IBM

7.1K reviews

IBM Employee Reviews

Found 506 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company you can work for if you support modern day slavery and exploitation
slave (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONJanuary 19, 2015
Clearly all these overly generous rear kissing reviews are being padded by HR folks at IBM.

•Do you like working long overtime hours for free?

•Do you enjoy being forced to take on 2-3X the work when employees are laid off and no replacements are in the budget due to unrealistic company goals?

•Do you love being told to do the needful by unqualified employees from India who you have to cover for and quality check every instance?

•Do you crave being antagonized in reviews for delivering in what the client wants but not overbilling enough?

•Do you fancy delusional out of touch managers telling you IBM is a fantastic place while all the best people leave every month for better companies in the GTA?

•Do you savor at award programs, benefits and eligible expenses being eroded away and cut ?

•Do you cherish being harassed to donate to ECF so IBM can take a cut of of it for themselves and take all the credit?

•Do you delight over sugar coated e-mails and department meetings that insult the intelligence of employees and demand more from them while giving no incentive?

•Do you prefer a mafia style mentality where higher ups threaten you to overbill the client and "find work" to charge them on weekends so they can profit and give themselves bonuses (aka innovation summits) ?

•Do you relish in getting a 2 rating for decades with 0% bonus and raises and no job security each spring during RA season?

•Do you agree with having to write 20-40 pages of paperwork and hundreds of hours of courses on your own time just to apply for a promotion which might score you a ~4-5% increase?
  more...

•Do you enjoy missing weekends and special moments with your family because IBM management lacks any empathy for anything but their business needs?

•Do you take pride in having to spend part of your job advertising yourself to some Personal Development Manager sitting at home who is responsible for raises and career growth despite them not knowing what you do or understanding what you face daily like a real manager in the trenches should?

•Do you appreciate paying for education out of your own pocket or forced to learn HR courses pushed down your throat to make Think40?

•Do you revel in bloated red tape and redundant layers in every aspect of your job and inadequate tools to accomplish your tasks?

•Do you believe sacrificing your health, personal life balance and higher earning potential elsewhere is worth sucking the happiness in life dry for this company?

•Do you prefer the negative strategy of being screamed at and bullied instead of positive reinforcement for motivation (ie. stick vs carrot)?

