IKEA Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 170 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work place
Housekeeping and Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BCJune 2, 2014
I am a hard worker but my company didn't see this they want to take all our benifits and reduse our hours. When i started in this company they are very good and have a big heart but time goes by they change until now we are outside fighting for our right. I have a good co worker and most of them is long in this company. I enjoy in my job so much because all my co worker is really kind and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Safety and Security Agent (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 29, 2014
Very routine oriented, very well Structured with strict policies to follow ,the management teams are easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, Productive
Checkouts and Customer Service Co-worker (Former Employee) –  Dublin, DMay 26, 2014
Typical work day involved dealing with as many customer queries as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
English Teacher (Current Employee) –  QatarMay 23, 2014
Best experience so far, I enjoyed working there, it was very challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience
Assistante aux Communications Internes (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 21, 2014
I learnt a lot over the years and met great people. I worked in different departments: customer service, quality assurance, communications and email.
Pros
good company
Cons
needs better management
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Enviorment
Recovery & Sales Floor (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ONMay 12, 2014
IKEA was definitly one of the best places to work. very easy going work enviorment. Co workers are friendly and will help with any problems or questions you have.
Pros
free lunch- very inexpensive meals
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for IKEA was great.
Food Services Manager/Bistro Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONMay 9, 2014
I learned a lot working for IKEA. They are all about training which I soaked up all I could. I liked the most of the work but it was getting to be more office type work. I am a hands on type of worker and enjoy working with the public. My job description at IKEA was changing to more business (preparing business plans, hiring, firing, and scheduling ect.) and less hands on. I much rather be in the kitchen helping out then in an office doing paper work.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for beginners
Kitchen Planner (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 6, 2014
Its a great place for beginners and works awesome when you are trying to set a foot in the construction Industries
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfree
Forklift Operator/Order Picker (Current Employee) –  ottawaMay 1, 2014
My job at Ikea is great, the hours arent, i get part time hours while trying to support my family, and its not cutting it
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ikea is a very exciting,fun,busy workplace with opportunity to grow with the company.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 15, 2014
I only work Ikea on weekends and really enjoy meeting all their customers. I am
able to assist with all inquires and shopping needs.
Pros
half price lunches and discount for family and friends
Cons
long closing hours with very demanding ustomers
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONApril 8, 2014
Great environment, great employees and every friendly. My hours may be long but it was fun to work because it was like working with a big family
Pros
discount on lunch and products
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ikea
Controlling Admin/Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 24, 2014
Ikea as a company is a great place to work and feel part of a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodictive
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BCMarch 20, 2014
I wasn't there long due to it only being go to work with a parent week, but the entire time I was there, it was amazing. the costumers were amazing and always fun to talk to. and the crew was so fun, we were always laughing and teaching each other new things. a day working with Ikea while I was there would be to go where ever the manager had sent me. I would serve costumers with their food, and as they are always busy you needed great speed. hardest part of the job, running around and doing a few duties at once and you had to be quick on your feet.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IKEA is a fantastic company to work for!
Customer Service In Furniture Delivery Department (Current Employee) –  North York, OntarioMarch 19, 2014
The company culture at IKEA is easy-going and friendly. It is easy to get a long with management and the co workers. They make advancement in the workplace an achievable goal. Highly recommended for entry level and senior job seekers.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What's its like.
Self-Serve Representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCMarch 10, 2014
Working at IKEA helped me develop people skills as well as being flexible for the customers as their needs vary from one to the next. The hardest part of the job i'd say is to keep everyone satisfied.
Pros
good salary and flexible hours for students.
Cons
a lot a evening shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to present satisfaction towards customers
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  BurlingtonMarch 9, 2014
Arrive at IKEA store to load the truck with IKEA products.
-Assure that customer receives the right quality of their products
-Deliver IKEA customer products unto the customer in a presentable timely frame
-Send in order towards IKEA company to sign off delivery
Pros
good tips
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great colleagues to work with.
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCMarch 7, 2014
Never a boring day. Fast-paced environment that could be quite challenging at times due to staff shortages or lack of floor coverage to be of service to customers.
Pros
free lunches, annual x'mas parties
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total Responsibility for every aspect of sales and placement of products
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary ABFebruary 23, 2014
• Responsible for the day to day operations of three departments, home organization, secondary storage and lighting.
• Operational Duties include: opening/closing, merchandising, recruiting, training, staff evaluations, department product promotions, evaluating all products on sales productivity and increasing sales on under performing products or product area’s.
• Responsible for weekly, monthly, and yearly sales.
• Present monthly business analysis on department productivity and budget targets.
• Prepare department business plans including product and budget forecasting.
• Duty Manager role providing primary support to all departments in regards to customer relations, emergency services and staff mentoring
Pros
family atmosphere
Cons
chances of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Overall it is an absolutely wonderful working experience. The pay scale is above average the retail industry.
Very good employee discount program. Cash department is the best department to work for!
Pros
incentives, free lunches, gift cards, yearly gifts, discounts.
Cons
no full time
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working in IKEA
Recovery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BCJanuary 27, 2014
Overall it is an absolutely wonderful working experience. Payscale is above average the retail industry.
Very good employee discount program. Recovery / AsIs is the best department to work for.
Pros
highly discounted excellent lunch and an awesome work environment
Cons
unionised
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,262 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture