IGA EXTRA Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Assistant Manager Fruits and Veggies (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 August 2016
Great place to learn the alimentation business but if your over 25 years old the whole concept of working in a supermarket is a strange vibe specially with all those kids ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment, constantly having to prove to Customers that they saw the wrong price
SERVICE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 August 2015
A typical day at work has me greeting, serving and thanking hundreds of Customers. The majority of Customers are easy to deal with and very respectable, My department (Service) by far has the most employees, about 50. Most of them are students and therefore quite young. They require attention and supervision constantly. With the combination of a young staff, running constantly for price verification and the occasional irate Customer, a 9-10 hour day is quite demanding. Most days I do not have lunch. Because of my vast experience and responsibilities, everyone turns to me when something needs to be done. I am the only manager on the floor that is in a suit so EVERYONE comes to me.
I have learned to admire and respect people in retail. Customers can be quite demanding and some also quite rude with little or no reward to the employee.
There are 2 Owners and they are complete opposites. Listening to 2 different opinions on how something needs to be done can sometimes be tough.
The store employs over 100 people and I probably only know about 75% but of the ones I know I can probably split in 2 equal halves. The group that comes in and does the minimum and the group that is very Customer Service oriented. I have some amazing kids and some very spoiled kids as well.
I believe there are 3 things that are equally difficult.
1) Preparing a work schedule (about 10 hours a week done at home)
2) There is so much theft in the store so I am always on the lookout.
3) Trying to discipline my department by myself. Although the owners demand discipline, they will not
  more... intervene at the fear of losing potential Customers. My assistants seem to take the easy way out because disciplining young employees is very demanding and time consuming. (Cell phones, talking out of order. etc)
What I enjoy most is feeling that I made a difference. Before I started working there I knew no one in that part of town. Now I believe I can run for Mayor there. There are some great people, Customers, that really make the day enjoyable. They respect us, talk to us, share their day and just joke with us. Great people.
  less
Pros
Customers, meeting people everyday, never a dull moment
Cons
Always running, no time to eat. never a quiet moment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC12 January 2015
Great hours and management. Friendly space and clear work materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people but no advancement
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 December 2014
I like my job but I'm young and an accounts payable job at iga extra isn't helping my future. the people I work with are great. It's really simple to learn their special system that sobeys has implemented in the iga.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IGA
Fruits et légumes représentant (Current Employee) –  St-Dorothée12 June 2014
A day at work consists of stocking fruits and vegetables, working under pressure and preparing pre-made snacks. I learnt many things working here, but also learnt that the management should have much more respect towards their staff. The majority of my co-workers do not enjoy what they do, simply because they feel tormented by their superiors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eggshell work environement
Commis Charcuterie (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC2 February 2014
A lot of down time with no task
unwelcome
rude
customer friendly
fast knowledge of the work at hand
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne embiance de travail
Chef-caissière (Former Employee) –  Sante-Agathe dans les laurentides5 December 2016
J,aimais beaucoup travail avec l'équipe qui était la, mais nous somme déménager a trois-rivières
Pros
Bonne équipe de travail
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entretien comercial
Travailleur Autonome (Current Employee) –  chomedy31 July 2016
une bon entreprise faire un bon travail tout les jours est parti de un bon equipe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agreable
commis a la facturation (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC31 July 2016
Journée ou ont ne cesse d apprendre
Journée ou il y a beaucoup d interaction entre les patrons et nous et les gérant et nous ,nous devons être prêts à réglé dès problèmes aussi tôt qu ils surviennes.
Pros
Horaire flexible
Cons
Aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Commis des fruits et légumes coupés (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC10 July 2016
Une équipe qui s'entend bien, liée et qui s'entraîde.

L'aspect le plus agréable est l'esprit d'équipe de tout le monde.

L'aspect le plus difficile est au début, lorsqu'il faut apprendre à cuisiner les différents produits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commis
Commis au service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC30 June 2016
Chez IGA EXTRA, je travail dans le département de la poissonnerie , je dois effectuer les taches que mon gérant me demande , par exemple couper du poisson , faire des salades et faire du menage le soir quand c'est l'heure de la fermeture. Le service a la cliente est très frequent meme si nous avons un comptoir libre service pour les clients.
Pros
Dejeuners gratuis
Cons
Ne pas pouvoir travailler que la fin de semaine (Retour aux études)
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail stressant
Préposé a la charcuterie (Current Employee) –  Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QC10 June 2016
j'ai adoré le fait que peut importe le nombre d'heure que l'on fait nous avons obligatoirement une pause, car je trouve cela important de pouvoir prendre un instant pour manger ou boire. Par contre les horaire sont vraiment mal faite et a discuté. Les gérant ne prennent pas vraiment en compte l'ancienneté. Aucun rabais employer
Pros
pause de 15 min obligatoire, aucun chiffre plus petit que 4 heures
Cons
bcp de chiffre coupé, difficulté a s'acclimater aux horaire étudiants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agréable
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Chateauguay, QC4 December 2015
la rencontre avec le publique est agréable et l`entraide avec les collègues est sympa. Lors dune journée de travail j`emballe les commandes des clients en leurs offrant d`apporter leurs commande a la voiture. Une chose difficile de mon poste est de ne pas pouvoir bouger plus car on n`est assigner a la même caisse toutes la journée. Et l`aspect le plus agréable est d`échanger des anecdotes avec les clients et de se faire remercier pour le service rendu.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne job étudiante
Département de la poissonnerie (Current Employee) –  Saint-Janvier, QC19 November 2015
C'est un travail agréable lorsqu'on est étudiant. Il manque de discipline et d'organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement passionant
Niveau élevé (Former Employee) –  Quebec, QC17 November 2015
Une journée typique était de ramasser les bouteilles dans les machines, classer celles-ci et les déplacer. Aussi, je devais pousser et rentrer les paniers à l'extérieur tout en faisant le ménage de l'ensemble du magasin.
J'ai rencontré de merveilleux amis et j'ai appris de ceux-ci à mieux interagir.
Point positif: interaction employeur/employé
Point négatif: Courtes pauses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail mouvementé
Commis à la charcuterie (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 November 2015
J'ai appris a accomplir plusieurs tâches en simultanées dans un temps record.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC14 October 2015
Au départ, je saluais mes collègues, allait chercher la caisse qui m'était attribue, demandait l'argent nécessaire pour commencer la journée. J'assurais le service à la caisse et à la courtoisie. Je balançais la caisse en fin de journée.

Je travaillais dans une bonne équipe de travail et la gérante veillait à créer une bonne ambiance de travail.

L'aspect le plus agréable était de pouvoir bien servir le client et répondre ses questions rapidement et efficacement.

L'aspect le plus difficile était de travailler à la courtoisie ou l'affluence était très grande tout en assurant la réception.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mes collaborateurs
Commis à l'emballage (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 September 2015
Chez IGA extra tellier le travail d'équipe est vraiment important.Sans ce, le travail pourrait être exigent ,si on le faisait seul.J'ai reçu toute l'aide possible à mes débuts pour pouvoir m'adapter rapidement.Ces moments m'en marqué, ainsi aujourd'hui c'est moi qui me charge d'aider les autres. à s'adapter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cuisinier
Cuisinier dans les mets préparés (Former Employee) –  gatineau26 May 2015
Bonne expérience, mais le salaire est très bas. Je cherche un emploi de jour et non le soir
Cons
travaillé le soir
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adaptation
Cuisinière dans le département de prêt à manger (Current Employee) –  Varennes, Qc2 March 2015
Difficulté d'adaptation de méthode de travail selon la personne en charge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4