If you said yes to any of these, you deserve to be exploited by IBM.
  less
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes25No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Analyst/Control Desk
IT Analyst/Control Desk (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONDecember 19, 2012
• Perform system analysis in a fast paced environment by displaying coaching, counseling and motivational techniques to the IBM Employees and one of IBM’s clients.
• Assist end users in solving the complex technical issues with all the applications such as Mainframe (ISPF/TSO, HOD and PCOMM), VMware, HP /Quality Center, MS Outlook 2010, Exchange Server issues, SharePoint 2007, Remote Computing, and Remote Printing issues in Windows 7 and XP operating systems.
• Perform workstation support services for the users including installation (operating system ,IIS and customized applications), upgrading, taking backups of the data before reimage or reinstall, troubleshooting, monitoring, VPN access configuration, printing problems, MS errors, connectivity errors, Symantec Antivirus (SAV) Issues, firewall issues, network issues and respond to system errors.
• Responsible for the deployment of new VMWare machines and training the end users on their functionality.
• Install and upgrade applications /operating systems, resolve all types of network issues, printer issues, access issues and other application issues on Virtual Machines which are located on VMWare ESXi 4 server.
• Add users to the virtual machines’ remote users group so they can connect from different computers and platforms.
• Assign the virtual machines to the people on four different VMware servers using asset center.
• Look up user’s virtual machines (VID) on vCenter server and perform power cycle to get them to work.
• Look up user’s Exchange server, Configure Outlook Profile and troubleshoot all types of outlook issues.
  more...
• Resolve Symantec Antivirus (SAV)/Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) related issues on end users computers.
• Use Active Directory to find user / PC information, also enable/disable PCs which are on the network.
• Perform testing, repair and maintenance on the PCs and handle various deployment of the project PCs.
• Provide expert and creative solutions to the remote users using RDP and Run As techniques to ensure customer satisfaction and high productivity.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tech support
Technical Support and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto,onJanuary 10, 2013
• Customized desktops and laptops for end users; set up work stations, laptops and peripherals
• Resolved hardware /software issues on a daily basis
• Implemented and technically supported hardware and software applications for RBC, TD,BNS and large retail stores, HBC, Wal-Mart, GAP, Lob-laws, Shoppers Drug, LCBO
• Troubleshot, problem solved, installed, repaired and maintained hardware components for laptop, desktop, printers, peripherals and retail register machines
• Conducted ongoing research for challenges issues; supported and repaired such as IBM and Lenovo products and Lexmark/HP printers
• Implemented successfully different hardware IBM projects which included installation, configuration, troubleshooting, optimization of desktops, laptops and servers for more than 50 companies, 700 computers and 1500 end users a year at all levels
• Trained successfully new employees to become expert hardware technicians
• Analyzed technical errors and implemented new techniques for resolve problems
• Provided exceptional and high quality service to all clients and management
• Met and exceeded technical and customer service expectations in crisis situation
• Transitioned successfully Canada Post legacy servers (4 sites, each with multiple systems) outside of business hours and within 5 days
• Performed testing, installation, reimaged and updated applications
• Set up hosting facilities and installed and configured the network
• Trained successfully sales staff on new sales applications / IT products and software
• Communicated with end users to resolve ongoing concerns or problems
  more... over the phone
• Provided consistently technical training to end users and received excellent feedback
• Monitored and supported the backup process for LAN and recovery operations
• Resolved promptly customer requests and technical concerns
• Performed daily backup, hardware and software troubleshooting
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job summary
Help Desk Agent-for all Loblaw companies (Former Employee) –  3600, steels ave, Markham,Toronto, ONMarch 10, 2014
Every day is a typical day. Supported all Loblaw related companies globally 24/7 for various sectors like corporate offices, warehouses, all the stores globally, all gas stations, pharmacies and different departments like Joe fresh, Photo studios/labs, optical section.
I have learned to manage to handle fast paced, hectic and critical situations and find solutions. Indeed it was really thrilling to work in that kind of environment. It is not an easy task, because we need to handle various hardware (like PCs, workstations, servers, POS related hardware, various printers,RF telxon guns, scanners, weighing scales, UPS, switches and routers) and software applications related issues, network related issues, Servers(Exchange,database,application,virtual servers), web sites and web services(various websites related to HR,finance,store related,global payment,gas bar,pharmacy,optical,etc..), RF applications, VPN, Active Directory, authentication related issues. All of these are with different platforms like windows(xp,7,server 2008)
Unix, Linux, Mainframe etc and also SAP applications and many more. for all these we need to remember different user ids and passwords. from time to time induction of software upgrades,patches, fixes and new applications and we handled without any prior training. All the co-workers are really co operative , helpful in times of any clarifications, mutually exchange news ideas and method of resolving issues.
The hardest part--whenever there is a major power outage, network outage, internet outage, the calls will be pouring in unable to handle calls. the most
  more... enjoyable part --whenever an issue is resolved immediately without any time consumption. the client is happy and we are happy.  less
Pros
recognition of hard work by awards, rewards, free lunch etc
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job but bad for growth
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 13, 2015
IBM has a high starting salary for developers ($70K) but it offers very little raise and bonuses (if any) even if you are promoted.

The benefits are okay. They are being reduced year by year though.

The company does not care about employees and its overall prospect the is negative,

Career managers and career executives have run the company to the ground by gaming the books instead of innovating. The company tries to make up for its shortfall by regularly laying off people and cutting benefits/salaries/bonuses - instead of addressing why it is losing market share.

This causes many of the good people (including myself) to leave for greener pastures.

The management in IBM is over-bloated and inefficient. Politics between departments often pose severe obstacles to achieving business results. For instance, if we are to use an IBM product to serve a customer, then that product's department will try to rip us off by charging a premium (because that counts towards their quarterly results)

At other times, we can have departments rejected request of assistance to a customer by citing the request was improperly filed (in this case, it's my department doing it to others).

Job security is low if you are in a department that is not making a lot of money. On the other hand, if you are in a department that has good revenue, then you are also unlikely to be fired even if you are grossly incompetent.

In overall, IBM is a good place for people to start their career because it pays a fair amount for new graduates. It also gives people a taste of a typical corporate culture.
  more... However, the stay in the company should not exceed two years.  less
Pros
High starting salary
Cons
Incompetent management, limited salary growth, limited innovation
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inefficiently run and lack of management follow up.
GTI SDK Hybrid and Automation Engineer (Former Employee) –  Remote position with IBM US.January 20, 2016
Took 2 weeks to get my laptop setup with appropriate security and corporate software.

Was assigned to work on a project that requires mobile devices to develop and test with.

I spoke with management about requesting several devices from various platforms and the request didn't get approved for over 2 months. The whole team lacked test devices which made development and testing difficult and inefficient.

Management was weak at times and felt that they didn't have a handle on various aspects of the team. i.e: Some senior staff were too comfortable and arrogant, which prevented manager from fulfilling their role. Some staff were cut throat and did anything to protect their job even when they sucked!

Most difficult part of the job was that the team was scattered all over the country and communication was via conference calls. There wasn't the face-to-face communication between your co-workers and manager to developer that personal relationship. Manager with held important information that would impact the length of an existing contract. i.e. Management didn't give a heads up about the lack of funding for resources and equipment and kept employee in the dark.

Working for this department made you feel like your a machine with a number, not as a human.

Most enjoyable part of the job was the exposure to various technologies.
Pros
Exposure to new technologies.
Cons
Geographically scattered team, Lack of good team culture, Approvals takes too long, Inefficient processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as a team
Informatica ETL consultant & Senior Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONJanuary 27, 2015
• EDD and developed ETL technical specifications
• Designed the ETL mappings to load data into Marketing and Sales data Mart
• Developed mappings, mapplets in the PowerCenter Designer.
• Coordinated with the Business Analyst to sign off the ETL requirements
• Used Informatica PowerCenter Transformations like Expression, Lookup, Aggregator, router, update strategy.
• Developed test scenarios and test cases to test the Data Mart load by going through the External Design Document (EDD) and Internal Design Documents (IDD
• Reviewed and executed Test Plans against the Developed mappings
• Developed test cases based on use cases
• Supported pre production of Data Warehouse load
• Created Telesales Representatives (TSR) and other administrative users id through Organization
Administration Console (OAC) and assign roles for the user ids and test the ids are picking all the roles
Correctly
• Managing user access for users to the web portals by using Slingshot portaler – User Access Control Center.
• Adding a new Store to a particular portal by using Portal Control Center (PCC – Slingshot)
• Functional verification testing of the Common Commerce Engine Versions. 5.2, 5.3, and 6.0 Web
Application and Tools for www.ibm.com
• Functional verification testing of Multichannel Sales Center (MSC), a Graphical User Interface (GUI) for
Telesales Representatives (TSR) and other administrative users who have a need to perform order entry
and order management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certified Server/Storage, Virtualization Sales
Certified Server/Storage, Virtualization Sales (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONJuly 18, 2014
•Efficiently managed Prairies strategic IBM Large Enterprise, Mid-Market, Ontario Public / Education, Healthcare sectors in Canada and US.
Successfully managed Canadian Corporate Large enterprise accounts – Potash, Cameco, City of Saskatoon, Federated Cooperative, Manitoba Public Insurance, Standard Aero, James Richardson International, Portage Mutual Insurance, etc.

In the past responsible for managing key accounts such as Great West Life, Cooperators, Fidelity Investments, Putnam Investments, State Street, Sun Life, Co-operators, Mass Mutual Insurance, etc. Other large strategic accounts include managing over $30M in blade / server revenue at University of Ottawa, Durham College/UOIT, St Michael’s Hsp, Sudbury General Hospital, Raytheon Inc, Lockheed Martin Corp, Staples, L.L. Bean, Verizon, Kraft, Harvard University, MIT and AT&T, Manitoba Public Insurance, Sask Power , Sask Energy, Viterra, AutoTrader, etc .

Proactively working with FTSS, ISV’s like Eclipsys, Cerena, Meditech, reseller channel, software teams to identify and progress opportunities in net new accounts and convert them into IBM accounts.

