Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Found 89 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great challenging Career
Facility Planning Manager (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth NS23 November 2016
Imperial Oil is an excellent company that provides a professional, technical, challenging safe work environment. It was an honour to work in such an environment and I fully enjoyed my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced , great coworkers
Shipping/Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 September 2016
Was a great place to work when it came to the people. It was not organized when it came to the leadership. I felt as if the wrong people were in the position of power and the deserving ones were overlooked. Otherwise it was alright to work in this environment.
Pros
Work was not that demanding.
Cons
No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place with Gym at the work place
Project Services Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2016
Competitive work environment. Great benefits consistent with the top companies in the oil and gas industries. Excellent work life balance, 17 flex days off for personal activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much office politics, not enough recognition for contributions, good job security
PE (Former Employee) –  Sarnia21 September 2016
Work/life balance can be a challenge, too much office politics, not enough direct recognition for contributions. Management seeks all the benefits of profitable business and often tend to take credit for results. The workers do not tend to work as a team as there is significant internal competition. The work environment is competitive and therefore offers a good learning experience to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work camp environment. Imperial takes the PC movement to a whole new level.
mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 September 2016
Kearl is full of backstabbing weasels ready to throw you under the bus to try and get ahead, beware of offending anyone as you'll be fired so quickly it will make your head spin. If you enjoy working for a bunch of fairies who pretend to care about you it's a great place. No union equals no job security. They can do what they want with whomever and they do !
Pros
paycheques
Cons
Politically correctness out of control, very limited food options
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Area Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 September 2016
A fast pace environment with great opportunities.
Excellent coworkers and senior management.
Worked on travel and expense.
Calendar management.
Catering for in house meetings.Invoice and time sheet follow up. Holiday tracking as well as on boarding and off boarding.
Pros
summer hours reduced with some Friday office closures
Cons
Assign a designated person for initial training.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work very responsible company
Utilities Power Engineer/Plant Operations (Current Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB1 September 2016
Very safety oriented culture with complete employee and management buy in. Very environmentally responsible company and a very family working atmosphere.
Pros
Excellent benefits and salary. Safety oriented culture.
Cons
Commute to work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer of Choice - 5 Stars
Contractor - Not Employee (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 August 2016
Imperial is an outstanding company that is world class in all operations. This is one of a small handful of large companies that continuously perform best in class everyday.
Pros
World Class Company
Cons
Career Advancement Opportunities are Limited / Slow to Happen
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Sharon, ON6 August 2016
System management, staff management , Company procedure , interaction with customer, customer service, government regulation
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place to work
Steam Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB7 July 2016
Very safe company to work for they make sure its the first thought before any task at work. Friendly community don't allow for anyone to discriminate against another.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company to work for
Programs Coordinator (Retail) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2016
Great company, great salary, great benefits.People are very caring. Plus the one friday off is a great bonus to run errands that you need to run on weekdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work and life balance
Reservoir Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 May 2016
Good work environment and learning experience. Great training programs and good mentorship to grow ones career. Good work and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing!
Labour Worker (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 March 2016
Now off the bat i will say why i gave it a one star in Job Security/Advancement. I was once again contracted threw this company with Labor Ready so i wasn't really going to advance here, BUT i still loved this Job due to everything being almost perfect with it. Safety was threw the roof, the people were extremely friendly, and the pay that even i was making and ALL i was told was i wasn't making half of what they make and i was making over a grand every two weeks. i NEVER had a bad day at all. I lost this sight due to an ex who was my dependable ride at the time as i had to be at sight before 6 am and no bus went out that way at said time and it was to pricey of a cab at the time which i lived in South End Halifax and the sight was in Woodside Oil refinery again i digress as i was also to blame for not implementing how imperative that i get there before 6 and she simply took to long getting ready.
Pros
Great Place. Great People. Amazing Safety. Amazing Pay. and Great Hours.
Cons
Gotta be willing to get really dirty and stinky.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Lab - Well oiled machine
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 March 2016
Everyone working in the Imperial Oil lab is very professional and respectful. Hard working, very well organized. Everyone works in all areas and help is always offered if needed. Hardest part of the job is keeping up with all the work.
Pros
lots of company outings and event.s
Cons
early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Senior Process Engineer Imperial Oil/Exxon Mobil (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 March 2016
The job was good and all was fine till oil prices dropped and it all ended for contractors and many permanents and very quickly.
Pros
good contract work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably one of the better managed companies
Shift Engineer & Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Alberta and NWT, Canada15 March 2016
The organization ain't perfect but it is pretty darn good.

They a a little overboard with the documentation process but that's the world we live in these days.

I did get to learn more and experience more opportunities than most did, as I was willing to move geographically as well as take on different responsibilities. This helped build a great resume' for myself.

Employee development and training varies due to the fact that any person that delivers training to a newbie will have their own level of quality job done. But still they do a better than average job at this as most everything has a procedure and training documentation is comprehensive and detailed. This is really important stuff.

Safety is good. The one thing that causes variation in that is each employee and how well the foreman or plant superintendent has a handle on how to deliver it and to support it. That's the case anywhere in the world you go. They are setup well to compel a safety mindset.

Quality of work life is good and for long stretches, has been fabulous.

Annual bonuses are belittling and badly administered. I expect the administration of a rewards system is always subject to politics and the abilities of the person managing it. That's a universal theme throughout the corporate world.

These are just minor picks. Considering all the others out there making Oil & Gas,___ they do a pretty good job. Better than most.
Pros
Good training, Good safety, Good employee developement, Good benfits and pension programs, Extensive opportunities for advancement and to travel the world if one has a mind to do so.
Cons
Heavy on the paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not just a company but truly a community focused on excellence with a prioity on HSE followed by flawless execution and continous improvement .
TurnaroundPlanner (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 March 2016
Truly a company where you can have a career only limited by your own choices . Where the focus is on pursuit of excellence , no matter what the endeavor.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with lots to teach
Proces Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 March 2016
I was knew coming in to the tax department, but learned a great deal by the grace of my colleagues. I felt very welcome as part of the team and greatly enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotational
(Contract) Senior Admin (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB3 March 2016
This was a fly in/fly out camp position. I enjoyed the flexibility of working 3 weeks and then having 2 weeks off.

I was contract to Imperial and not an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety is number one,one team one goal nobody gets hurt.
Journeyman 309A Red Seal (Former Employee) –  Nanticoke, ON23 February 2016
Great safe place to work and gain respect for procedures and others. Awesome staff, friendly always willing to help and get answers for you. The main focus at IOL is safety not production witch makes the worker feel comfortable and can stay focused on the task at hand.
Pros
Safety
Cons
Not full time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9