Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,022 reviews

IKEA Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive retail store
Sales (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 4, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: mostly part-time shift work
Over the years at Ikea I was able to see first hand how a world class business brings in customers, and moves thousands of products on a daily basis. In customer service, I learned all the warts of the business and in sales I was able to see how customers shop and what home furnishings and household products mean to real people and how it can positively – more... impact their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Implement SAP Payroll
Payroll Consultant (Former Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 31, 2013
Learned SAP Payroll system

Build payroll testing processses
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally an interesting company to work for with continuous interact with the sales, operations and design departments; enabling smooth operations.
Facilities Officer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 23, 2013
Pros: subsidised lunches, 15% discount all all items purchased.
Cons: having to work every saturday for the last nine years eventually took a toll on my family life.
Plan and review daily requirements, which included requests for maintenance or new works to be carried out, programmed preventive maintenance, assisting in projects, attending to contractors and service providers. Ensuring that the store is a safe place for customers and staff alike. Attending to all emergencies relating to the facilities. Daily inspection – more... of store and both indoor and outdoors. Ensuring that janitors maintain washrooms to a high standard and all areas to be cleaned throughout the day. AS GOOD AS NEW concept.

This type of work has taught me to be proactive and be prepared to attend to any emergencies. This ensures minimum or no lost of time to the operations and also to maintain a safe working/customer environment at all times.

Continuously in close contact with management to ensure that all is in order. Co-workers are also our clients, so a good relationship is fostered through mutual respect and a electronic request system is in place enhance this. This allow for all parties to track progress of requests. Job can be challenging (hard) with with multiple requests/competing priorities but continuous and clear updates on progress helps put things at ease. Good communications is essential for this job and we are provided with the proper communication tools/programs to ensure this occurs.

Enjoyable part of the jobs is being able to complete routine works with other competing requests and being able to solve problems both through own initiatives or through dialogue with others in the facilities department. Being able to work on my own and as a team both within the department or within the whole organization. I also enjoyed working on a buildup project (new store) in another IKEA location for two months. (IKEA Richmond in Vancouver.) Having access to a wide source of expertise within the IKEA organization was also a benefit.

Was part of the Occupational Health and Safety and Sustainability Committees for many years and was fortunate to do continuous training in both these areas; which in turn enable me to carry out my role more efficiently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, messy managment.
Receiving team support manager (Former Employee), Winnipeg ManitobaSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: cheap staff luches
Cons: messy managment
I was a support manager for the warehouse at Ikea and I enjoyed it. BUT it came as a surprise I wasn't aware of being a manager for a few months and never really got management training on the side. I had the training to use equipment to teach other employees and little training on how to use the trailer programs on the computer I more or less taught – more... my self through manuals there. It was a new store and I expected it to be hectic and I was patient. Even put in lots of OT 12 hour days. In the end I got canned for a small issue of letting a trainee drive on his own around others for a hour on a forklift which is how I was trained. But they didn't fire me on the spot they needed me there they kept me for a month and out of the blue they let me go I had no clue and it really messed things up for me. I hope management is a lot better I hear one of my old friends there moved up and we trained together as managers so I'm glad to see him moving up even though he din't really want to. As goes their Culture, they have a "strong" one and it really got to me saying they look out for their employees and so on and at first it was great I got to go to Vancouver for a month all expenses payed. But then they really dint care about us warehouse people we were like the dogs of the company. Always pressuring us to work very long hours and never getting rewards.and when they dropped me like a bag of bricks that shows that the company is kinda slimy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best possible retail position
After-Sales Coworker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: employee lunch discounted, friendly staff
Ikea clearly values their employees, they treat everyone from janitorial staff to managers with the same level of respect.
I feel that in my time at Ikea my efforts were appreciated and recognized.
The team itself is tightly knit and friendly, and management is typically positive and eager to assist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and structured environment
Cash Supervisor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 23, 2013
IKEA is a fun, interesting and unique work environment. Co-workers and management are treated like equals and the environment is reasonably calm for a retail setting. I learned a lot about the inner workings of a large retail store like this, how the cash on hand is handled and how the store compiles, stores and reports it's flow of money.
The hardest – more... part of the job was very clearly getting used to the very dated way of running their batch reports every morning. But after a couple weeks of training and repeatedly going through the process myself, I eventually got used to it.
My favorite and most enjoyable part of the job was working in an office environment and the daily interactions with all of the wonderful people that work there. It truly is a great place to work and I'm very thankful that I had the opportunity to be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is challenging-i get a great workout wearing my leg weights in every shift- fun place to work-
Sales Associate / Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Richmond, BCAugust 13, 2013
Pros: driving a forklift or motorize pallet rider, helping others, different task during your shifts, fun place to work, getting a good workout during my shift
Cons: getting up early, saturday shift starts at 2am
My morning at Ikea starts at 3AM in the warehouse.Counting Inventory of stock is the first thing i do.. i pick orders for that morning using a forklift . I stock merchandise on or below the shelve`s by using a motorized pallet jack or a hand jack.. I`m always helping others as needed. I`m always learning everyday more about IKEA products and what we – more... sell so i can provide customers with the help they need. I stack pallets on top of pallets when i`m done my task . i maintain my area in a clean manner. i work in a very fast pace environment. I`m very Productive & Energitic with a Positive Attitude, I enjoy the challange of muti-tasking .I have a deadline each and every morning to complete my task/job. I stay when needed. I work with wonderful coworkers and we have a great team of mangers who over looks are team. I`m proud to say we have a fantastic team in Receiving . Everyday is a challenge in the warehouse , whether it is problem solving , mulit-tasking, Inventory counting or completing the task on time.I`m always credited for my hard work which i enjoy hearing.i love what i do in the warehouse. The hardest part of my job would be getting up early but once i`m up I`m ready to go. I have a valid Forklift and Motorized pallet jack licence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing comany culture
Bedroom Showroom Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 1, 2013
Pros: all the cool innovative products.
Cons: visual sensory overload.
Good pay, Great break room, Fun co-workers and inspirational managers. This was a great place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure position, great pay, close staff
Cashier/Restaurant (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJuly 27, 2013
Ikea was a great job. I enjoyed the hours, my co-workers, and the customer service I provided.
The most difficult part of this job was the busy season, working overtime at last minute and trying to get the rush down.
The most enjoyable part was working with my co-workers.
A typical day would include food prep, cash register, food display, dining room – more... runs (clearing tables, cleaning dining hall). Doing food prep for the next day, serving customers, cashing out at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, safe working enviroment.
Part-Time Employee (Current Employee), North York, ONJuly 8, 2013
Pros: free pop
Care for the employees, just as much as they care for making sales and serving customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place anyone can work!
Restauraunt Staff (Former Employee), OttawaJune 21, 2013
Pros: ikea staff parties!
Cons: none.
-Very busy place to work!
-You meet lots of different people at IKEA.
-Management is awesome!
-Co-workers were the best team mates ever!
-The kitchen gets really hot at times!
-Talking to all different types of customers and hearing their feedback about the products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work with great coworkers and management
Loss Prevention Administrator (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 17, 2013
Pros: coworker meal subsidy
Great place with great people. Lots of opportunity for career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Sales (Former Employee), Richmond bcJune 12, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: slave drivers
Managers are bullies. No respect from supervisors and leads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job i ever had.
Returns & Exchange Associate/Coordinator (Former Employee), etobicoke,ontarioJune 12, 2013
Pros: everything
This company truly treats their coworkers with respect and intergity, i started working there when i was 16, and i should have never left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for those willing to travel
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), VancouverJune 12, 2013
Pros: employee discount
Cons: need to be available many days of week hour in day
World class global retailer with a variety of opportunities, rapidly expanding in India and China. Range of opportunities in sales, logistics, design, customer service. High volume retail is hard work, but there is a great variety of career paths for a dynamic individual.

Coworkers are great, you develop strong relationships with your fellow team members. – more... It is an organisation where you will work long hours and it is a seven day a week operation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and boring work, coworkers and managers are very unfriendly
Warehouse worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 3, 2013
Horrible management, very disorganized. I do a task and get yelled at by a different manager for doing said task. I had hours missing from my check many times and HR refused to do anything about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, Poor management
Logistics (Full Serve) Personnel (Former Employee), EtobicokeMay 7, 2013
Pros: benefits, social outings
Cons: inconsistent hours
IKEA is such a busy place it's really difficult to see the fruits of your labor, especially with the way management is set up.
all the co-workers got a long great and were really supportive both personally and professionally. with a system that was always changing, consistency with goods flow was difficult but manageable. IKEA strives to learn and become – more... more efficient in what they do. it is a very diverse company and despite it's size is doing a great job to be environmentally friendly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ikea's work atmosphere
Self-Serve Warehouse Co-worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMay 5, 2013
Pros: $1 breakfasts and great co-workers
I would come in work really fast and hard in order to have the stock ready before the opening of the store. Ikea has taught me that working hard toward a similar goal can give motivation to anyone. The most enjoyable part of the job is conversing with my co-worker as we stock the racks full of products coming from the trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of opportunities to learn and to grow
Canada Ltd .Partner (Current Employee), Richmond, BCApril 29, 2013
This is a part-time position.
•a typical day at work -only 4 hours, couple times a week
•what you learned- cash, serving technics
•management- positive and open to the dialog
•your co-workers- multicultural, of different age-groups as well
•the hardest part of the job- to leave
•the most enjoyable part of the job-to come.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy company
Cashier (Current Employee), North York, ONApril 19, 2013
Pros: employee discount, affordable lunches in employee room
Cons: outdated computers and procedures
Each day I would work on either a self check-out section or a traditional cash lane. When working a traditional cash lane each individual is responsible for for their own cash float and balancing at the end of a shift. The job is very simple but made to be more difficult than needed due to their outdated computer systems and procedures. This makes it – more... difficult because I believe in providing customers with a high level of customer service but without proper systems it is not easy to do. Ikea is a company known for a multi-cultural work environment and high standards for equality resulting in a good work environment. – less

About IKEA

IKEA is a Swedish company registered in the Netherlands that designs and sells ready-to-assemble furniture (such as beds, chairs, – Read more