Find companies:
IBM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,507 reviews

IBM Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace to build a career.
Senior Support Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 23, 2015
Pros: amazing food in the cafeteria.
Had a great time working at IBM. Management and co-workers were easy to get along with. IBM offered me many great opportunities to expand my experience by giving me different responsibilities. The benefits and employee perks are among the best. They were very flexible with my work schedule and even the location where I would work in a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Senior Delivery Project Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 20, 2015
I was a contractor in this role and was not an employee. I managed 6 PMs with overall responsibility for delivery. I have 25 year of experience as a Senior Project Manager / Program Manager in both there IT and business sides of Project Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fast paced
HELP DESK-Alberta Health Services Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 16, 2015
Pros: free lunches, parties
Cons: benefits were not given
I enjoyed working there, but I had a difficult time not having benefits, which makes it difficult for me to afford my medical needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Senior Database / Application Deploy Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 16, 2015
A typical day starts with team huddle. Work environment is fliexible and good co workers. Higher management is knowledgeable and helpful if needed. Learn new things everyday being part of a big company. And thats the hardest part as well. Most enjoyable part is the recognition, Flexibility and good growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely did not enjoy working here
ADVISORY IT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Halifax, NSMarch 14, 2015
Cons: Long hours, Favouritism
I felt like more of exploitation of the workers . For example
they give you 3 weeks vacation and then to meet your targets like resource utilization of 95 percent billing , you may have to work those 3 weeks when you come back from vacation which makes no sense.

In Halifax bedford location there is lot of favouritism.
(practice of giving unfair preferential treatment to one person or group at the expense of another).Especially in SAP ABAP team .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bid Manager
Bid Manager (contract Position) (Former Employee), MarkhamMarch 9, 2015
Contract position

Excellent environment to work in , a fast paced and a challenging environment

responsible for processing bids

Approving bids
Coordinating with sales administrative staff, account managers, and distributors while completing the bid process

A good collaborative , team environment to work in
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and life balance
Senior Consultant / Architect, SAP Portal (Former Employee), TorontoMarch 6, 2015
- work and life balance
- training
- horizontal and vertical learning
- consulting and offshore experience
- 100 year old history and work culture
- rich pool of SAP consulting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working from home
Project Control Officer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 4, 2015
Pros: free lunches occassionally.
Cons: long hours
My typical day at work on my laptop doing spreadsheets all day and talking to co-workers across the world.
I learned so many systems
The Management was great
The co-workers was great
The hardest part of the job is not socializing
The most enjoyable part of the job was working from home in my pj's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working from home
Project Control Officer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 4, 2015
Pros: free lunches occassionally.
Cons: long hours
My typical day at work on my laptop doing spreadsheets all day and talking to co-workers across the world.
I learned so many systems
The Management was great
The co-workers was great
The hardest part of the job is not socializing
The most enjoyable part of the job was working from home in my pj's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fun with good learning curve. Downsizing created much stress
Mainframe IT Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 2, 2015
Pros: shift work
Cons: constant downsizing
The people were great to work with. The work environment was a great team environment.

Constant downsizing was very stressful. Off-shoring of clients, clients leaving

I will remain neutral on my opinions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team experience
Advisory Customer Fulfillment Administrator (Current Employee), Montreal- Home basedFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: home based
Cons: difficult advancement
I treasure most the relationship established in IBM, the people are great, I am proud to have been part of the team.

I have been fortunate to work in a high standard professional environment and had great management guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proiductive ,responsibility
Technician (Former Employee), torontoFebruary 23, 2015
lots of thing to learn
creative ,challenging opportunity.
Nice company
started as material handler and they give me chance to prove my ability
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, but undergoing drastic changes
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 18, 2015
Great team, very flexible working environment (location and hours). Learned many of my current skills and polished others. Learned that large companies can undergo drastic changes. My direct manager was very hands off and upper management was at times unsure of how to proceed. Project management was spot on, I always knew what was expected of myself and my team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SR ORACLE DBA
Security Specialist (Current Employee), TorontoFebruary 17, 2015
Enjoy working. Was very challenging and interesting environment. Always oportunities to learn and experience new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat stressful environment due to constant down sizing
Mainframe IT Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 17, 2015
Pros: shift work and different events daily
Cons: stressful due to ofshoring of jobs on a regular basis
Monitoring multiple Mainframe LPAR's for many clients in a busy high paced data center.

Operating systems included MVS (Z/OS) VM, AS400 and servers.

Co-workers were a close team relying on each others individual skills to get the job done.

Batch streams monitored through zeke/zebb and Jobtrac

Job was 7/24 environment using the 12 hour continental shift schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no true to their words
Learning Deployment Specialist (Internship) (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 12, 2015
They don't care about her employees at all . Horrible culture there you always on pins and needles . the let people go almost on a daily basis for no apparent reason except budgetary , Employee dont feel safe
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
July/August were fun months
Business Admin. (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 10, 2015
It was a good place to work and enjoyed the duration of my services.
Busy days through out the week. I had some courses taken and achieved them well. It was also fun to work with co-operative staff and always helpful to each other. The hardest part was that stay a bit late everyday but was enjoyable. Any job is enjoyable as long as you finish on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Network Support Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 9, 2015
Pros: large workplace
Cons: long hours
Productive and busy workplace providing support to numerous organizations and networks while providing training to their employees. Good management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Lead, Business Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 9, 2015
I have worked at IBM for nine and half years and enjoyed every bit of the journey. The work life balance and the learning opportunities are immense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Training and Opportunites
Senior Operator / Team Lead (Former Employee), Markham, OntarioFebruary 1, 2015
Pros: education and training.
Cons: adjusting to changing long shifts.
- Monitor and run client systems. Report/escalate all hardware, software and batch failures via ticketing systems.
- Learned iSeries400 OS, Hardware, system apps, time management and client support.
- Great management team that assisted staff in reaching goals and targets.
- Co-workers were well diverse and offered multiple talents and abilities that helped the team succeed.
- Most difficult part of job was handling multiple Severity 1&2 issues at the same time and maintaining SLAs.
- Assisting clients and developing procedures and automation solutions.

1 2 3 4 5

About IBM

International Business Machines Corporation (IBM), is an information technology (IT) company. s major operations include Global – Read more