IBM Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 671 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company in the world!
Series of Sales/Marketing/Management Roles (Former Employee) –  OntarioDecember 1, 2015
Best company, best training, greatest opportunities for advancement, amazing intelligent people, not really bosses but peers to work with and grow!
Pros
opportunities and different job every 1-2 years..promotions, benefits, remuneration
Cons
cant' really think of any..
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Staff, enjoyed working here
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 30, 2015
On a typical day there was a lot to learn from your friends and co-workers as the environment we were in changed with every new project. Helping each other was the only way to survive.
Pros
Staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good exposure to technology and capacity to learn a lot but fails to cater to people who need new challenges.
Senior Account Analyst& Deskside Support L2 (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 26, 2015
You will learn many new software, technologies and applications
during your employment but will be limited to 40hours a week(no Overtime). Depending on the account or department you work for, your hours are capped and all work done outside the 40hr cutoff is unaccounted for, uncredited and unpaid.

If you seek new challenges and seek to grow within a company at a steady pace and be appreciated as an employee for the work you do on/off the clock, seek another company. IBM USA is a better company than its Canadian counterpart.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work atmosphere, where challenge and oppertunity go hand in hand
Tivoli Software Distribution analyst (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ONNovember 23, 2015
A typical day involves interacting with client inquires and request that center around testing, remediating and sheduling software deployments. Pushing software packages to IST / UAT-QAT / Pilot and production environments is my core activity .
Secondly, patching production endpoints by scheduling off peak software distribution
Thirdly, follow up on exception reporting that details endpoints that require software updates
Fourthly, collaborate via phone, email, face to face or conference call in meetings that provide direction from the client or management as to what needs to be delivered and when.
Pros
Great company to work for, ability to work remotely on occasion
Cons
location was far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
WebSphere Administrator (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 18, 2015
I learned some skills with other IBM employees and also shared knowledge with them.It's helpful to build up my career more by working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM
Senior IT Service Desk Analyst - AHS Account (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 17, 2015
It was a nice place to work and to always learn stuff as you progress through your time working there.
It was a place I enjoyed to come and work at almost every day as my co-workers. management was very knowledgeable.
Pros
NA
Cons
NA
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent team work environment
System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 17, 2015
Excellent enterprise environment.
Fun work place with supportive management.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them
Pros
very good work place
Cons
Finantial issue
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optimal Work Life Balance
Tax Production Program Lead (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 17, 2015
IBM is very flexible and supports a busy single mother's work and home responsibilities.

Management is very easy going. Schedules are very manageable.

Tax Operations is very seasonal and requires 110% during the January to April time frame.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
SYSTEMS ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 16, 2015
Had a great time with IBM. Managers were great and team was amazing. Everyday was a different challenge and I enjoyed solving different technical problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Account Managment (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCNovember 11, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Not all about numbers but how you personally grow and develop.
there was a lot of variety in what I did each day.......
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Very Good Work Culture
Team Lead, Mainframe Sr. Developer, DB2 DBA,QA (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 8, 2015
IBM has lot of scope to learn new things towards technology and it gives many options to grow in technology or Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 6, 2015
great workplace to be a part of, it was very challenging at times working as a manager and dealing with everyday different scenarios.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good company to improve in Career
Sr. Systems Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 4, 2015
IBM is a productive and very good company providing clear Career path to the employee. It provides lot of learning opportunities both online and classroom and the development path is well defined and flexible.
Pros
Career path clarity and mentoring
Cons
Management inefficiencies
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like an ever going adventure
TECHNICAL SUPPORT ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 4, 2015
Always engaging and always on your toes since you do not know what the day holds working as a technical Support agent. Team environment and always help each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team, very good process-driven environment
Senior Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 2, 2015
Very diverse work environment, good technical challenges made the assignment engaging and enjoyable.

Very good team dynamics, supportive and engaging.

Management was solid, albeit a little cautious or slow in bringing new technologies onboard.

Some internal tools are extremely archaic and unsupported.

Enjoyed the flexibility and balance afforded to meet my family's needs as well as the team's engagements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great semi-traditional tech company with a nice office, good management, and great work/life balance
Product Manager/Dev/QA (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 1, 2015
IBM is a semi-traditional tech company. They offer most of the flexibility that comes with a tech company (Work from home, very flexible hours for appointments/events, etc.) and don't require you to work from home all that often. I feel the work/life balance is VERY good for most of the year.

Pay was very good for an internship.

Managers were all nice, respectable.

Some crunch time leading up to release but other than near releases, very little crunch.
Pros
Pool tables, gym, lounges
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and productive environmernt
WebSphere Software Services – Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 30, 2015
I enjoyed working with IBM and had been working there for a long time.
People have a strong sense of ownership and thrive for improvement to better themselves, their product and their teams.

I owe a lot of what I learned in my professional career to IBM.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great strategy / Weak execution
Client Management (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2015
The company has a great strategy, but is challenged in terms of being able to resource and deliver the expected solution and value to the clients in the market. Technical resources and investment are insufficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent work place
Electronic Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 26, 2015
Started with my Co-op placement while i was in school and turned out to be one of the best places i have worked. After graduation i was offered full time position and continued until IBM manufacturing was sold to Celestica.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment and good salary
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 22, 2015
The department I worked at had a very friendly atmosphere, and good pay. There was no micro-management. On the negative, it is very difficult to move between departments.
Pros
Laptops for everyone in my department
Cons
Difficult to move between departments
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11,259 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture