IMAX Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management but they pay well.
Mechanical Engineering (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 January 2018
Internal politics; worst company to work for now (used to be good when older employees were there)
Engineering, procurement, quality are all fighting with each other.
Production is ok department to work with, so is camera department.
Optical engineering is mess (the leader is great but works on a very top level)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Inventory Coordinator (Contract Position) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 September 2017
Fantastic place to work. Friendly staff in all departments and all levels of responsibility, from general labourers to management. Excellent training and ongoing support.
Pros
free new release movie showings for staff and family.
Cons
mostly contract positions that continued to be extended instead of hiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I have ever worked for.
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 August 2017
Best company I have ever worked for. Right now, the system will not let me leave this page without entering at least 150 characters however I have nothing additional to add.
Pros
Professional, clean building. Stock plan. Brand name.
Cons
Job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employee
Permanent Employee (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 May 2017
This company belongs to a very exciting industry which is the large format high definition high resolution movie industry. IMAX is the key player in this market therefore there isn't much competition.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Visibility is required to move up
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 April 2017
Hard work is appreciated but hard work with visibility is key to progressing here. Management is also more authoritarian than most companies so while there is room to convince management of your ideas, it is harder to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  mississauga7 February 2017
Amazing atmosphere, great benefits and compensation. Great perks as well. Busy place to work the day goes by very fast. Managers are very supportive.
Pros
free movie screenings
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good environment
Software Tester (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 January 2017
Coworkers and atmosphere are casual.
Depending on department/job type, work can sometimes be tedious.
Management is generally responsive to concerns.
Benefits and vacation time is great, if you can get full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Electronics Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 January 2017
I worked with some very smart and friendly people. Learned a ton. One of the few companies where the employees input actually matters. Above average salary. Almost everyone starts off as contract, and most end that way. Few contract employees are hired on full time.
Pros
Great workplace and people.Good salary.
Cons
Contracts workers are rarely hired full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is good industry, entertainment, employees are given out free movie tickets sometime. Workplace is nice and open that enhance social communication.
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 January 2017
It is good industry, entertainment, employees are given out free movie tickets sometime. Workplace is nice and open that enhance social communication. However top management is so isolated and not easily to reach to, even direct report level.

Even working in finance, the most enjoyable part of my daily activities are working with engineering and manufacturing group.
Pros
free movie tickets
Cons
long working hours and not receive any recognition from top management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 November 2016
Great place to work, most are very invested in what they do, and what the company does.
Idea's and suggestions seem to be very much encouraged.
Ranked in the 100 companies in Canada.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 October 2016
Working at IMAX means working for one of the most innovative companies in audiovisual technology combined with all that is good about the world of movies. It is also a hub for smarts and an tech genius. Work is always challenging, always changing so its never boring. Management allows people to develop their initiative, which is the company's secret of success
Pros
Stimulating Environment, Reasonable compensation, Growing
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at..
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 March 2016
I loved working there, great people, Great environment, good benefits and fun place. Flexible hours, My job was supporting the PMO office
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Flexible Management with great corporate culture
Food and Beverage Cashier/ usher July (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON30 December 2015
At the Imax theatre, everyone gets along and the employees want to make you feel welcome. We have great corporate culture here and overall a good work day, and even though its a typical summer job working at a movie theatre, I personally enjoy going to work. There are many lists provided to make sure you get everything done on time and the managements main goal is to make you successful at what you do. Overall though it is a great place to work and I really enjoy being there
Pros
flexible scheduling
Cons
there is none that I can find
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 November 2015
IMAX is a great company to work for. Even though I left IMAX for many years, but I still miss IMAX sometimes. Great culture, great team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Portfolio Manager
Portfolio manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga2 June 2015
Working with the rent and Maintenance all over the word.
Working with different currency and Taxes
Manage 200 international clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and progressive
Director, Infrastructure and Operation (Current Employee) –  Mississauga28 April 2015
I enjoy working at IMAX and given the opportunity I would recommend anyone to the company. The exposure to advanced technology and a commitment to achievement stand out as important traits for an employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was once a dream to work for
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 April 2015
Impact of recent manager may be detrimental to the Company growth - Senior management needs to review. Co-workers are amazing, yet anxiety impact assessment and control is required.
Pros
Vision of the Company is sound
Cons
Senior Management to review it's team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seeing a brief history of Niagara Falls on a 60' X 80' screen in IMAX technology
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 January 2015
There isn't two days alike in a week. Every day is indeed a new day
as you will have guests from all over the world. These people have
different cultures and don't automatically adapt to Canadian culture
when their passports receive the stamp to show they passed through
our borders. You have to co-habitate with these differences if you
want to work in tourism. Most of our staff throughout the high peak
season is students. As a Supervisor you are there to enrich this
experience for the students but also keep them in line with the job
at hand. My most favourite part of the job is working with the
Korean people. I enjoyed it so much that i decided to learn the
language. It is very difficult but have had some success. I am
hoping that one of the local colleges will offer it soon as they already
offer mandarin and japanese courses. I would enroll in George Brown College in Toronto as they offer a beginner and secondary
Korean courses but unfortunately doing the beginner course would
require me to drive weekly to Toronto throughout the winter months.
Their requirement for the secondary course is that you are successful
in completing the beginners course. A local church has a Korean mass on Sunday evenings as i just learned at Christmas time. I am
going to try my best to attend. So far it has not been convenient due
to weather or I am scheduled to work during that time. I like to work
and keep busy and hopefully this shows in my performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working atmosphere, wonderful working environment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 January 2015
answering all incoming calls form Theaters around the world with digital issues. Great incoming guests and agents, having them sign in and get them escorted to the right person or area.

Booking board rooms for different dept meetings and doing odd jobs for the Hr dept. Lots of interactions with all the employees who make working here a wonderful place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and interesting place to work.
BW Team Lead and Developer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 December 2014
Friendly and interesting place to work..
Everyone is proactive and work together well as a team.
It is great knowing that everyone is dedicated to the positive image of the company globally and have a stake in it's growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IMAX Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 67 reviews
526
424
313
22
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture