IKEA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, benefits are great
After Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON25 November 2017
Fun place to work overall, managers are generally helpful and friendly. Benefits are great, pay used to be extremely competitive compared to other companies.
Pros
benefits, employee perks, bonuses
Cons
long hours, irate customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and healthy work environment with very few flaws.
Contract Worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2017
This company was alright in a sense where i had learned a lot while there. The work is sometimes to repetitive, one day we can be putting up walls for displays (all day), or it can be a garbage day where we take out the old tiles and dispose of them before we put in new ones. The hardest part of the job was the schedule. Sometimes i would work one or two days out the week ans sometimes none that was really difficult because i need hours and money for school. the easiest part about it was communicating with my co-workers and customers.
Pros
Free coffee and fountain drinks
Cons
Minimal shifts, long hours, lack of respect from managers/supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work at!
operator (Current Employee) –  Jönköpings kommun24 November 2017
I was a forklift operator at one of the biggest warehouses in the world. My tasks were to prepare goods for the other workers picking orders, and then shipping it away. I also worked with picking orders, at the recovery center, pallets stocking and so on.
Pros
discounts, 20 min payed massage/week, free breakfast and a lot more
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Culture and People
Operation Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 November 2017
Absolutely Amazing Company to work for. Great culture and people. High expectations with the tools to complete the job. Fantastic Teamwork with great people around the world. Potential to move is amazing.
Pros
Great Culture, Opportunities to advance
Cons
office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
commis des chariots (Current Employee) –  Boucherville, QC19 November 2017
the hardest part of the job is that even if is -40 or 40 degree you need to work. You need to work outside even if it is slip, rain or snow storm. The most enjoyable is that you don't really have a boss to tell you what to do, you need to be autonomous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've had
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 November 2017
IKEA is a great work environment. They motivate you & demonstrate appreciation towards your hard work. They are very supportful & you can grow quickly within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and culture
Sales Coworker (Former Employee) –  North York, ON13 November 2017
This company has a great workplace culture. The other employees make it a very welcoming environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with like minded colleagues. A typical day of work involved assisting customers with inquiries, making space for inventory and merchandising products.
Pros
Great Workplace culture, Health benefits (even for part timers)
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Co-Worker (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON11 November 2017
Have a great work atmosphere inside the firm.The management team treat employees in an equal way. The most enjoyable part of the job is " do well the duties and responsibilities" which imposed to each worker.
Personally IKEA helped me to learn more about myself my weakness, and strengths.It help me improvise myself.
Pros
Work Atmosphere
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vendeuse
Vendeuse (Former Employee) –  Paris, ON3 November 2017
Je devais réceptionner la marchandises et passer les commandes pour assurer le bon remplissage des rayons et éviter au maximum les ruptures de stocks.

Avoirs une excellente approche clients et une bonne communication.
Pros
conditions de travail
Cons
ras
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Richmond BC IKEA WORST warehouse job ever.
Full-service/employees warehouse (Former Employee) –  IKEA Richmond BC2 November 2017
No training at all, you must ask co-workers for instruction constantly until you know what to do. Management does not follow company policies and practices resulting in unnecessary added work to employees workload. Payless than going rate of job market.
Pros
Staff is helpful
Cons
Management useless and possibly incompetent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enterprise
Collaboratrice aux caisses (Current Employee) –  Boucherville, QC1 November 2017
I was cashier at IKEA Boucherville, it is a very demanding job as you have to scan the fastest possible while also paying attention to money to make sure you'll balance at the end of the day. 70% of customers are super nice and relaxed, so that makes a great environment, also most managers are empathetic and very nice people.

The negative side is that for the job done and the risks taken it should be better paid, and schedules change every week (most people are asked to work on weekends, some evenings). I recommend it just for students who need a part-time job.
Pros
repas pas chers, rabais employé
Cons
salaire bas, horaire extremes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
KITCHEN ASSISTANT/DISHWASER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 October 2017
It was a good place to work there were various different levels of people, management was strong a bit hard to move up due to seniority, people were friendly
Pros
Work Environment
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  深圳市27 October 2017
Good benefit but low salary. Famous company with friendly internal environment. For Chinese staff, what they like the most is that they can work with the people from different countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it's cracked up to be
Smaland Co-Worker (Current Employee) –  North York, ON20 October 2017
Decent place to work, often there can be times where people are very unprofessional in the management and co-worker levels. Not all it is cracked up to be.
Pros
Subsidized lunches and part-time co-worker benefit plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job i had and it was awesome
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2017
Great place to work, learned a lot. Super organized company, with good management. The warehouse and customer section is also very organized. Awesome hot dogs too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  North York, ON11 October 2017
Management is friendly and informative, and coworkers are helpful and happy to teach you. Managers encourage you to expand your knowledge and explore other jobs throughout the company. Customer service is key at IKEA, because leaving the best impression on the customer is vital for a positive shopping experience. IKEA believes in offering high quality products and an affordable price, extending their reach to make a better everyday life for as many people as possible. IKEA believes in sustainability and upholding high ethical and moral values.
Pros
Employee discounts, free lunches on peak days, holiday parties, fun kickoff events
Cons
Keeping an extremely high volume of customers happy at all times, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy putting together Ikea Kitchens
Private Contractor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 October 2017
I will first read schematics and site measure to insure that the layout is accurate prior to laying out bases. I will then go over manifest and insure that the required materials are on site. I will then start building cabinets and leveling bases. One the bases are correct I will install lower cabinets and the upper cabinets.
Pros
Work at my own pace
Cons
time between jobs and an income can be hard to manage around
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC1 October 2017
It's a really fun place to work full of amazing people who are all very friendly. The jobs there can be stressful, but there many oppeftunites to grow within IKEA.
Pros
Free lunches on busy days
Cons
Busy environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and efficient working style.
Full serve worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta26 September 2017
-Typical day would include duties such as
~getting Products for customers
~Checking inventory
~Re-stocking products
~Cleaning the warehouse
- The management was pretty helpful when presented with problems
- Many challenges while working especially balancing work and home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable.
Restaurant Team Member (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 September 2017
C'est un emploi que j'aimai faire ! Je n'ai jamais eu de problème avec l'équipe de management.
Pros
avantages sociaux
Cons
Difficile de prendre des vacances en été
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IKEA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,906 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0