Find companies:
IBM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,979 reviews

IBM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actively identify opportunities in white space, validating and passing them for progression to designated specialists.
Lead Development Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 13, 2014
- Selling IBM Solutions – Software, Hardware, and Services
- Primary OI Engine for WebSphere Portfolio
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Advancement
Computer Technician (Current Employee), MarkhamFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: shifting schedule
You will learn things by moving you to different projects
You will learn how to configure POS, Build network racks, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging work place
Service Contract Representative (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long days
Everyday was a different task depending on customers. Management was always respectful and motivational.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job experience, exciting and eventful
SR. ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: extra bucks
Learnt hands on job, credit card reconcilition, AR jobs and also exciting to work with colleagues who happened to be freshers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structures,No window or natural light but the best team work ever seen
Test Analyst (Current Employee), MontevideoFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: the good team work
Cons: long working hours some day at month, no windows
The project is very structured with too many processes in the control of the employee. There is a tool just to put what are you doing.
No windows or natural light but, this situation is nos applicable for all the company only for same projects
The work environment is the best and a team committed regardless of the coordinator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Sales Support (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: work from home option, great people to work with
Cons: no recognition, no salary increase and job insecurity
- Helpful coworkers and understanding managers
- Good work/life balance
- Management could improve by helping people grow and develop more, move into different areas, changing or reviewing their communication and management methods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Training and Opportunity
Learning Partner (Former Employee), toronto, onJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: work 24/7
Great opportunity for advancement. The company provides good training but very little work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work in
SME - Service Management (Former Employee), Hyderabad, APJanuary 26, 2014
Really enjoyed the time with IBM india in Hyderabad office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAJanuary 21, 2014
Great place to work and learn. The management is very supportive. Its a huge company and allows lot of opportunities to move within departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall working exp in customer srvice
Lead Operations (Current Employee), DelhiJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: ..
Cons: ..
loved my job more then i loved my company. its been a great working experience all together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Technical Support Analyst (Current Employee), TorontoJanuary 19, 2014
Learned BES, GoodMobile, RSA Security, New Application Support, Mac Support, Monitoring Network, Working in a team, It is nice to work for a Large company like EnCana Gas Company, Enjoying supporting people in person and over the phone and remotely login and support using Logmein.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would like to learn more and work with Mainframe server
system operations specialist (Current Employee), Chennai, TNJanuary 18, 2014
My job is to monitor job running under tools like control m, Work load manager ( WLM ), HP production box. we work in 24/7* shift and a shift will run with max of 4 people.

At times we would have heavy work load since there might be any server re-boot or maintenance.
so we use to share work load and help each other like person working with Control – more... M will also work with WLM on that day to share work load.

The hardest part about my job is some times we don't get proper notification from the application support team about the re-boot. so jobs running under that server might abnormally end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Experience
Financial Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Armonk, NYJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: excellent training, great pay, great management.
Prior to joining the company, I thought IBM was primarily a hardware and IT company. I've since learned IBM is also the world's largest consultancy and that their strategy is to sell solutions. It was really interesting to learn IBM has more U.S. patents than any other company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good contracts
Programmer AS400 (Former Employee), Toronto,ONJanuary 17, 2014
Good contracts, easy to work, good management/PM, provide laptop for contractors, remote work, etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for 1 year with IBM Egypt
Programmer (Former Employee), Cairo - EgyptJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: developer
Working as Informax developer and develop the billing system for Ministry of Electricity - Egypt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Software Developer (Co-op) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 10, 2014
My routine was 9 am to 5 pm. I learnt several important things at IBM. Talking with employers, emailing, customer relationships, greetings - as soft skills while as my hard skills - I learned cognos, database, installation of cognos, report designing. My co-workers were very helpful. I have never been to such corporate atmosphere before. The hardest – more... part of the job was my deadlines. I was a coop and I was doing overtime sometimes and even working on weekends to meet the deadlines. While the most enjoyable part of the job was getting guidance and help everyday from my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and to learn new skills.
Senior Technical Professional / Storage Management (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: work flexibility.
Cons: comply with client demands that were unrealistic to meet.
Checked systems health status.
Read and answer emails.
Attended daily status meeting with peers and management.
Checked for status outstanding problem tickets.
Reviewed and updated change tickets prior to CAB meetings,
Senior management was helpful when I needed them.
Job can stressful at times.
I enjoyed the flexibility working from home.
Excellent – more... health benefits.
Hardest part of the job was the conflict of policies and standards from some of the clients I worked for, didn't match IBM standards and policies and I required management permission to complied with the clients request. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be productive and fun, if on the right team.
Software Developer (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: company picnics, free lunches from time to time, team lunches, release celebrations
Cons: long hours, introverted environment
- Typical day as an intern vs full-time software developer is quite different.

- Interns are not exposed to office politics, cannot see IBM to client interaction and have more time to enjoy company benefits such as gym, table tennis, pool, soccer, basketball, beach volleyball. Since interns are students, lots of help, advice and coaching are provided – more... to ensure work is completed.

- Full-time regulars are given much more work. The salary is roughly 50-70% more than intern. However, due to work, there is not much time to enjoy the company's on-site amenities. There is a certain assumption that a regular is fully competent and capable. Hence, no help is ever offered to a regular. Training are lacking and also operates on the assumption that regulars are adept.

- Managers have no clear direction and objective as to what the team values. Uses strange management techniques to boost work efficiency (ie: gives initial bad evaluation in hopes the employee will later improve)

- Co-workers are generally introverted, agitated, and not very helpful when approached.When approaching IBM software authors for help, the general response is that they have not touched that code for some time. Hence, any help given was useless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer with a good Work life Balance and Flexibility
Systems Analyst (Current Employee), India, KolkataDecember 23, 2013
Pros: learning and certifications
Cons: lower salary structure
IBM has a wonderful Worklife balance And work flexibility which helps manage stress and boost Productivity .
The Training Model is also up to date and abundant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with an opportunity to improve your personal self. Realistic experience of team work and performance.
Practitioner - CRM Operations (Former Employee), Chandigarh, IndiaDecember 22, 2013
The job assisted in improving my communication, presentation and coordinating skills. A typical day at work included working with the other team members to achieve the set goal for a certain week. Gave an opportunity to work in teams and face the challenges that arise in the related environment.

About IBM

IBM is a global technology and innovation company that stands for progress. With operations in over 170 countries, IBMers around – Read more