Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
948 reviews

IKEA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY, LOTS OF ACTIVITIES, BIG FAMILY
ACCOUNTS PAYABLES AND RECEIVABLES (Former Employee), BROSSARD, QUENovember 11, 2011
Pros: activities, fund raising, great working place
Cons: cutting jobs to be managed from usa
GREAT TEAM WORKING PLACE, LOVED WORKING THERE, GREAT MANAGEMENT, MAKES YOU WANT TO DO MORE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 18, 2014
Although this job was considered seasonal. I enjoyed it for the most part. The only thing that I disliked is that this job told you one thing then did another. I was supposed to be training for another department and they let me go.But for the most part, it was okay for the short amount of time that I was employed there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as a cashier
Salesperson (Former Employee), Gothenburg, SwedenOctober 18, 2014
handle the cash, help the customer
It felt good when the customer leaved with a smile on their face
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Duties
Smaland Aftersales/cashier (Current Employee), Conshohocken, PAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches, benefits
• Monitor Kids
• Filed Color Sheets/ Schedules
• Greeter/ Answer customers questions and provide information
• Operating cash machines with debit/credit only
• Issue receipts/coupons
• Maintain clean and orderly checkout areas
• Establish and identifying prices of goods/ Arrange bills using cash register
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales assistant (Current Employee), Bristol, ENGOctober 17, 2014
A typical day at work I would organise the daily rota plan, make sure that everyone is in time for their appointments and that its enough staff people on the shop floor.
As a kitchen expert I would also have planning appointments with customer where I sit down on a one to one with customer and help plan there kitchen.
In the end of the day we file away – more... paperwork, make sure that the shop floor is recovered and ready for next day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
sales assistant (Former Employee), BristolOctober 10, 2014
Pros: staff discount
Cons: no windows!
Great place to work where everyone is friendly and helpful. I have learnt a lot and meet some great people. My co-workers were always helping me when i came to training and were always there when i needed them for questions. The hardest part of the job was putting up pillow displays which i could never undo. The best part was defusing situations involving – more... angry customers and communicating/helping with the public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Questionable Workplace Ethics
Customer Relations co-worker (Former Employee), Peterborough, ENGOctober 8, 2014
Pros: call centre environment
Cons: minimal chances for advancement
There is an imbalance in the management structure causing work colleagues to become overlooked for their individual strengths in the workplace. The root of that imbalance is due to having part-time line managers in place, who overlook the strengths of proficient work colleagues, thereby causing those co-workers to seek employment elsewhere, contributing – more... to higher company turn-over rates.
This would not be occurring if the company would simply have a daily presence of full-time line managers throughout their call centre. The main factor for receiving such a low company rating here, is due to witnessing blatant discrimination, cleverly disguised by the discretion of management, accepting co-workers, to complete their probationary periods, based on how conversational and outgoing the co-worker's personality traits are expressed between work colleagues and line-managers, instead of focusing on the co-worker's proficiency to conduct business in the workplace.
This type of "favoritism" although a breach of proper business ethics, is so cleverly subtle, that it is superficially unnoticeable to detect and observe in action. The co-workers who were accepted by line managers in this manner, were of course happy, jovial, and content since they had been accepted by their line managers, based on personality traits alone, instead of focusing on job proficiency in the workplace.
Therefore, if you're a good actor/actress, this is definitely the job for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operative
Operative (Former Employee), PeterboroughOctober 7, 2014
Pros: great facilities
This was a general role of picking packing and checking orders. I learned that all company's work differently. All my colleagues were easy to get along with and worked as a great team. This role was pretty straight forward as once i received help and some understanding of how it was run in this environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work experience
Stock/Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee), Straiton Retail Park, LoanheadOctober 6, 2014
I enjoyed my work experience with Ikea. Always having something to do and keeping busy was great and occasionally communicating with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Cultural Envirnoment, Fun and Good Team Work
Shopkeeper / Senior Sales (Former Employee), Doha, DAWOctober 4, 2014
Encouraging and motivating management with potential of prompt growth if shown proper involvement in the work place.
Multi Cultural environment - people from around the world
Proper delegation of individual accountability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
customer assistance (Former Employee), cardiffOctober 1, 2014
Pros: 80% of lunch meals
Cons: half day