Negotiated multiple accounts to purchase VMWare from IBM (rather than directly from VMWare) resulting in 200k USD incremental revenue. Collaborated with cross-brand teams, in turn this resulted in $800k USD of incremental revenue.
Pros
ibm is a great place to work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chew you up then spit you out
INFORMATION ARCHITECT/SENIOR WRITER (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONNovember 12, 2013
I was, variously, a project manager, people manager, technical writer, and information architect during my time at IBM. I worked on large-scale, enterprise software, such as DB2 for Linux, UNIX and Windows. I liked the work, and I did well, for the most part; I was at the band 9 (out of 10) job level when I left.

IBM is increasingly moving jobs that used to be in North America to developing economies, like India and China. Each year, they seem to have a cull ("resource action") where jobs are cut. Much of the work seems to get picked up by IBMers in Asia who make a fraction of what Canadians or Americans make; in other cases, the work has to get picked up the few people that remain in North America. In a lot of cases, departments would lose a bunch of experienced people, only to have them replaced by new university grads ... a cynic might look at this as a way of saving money on salaries/pensions.

There are lots of senior managers who have built little empires that they protect fiercely. Particularly in the area I worked in, there were directors who created organizations filled with sycophants who would develop over-the-top processes, standards and procedures that would add little value to the products being developed.

The pay is good, and the benefits, while they get whittled away little by little every year, weren't bad.
Pros
good pay
Cons
you're only as valuable as your last success
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM simply doesn't care about its customers
Sales Transaction Support, Enterprise Execution (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCApril 16, 2015
I worked for IBM's customer service department at its Montreal office for just over eight years until April 2015 and have concluded that the company simply doesn't care about its customers. The sheer ineptitude of the accounts receivable representatives that they hire simply boggles the mind. In an inexplicable bid to save a few bucks, they balked at hiring just two more employees to assist its overworked, understaffed customer service department. I can see why IBM is losing customers, sales and market share.

The worst part of the job is dealing with the problem child customers and the prima donna IBMers. In a typical day I will handle 100 requests and 99 per cent of the time I get along fine with the person whom I am assisting. But its those one per cent of the idiots that can really make you punch the metal cabinet in frustration---my old desk at IBM has several dents from when I pounded it in anger.

Overall I liked my co-workers and my immediate supervisors and managers. The pay was better than most call centers. But there was zero room for growth or advancement --- I did the exact same job for over eight years --- plus there are the aforementioned prima donnas who take it upon themselves to ruin your day.
Pros
No heavy lifting, we got to work in a building with air conditioning
Cons
Prima donna IBMers and nightmare customers
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be productive and fun, if on the right team.
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONJanuary 3, 2014
- Typical day as an intern vs full-time software developer is quite different.

- Interns are not exposed to office politics, cannot see IBM to client interaction and have more time to enjoy company benefits such as gym, table tennis, pool, soccer, basketball, beach volleyball. Since interns are students, lots of help, advice and coaching are provided to ensure work is completed.

- Full-time regulars are given much more work. The salary is roughly 50-70% more than intern. However, due to work, there is not much time to enjoy the company's on-site amenities. There is a certain assumption that a regular is fully competent and capable. Hence, no help is ever offered to a regular. Training are lacking and also operates on the assumption that regulars are adept.

- Managers have no clear direction and objective as to what the team values. Uses strange management techniques to boost work efficiency (ie: gives initial bad evaluation in hopes the employee will later improve)

- Co-workers are generally introverted, agitated, and not very helpful when approached.When approaching IBM software authors for help, the general response is that they have not touched that code for some time. Hence, any help given was useless.
Pros
company picnics, free lunches from time to time, team lunches, release celebrations
Cons
long hours, introverted environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization to be a part of
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABDecember 19, 2013
A typical day with the IBM account involved logging into email, checking the queue system and routing tickets to techs in addition to attending to my own assigned tickets. Support involved both hardware and software requests as well as IMACs that required imaging workstations, installation of software and hardware deployment to users.

I gained advanced experience working with the Active Directory and SCCM as well as software development and packaging.

