Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
851 reviews

IKEA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high volume
GOODS FLOW MANAGER (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJuly 8, 2014
Pros: very good benifits
Cons: some very unsociable hours, night shifts, 03:00 starts etc
Generally a very varied working day / week. I would often be working in other stores for training as well as regular visits to our service office in Wembley.

The main focus of my role, outside of delivering weekly/monthly targets etc, would be around the development of others, the best way to drive the business forward is by raising the competence – more... of the work force and this is where I would focus most of my efforts.

The hardest part of the job was having such a large team, the best part of the job was the varied working days, never two the same, and the customer interaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to work for in the future
General Assistant (Former Employee), Straiton, SCTJuly 7, 2014
This job was a good job i would like to work there in the future as the other employees were very nice and showed me around. i only worked 10am to 2pm and it wasn't a hard job as i just stacked shelves and build one part of the furniture to show as display. i learned on what the job is going to be like. the most enjoyable part of the job was when i – more... build that furniture for display – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unchallenging
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee), PeterboroughJuly 6, 2014
not enough going on for me to be interested in.
Work is too easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting and varied work duties.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Perryville, MDJuly 5, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: the requirements of overtime without notice.
I would operate different lifts when needed to. Learned better operation of scanning tools. The hardest part of the job was the hours required to work and how they would require overtime without notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Very Fun Work Place
Customer Service (Former Employee), CoventryJuly 5, 2014
Pros: learning about the different departments that ikea has
Cons: it not being a permanent job
I used to deal with the home delivery, customer service and the meet and greet. I learnt that my confidence was at a high at this place because I felt it challenged me. I had only just started the job and had a customer shout in my face for something I couldn't help but because no one was there to help me I dealt with it in a professional manner and – more... the manager came over after and said I had done a great job which just made it such a rewarding place to work at. The management weren't around a lot as it was a very big place but when they were around they were very approachable and helpful. My co-workers were the best to work with as they were so helpful and lovely. The hardest part of my job was probably on the meet and greet at times, I would have to just stand in one place for about 2 hours or even a whole shift waiting for people to come in so I can greet them which got a bit boring and I like to be challenged. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my co-workers and helping the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Goods Flow, Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJJuly 3, 2014
Fast paced environment with great co-workers. Strong focus on work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), West Chester, OHJuly 1, 2014
great job to have
great environment
good benefits
great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling is very bad and sometimes decided by Biasm!
Sales (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJuly 1, 2014
good place for part time! but full time I would still consider other Options
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a manager at IKEA
Customer Service/ Home Delivery Team Lead (Current Employee), East Palo Alto, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: bonuses, discounted lunches
Cons: not enough management coverage during peak days and weekends
Being on the manager team at IKEA was a learning experience. I learned to take pride in my work and ownership in the everyday run of my department. My day consist of sales of Home Delivery level concentrating on Same Day deliveries as well as next day deliveries to cut down on cost of sweet trucks and damages/missing merchandise. One of my main part – more... of my job was to monitor real time delivery by running the no delivery report, data precision and data Quality report my goal for the transportation company was to meet the goal of 95% on all three reports if goal was not met it would be put on an agenda for monthly meeting. I had 13 direct reports and we work as a team ensuring that our customers received a positive shopping experience and that were valued customer when they arrived at the home delivery counter. The hardest part of my job would be when I could not come up with a reasonable solution that would make my customer happy. The most enjoyable part of the my job was recognizing my team or a coworker for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cleaning Operative (Current Employee), West ThurrockJune 30, 2014
Pros: cheap lunch
Cons: over time
The people around are friendly and we get along easily I have learned to work with people no matter the race or skin colour
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Croydon, ENGJune 27, 2014
Pros: free drinks, great discounts and offer for the staff
Cons: part time contract
Great place to work. Great Management.
I am not sure why I should have review and rate these companies. I am just trying to find a job.Is there a need for this?
Every single person have different points of view and experience.
I know that this is marketing but why is this mandatory? I am just trying to find a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
IKEA Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TexasJune 26, 2014
Great job, very stressful. Lot's of politics involved and loose ends that always must be covered. Pay is good, just not for the stress that is involved for salaried managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Furniture Sales (Former Employee), Conshohocken, PAJune 25, 2014
Pros: customers are very nice and have few complaints
Cons: low starting wages
A regular day would be stocking your department, helping customers find furniture selections and straightening furniture display areas. You would book or reserve their selections or send them to the Self Serve Department to pull their own furniture. Weekends are very busy. I learned about product safety and recalls. The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was building furniture and kids department furniture displays. The hardest part of the job would be navigating the layout of a large IKEA store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best
Cashier Assistance (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJune 24, 2014
Amazing Company!!
The management was world class and made everyone's job as easy as cake.
Each day I clocked in; I felt like a little boy going to ToysRUs.
I enjoyed everything about this job and would be delighted to work their again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Home Org (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJune 19, 2014
Fast paced, customer friendly, love the work environment! managers were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun exciting enjoyable
Crèche Manager (Former Employee), milton keynesJune 19, 2014
Pros: enjoyable, good pay
Cons: couldn't build realtionship as only in there for 45 mins
loved this job change around every hour so new different children in all day was really exciting and fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place that haven't rised a peny over a four year period, but making millions on peoples backs, one of the toughest driving and loading jobs..
Heavy-truck driver (Former Employee), Dublin, D 11June 19, 2014
Cons: very long hours... to long!
typical day at work is to load the 7.5t truck with flat packs of furniture which is to handball 3t of real heavy boxes of a moving trolley of a ground ( that type of furniture loading is against manual handling and health and safety roles) the ground at the loading bay doe's be slipy in a winter tha can cause you a bad back injury.. than to deliver – more... goods throughout Ireland which could be from 600-1000 km journeys.. coul take from 6am till 1pm following morning, which is a 19h working day between two drivers sharing driving all day.. without having a bunk bed in a lorry to rest your back and eyes of the road.. this type of overworking yourself is dangerous in general for us and other road users, cause for exaple on a way back you would be totaly wasted and tyred and you have to drive truck back after lets say 12h of hard work without any rest for your eyes or back.. which is illegal! management is very bad and total abuse of people! Breezemount int. IKEA contracters! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun call center furniture assembly
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Nottingham, MDJune 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: schedule
Everyday at Ikea was exciting and new. New furniture, new customers, demostrations and incintives. My co-workers and managnent kept the work enviroment respectful and open. The hardest part of the job was over the phone item assembly. The most enjoyable was helping a customer track and purchase their merchandise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Textiles Co-Worker (Former Employee), Coventry, ENGJune 13, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits
Great place to work with good incentives and benefits for employees and a Swedish working culture that is definitely different to a traditional Western organisation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place too work can be yourself
Store Service Advisor/ Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), White Marsh, MDJune 12, 2014
great place too work didn't want to leave this job had to relocate to illinois

About IKEA

IKEA is a Swedish company registered in the Netherlands that designs and sells ready-to-assemble furniture (such as beds, chairs, – Read more