Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
861 reviews

IKEA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting place to work
Co-Worker (Former Employee), Warrington, ENGJuly 16, 2014
A typical day at work included dealing with customers, keeping the department tidy and doing deliveries. It was a nice friendly environment to work in and all the other members of staff were lovely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good place to work
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), Stoughton, MAJuly 15, 2014
learned a lot, able to move dept.s often, on the job training, scheduling is poor, benefits can't be beat, pay is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great experiences, Bad experenices, Sad to go, but needed a change from Customer service.
Ikea Customer Service (Former Employee), Ikea, DublinJuly 15, 2014
Pros: free uniform, free christmas/summer parties, great people, most fun, open to suggestions and ideas.
Cons: hurtful customers, the arrows the customers had to follow, bad signage around the story.
So much fun working with the people. great work nights out. great summer and Christmas parties.

My job was Customer Service, the Best but also hardest place to work.. the highs and chats with the customers were fun but there was the shouting and unhappy customers that experienced bad times throughout the store and i was there, to make the customers – more... bad times in store better. Management was great, easy to talk to and approach. My most enjoyable part of the job was making the customers smiling and laughing as they went home. I learned that I need to ask for help and that there was nothing wrong with asking for it. typical day at ikea is all go go go, fast, busy and non stop until it was home time, but it was the slow days that where the worst because it seemed to drag in, it was better for every co worker if it was busy. It was a pleasure to work there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Co-Worker Friendly,
Logistics Co-Worker (Current Employee), Bristol, ENGJuly 12, 2014
Pros: discount meals & discount prices
Cons: early hours for such a short period of time
- a typical day at work would be collecting mixed and full pallets from delivery and orgaising the delivered stock onto the store shelves. i also used electronic scanners to make sure the stock was correct. At the end of my shift i would then take out the recylcing from the delivered stock.

I learnt to work as a team more whilst at ikea and to also – more... have fun whilst working as well as producing a high standard of work.

My management and co-workers were all very friendly and i enjoyed working with all of them. They were also very approachable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast moving work environment.
Order Picker and Customer Service (Current Employee), Warrington/ManchesterJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free food and drink
Cons: sometimes, ridiculously busy environment. nothing unmanageable though.
Clock in at reception, pick up msh unit and upload my orders for the day. Proceed to pick customers orders for home delivery as they come in. I learned how to multi task very quickly as customers would often stop you and ask questions in the middle of an order. Management is clear on what they wanted and expected from you, very direct but still approachable – more... people. I get on well with all co-workers, they are good fun and good at what they do.The hardest part of the job is when there is a flood of orders and I am working alone. You really have to have maximum organisation at those times because if you get behind it becomes tougher and more stressful. Good organisation is the key I personally think. Best part of the job is 20% store discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the training
plocker (Current Employee), Perryville, MDJuly 10, 2014
they teach you what you need to know and their trainers really know what they are doing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 8, 2014
The work environment is great and the employees are easy to get along with. They have great benefits and with work with you on scheduling if you are in school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), White Marsh, MDJuly 8, 2014
The best job I've ever had. Great people, friendly management. Team work oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high volume
GOODS FLOW MANAGER (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJuly 8, 2014
Pros: very good benifits
Cons: some very unsociable hours, night shifts, 03:00 starts etc
Generally a very varied working day / week. I would often be working in other stores for training as well as regular visits to our service office in Wembley.

The main focus of my role, outside of delivering weekly/monthly targets etc, would be around the development of others, the best way to drive the business forward is by raising the competence – more... of the work force and this is where I would focus most of my efforts.

The hardest part of the job was having such a large team, the best part of the job was the varied working days, never two the same, and the customer interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to work for in the future
General Assistant (Former Employee), Straiton, SCTJuly 7, 2014
This job was a good job i would like to work there in the future as the other employees were very nice and showed me around. i only worked 10am to 2pm and it wasn't a hard job as i just stacked shelves and build one part of the furniture to show as display. i learned on what the job is going to be like. the most enjoyable part of the job was when i – more... build that furniture for display – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unchallenging
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee), PeterboroughJuly 6, 2014
not enough going on for me to be interested in.
Work is too easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting and varied work duties.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Perryville, MDJuly 5, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: the requirements of overtime without notice.
I would operate different lifts when needed to. Learned better operation of scanning tools. The hardest part of the job was the hours required to work and how they would require overtime without notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Very Fun Work Place
Customer Service (Former Employee), CoventryJuly 5, 2014
Pros: learning about the different departments that ikea has
Cons: it not being a permanent job
I used to deal with the home delivery, customer service and the meet and greet. I learnt that my confidence was at a high at this place because I felt it challenged me. I had only just started the job and had a customer shout in my face for something I couldn't help but because no one was there to help me I dealt with it in a professional manner and – more... the manager came over after and said I had done a great job which just made it such a rewarding place to work at. The management weren't around a lot as it was a very big place but when they were around they were very approachable and helpful. My co-workers were the best to work with as they were so helpful and lovely. The hardest part of my job was probably on the meet and greet at times, I would have to just stand in one place for about 2 hours or even a whole shift waiting for people to come in so I can greet them which got a bit boring and I like to be challenged. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my co-workers and helping the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Goods Flow, Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJJuly 3, 2014
Fast paced environment with great co-workers. Strong focus on work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), West Chester, OHJuly 1, 2014
great job to have
great environment
good benefits
great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling is very bad and sometimes decided by Biasm!
Sales (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJuly 1, 2014
good place for part time! but full time I would still consider other Options
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a manager at IKEA
Customer Service/ Home Delivery Team Lead (Current Employee), East Palo Alto, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: bonuses, discounted lunches
Cons: not enough management coverage during peak days and weekends
Being on the manager team at IKEA was a learning experience. I learned to take pride in my work and ownership in the everyday run of my department. My day consist of sales of Home Delivery level concentrating on Same Day deliveries as well as next day deliveries to cut down on cost of sweet trucks and damages/missing merchandise. One of my main part – more... of my job was to monitor real time delivery by running the no delivery report, data precision and data Quality report my goal for the transportation company was to meet the goal of 95% on all three reports if goal was not met it would be put on an agenda for monthly meeting. I had 13 direct reports and we work as a team ensuring that our customers received a positive shopping experience and that were valued customer when they arrived at the home delivery counter. The hardest part of my job would be when I could not come up with a reasonable solution that would make my customer happy. The most enjoyable part of the my job was recognizing my team or a coworker for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cleaning Operative (Current Employee), West ThurrockJune 30, 2014
Pros: cheap lunch
Cons: over time
The people around are friendly and we get along easily I have learned to work with people no matter the race or skin colour
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Croydon, ENGJune 27, 2014
Pros: free drinks, great discounts and offer for the staff
Cons: part time contract
Great place to work. Great Management.
I am not sure why I should have review and rate these companies. I am just trying to find a job.Is there a need for this?
Every single person have different points of view and experience.
I know that this is marketing but why is this mandatory? I am just trying to find a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
IKEA Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJune 26, 2014
Great job, very stressful. Lot's of politics involved and loose ends that always must be covered. Pay is good, just not for the stress that is involved for salaried managers.

About IKEA

IKEA is a Swedish company registered in the Netherlands that designs and sells ready-to-assemble furniture (such as beds, chairs, – Read more