IBM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard and Learn A lot
TEAM LEAD OF FINANCE AND HR ANALYST TEAM (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 June 2017
I had a great time, learned a lot and was happy there. Worked 60 hour work weeks, was given good projects to work on, was happy overall. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweatshop for IT support
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON29 June 2017
This is basically a sweatshop for first level support techs. I would only recommend working here if you're just breaking into the field. The calls are timed, the time you're off the phone is timed, and even your washroom breaks are timed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with this job
EXPORT CO-ORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON28 June 2017
In this company met lots of different countries and cultural people. I learned how to interact with people. It was a multi-cultural company where people respect ever people with their entity.

I was getting good money but there was lots of fun and opportunity to learn new things for me.

Not so much work all the time. I had time to finish work.
Pros
contrct
Cons
short time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home was an option
Oracle Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON27 June 2017
Working with clients was an exceptional and rewarding experience. The only downside was you were always concerned how long the position would last before being outsourced or moved offshore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Storage Solution Architect (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 June 2017
storage administration / implementation / migration /consolidation
work for big financial sector company and public sector like government account.
Management team is very nice and give flexble work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM Summary
Application Architect (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
In IBM employee can maintain balance in work/life. Never expect much in terms of salary appraisal or annual bonus. Be always ready to travel across in entire North America.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sr. Test Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 June 2017
I have been working at RBC (More than 3 years)
Pros
RBC has a great atmosphere and it doesn't feel like a 9-5 routine work
Work Life Balance is good with great vacation period and flexibility
Salary is competitive with other banks
Cons
Can get hierarchical at points but I would say is still decent and somewhat multicultural at management level
Slow advancement
Advice to Management
Continuously provide feedback
Highlight path to advancement
Career coaching with clear action plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only Name Remains Now
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 June 2017
IBM = outsourcing every possible job outside Canada, to make more and more money for upper management and shareholders.
WHO CARES about CLIENTS. I feel pity for the clients who pay hefty amount for support and in response they get nothing.
Pros
Exposure to Enterprise Environments
Cons
They expect you to put in more hours and NOT PAY
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace with friendly co-workers
Human Resource Consultant (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB13 June 2017
Friendly co-workers, approachable managers. I assist our clients employees with their pay/travel and benefits. I've learned much on benefits/insurance
Pros
great hours, no weekends, free BBQ
Cons
no paid sick time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic American Corporate setting
Customer Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON12 June 2017
Can be great in the right position/department, but that wasn't my experience.
Hired as day contractor.
Typical 8.5 hour day, unpaid lunch, 2 paid breaks 15 minutes each.
Learned how to play politics.
Work was boring overall, lacked intellectual challenge.
Immediate management was OK, but poor at recognizing employee initiatives.
Pros
BBQ dog or burger w/ chips once a year.
Cons
Can be high stress, may be asked to skip breaks if busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Infrastructure VMware/Senior Technology Consultant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON7 June 2017
A great working environment but volatile for the contractors, have been working as a contractor only never been with them as a employee. A good rewarding company for an employee.
Pros
Remote work
Cons
Work from home required always more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
Really loved spending appx. 4 years with the organization. fun place to work. Management is good enough. Lots of opportunities as well within the company to grow.
Pros
Off sites
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a nice place if you are not expecting huge pay hikes
QA Manager/Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2017
The best place to be if you are looking for Job Security. Flexible in terms of working hours/places, should be very helpful when you are juggling b/w work and family.

Hikes are not near expectations.. there are some management issues here and there.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Paygrade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for to gain a wealth of experiences in a variety of areas
Advisory Technical Services Professional (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 June 2017
My experiences at IBM were enjoyable for the most part. I was blessed to be able to work from home the majority of the time, had excellent colleagues and the culture of rhe workplace was good. One area which was a concern was the proliferation of jobs being outsourced. IBM is a company in transition and as such there have been a significant number of layoffs in the past 5 years with me being one of them. However, I cannot say I disliked my experience. I was disappointed in not being able to move on in another area.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Constant Layoffs - lack of job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good gig for individuals with no experience
Datacenter Technician (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON31 May 2017
Gives a great learning experience. Pay is not the best, but it is entry level and you gain access to a lot of educational tools, so it balances out eventually based on your goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work environment, very productive if you know how to handle stress.
Information Security Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 May 2017
High paced work environment, management expects alot from their resources. IBM is a place for creative, hard working IT professionals.

The best part of the job is working from home culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed company
System Performance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON28 May 2017
people there are very relaxed, but it is often hard to get everything you need because there is a lot of new things being done. Working internationally means making calls at various hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
I TAP Systems Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Bathurst Area, NB25 May 2017
. A typical day at work:Pick up parts for customer and go to site .

. What I learn; something new every day IBM was very open to learning

. Management : was very good was there for support

. Work place culture: was very fast pace.

. The hardest part of the job: was a lot of travel and some time long hours,

. The most enjoyable part of the job: was helping yours customers.
Pros
lunch per diem
Cons
lot of driving and sometime long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place
DB2 L2 Support (Current Employee) –  Canada24 May 2017
A typical day is to work on Support tickets and resolve DB2 Database engine issues.

For Sev 1 tickets we need to be on calls with the customer to resolve the problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of pressure, long hours
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 May 2017
I find that it is difficult to have time for yourself. The expectations are high, a lot of work, a lot of pressure. It might be a good job to start your career, but you might burn out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport