IBEW Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This union is failing
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Wabamun, AB29 December 2017
Market share continues to drop. Wages continue to drop. Jobs are non existent. Non-union is where I went and where I will stay. Little to no support when your working and have an issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strives to train and ensure the job is done correctly
Master Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 December 2017
They are there for the protection, training and welfare of the employee ensuring that the work field remains a level playing field for all and fair to all.
Pros
Dispatch
Cons
Current lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace and family
IBEW employee (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON6 November 2017
more than often many ibew employees are faced with an unstable work situation.
Previously stated in another review regarding availability of work, i would like to share the horror story of a man with a family and children not only being out of work for 20 months but having a new born at home having to sell belongings to get by and cash out all savings on a employment insurance pay check.
As ibew employees are highest paid and are bestowed with health coverage it does not mean you make the most and here is why.
divide your hourly earnings to how many hours you get in a year and tell me the number you come up with compared to companies which are non union who make less but work more frequently possibly.

as read in a previous post 40 km beyond your leaving point does not mean your home it means the office and there are more offices than you think. sault ste. marie , sudbury , north bay, timmins and let's not forget ottawa toronto barrie etc and all the in between. reading your principal agreement it states 40 km past you will get live out and travel paid and how wrong you are live out rarely happens so yes, you do pay for two homes at once just to work away from home after being laid off for who knows how long.
no other union really does this by the way so how do they afford it.
there are also contributing factors of how they win the bid and what you will lose out on.

this is no joke and i guess if you are not experienced in these events you wouldn't know any better.

also the ibew values itself on its members.
if you are out of work and let's say have a family
  more... and you are the sole breadwinner which does happen you are not allowed to work non union or your card will be terminated aswell as your membership.
you can however work non union if you work beside the union to salt non union and residential companies in order to get them to sign up. it is feasible if that non union company stays afloat but if not you have more mouths to feed on the out of work list and compition between brothers who are people just like anyone with lives and families.

now let's say you get a job as you have been out of work for quite some time. Your starving and the union calls you for a decent call. You now have to let your employer down and tell them you are returning back to work with the ibew, which in no case pleases many people and in a lot of cases it is two weeks notice and with the ibew you are to be at the job call the very next day most of the time.

a previous post stated "worked 4 months out of a 12 month year," that is basic math. i hope that individual did not have kids even if you didn't i believe that is still pretty hard.

there are yes a few steady positions within the ibew but very few compared to the amount gathered upon the out of work list, it is just not enough.

the ibew does gather for jobs in big numbers and they are a force field when something has to get done in a mass production situation.

there is much disregard in many cases of how the rules are written and how it very much does harbour trouble upon its members even if it does benifit financially for the bid or the bigger picture, it still takes money out of the workers pocket.

asking a person if they have family where the next job is because they can not afford two home payments ( one at home and one on the road out of pocket ) is unfair due to the fact that there in no loa or travel paid for that job.

one week of pay for loa and travel on a job, because the job is not 40 km past an ibew location/office is one weeks worth of wages for bills, your kids, emergency, yourself.

stories of men with families makes me upset because it is something i do not want to sacrifice. working away from home should be the only sacrifice, not your earnings and families stability and finances.

trump was known to say we make the most
we do not it's basic math when we subtract what all other unions and all other trades make per hour on top of loa and travel.
ibew does it's best to keep straight time due to appease its customers finances. Ibew does not take advantage that is for sure.

i was asked once when i would go home by another trade union member. i said plainly i couldn't afford it i haven't been home in two months i'll go home next month.

ibew has good people who try to make a living some are more cut throats than others but that is also due to having families and needing employment.

the ibew is strong in workers and numbers and very many are qualified and are great at what they do. i have met many who are capable and smart.

like i said if you are working out of local aswell and that city or area has a office 40 km from your job site no travel or lodging , that's on you and you will never be reembursed.
try starting a family on that wage of 4 / 9 hour shifts a week straight time which usually the larger cities adopt. not all of our members are journeymen either.

