Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,001 reviews

IKEA Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to learn about home furnishings.
Sales (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. staff lunches.
Cons: the early shift that i start at.
I have learned a great deal about myself and others during my many years of working here. There are many opportunities of advancement within the company. Managers and co workers all work together as a family. The hardest part of my job is getting the work done in a timely manner. The best part is the many diverse coworkers that I work with. We all bring – more... a different learning experience and culture to the Ikea family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 25, 2012
Pros: positive attitudes while working
Cons: sporadic hours, policies are not made clear.
Overall, IKEA was a great place to work. A typical day at work consisted of accepting basic customer returns, dealing with customer complaints, filling the hardware bins when needed. I learned a lot about the internal system that was used to complete the returns as well as "user roles" (customer complaints that needed to be rectified) within the system.

Management – more... was excellent and my co-workers were always great to be around and very helpful when needed. Everyone always had a positive attitude while working. I gained a lot of close friends while working at IKEA.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the customers situations, but a solution was always found.

The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smile on the customers face after I had assisted them with whatever needed to be done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace envirnment with supportive co workers
Customer Service (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJuly 18, 2012
Pros: benefits and offers
Cons: non fixed shift patern
Typical day- managing un expected peak alone during weekend
Learned about Ikea culture and hotline activities at restaurant
Management-Is fine. Helpful most of the time
Co worker- mostly helpful and active
Hardest part- managing un expected peak alone sometime during weekend and changing schedules
Enjoyable part- Fast and speed with challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An incredible concept company to begin career with.
Assistant Store Manager - Vaughan (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 14, 2012
Pros: value driven, diverse talent sought, team oriented solutions, non-bureacratic, simple, straight-forward management styles, fun environment.
Cons: small, flat canadian organization that has few opportunities for professional growth.
A matrix organization that taught me early that working in a collaborative, cross-functional environment develops the best business solutions. It is here that I developed a passion for seeking new ways to improve results, thinking outside the box, as the company values championed learning by doing, even making mistakes - to not to try something for – more... fear of failure was worse than making the mistake.

I learned the value of low,first cost is paramount and the retailer has the obligation to help the vendor to best achieve it. This partnership between vendor and merchant/buyer has remained with me, and continues to foster long-term relationships with my vendor partners.

Great professional development offered for self-starters, an incredibly diverse company that was way ahead of its time.