The management was very knowledgeable and available to advise and assist with ensuring that any concerns were addressed and attended to.

My coworkers were self motivated to complete tasks on time, helpful and experienced within the environment and easy to get along with.

I wouldn't say that there was a hardest part of the job but more one of the challenges that I experienced on the job which was user education. A lot of the associates weren't "tech savvy" so there was great emphasis on making sure that all bases had been covered during user interaction to limit repeat visits due to insufficient information exchange.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the exposure to a vast number of IT areas including mobile support, software development, server maintenance, break/fix and installs.
Pros
great learning opportunity
Cons
minimal compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM has lost its touch, slow moving crippled bahemoth
IT Specialist (Web Application Developer) (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSJune 18, 2015
Pros

I am currently working for IBM Canada at Halifax location as an IT Specialist. IBM is not what it used to be before. The only pros of IBM now is, its stamp on your resume. That would help you get another better opportunity easier. Some of the other pros I could think of are flexible hours and the 'work from home' policy. But even those policies have some faults. To work form home you will need to get your manager's approval without it you will have to work from office.

Cons

A lot of minus points for IBM Canada here at Halifax. The compensation is very low even though Halifax is one of the most expensive city in whole Canada with 15% tax on everything. The office is over crowded. They don't even have enough cubicals for employees to sit and they are still hiring more resources. The work is repetitive, nothing new to learn. This would get boring for a young guy like me. The management is the worse. They don't even know about the company very well. Not very supportive and not at all interested in employees work or growth. Office location is in a remote area, no food stalls near by. Office doesn't have a canteen either.

Advice to Management

Be open about our situation. Know more about the company it self. Have a two way conversation with your employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place to Learn and Grow
Business Development Manager, Canada (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Speaking to internal and external clients and professionals who evaluate our processes daily. IBM is always looking to be better and faster so I was charged with the task of recommending improvements to the end-to-end sales process. Soliciting customer is a critical component of that task.

It's been an incredible learning experience. I began my IBM career in 2000 and represented Canada Sales and Purchasing Team. In my roles, I worked to improve the efficiency of our processes.

The Sales and Purchasing Leadership Program allowed me to gain experience in different parts of our business and to develop my network.

My first project at IBM challenged me to lead a team our sales people to more effectively capture solutions in the marketplace. In addition to acquiring personal and professional growth, I was able to influence major decisions and collaborate with the various arms of the IBM organization.

I had joined IBM for the mentorship and career growth opportunities. IBM understands the value of its people and encourages continuous learning and development. I had several mentors, both formal and informal, who had provided me with excellent coaching and insight to the organization.