i believe ibew would do better in smaller numbers for the sake of its members and their families that need to make a living if their areas list does not revive proper roatation of out of work members.
  less
Pros
free training & personal protective equiptment
Cons
not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lifestyle
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON6 November 2017
in all honesty they pay great and they also have benefits.
what seems to be the issue is the amount of weeks or months you work out of a 12 month calandar year.
i have worked 4 months this year and it is not the first time, the year before i had worked less. at one point i did not work enough to even have the ability to claim ei.
the amount of work your receive is equal to the amount of education you receive aswell if you are an apprentice.
they have rules and regulations which make you believe you are financially sound when you are not.
you travel to where the work is when it's your turn. That being said there is no loa in a lot of situations no matter where you live or are coming from and a lot of the time you pay out of pocket for room and board and yes your gas. it's like paying for two homes at once that being said that's not easy especially if you have been on a lay off for months and have bills.
40 km does not mean from your home it is from the office which means if that town had a office no loa and no travel even if you come from far away.
i have also been advised of men other than myself cashing out retirement savings plans in order to get by until work starts again being that most have families.
changes should be made but a lot gets ignored.
Pros
training
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always have fun get the job done
Electrician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON20 October 2017
Start early receive the work for the day make sure you have every thing you need to do the job ,make a plan how to do the work including the safest way to do the job in the invironment that is provided.The most enjoyable part is to see the work completed and done were you would put your name on it.
Pros
Comes with experience
Cons
Comes with experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solar farm
IBEW 353 Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ON31 August 2017
It was incredibly enjoyable working for IBEW at the solar farm in Beaverton, ON. I always love learning new skills, and acquiring knowledge. I learned a lot about the installation of solar panels. IT was a heck of a lot of fun, hanging out with the team and trying our hardest to get as many racks squared as we could in one day.
Pros
A lot of fun
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
union hiring hall
Electrician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 July 2017
employment depends on manpower requirements of the contractor and length of project. because of the number of unemployed union members, times of unemployment between jobs could be lengthy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work sites have been going down hill over the years
ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2017
Quality has been slipping for years. Management is pushing for completion at all costs. Even when material and engineering is sub standard or non-existant. Everyone worried about their jobs in this economy so will do what they are told to keep their jobs. I'm tired of the union beening blamed for production and quality of work, the workforce does what they are told and does the work with the tools, material and direction giving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if they have work.
Journeyperson Electrician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 February 2017
A place that can provide many different benefits and types of experience. The IBEW culture is fun to enjoy. With their own school, it helps many apprentices become Journeypersons.
Pros
Great wages & representation.
Cons
Not enough work for all members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for.
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 February 2017
The pros of working for the IBEW are that when they have work it's an excellent work environment and you make the best wage and a pension on top of that.
Pros
Pension
Cons
No work right now
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Certified Electrician (Current Employee) –  Everywhere4 January 2017
Loved going to work everyday for whoever was my contractor at the time...work is diverse and never boring...have worked for this unuion for 17 years
Pros
Wages
Cons
work sparatic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard ibew
electrician. journey man (Former Employee) –  Albert, Saskatchewan, Ontario20 December 2016
As an ibew member, i find most jobs are standard. The different men are the flavor of life. Companies are standard and pushing to complete on time and under budget, which results in stress which is understandable. I find it enjoyable to work with supervision and humor the situation and help them. Have been a shopsteward several times so i don't let the situation overwhelm me.
Pros
good management
Cons
bickering men
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hard work. makes the days fly by
Unionized Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON9 December 2016
Hard Work.Great Pay Work in the outdoors Meet lots of new people.
Work as a team with other like minded others. physically demanding. endure the elements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 November 2016
It was good to get exposed to different areas of work, but very difficult to rely on having a job for any length of time so time to find something more reliable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hhhh
QA/QC Team and Electrical Foreman (Current Employee) –  alberta4 October 2016
Get place to work with great people. Most of our work is up north. Stay in camps . Some are some terrible.12 hrs days Its a union not a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if your mainly looking for big industrial.
Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK26 September 2016
All workers are treated very well. Great pay, benefits and pension I've ever seen. Seems like you will be working long hours and shift work for a few months to a couple years if your lucky, and then be laid off. Can be a different lifestyle.
Pros
Great pay, benefits an pension.
Cons
Job security, Long hours and few days off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been union for 20 years
Foreman/Journeyman Electrician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 August 2016
Work is sporadic, hard to come by,, but when you do get to work the income is above standard and the benefits are above the rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Support
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 August 2016
Currently unemployed and have no work available for our members. This is disheartening as we are all scrambling to find work to accommodate the lifestyle we are used to. When we are working the work is good. Hoping they get back out there and get us employed again
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Ground Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Bend, ON18 July 2016
learning all the time,learned about wind turbines management was well trained lifting the cables working with a good crew
Pros
good pay
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A union for the betterment of work
Block 2 construction electrician (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB9 July 2016
A great place to work, as i will continue to be an active union member, however there is no work for a local guy so I must be looking else where
Pros
High pay
Cons
Less work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IBEW. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 917 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9