IBM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBMers are fantastic
Office Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC11 May 2017
The people of IBM are the real treasure of the company. They make coming in to work valued. They appreciate hard work and support initiative. They are professionals who take pleasure in their work and try to make not only their clients feel welcome but ALL of the staff, as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cognos was a great place to work
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 May 2017
Cognos was a great place to work. I felt proud to be working for an all Canadian company. It was very fast paced and busy at times supporting international internal clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
TECHNICAL SUPPORT ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON9 May 2017
Workplace is friendly and challenging with the day today task and fun with the team.Always healthy competition to get job done on time . Never felt stress or discouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ibm canada
Technical Specialist (TSM/Unix/PSeries) (Former Employee) –  Technical specialist9 May 2017
Bringing together developers, startups, entrepreneurs, funding agencies,
researchers, experts and mentors from IBM and ventureLAB in one
collaborative space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work environment
Programmer/Analyst in the SIS (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 May 2017
Was a average contract. The rates were good. The work was interesting. The team was good. But they are very budget oriented. So renewals are limited.
Pros
Good rates
Cons
Short contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON4 May 2017
Would recommend it to other people.Very good management culture and experience, very good name on your resume and will go very far with it. The company is on the way to recover!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Project oriented work place.
Technical Analyst (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON4 May 2017
IBM Canada is the best place learn the latest technologies and trends of vast market of IT business. A place to build your future and sharpen your skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i was working.
Availability Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2017
I started with IBM as bilingual help desk and moved on as technical specialist, Team Leader and Service delivery manager. Most of my IT skills are base on what i learned in IBM.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
System Administrator (Middleware) (Former Employee) –  Steeles, ON3 May 2017
Worked with good team , Learned new concepts.
Worked under Good management
Working at one place gave chance to share thoughts with others.
Off hours would be challenging
Team lunch was more fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Business Partner Channel Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC1 May 2017
Good training and education programs
Ability to work on your own or as part of a larger team
Good benefits, awards, recognition
Supportive management team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall environment and experience
Business Analyst - Business Partners (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 May 2017
Met plenty of great people and learned a lot about IBM's current product offerings. Everyone was extremely supportive and appreciative of all the work that was done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment of talented and interesting people
ID Admin Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 May 2017
It is an environment of talented and interesting people. Almost every new person has something different to learn from. Like a rainbow, lots of diversity and cultures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2017
IBM has top caliber management and people that put people first and subsequently work very well with one another. A very inclusive environment that values employee contributions.
Pros
Corporate culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not What was Expected
QA Test Analyst (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS24 April 2017
IBM claims to be innovative and forward thinking, and I was surprised to find it is not. It's nothing special. No one on my team actually enjoyed their job. Everyone just doing it to get by, as salaries are competitive and moving up in the company is near impossible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionalism Runs Deep
Project Support Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON24 April 2017
The level of professionalism is extremely high in all areas of IBM. Everyone who works for the company has a strong sense of pride to do their jobs well and to help contribute to IBM's overall success. It was easy to be a manager with direct reports who always did their best and respected one another.
Pros
Flexible hours and option to work from home
Cons
Salaries are not highly competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to learn
Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 April 2017
In IBM, we get lot of opportunities to learn the new technologies and we our managers are open to new ideas. I am really having fun & challenge in learning new stuffs and implementing them in our projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing and testing work.
business partner (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON19 April 2017
assembly work of cabinet making and cash dispensing machine and material handling ,wiring for the sensors & power supply,some time testing the software and hardware with the real currency and packaging of the finished product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is an excellent company
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 April 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my 18 months working for IBM. They are an excellent company for which to work. I really like the direction in which they are moving to make it a cloud based cognitive company.
Pros
They are the elite of technology companies
Cons
I was only able to stay with them for 18 months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM Canada Sales and Marketing
Market Segment Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC11 April 2017
IBM has some of the best people in the IT Industry that I ever met. Employees (especially long term ones) were almost all dedicated to client requirements and getting the job done right. Integrity was critical, and that influenced me throughout my career.
Pros
open culture, professionalism, quality of employees
Cons
rewards dropped after 2010 and never recovered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Support Customer Client Satisfaction Rep (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON11 April 2017
Enjoyed working at this company. I has a great culture. It can be very competitive at times. But, it takes the best of the best. Great benefits. Recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IBM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 18,037 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8