IGA Employee Reviews

Found 318 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon employeur, explique bien le travail et respectueux envers ces employé.
Aide au boucher (Former Employee) –  Mont-Laurier, QC21 September 2017
Bon employeur, explique bien le travail et respectueux envers ces employé.
Pros
pause de 1 heure le midi
Cons
très exigeant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IGA Miramichi no longer exists.
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NB19 September 2017
IGA Miramichi no longer exists but it was a great place to work along with a great team of managers and employees alike.
It gave me the experience I needed to start employment and develop customer service,customer satisfaction and relations, work as a team, loyalty, dedication, punctuality, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productif
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Prevost, QC12 September 2017
Je me sentais pas bien avec tour se qui se passais
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commis boulangère
Commis boulangère (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC6 September 2017
Travail dans l'alimentation.

Journée de 8 heures avec pause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superbe environnement de travail
Emballeur et commis d'entrepot (Former Employee) –  Saint-apollinaire, QC4 September 2017
J'ai adoré travaillé pour cette entreprise, très belle opportunité
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emploi correct
Commis d'épicerie (Former Employee) –  Chandler, QC1 September 2017
C'est un travail correct mais répétitif qui ne demande que peux de défi.
Pros
proximité
Cons
salaire minimum
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to begin gaining work experience
Butcher (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 August 2017
a day at IGA depending can be faced paced and productive or a little slow and dull depending on the time of year. Its a great place if your starting out and just looking for a job or coming to an end of your professional career but could use some supplemental income. the work can at times be monotonous however
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC28 August 2017
IGA (Independent Grocers Alliance) is the largest group of independent grocers in Canada. In Quebec its presence dates to 1953. I worked at IGA for a little over 5 years, I became supervisor only months later.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC28 August 2017
The other employees were great and I really liked it as a job. it is in a smaller community so you got to know the local costumers very well. it was a fun job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agreable
Assistante gérante (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 August 2017
Sa ma permis de grandir et d'accomplir des but personnel au sein de cette entreprise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful enviroment full of wonderful coworkers.
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Port McNeill, BC19 August 2017
The work here was basically the same thing, day in and day out. I found it to be quite a monotonous job and because of which, I was slower at my job then I could've been. Although, no other manager would complain about me, the head manager at the time decided to let me go, no matter how well I helped around the store.
Cons
Depressing Enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable, consigne très strictes, travail d'équipe inexistant et tâches très répétitives.
Emballeur (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC16 August 2017
Environnement agréable, consigne très strictes, travail d'équipe inexistant et tâches très répétitives.
Pros
Environnement agréable
Cons
Tâches très répétitives
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Labrador City, NL16 August 2017
Very well managed workplace,Friendly co workers.A good Company to grow ,I went from been a cashier to a manger ,I loved working with IGA.I learn a lot of things,such as accounting .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with other workers
boucher,responsable de département Kosher (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 August 2017
Looking for date and bad quality meat
Cutting meat
I pretty much learn all i know about work there
The hard part of the job would be not enough time
For customers services
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  110-909 Burrard St, Vancouver, BC.12 August 2017
1st. if you like fast paced workplace, then this is the place for you (sometimes). Remember, this store is central downtown and across the street from the Scotia Bank Cineplex,

2nd. Produce codes, they will stick to you within a couple months, so don't be scared, staff are pretty awesome and will help you through.

3rd. Like I said in 2nd is that the staff are pretty awesome to work with, for me, it was like a family. Though we do get extremely busy (most of the time its due to lack of staff) the shift sometimes can be pretty stressing at times, but encouragement through the other cashiers.
Pros
Discount on non-sale items
Cons
very heavily busy, Legs do get extremely sore at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair with job work\life balance
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 August 2017
I did not enjoy working here, my pay was wrong a couple times and I wasn't treated properly. Management wasn't the best, they would schedule me to work on days I clearly stated I wouldn't be able to even after they approved and told me they would not schedule me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, friendly staff.
Meat department manager (Current Employee) –  Port McNeill, BC7 August 2017
Enjoyable work atmosphere,. Great team management. Customer base is very enjoyable to deal with. Workday is flexible which allows for family time, with outside pursuits .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good balance of work and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB3 August 2017
I liked working at IGA. Socializing with the customers and coworkers and the job was fun. But sadly I had to leave in order to focus on school. I was sad to leave but I had to in order to apply myself in school to get into college, which I did.
Pros
fun work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going highschool job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Enderby, BC30 July 2017
I worked here in highschool and i enjoyed the time i was there. a few of my friends also worked there and management was great. im from a small town so everyone knows everyone.
Pros
friendly co workers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agréable d'y travailler
Commis charcuterie (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan-sud, QC23 July 2017
Après ma séparation avec mon ex conjoint, j'ai dû retourner dans ma ville natale. Vu que je n'avait aucun véhicule pour aller y travailler et la distance trop longue. J'ai dû quitter.
Pros
Très bonne ambiance en général!
Cons
j'en trouve pas pour le moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IGA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,227 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5