Imperial Oil Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB16 January 2018
My typical day varied depending on what we were working on. I learned some valuable work experience and communication skills which were a great learning tool.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good organize company
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 December 2017
great project management
good compensation
long hours
quick pace projects
global company
very competitive environment
big projects
very good team
Pros
good project management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
CSP Propane injection Pilot Project (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB4 December 2017
Good people to work with, close to home, Good hours, excellent training. Would work there again if the opportunity presented itself. Safety culture is key.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract employee
Accounts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB22 November 2017
I was hired through a job placement agency. My department was moved to Moncton so I was no longer needed. Enjoyed my job and coworkers. Great environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed constant tasks
ACCESS CARD ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB31 October 2017
I liked it because I was constantly busy and I enjoyed learning how the company functioned from within.

It was my first job after I came home from College so I was super excited to apply my knowlege of what I learned in Business Management.
Pros
Sense of Accomplishment everyday
Cons
The office was out in the bush and had to keep an eye out for bears.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Operations Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 October 2017
great place to work, friendly people and atmosphere although sometimes stressful, the life at work was enjoyable and I was often excited to be on my way to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good soccer player
Maintenance & Equipment Rotation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB25 October 2017
review my daily work , , analyse the data, give a feed back and feed the reports , make an assessment ,add value ,provide solution and close the reports
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experiene
Retail Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2017
It was good learning experience to work with the organization. The organization is well established but need to work more towards betterment of their employees benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inviting and Productive Work Enviornment
Project Superintendent, Fort McMurray (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 October 2017
I came to work for Imperial Oil as a stranger, not knowing anyone here. It just a short time I felt like part of the family and part of the team. It was a pleasure to work with such a professional organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was one of my favourite contracts I ever had
Safety Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 October 2017
I loved this contract, was very disappointed when it ended. I loved the Kearl Lake site and imperial, they stand for a true safety culture, they don't just talk the talk they walk the walk. would go back there today!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work here again
Administrative Assistant in Well Servicing (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2017
The workplace culture was phenomenal. Right from day 1 I was made to feel part of the team, and this continues right until my leave. The most difficult part was the early start hours, as I had to juggle children leaving for the school bus and transportation to downtown to arrive on time.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Downtown location was difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very serious workplace
Mineral Lease Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
People were friendly enough however I felt like it was hard to advance within the company with a Univeristy Degree (I had a technical diploma). Overall a satisfactory place to work.
Pros
Usually not much threat of lay-offs in downturns
Cons
No bonus structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to further develop your career
Thermal Reservoir Engineer - Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
I did a couple of work terms with the company. I enjoyed the work provided to me and feel like I was contributing to the success of the company. The work environment is great and you are on a learning path every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional and competitive company.
Payment Analyst (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB24 July 2017
The business environment was cutting edge technology and well trained and qualified personnel. Plenty of opportunity for skills training and team development which were supported by company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 July 2017
Great place for working as a mechanic. Crews have many different cultures and people get along with all contractors as well. Everyone is treated with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Maintenance. Planner/supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 June 2017
Competitive salaries, opportunities for advancement, good benefits packages. Strong commitment to safety and environment, Good work environment due to a very strong employee base of very easy to work with personal
Pros
All the items mentioned in review
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work envioment is great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB29 May 2017
the work environment is great I had fun at work and got the job done. the down fall was the job Is not secure and advancement is very difficult when your a contractor and not an employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Process Quality Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS26 May 2017
good place to work. very good management. Safety plays a high priority. very friendly atmosphere. Long hours given to safe way of working. Delay in attending to some repair works due to large organisational chain.
Pros
good culture
Cons
Delay in attending to some repair works
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized progressive daily activities
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McKay, AB24 May 2017
Refined facility from start to finish of the day.
Provides the necessities with the above average camp life with reasonable turn arounds to provide a balance family life.
Cons
Jack and jill bath rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience in terms of learning
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 April 2017
Experience was great in terms of learning. There is always a lot of work to do and there are high expectations from you. Great salary and many benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Imperial Oil. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 120 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9