Find companies:
IKEA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,004 reviews

IKEA Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere
Cash Manager (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONNovember 23, 2014
Great culture & atmosphere
beneficial company to our environment
team building
strategic management skills
great customer service /resolution
great products
easy work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment but poor management and lack of opprotunity
warehouse worker (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONNovember 21, 2014
Pros: benefits for part time
Cons: no room for advancement, poor management, inconsistent policies
The work is simple and pleasant enough however the hours were bad and inconsistent. There is no room for increasing hours or pay consistently unless you are hired as a manager. They do not like to promote from within their organization. Yearly wage increases are either meager or non existent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee), North York, ONNovember 13, 2014
Its been great working at IKEA, however the lack of opportunities to become full time is challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social & Experience Benefits; Awful Management
Carts & Carryout Co-Worker (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 5, 2014
Pros: annual raises, meeting people, strong culture, higher-than-average retail wage
Cons: the managers!, constant battle for hours, unnecessary stress, faulty equipment, no-shows all the time, scatterbrained shifts
Working with customers was (almost) always one of the best parts of the job, even with the few bad apples you'd get. And you do end up learning a few things about working the job. You meet some great people who feel unified because of the cultural aspect of the job. Lastly, you make money...

However, management was the biggest pain in the behind. Favoritism, – more... neglect, selective memory, non-stop excuses, false assumptions about your work behavior, borderline-authoritarian rules, unwillingness to hear and/or heed the opinions/concerns/suggestions of the department, clashing of different orders/tasks from different managers, and emotional/professional manipulation are just SOME of the things you'll experience from the managers in this store. It made the job extremely stressful to say the least.

I often worked by myself, even on busy days, in spite of the fact that the job required a minimum of two people for the tasks to be done efficiently and properly. Many people were no-shows or called in sick to avoid the work, and while I couldn't blame them because of the work conditions, it made my life that much harder. It was a battle just to stay employed in spite of the rather lousy work conditions for the department. Anxiety was a growing concern for me as I would always dread the shifts where I'd have to put up with the more negative aspects of the job, which was more often than not.

No appreciation was given for my near-flawless attendance record, even with the odd late arrival due to problems with transit. None was given for my willingness to fill in hours that were needed. Information was constantly withheld from me; I was sometimes made to feel bad for mistakes that could have been corrected with additional staffing in my shifts; the equipment for the job was lousy and just barely worked, often failing or stalling at the worst of times, yet because of bureaucratic red-tape, nothing has been modestly repaired since the beginning of the year; cost-cutting measures and a cryptic, seemingly restrictive budget limited staffing & scheduling abilities; empty promises and shallow assurances from the upper echelons of management; lower-management (such as Duty Managers) would try to pawn off their duties on you any chance they'd get, in spite of how busy YOU were trying to get the job done, you know, the one you were being paid for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Burlington, ONOctober 28, 2014
Pros: positive team enviornment.
Cons: lack of opportunities for advancement
Support and Steer the management team to develop the store's annual P&L, financial goals and objectives and update forecast throughout the fiscal year. Full responsibilities for Resource planning, payroll, billing, project reporting, financial statement production and distribution, and preparation of operating budgets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Customer Service/Sales Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, BCOctober 17, 2014
This company treats you like a number not a valued person with a wealth of knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers
Kitchen Planner/Customer Service (Former Employee), TorontoOctober 7, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: biased management team
I used to love working at IKEA for the simple reason that the "IKEA culture" was fantastic. You felt well-loved and appreciated. The management team has changed drastically in the last few years, and things have not been the same. Employee turnover is high now, when it used to be low. Most of the coworkers are great and I have made life-long friends – more... with many. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good spot to work
Goods Flow Co-Worker (Former Employee), vaughanOctober 2, 2014
friendly staff , easy to learn and advance if your aim is that
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great working experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Montreal, QCSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: leanred many useful skills
Cons: not enough hours
Working at Ikea was a great learning experience. I have learnt many responsibilities and work ethics by being a part of their team. I enjoyed working with different people everyday, it helped me build excellent communication skills in English and French. I picked up my working pace very quickly due to the number of clients I have served everyday. Working – more... as a cashier required memorization skills for the codes and had helped me build my strength in various ways. The reason why I left is due to the hours that were not enough for me. In Ikea the hours given per worker is based on seniority, the longer you've been working with the, the more hours you would receive to work. Since I have been there for a year I did not receive many hours that I needed to financially support myself. Overall Ikea was a great place to work and to gain experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORK
Product Loans Specialist (Current Employee), IKEA ETOBICOKEAugust 24, 2014
Pros: sometimes free lunch
Cons: long houres
- typical day at work
- arrival at 8:30
- finish at 5-7 pm

I'm sorry I cant add any more feed back about my current company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured work
Forklift Driver and General Laborer (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 24, 2014
The people are very nice, A very positive environment, and very involved in the company. Almost never full time hours, but decent wages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and harmonized workplace
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), North York, ONJuly 22, 2014
You get to meet different types of people everyday. Help customers with what they want or refer something that they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), winnipegJuly 16, 2014
A great group of people generally. Great work lives balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organize and clean environment
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great salary
Cons: long hours and very busy
-Very busy especially on summer however i had fun working there and meet new nice people
- Increased my confidence talking to other people, more attentive to customers, do not waste time, always on time,
- The management in IKEA are very nice they are very organized and they treat their employees equally
- The hardest part of the job is when it gets – more... busy and you're all by yourself, however i did it by myself
- The most enjoyable part of the job is when meeting new people, and counting your own tray – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Carts and Carry Out (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 2, 2014
Great workplace environment, learned a lot from both manager and other employers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Recovery Co-worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: higher wages
Cons: poor management choices, it's who you know not what you know
A typical day at work was usually filled with fun and laughter. Everyone in the department enjoyed each others company.

When I left, the management of my department was questionable. The man seemed more focused on asserting his authority and blatant favoritism that his management skills are at best laughable.

The hardest part of the job was the physical – more... labor and massive influx of returned items. There was so many returns that the department did not have enough man power to deal with it all. On many occasions, massive amounts of product went straight to the garbage simply because there were few people to process it.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with. Although there was immense pressure to get the job done, at least there were people around to make jokes with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great designed furniture for the many with people making it happen!
Assistant Department Manager (Current Employee), Burlington, ONJune 12, 2014
Pros: "most things still need to done"
Cons: "most things still need to done"
Say hello to everyone you meet ,very cordial
Everyone roll up their sleeves high team sprirt from part time to managers
Everyone smiling and wants to be there!
Be yourself, whoever you are
Encouraged to think outside the box
Conciously manage with head and heart
Best part is the customer to whom you help them fulfill a dream
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work place
Housekeeping and Maintenance (Current Employee), Richmond, BCJune 2, 2014
I am a hard worker but my company didn't see this they want to take all our benifits and reduse our hours. When i started in this company they are very good and have a big heart but time goes by they change until now we are outside fighting for our right. I have a good co worker and most of them is long in this company. I enjoy in my job so much because – more... all my co worker is really kind and friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Safety and Security Agent (Current Employee), Montréal, QCMay 29, 2014
Very routine oriented, very well Structured with strict policies to follow ,the management teams are easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, Productive
Checkouts and Customer Service Co-worker (Former Employee), Dublin, DMay 26, 2014
Typical work day involved dealing with as many customer queries as possible.

1 2 3 4 5

About IKEA

IKEA is a Swedish company registered in the Netherlands that designs and sells ready-to-assemble furniture (such as beds, chairs, – Read more