a typical day at work would be distributing bags to the customer, greeting customers, helping them with their bags and pushing trolleys. i learnt that that the customer is always right and always smile when talking a customer. i worked really enjoyed working with my co-workers and i got along with my boss. the hardest part of the job was helping customers – more... with heavy loads. the most enjoyfull part was having a lough with customer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 29, 2014
I really enjoyed the few months working for Ikea opening the Portland Oregon store. I found a full time job with much higher pay and could not pass that up. Ikea has to be one of the most enjoyable jobs I've ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 28, 2014
Very high volume, work intense environment , pay is ok, work you very hard, mangers needs a makeover .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Ikea resteraunt is spiraling out of control
Back Of House (Current Employee), Centennial, COSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: benefits, 3$ lunches, most of management are great
Cons: no training, boss doesn't notice you, no recognition for going the extra mile everyday
Working at ikea has its perks. You get some amazing benefits, you get pto and sick time plus a great meal for 3$. The problem is allot of people in the resteraunt like to call out which makes it harder for the people who are working that day. I am one of the few people that has to pick up the slack in the restaurant and I don't feel appreciated for – more... doing so. We just got two new team leads and as fun as they are to be around with they have no idea what there doing since there both outside hires. The cashiers we get are always a gamble because most of them leave. Ikea offers benefits to part time HL1S employees which is great if your a student and you need a part time job I recommend this place. I constantly bust my butt for this place and by the time there was an opening, a couple of people decided to apply(me included) but they decided nobody was good enough and they closed down the position. Allot of days in IF can be really stressful whether it's coworkers being annoying, management not caring, or rude hungry customers. I will recommend ikea to people just don't apply for the resteraunt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my time at ikea
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Milton Keynes, ENGSeptember 28, 2014
I enjoyed working at Ikea and made many friends but I did find it hard sometime as anyone would but I wouldn't change it for the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
iKEA offers an exciting and empowering work environment, and you have exceptional opportunities to grow and develop together with the company.
Full Serve Co'Worker (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 27, 2014
IKEA has always offered me a variety of learning and career possibilities. I've learned you can always be yourself, everyone has a voice and it’s a company that encourages open door policy. IKEA wants co-workers that can help build on that. From the management to the coworkers.Working for ikea offer endless opportunities and there is no limit of what – more... working together can achieve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes and No
CoWorker (Former Employee), Ballymun,September 26, 2014
Pros: you learn to deal with the most difficult people.
Cons: long hours, unfair wages, no chance to progress
IKEA as a whole is a great company to work for. However IKEA Dublin is run very differently from most other IKEAs. This is its downfall. Immensely understaffed, but will not hire more staff to achieve tertial budgets. You will also be expected to work til ten o clock at night and over. You have no influence in your position. Due to the recession in – more... Ireland many over educated people ended up working in IKEA. This lead to progression being near impossible. If we were to compare this to the other stores in the UK, the floor staff are generally students, and management are those with a higher education. This is not the case in IKEA Dublin. They abuse their staff , cut corners where possible. Your direct managers are generally great because they are in the same stressful position as you, but higher management will have no time for you, or the reality of the stores condition. You cannot progress despite how much training you are given, because that means they would have to replace you and become even more understaffed.I would not recommend working in IKEA Dublin. I would recommend working in another IKEA store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad shift
forklift driver (Former Employee), stoughton MaSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: empyolyee discout
Cons: bad shift couldn, t spend time with family days off changed week to week
the shift started at 2am and ended at 10am
how to operate four types of forklifts
didn't care about employees
good people for the most part
the hours and no advancement
none
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Creative
Face Painter (Former Employee), Wembley, ENGSeptember 26, 2014
I really enjoyed this job as you there are loads of different faces and its creative. I didn't like that the work was not guaranteed so some months I would work 1 day of the month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best retail company to work for. Swedish based
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Carson, CASeptember 24, 2014
Love the culture. Employees very well taken care of. Loyal company.

About IKEA

Since its founding in 1943, IKEA has offered a wide range of home furnishings and accessories of good design and function, at – Read more