IBM Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scrooge Business Machines
Consulting contractor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 February 2018
Negotiated contract Lead Developer position at IBM for RBC eApp project via The Employment Solution recruiting agency. Interview with end client (RBC) went well and they were ready to sign an offer but only if I drop already negotiated rate by 2 dollars per hour. I have refused since rate has been negotiated and confirmed several times. Client disappeared for two weeks. Possibly looked for cheaper candidate. Then client (RBC) requested second interview. Second interview went well and offer has been received. All paper work required several days. Once everything has been ready, end client (RBC) requested to drop already negotiated rate by 10 dollars per hour. I ended up process.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Very scrooge company, no business culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Client Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2018
An amazing center where you can learn about great new products to help move a business forward. I have attended a few Proof of Technology sessions here over the years and they've always been very beneficial. They have a large parking garage to the back of the building with overflow parking beyond that. Funding a space as a guest has never been a problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. SAP ABAP Developer and Service delivery (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2018
Good place to work. Lot of scope to learn and grow in the cutting edge technologies.

Work atmosphere is really good. Always people around you are supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going workplace
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON8 February 2018
workplace is good you work on your own paste no one is putting pressure on you to finish your task. I pack machines in the box and wrap products and then scan them in the computer system and save it to a file and get the receiver to sign a copy for file. I like working here because it is a good environment its a clean warehouse and it has its slow and busy times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grande entreprise mondial
Coordonnateur technique secteur IT (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2018
Une bonne expérience de travail auprès de cette entreprise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Excellent place to work, and grow your career
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Canada8 February 2018
The sky's the limit. Within IBM, you have opportunities for growth, which I believe is world class in the industry. Your career ambitions and success are supported. Your goals can be achieved, and are directly linked to the effort you want to give.

Always a pleasure working with fellow IBM'ers
Pros
Awesome work environment, professionalism is top notch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Consultant | Lead Tech Post-Migration (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2018
Au cours de mandat de Consultant chez IBM, j'ai pu accomplir mes tâches en plus d'acquérir de compétences additionnelles.
Pros
Motivation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai adoré toutes les postes que j'ai occupé
Gestionnaire de wip (Former Employee) –  Bromont, QC7 February 2018
J'ai bien aimé le travail, mais une réduction de personnel permanent sur une base volontaire avec prime de départ pour laisser la place à des employés temporaires, que j'ai accepté, me laisse le loisir de me trouvé un autre emploie dans la région de Sherbrooke car je viens de faire l'achat d'un duplexe à East Angus. Je cesse de travaillé pour IBM le 29 Juin 2018
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
twenty yr career
Software Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 February 2018
MAJOR change over last few years. IBM Used to have long term health of their employees top of mind. Those days are long gone.

If you are in sales, Quarterly targets are long gone. Monthly targets are long gone, replaced by weekly and even daily targets as the end of the quarter gets closer. Insanity for sales people selling solutions and products that have long sell cycles. 90% of the good people have left IBM Canada, only to be replaced by plebes who do whatever they have to to look good to the boss. I personally witnessed numerous reps getting bullied by senior management. Stay away and go to a more progressive IT company. Also, IBM pays the worst commission in IT industry.
Pros
Diverse career paths possible
Cons
Micromanagement. Commission terrible in comparison to competition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
IT (various roles) (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON1 February 2018
The people I worked with couldn't have been better. Great people, great attitude, outstanding to work with. The workload they are expected to execute on was enormous... and that was the biggest drawback... always trying to meet those demands with a team that was slowly shrinking (job cuts). The people are definitely the best.
Pros
great people
Cons
workload, job cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Technical Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON31 January 2018
The scope of my role includes but not limited to the use and support of Office 365, testing Windows 10 platform on in-house application. Ability to accurately distinguish a logical error from a hardware one.
I participated in ABM system upgrade process, this included software release and roll-outs, ABM installation at customer sites, training users after the module upgrade and perform hands on break/fix.
I also got involved and created knowledge base articles/documentations for various occurring issues
Pros
great environment that forged my transferable skills
Cons
opportunity in centralization
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Test Specialist (Current Employee) –  National Capital Region31 January 2018
Great Basic Pay
Have 14th month pay
Flexible hours of work
Great opportunity for fresh graduates
Need to extend hours and work on a weekend if client needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Senior IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
Excellent staff and resources. The main issue is that IBM is aggressively offshoring large segments of it's service delivery business making staff uneasy knowing they're jobs will eventually disappear.
Pros
Excellent managers and staff
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the same company it was 30 years Ago
Senior IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 January 2018
There is no leadership in IBM, only CEOs that want their bonus and will layoff people to get it. They talk about cloud as if it is something new. IBM has been doing it for the last 15 years and are only using it as a way to get rid of people.
Cons
after 32 years they will lay you off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
WebSphere Technical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON18 January 2018
Organization has lots of different opportunities to move into different business units. Your success is very dependant on the management team you have.
Pros
Opportunity for growth
Cons
Culture and management leave a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
Data Scientist, Financial Services Sector (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2018
Nice place that respects work-life balance. Very experienced managers and your level of happiness with the company largely depends on your manager and the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IBM is okay
Senior Managing Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 January 2018
IBM was a great company to work for but it always seemed that there was no job security. As a consultant I felt I was away from everyone else. They did not have good programs to bring people who work remotely into the office to interact with fellow employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Contract Negotiator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON13 January 2018
They really take care of their employees. Lots of benefits and assistance. Great mentorship program. Takes at least a month to get used to the internal systems and training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good option today
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON12 January 2018
No longer a company who takes care of its employees. Does not care to hold on to good resources. Too much money minded people at helm. No focus on up-skilling or re-skilling the workforce.
Pros
Brand Name
Cons
Poor pay, poor future
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive (ok) place to work
In-Circuit Tester (Clean Room Operations) (Former Employee) –  Don Mills, ON12 January 2018
Even if you were outstanding you were treated pretty bland, such as
you were a number waiting to come to an end. There was no talk
of promotion. Everyone in my boat was going to be gone in a year or when their contract was ended.
IBM is gone from there as far as I know.
Pros
Felt a little important
Cons
no benefits and the business was ready to die
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport