IBM Employee Reviews

Found 897 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help desk support
Zurich Edmonton Help Desk Account (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 July 2017
Highly demanding customer's service , solving customer's problems
from password change to setup printer drivers, to software help, solving by phone and remotely connection to the customer's computers
Pros
Free fridays lunch- pizza
Cons
8 Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Infrastructure Storage Engineer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2017
There aren't many work places that allow you to have a very good work/life balance like IBM. IBM is an amazing place to build up your skills with a great network of people willing to help you even at the most challenging tasks. The workplace culture is second to none and anyone who has worked here will only have a in-depth knowledge to share wherever their new career may take them. You will never be disappointment by hiring a exIBMer as they have a wealth of knowledge to share.
Pros
great work/life balance
Cons
will require you to complete your project at all costs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start to learn
Helpdesk Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
Great place to start to learn new things.
Lots of resources at hand to promote learning.
Workplace curlture is good, people are avg as most other employers, there are good ones and friendly and the regular egotistic ones.
Enjoyed my time there except the pay.
Pros
Lots of resources, good people
Cons
Pay, abilty to move around, alot of it is contract or outsourced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Technician at RBC Head Office Toronto (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2017
great place to work at ; would go back and work again
flexible work place, great leadership team
work life balance
all the right tools are provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Brother is watching you
PeopleSoft Solution Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2017
Working for companies like IBM can be challenging. They, like other companies of their size, don't really know the staff that work for them. The work/life balance is stressed as something we should strive for in our live, however when approached with situations that is the last thing they want to do.

They were really good when it came to workplace morale that was good for them. Holidays like Halloween, Christmas, Easter and Thanksgiving it was always encouraged for you to decorate your area (cubicle) if you wanted to. IBM was also good about lunch hour celebrations for those holidays as well.

The company was providing support to other locations in the world and shift work was the biggest issue. They did not understand the compensation that was to go with the shifts and thus staff were not compensated appropriately for hours worked.
Pros
Team environment is encouraged
Cons
Shift work conpensation misunderstanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A temporary position that gave me experience working with an organization such as IBM
Sales Coordinator (contract position) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 July 2017
There was not much event planning in this position and the job duties that I was responsible for did not give me the satisfaction that I required to utilize my skills. It was a temporary position however I took with me training that assisted in future positions.
Pros
Working for a company such as IBM
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard and Learn A lot
TEAM LEAD OF FINANCE AND HR ANALYST TEAM (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 June 2017
I had a great time, learned a lot and was happy there. Worked 60 hour work weeks, was given good projects to work on, was happy overall. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweatshop for IT support
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON29 June 2017
This is basically a sweatshop for first level support techs. I would only recommend working here if you're just breaking into the field. The calls are timed, the time you're off the phone is timed, and even your washroom breaks are timed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with this job
EXPORT CO-ORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON28 June 2017
In this company met lots of different countries and cultural people. I learned how to interact with people. It was a multi-cultural company where people respect ever people with their entity.

I was getting good money but there was lots of fun and opportunity to learn new things for me.

Not so much work all the time. I had time to finish work.
Pros
contrct
Cons
short time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home was an option
Oracle Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON27 June 2017
Working with clients was an exceptional and rewarding experience. The only downside was you were always concerned how long the position would last before being outsourced or moved offshore.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about IBM?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Storage Solution Architect (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 June 2017
storage administration / implementation / migration /consolidation
work for big financial sector company and public sector like government account.
Management team is very nice and give flexble work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM Summary
Application Architect (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2017
In IBM employee can maintain balance in work/life. Never expect much in terms of salary appraisal or annual bonus. Be always ready to travel across in entire North America.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sr. Test Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 June 2017
I have been working at RBC (More than 3 years)
Pros
RBC has a great atmosphere and it doesn't feel like a 9-5 routine work
Work Life Balance is good with great vacation period and flexibility
Salary is competitive with other banks
Cons
Can get hierarchical at points but I would say is still decent and somewhat multicultural at management level
Slow advancement
Advice to Management
Continuously provide feedback
Highlight path to advancement
Career coaching with clear action plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only Name Remains Now
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 June 2017
IBM = outsourcing every possible job outside Canada, to make more and more money for upper management and shareholders.
WHO CARES about CLIENTS. I feel pity for the clients who pay hefty amount for support and in response they get nothing.
Pros
Exposure to Enterprise Environments
Cons
They expect you to put in more hours and NOT PAY
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace with friendly co-workers
Human Resource Consultant (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB13 June 2017
Friendly co-workers, approachable managers. I assist our clients employees with their pay/travel and benefits. I've learned much on benefits/insurance
Pros
great hours, no weekends, free BBQ
Cons
no paid sick time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic American Corporate setting
Customer Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON12 June 2017
Can be great in the right position/department, but that wasn't my experience.
Hired as day contractor.
Typical 8.5 hour day, unpaid lunch, 2 paid breaks 15 minutes each.
Learned how to play politics.
Work was boring overall, lacked intellectual challenge.
Immediate management was OK, but poor at recognizing employee initiatives.
Pros
BBQ dog or burger w/ chips once a year.
Cons
Can be high stress, may be asked to skip breaks if busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Infrastructure VMware/Senior Technology Consultant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON7 June 2017
A great working environment but volatile for the contractors, have been working as a contractor only never been with them as a employee. A good rewarding company for an employee.
Pros
Remote work
Cons
Work from home required always more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 June 2017
Really loved spending appx. 4 years with the organization. fun place to work. Management is good enough. Lots of opportunities as well within the company to grow.
Pros
Off sites
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a nice place if you are not expecting huge pay hikes
QA Manager/Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2017
The best place to be if you are looking for Job Security. Flexible in terms of working hours/places, should be very helpful when you are juggling b/w work and family.

Hikes are not near expectations.. there are some management issues here and there.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Paygrade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for to gain a wealth of experiences in a variety of areas
Advisory Technical Services Professional (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 June 2017
My experiences at IBM were enjoyable for the most part. I was blessed to be able to work from home the majority of the time, had excellent colleagues and the culture of rhe workplace was good. One area which was a concern was the proliferation of jobs being outsourced. IBM is a company in transition and as such there have been a significant number of layoffs in the past 5 years with me being one of them. However, I cannot say I disliked my experience. I was disappointed in not being able to move on in another area.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
Constant Layoffs - lack of job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IBM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 16,714 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8