IGA EXTRA Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Work-Life BalancePay & BenefitsJob Security & AdvancementManagementCulture
Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Assistant Manager Fruits and Veggies (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 29, 2016
Great place to learn the alimentation business but if your over 25 years old the whole concept of working in a supermarket is a strange vibe specially with all those kids ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IGA
Fruits et légumes représentant (Current Employee) –  St-DorothéeJune 12, 2014
A day at work consists of stocking fruits and vegetables, working under pressure and preparing pre-made snacks. I learnt many things working here, but also learnt that the management should have much more respect towards their staff. The majority of my co-workers do not enjoy what they do, simply because they feel tormented by their superiors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people but no advancement
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCDecember 7, 2014
I like my job but I'm young and an accounts payable job at iga extra isn't helping my future. the people I work with are great. It's really simple to learn their special system that sobeys has implemented in the iga.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eggshell work environement
Commis Charcuterie (Former Employee) –  Laval, QCFebruary 2, 2014
A lot of down time with no task
unwelcome
rude
customer friendly
fast knowledge of the work at hand
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QCJanuary 12, 2015
Great hours and management. Friendly space and clear work materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment, constantly having to prove to Customers that they saw the wrong price
SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCAugust 22, 2015
A typical day at work has me greeting, serving and thanking hundreds of Customers. The majority of Customers are easy to deal with and very respectable, My department (Service) by far has the most employees, about 50. Most of them are students and therefore quite young. They require attention and supervision constantly. With the combination of a young staff, running constantly for price verification and the occasional irate Customer, a 9-10 hour day is quite demanding. Most days I do not have lunch. Because of my vast experience and responsibilities, everyone turns to me when something needs to be done. I am the only manager on the floor that is in a suit so EVERYONE comes to me.
I have learned to admire and respect people in retail. Customers can be quite demanding and some also quite rude with little or no reward to the employee.
There are 2 Owners and they are complete opposites. Listening to 2 different opinions on how something needs to be done can sometimes be tough.
The store employs over 100 people and I probably only know about 75% but of the ones I know I can probably split in 2 equal halves. The group that comes in and does the minimum and the group that is very Customer Service oriented. I have some amazing kids and some very spoiled kids as well.
I believe there are 3 things that are equally difficult.
1) Preparing a work schedule (about 10 hours a week done at home)
2) There is so much theft in the store so I am always on the lookout.
3) Trying to discipline my department by myself. Although the owners demand discipline, they will not
  more... intervene at the fear of losing potential Customers. My assistants seem to take the easy way out because disciplining young employees is very demanding and time consuming. (Cell phones, talking out of order. etc)
What I enjoy most is feeling that I made a difference. Before I started working there I knew no one in that part of town. Now I believe I can run for Mayor there. There are some great people, Customers, that really make the day enjoyable. They respect us, talk to us, share their day and just joke with us. Great people.
  less
Pros
Customers, meeting people everyday, never a dull moment
Cons
Always running, no time to eat. never a quiet moment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commis
Commis au service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QCJune 30, 2016
Chez IGA EXTRA, je travail dans le département de la poissonnerie , je dois effectuer les taches que mon gérant me demande , par exemple couper du poisson , faire des salades et faire du menage le soir quand c'est l'heure de la fermeture. Le service a la cliente est très frequent meme si nous avons un comptoir libre service pour les clients.
Pros
Dejeuners gratuis
Cons
Ne pas pouvoir travailler que la fin de semaine (Retour aux études)
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail stressant
Préposé a la charcuterie (Current Employee) –  Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QCJune 10, 2016
j'ai adoré le fait que peut importe le nombre d'heure que l'on fait nous avons obligatoirement une pause, car je trouve cela important de pouvoir prendre un instant pour manger ou boire. Par contre les horaire sont vraiment mal faite et a discuté. Les gérant ne prennent pas vraiment en compte l'ancienneté. Aucun rabais employer
Pros
pause de 15 min obligatoire, aucun chiffre plus petit que 4 heures
Cons
bcp de chiffre coupé, difficulté a s'acclimater aux horaire étudiants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Commis des fruits et légumes coupés (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QCJuly 10, 2016
Une équipe qui s'entend bien, liée et qui s'entraîde.

L'aspect le plus agréable est l'esprit d'équipe de tout le monde.

L'aspect le plus difficile est au début, lorsqu'il faut apprendre à cuisiner les différents produits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agreable
commis a la facturation (Current Employee) –  Laval, QCJuly 31, 2016
Journée ou ont ne cesse d apprendre
Journée ou il y a beaucoup d interaction entre les patrons et nous et les gérant et nous ,nous devons être prêts à réglé dès problèmes aussi tôt qu ils surviennes.
Pros
Horaire flexible
Cons
Aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agréable
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Chateauguay, QCDecember 4, 2015
la rencontre avec le publique est agréable et l`entraide avec les collègues est sympa. Lors dune journée de travail j`emballe les commandes des clients en leurs offrant d`apporter leurs commande a la voiture. Une chose difficile de mon poste est de ne pas pouvoir bouger plus car on n`est assigner a la même caisse toutes la journée. Et l`aspect le plus agréable est d`échanger des anecdotes avec les clients et de se faire remercier pour le service rendu.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entretien comercial
Travailleur Autonome (Current Employee) –  chomedyJuly 31, 2016
une bon entreprise faire un bon travail tout les jours est parti de un bon equipe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement passionant
Niveau élevé (Former Employee) –  Quebec, QCNovember 17, 2015
Une journée typique était de ramasser les bouteilles dans les machines, classer celles-ci et les déplacer. Aussi, je devais pousser et rentrer les paniers à l'extérieur tout en faisant le ménage de l'ensemble du magasin.
J'ai rencontré de merveilleux amis et j'ai appris de ceux-ci à mieux interagir.
Point positif: interaction employeur/employé
Point négatif: Courtes pauses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QCOctober 14, 2015
Au départ, je saluais mes collègues, allait chercher la caisse qui m'était attribue, demandait l'argent nécessaire pour commencer la journée. J'assurais le service à la caisse et à la courtoisie. Je balançais la caisse en fin de journée.

Je travaillais dans une bonne équipe de travail et la gérante veillait à créer une bonne ambiance de travail.

L'aspect le plus agréable était de pouvoir bien servir le client et répondre ses questions rapidement et efficacement.

L'aspect le plus difficile était de travailler à la courtoisie ou l'affluence était très grande tout en assurant la réception.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mes collaborateurs
Commis à l'emballage (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCSeptember 9, 2015
Chez IGA extra tellier le travail d'équipe est vraiment important.Sans ce, le travail pourrait être exigent ,si on le faisait seul.J'ai reçu toute l'aide possible à mes débuts pour pouvoir m'adapter rapidement.Ces moments m'en marqué, ainsi aujourd'hui c'est moi qui me charge d'aider les autres. à s'adapter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne job étudiante
Département de la poissonnerie (Current Employee) –  Saint-Janvier, QCNovember 19, 2015
C'est un travail agréable lorsqu'on est étudiant. Il manque de discipline et d'organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail mouvementé
Commis à la charcuterie (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCNovember 7, 2015
J'ai appris a accomplir plusieurs tâches en simultanées dans un temps record.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail d'étudiant
Commis Poissonnier (Former Employee) –  Mascouche, QCNovember 14, 2012
Belle complicité avec les autres

Une journée de travail typique c'est:
s'occuper des poissons, les couper, les positionner de manière élégante sur la table de glace, peser les poissons, servir des clients, remplir les comptoirs, défaire les commandes, s'assurer que la commande est complète, tout nettoyer, faire la fermeture du département.
Pros
belle ambiance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail
commis d'épicerie (Former Employee) –  Shawinigan, QCMarch 11, 2014
palcer le stock dans les étalage, aucun avenir profitable,bonne esprit d'équipe,accomplir les demandes placer 35 boîte a hres dans les tablettes canage par canage et l'aspect le plus agréable service au clients
Pros
relation avec le public
Cons
trops de pression inutile
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cuisinier
Cuisinier dans les mets préparés (Former Employee) –  gatineauMay 26, 2015
Bonne expérience, mais le salaire est très bas. Je cherche un emploi de jour et non le soir
Cons
travaillé le soir
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3