A company that is value drive, guiding every coworkers actions, empowering each to deliver exceptional customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, friendly attitudes from all
Customer Service - Returns and Exchanges (Current Employee), North York, ONMay 3, 2012
Pros: the co-workers
Cons: learning curve is steep.
The returns dept is a heavy stress environment. The perks include the co-workers. I have the privilege of working with a diverse group of people. They each add to my experience. Yes there's conflict. Yes there are trials. I am fortunate in that my part time job is just that - a part time job. I learn as much as possible. I work as hard as I can. This – more... is my ethic. So far I haven't personally experienced hardship other than thru my own ignorance. All-in-all... I love working at IKEA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people,fun times
receiving manager (Former Employee), Edmonton,AB. CanadaFebruary 29, 2012
Pros: the people
Cons: the hr department(manager)
great place to work if you have the support of the HR department.If she does not like you ......you will be dismissed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY, LOTS OF ACTIVITIES, BIG FAMILY
ACCOUNTS PAYABLES AND RECEIVABLES (Former Employee), BROSSARD, QUENovember 11, 2011
Pros: activities, fund raising, great working place
Cons: cutting jobs to be managed from usa
GREAT TEAM WORKING PLACE, LOVED WORKING THERE, GREAT MANAGEMENT, MAKES YOU WANT TO DO MORE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Child Care Worker (Former Employee), Canton, MINovember 22, 2014
the most enjoyable part of the job was working with such amazing coworkers. I did not like working in the department I worked in though due to not so understanding parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service (Former Employee), CTNovember 22, 2014
Budgeting and order intake. Customer Service. Budgeting and order intake. Customer Service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work amazing managers, benefits, and pay
Cashier (Current Employee), Centennial, CONovember 21, 2014
I love working for IKEA they treat there employees extremely well! There benefits are unmatched. Amazing coworkers and Managers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Intern (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGNovember 21, 2014
At IKEA Birmingham in the Marketing department. I was asked to review the Marketing Business plan to familiarize myself with IKEA’s ethos and strategy. I spent time familiarizing myself with the Primary Market Area (PMA) of the store I have also had the opportunity to analyse the market area for the store, identify the level of market penetration in – more... different areas and differentiate various segments of customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very diversifed fun place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Westampton, NJNovember 20, 2014
Pros: pay, vacations, benifits
i had the best experience working there at ikea. the management were very professional gave great feedback and cared for the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and exciting place to work!
Management Trainee (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 20, 2014
A typical work day at IKEA involves a lot of customer interaction as well as attending to the task at hand which is to make IKEA the best home furnishing store in the world. I've learned a lot of core values with my time at IKEA such as togetherness&enthusiasm,leadership by example and cost consciousness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Workin here
Frontline Cashier (Former Employee), Emeryville, CANovember 20, 2014
Pros: busy and fun
Cons: tenpted to buy all the furniture all the time
Great place to work! Always a lot of customers and I enjoyed looking at and purchasing new furniture on my off days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, where everyone is willing and ready to help not only customers, but co-workers
Home Organization and Sales Representative (Former Employee), College Park, MDNovember 16, 2014
Pros: fun work place, great discounts for co-workers in food and merchandise
Cons: wearing the yellow shirt.
A typical day at work for me starts around 10am, where I review what has come in from the loading dock, and on to the flow. Checking carefully, I make sure all Ikea products are placed in there proper place and ready for customer and manager approval. While working at Ikea, I've learned a great deal about team work, time management, and most of all, – more... patience. My co-workers are amazing, and deserve credit in helping me along in the process to become a vital part of the Ikea workforce and family. Examples of this is them taking the time out of their busy day to show me the ins and outs of making sure I know how to go about my daily duties, such as printing signs to guide customers to desired products, and helping locate any reading materials that the customers need to make an educated and informed decision. The hardest part about my job is coming to the realization that I can't be superman and do everything by myself. The most enjoyable part about my job is seeing my co-workers, and customers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A corporation that truly cares about its employees
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Current Employee), WOODBRIDGE,VANovember 12, 2014
Everyone is extremely nice, and IKEA PROVIDES GREAT BENEFITS TO THEIR EMPLOYEES!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough work
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Centennial, CONovember 11, 2014
temp on site but on call, if they don't kno u, it will be hard to get a truck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Customer
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Woodbridge, VaNovember 10, 2014
Pros: 401k, benefits in ico-worker, hourly salary
Cons: breaks
I was serving a customer some hot dogs and unexpectedly, she grabbed my hand and told me that I have a great heart and a positive mindset; my smile and attitude shows it all. I decided to write about this because this was a moment that really opened my eyes and made me realize that people notice the small things you do and if my coworkers and I keep – more... bringing positive attitudes to work, people will enjoy coming more often. The hardest part is dealing with a customer who is already having a rough day and is trying to ruin your own. Besides that, I love helping others and I believe making customers happy is the most enjoyable part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large retail company that cares about employees
Recovery Co-Worker (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VANovember 5, 2014
Although it is a large international retail company they involve their co-workers and make them have a voice. They also provide great opportunity to gain various experience in different aspects of the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn lean retailing!
Visual Merchandise & Activity Manager (Former Employee), Milton Keynes, ENGNovember 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours on projects
All co-workers and managers support each other on all aspects of retail.
All decisions are done at local level, low involvement of national office.

About IKEA

IKEA is a Swedish company registered in the Netherlands that designs and sells ready-to-assemble furniture (such as beds, chairs, – Read more