Illumina Employee Reviews

Showing all 46 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 22, 2016
I love that they provide company outings once in a while. They provide lunch sometimes. Hours worked are flexible. They could improve their HR department as well as employee training program.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work - Changing the World
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 23, 2016
Illumina is truly changing the world with revolutionary genome sequencing technology.

Illumina has a great culture, and you will work with extremely intelligent professionals.

Illumina pay is below average for the Bay Area.

Illumina's executive management does a poor job at communicating key decisions and does a poor job at supporting operational level employees through transitions.
Pros
Free Lunch Every 2 Weeks
Cons
Poor Communication from Executive Management on Key Decisions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Workday Functional Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 15, 2016
It was really nice working there
people there are very friendly
I learned a lot while working there
Co-Workers are pretty freindly
I enjoy each and every moment
Management is very good
There was no typical day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manufacturing Process Tech 2 (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 7, 2016
Management is not great no more because everything is just a mess, we would get different manager every six months or so because they cannot handle our department.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tense and negative work environment.
Staff Buyer (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJune 6, 2016
Awful experience sociopath manager drove me out of the company. He was driven to eliminate my position because he wanted to build his own culture of fear and unreasonable expectations. At first it was a good organization until two really bad managers were hired to improve morale. My manager had no business leading personnel; never motivated or encouraged only scowled and had his chosen few; the remainder of use were relegated to pretend that culture didn't exist. I do believe in their technology and the coworkers were wonderful. I suppose at some point in time Illumina was a great place to work.
Pros
free lunch every second Wensday.
Cons
Awful managers and hayward culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory clean room
maufacturing technician 2 (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 29, 2016
Performed all aspects on medical assembly dna slides performing final products qc and packaging process slides barcode scanning and labeling for inventory and cold room storage
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Manufacturing Process Technician (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 17, 2016
Great company with good benefits. Growing biotech industry, there's always something new to learn about. People are great, the head quarters offers amenities for the workers.
Pros
Family oriented events
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
able to communicate and sharing some joke during work time
Assembler (Former Employee) –  SingaporeApril 8, 2016
- everyone there willing to teach new staff.
- just repeating the same action for whole day
- sometimes supervisors will score me badly when I made a mistake. But it is still fine.
- manager and supervisor are willing provide a chance to new staff to learn something new.
- Illumina very concern each and every staff's health.
Pros
provide free gym to every staff
Cons
long time
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to get good knowledge
Sr Consultant(Technical Lead) (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2016
Excellent company to get good knowledge at manufacturing domain. Latest technologies use to upgrade the systems. Good work environment to learn new technical methods
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Sr. Validation Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 1, 2016
Unreasonable deadlines,
Unbalanced work/ family life,
Lots of Ineffective and inefficient systems.

Lots of hard working, smart and caring individuals who want to make a difference.

Products are high tech and highly desired for current direction in Medicine.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illumina Inc.
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 21, 2016
Great fast paced hire pressure work environment with opportunities for cross training and career enhancement. Good opportunities for overtime on a weekly basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Global Inventory Manager (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAFebruary 10, 2016
I really enjoy working for a great company such as Illumina, in Hayward, CA. Everybody is helpful, the products speak for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work environment and drastic growth in my career
Solution Architect (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 27, 2016
Excellent team and support in all aspects and improved my technical skills here.Its very good company to learn new things and salary wise also
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still under review
Sr. Engineer (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaDecember 11, 2015
The company is well funded. The company's success is due to it's large flagship sequencing instruments. Employee benefits could be better. Original founders have moved on to new competing ventures. Many failed and delayed projects, do no contract-to-hire. Summer socials with free food and drinks. Very smart bio- scientists and engineers, but lack collaborative direction; stale. Great global presence, with beautiful campuses. Engineering culture is transforming to rigid corporate style. First loses started posting.
Pros
Employee stock; Recreation facilities; Summer and winter paid breaks
Cons
Benefits; Relatively new field, experimental/unstable projects
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cowboy culture
staff engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 4, 2015
Many smart people, maybe too many to get work done. Everyone wants to lead which leaves too few people actually doing the work.
Pros
RSUs
Cons
lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart overworked and fun employess
Senior Scientist (Former Employee) –  San Diego,CAOctober 14, 2015
HR people are incompetent in their position. There is no proper policy that protects that true value objective of the company. Managers and seniors are not properly informed and briefed of company policy logistics.

Staff are overworked with no recognition.

Glad I was part of their first 5years of growth.

Good group of smart and fun people to work with.
Pros
Smart people to work with
Cons
Poor compliance on policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never seen before for some thing happen
Manufacturing Tech (Former Employee) –  Hayward,CASeptember 19, 2015
The management in Hayward facility is very poor and too much politics therefore some employee are left without reason .
I had a lot experiences in FDA company before I worked there, but some reason they fired me and hired someone who is closed to them.The management in SD head quarter does not know a lot and find out deep over here.
so far , I found good job from the other company who like my experiences to help and bring the company going in the future .
Pros
no comment
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change is the only certainty
Technical Applications Scientist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ENGSeptember 18, 2015
Good company where things change fast. Sometimes too fast for people and reality to keep pace because change is always challenging and sometimes fearful. Technically minded people will enjoy it but management leaves much to desire...
Pros
Mostly open to innovation and improvement.
Cons
Customer tech support management is a chaotic joke...
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 29, 2015
An amazing Company to work for I was there seven year, it would be nice to go back, work for illumine. Excellent company, Love the people that worked with, I truly miss the people I worked with...
Pros
Excellent
Cons
Excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes8No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something different to do
Manufacturing Associate (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAAugust 17, 2015
Perform operations on sequencing units
Familiar with most troubleshooting of encountered issues
Group dynamic makes work enjoyable
Pros
friend co-workers
Cons
management communication, recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3