportunities.
Excellent coworkers and senior management.
Worked on travel and expense.
Calendar management.
Catering for in house meetings.Invoice and time sheet follow up. Holiday tracking as well as on boarding and off boarding.
Pros
summer hours reduced with some Friday office closures
Cons
Assign a designated person for initial training.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work very responsible company
Utilities Power Engineer/Plant Operations (Current Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB1 September 2016
Very safety oriented culture with complete employee and management buy in. Very environmentally responsible company and a very family working atmosphere.
Pros
Excellent benefits and salary. Safety oriented culture.
Cons
Commute to work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer of Choice - 5 Stars
Contractor - Not Employee (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 August 2016
Imperial is an outstanding company that is world class in all operations. This is one of a small handful of large companies that continuously perform best in class everyday.
Pros
World Class Company
Cons
Career Advancement Opportunities are Limited / Slow to Happen
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Sharon, ON6 August 2016
System management, staff management , Company procedure , interaction with customer, customer service, government regulation
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place to work
Steam Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB7 July 2016
Very safe company to work for they make sure its the first thought before any task at work. Friendly community don't allow for anyone to discriminate against another.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company to work for
Programs Coordinator (Retail) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2016
Great company, great salary, great benefits.People are very caring. Plus the one friday off is a great bonus to run errands that you need to run on weekdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work and life balance
Reservoir Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 May 2016
Good work environment and learning experience. Great training programs and good mentorship to grow ones career. Good work and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Labour Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 March 2016
Now off the bat i will say why i gave it a one star in Job Security/Advancement. I was once again contracted threw this company with Labor Ready so i wasn't really going to advance here, BUT i still loved this Job due to everything being almost perfect with it. Safety was threw the roof, the people were extremely friendly, and the pay that even i was making and ALL i was told was i wasn't making half of what they make and i was making over a grand every two weeks. i NEVER had a bad day at all. I lost this sight due to an ex who was my dependable ride at the time as i had to be at sight before 6 am and no bus went out that way at said time and it was to pricey of a cab at the time which i lived in South End Halifax and the sight was in Woodside Oil refinery again i digress as i was also to blame for not implementing how imperative that i get there before 6 and she simply took to long getting ready.
Pros
Great Place. Great People. Amazing Safety. Amazing Pay. and Great Hours.
Cons
Gotta be willing to get really dirty and stinky.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Imperial Oil. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 97 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9