Find companies:
IBM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,816 reviews

IBM Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical support
Technical support (Former Employee), MontrealJune 26, 2014
• Fix computer problems (computers and applications).
• Assist customers with software problems and network.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 25, 2014
I enjoyed it thoroughly. I learned soft and hard skills and it is a good place to share your views openly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Advanced Support Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 25, 2014
Always busy, always learning, management was fair, good coworkers, when multiple problems occur, but eventually get resolved, when problems get resolved
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low risk / low reward
Client Executive (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJune 25, 2014
IBM Canada is a great organization. The problem is upper management hasn't been refreshed in decades so the old boys club just churns over the same ideas.

I have great colleagues and clients but am frustrated by the bureaucracy that I need to wade through to accomplish simple tasks.

As a sales rep, the culture is low risk (of getting fired or challenged) – more... / low reward (incentive plan is weak, limited promotion opportunities outside GTA). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Asset Coordinator (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 22, 2014
Pros: you can work as late as you want
Cons: but you can not live there
The best thing about this job is that you can work independently and you are 100% accountable for your performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Work Environment
Software Developer- Security Intelligence (Current Employee), FrederictonJune 20, 2014
Nice Work Environment, friendly Colleague Flexible work hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company to work for
System Storage Client Technical Sales Support (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 18, 2014
Pros: exposure to leading edge technology
Cons: difficult to maintain any work/life balance and poor recognition programs
Over the years, IBM has improved it's yearly results by slashing benefits and compensation rather than invest in it's workforce. The latest example is when they reduced their already thin sales force due to poor sales results in a growing market. Our competitors, on the other hand, owe their success to better sales coverage and a higher ratio of customer – more... to customer facing employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enhancement
CSC Analyst (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 12, 2014
Pros: free parties
Cons: long hours
Configures the application, including the configuration of the data, entity model, and rules
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day work
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 11, 2014
My day to day responsibility is to help clients over the phone, e-mail and through messaging systems. I analyze the problems and try to find the solutions and send incident tickets to next level if it is out of my scope. I troubleshoot different applications, servers and mainframes to resolve the issues of the end users. I also check the status of the – more... account of end users and edit it or reset the password if needed. I enjoy to find the solutions for others to resolve the issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Mainframe Engineer, Global Technology Services (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 10, 2014
flexible working hours, possibility of working remotely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Temporary- Full time
Desk side Support Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 10, 2014
Good training, responsible from the get-go, good colleagues and good atmosphere. Bureaucracy

The company provides an opportunity for any chosen career and many changes to this along the way. The work they sign is compelling and interesting and often working to improve the world at large, not just make money. There are also opportunities to take days – more... out and give time back to the local community.It is easy to get lost in an organisation of this size and lose track of your progress. It is also very competitive and lots of 'game playing' occurs between senior employees etc.

the people are great and everyone is really supportive (for career development, personal issues, etc.)everyone works on client location so you don't get to see many people outside of your project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company's climate is going down. The business is totally driven by shareholder short term values.
User Experience Designer (Former Employee), Toronto Lab, MarkhamJune 10, 2014
Talents are not respected anymore, and a lot of good people are leaving the company. The management cares more about their interest and job security instead of advancing their staff and look out for their interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Project Coordinator/Technical Writer - Scotia Bank (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 10, 2014
IBM is an extremely fast paced, structured environment to work in. This can be good for business reasons, but sometimes is not good for morle. There needs to be more of a balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexable in terms of work location. I work remotley from home
Senior Applications Analyst (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 10, 2014
I really enjoy working from home, but when it comes to collaberating with co-workers it's difficult because everyone has a very large work load
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Technical Support Agent (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJune 9, 2014
Pros: flexibility and i was able to suggest fixes
Cons: contract work
I loved it. It was the same job I did before for them. I also had to supervise agents on Saturdays. I had to make sure phone lines were working and agents came to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Team Lead SAP-ABAP/SAP-BPC (Current Employee), Toronto, CanadaJune 8, 2014
Productive and Fun Workplace
Got an opportunity of working with one of the Premier IBM Clients in Canada.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work when you are sitting among frinedly people who work hard and try to help other team member.
System Administrator (Current Employee), North York, OnJune 4, 2014
Productive and fun place to work when you are sitting among friendly people who work hard and try to help other team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), North York, ONMay 30, 2014
It was okay to work there, but I honestly did not like the people that were there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM
Temporary assignments (Former Employee), MarkhamMay 27, 2014
Pros: working at home
Cons: no benefits, vacation, no security, salary never increases
It was a great work life balance where I could manage my own time, work, job with little or no supervision. Co-workers were home based and very helpful at times. Found the management team, from Kelly Services/IBM, not helpful most times. You were left to "sink or swim", and when taking steps to be proactive, were reprimanded. As a temporary employee, – more... not given the same treatment. I was asked to cross train a new person (male), in August 2011, which I did. I was then told a week later, my contract was up. I later found out that this person I trained, a friend of the Director at IBM. They had a personal connection, and I reported this insubordination and discrimination to IBM executives, so that it didn't happen again. No reply, or acknowledgement from IBM, or Kelly Services. My manager at Kelly, was fully aware of this situation, and did nothing to assist me. I am 58 years old now, hard to find any job, age is definitely a factor.

I am a fully qualified administrative support person, reliable, dependable, and adapt very well to new situations. I take charge, and get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM
Help Desk (Former Employee), Saint John, NBMay 20, 2014
Working for IBM was great. Even though we knew our jobs were eventually being sent to India, it was one of my favorite employers.

About IBM

International Business Machines Corporation (IBM), is an information technology (IT) company. s major operations include Global – Read more