It was a great place to learn and grow...
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Fulfilling and Self rewarding
Deskside Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 14, 2013
The first thing i would do is log in and check my queue to see what was due today contact the client and set a time to resolve there issues as quickly as possible. Next check the following days tickets and do as many as i could so i would not fall behind for the following day. Everyday there is a new challenge and multiple ways to resolve computer issues what might work one time might not the next time must be quick on my feet or i will trip on them. The management team was there to help if there was an issue that needed managements involvement very reliable and easy to get in contact with although i did not get along with the manager of the whole team. My co-workers were fantastic we all got along and were always willing to help each other at a moments notice. The hardest part of the job was voice mail i would leave voice mail for the client to call me back so that i could address there issue and they would not call me back i have had to track the client down at times. The most enjoyable part of my job is when i have made the client happy and there computer is working problem free and if they need my assistance i am more then happy to help.
Pros
working with good colleuges and helping each other out
Cons
customers put in a ticket and go on holiday
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, interesting engagements. Poor management
Delivery Project Executive (Former Employee) –  CanadaApril 29, 2015
The company has changed from a client focused technology leader to one that is only interested in revenue and share price. With so much focus on profits first and not enough on products, solutions and customer satisfaction, the customers are noticing and are leaving for cheaper, more nimble competitors. As a result, the profits continue to sag in across the business units, thousands are laid off with "workforce re-balancing" schemes, services continue to be reduced, and the remaining staff are left dealing with never ending executive vanity projects and "improvement programs" all aimed at trying to save the sinking ship through cost savings while senior management simply shuffle the chairs at the top, pat themselves on the back, and enjoy their massive bonuses.
Pros
Great, talented people, Huge company with opportunities to travel and move, Deep roots in technology
Cons
Compensation is lower than competitors, Training is limited to internal process and tools, Benefits have been cut year after year, Recognition programs have been cut, Upper management sets quotas for the quarterly/annual cuts to the workforce, Work/Life balance is a challenge, Low Morale
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional environment where meeting SLA and maintaining high ticket resolution score are very important objectives
Deskside Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Burlington, Mississauga, BramptonSeptember 16, 2015
It's a global corporation with many establishments around the world
workload varies depend on the client and the SLA with the client, typically heavy workload, may have to stay after work hours just to catch up or to prepare for the next day
Co-workers are typically professional but there is bound to be a few co-workers who are not as professional as they should be.
Management for the most part are there to make sure the SLA are met. Tickets are very important, and high ticket resolution score means a pat on the back/bonus. On the other hand low ticket resolution score means we need to talk.
What I enjoy here is that it's a global company and there are many opportunities and resources with IBM.
Pros
well known global company, lots of resources, many opportunities, dominant in some business sectors particularly servers, storage, cloud computing, analytics/big data, and hardware services
Cons
client account for the work load may be overwhelming, standards are lower overseas, customer complaints tarnishes IBM's reputation, restricted business travels, communications expenses.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM
Temporary assignments (Former Employee) –  MarkhamMay 27, 2014
It was a great work life balance where I could manage my own time, work, job with little or no supervision. Co-workers were home based and very helpful at times. Found the management team, from Kelly Services/IBM, not helpful most times. You were left to "sink or swim", and when taking steps to be proactive, were reprimanded. As a temporary employee, not given the same treatment. I was asked to cross train a new person (male), in August 2011, which I did. I was then told a week later, my contract was up. I later found out that this person I trained, a friend of the Director at IBM. They had a personal connection, and I reported this insubordination and discrimination to IBM executives, so that it didn't happen again. No reply, or acknowledgement from IBM, or Kelly Services. My manager at Kelly, was fully aware of this situation, and did nothing to assist me. I am 58 years old now, hard to find any job, age is definitely a factor.

I am a fully qualified administrative support person, reliable, dependable, and adapt very well to new situations. I take charge, and get the job done.
Pros
working at home
Cons
no benefits, vacation, no security, salary never increases
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, good work environment, learned a lot
Advance Support Representative (Former Employee) –  MontrealOctober 9, 2012
Most days at IBM Batch Operation department were routine monitoring of batch computer job streams and performing job restarts on failed jobs. The none routine events were periods of madness due to system problems or scheduling issues which caused multiple job failures and entailed contacting on call support reps all over the country or world. I learned to handle stressful situations with ease and composure. I also learned to operate several scheduling packages and make jcl changes or repairs to production programs. I worked with a very knowledgeable group of people who were skilled at what they did. The hardest part of the job was dealing with users and support staff when I woke them up at 3 or 4 in the morning to effect repairs to their applications. The most enjoyable part was meeting the scheduled deadlines for job streams that had given me trouble with job failures, and the gratitude that the client sometime expressed for my efforts.
Pros
self satisfaction
Cons
rarely forthcoming appreciation from management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment,good team work
Help Desk Analyst GPP - Global Partner Portal (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONDecember 18, 2012
Normally I'm start at 10:30 am to 7:00 pm, but I use to get there at 9:00, because I don't like to be late.
Since I was start on IBM back 2007, I have been learned a lot, with my co-workers and Management staff, because they are always there when I need their expertise in some processes.
The hardest part of my job is sometimes don't have the immediate and accurate solution for some problems related a tech support, sometimes we have to send to the upper level, but not because we don't know how to solve, but because we do not have the full access to resolve the issue.
The most enjoyable part of my job, is when we receive the call and get the users frustrate and than on the end of the conversation, the customer is fully satisfied, with our support. This make push me forward to get more Knowledge and expertise on my job.
Every call is a new challenge, and the end of this challenges, we feel reward with the resolution provided.
Pros
good work environment, and good team players
Cons
don't have prospective to be hire by the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 7,138 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture