Husky Energy Employee Reviews

Found 289 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Construction, Production, optimization Coordinator (Current Employee) –  athabsaca26 May 2017
great company to work for. just with a economy doing what its doing and the dieing gas field its no gonna be around much longer. would love to stay with in the company but the writing is on the wall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB24 May 2017
Busy work day with much diversity
I learned a lot about the gas and oil industry
Management was respectful and approachable
I did not find anything difficult about this job
I did enjoy the challenge with the many changes that occurred on a regular basis.
Pros
Good company and people to work with
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Heavy Oil Well Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK16 May 2017
This is a good place to work, the pay is good, lots of room for growth and advancement, good compensation package, some of the work places can be a little negative in atmosphere.
Pros
good pay
Cons
negativity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teams, busy fast paced
Land Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
Really enjoyed my time with Husky. I learned a great deal about oil and gas in a ten year period and greatly appreciate the support and insight over the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place. Could be worse.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC9 May 2017
The worst part about this job was the customers. For some reason, customers feel they can treat gas station attendants like scum. The hours were good, as was job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK3 May 2017
Good company to work for. Good job security and my boss cares about his employees. Compensation isn't at the top of the charts but reasonable for not working up north.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place helped me to improve my communication skills and my time management skills.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2017
Being a Customer Service Representative is a big responsibility. At Husky i learned lots of things like time management skills and working as a team mate with my other employees. The management was very helpful in helping me learn all my duties and finishing work on time. The thing i liked most about my job was meeting new people everyday.
Pros
Management was very understanding
Cons
No extra pay for overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but terrible co-worker.
Cashier/ Close (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC30 April 2017
It was great i had 40 hours a week and had a great boss. Many times i was unable to finish all of my closing duties because i had a terrible Co-Worker.
Pros
Employee discount, worked around my school schedule
Cons
Co-Worker was lazy, never got weekends off, i could sleep in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 April 2017
currently, i am employee of the husky energy. i am working as cashier so i learn lot of things like how to interact with customer in qualitative manner and how to develop customer relationships. so, it teach me too many things and I am thankful to that manager for giving me this kind of opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, great people
Work Placement (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK25 April 2017
I worked at the Husky Energy refinery up in Lloydminster, AB/SK Bear in mind that I was only there for four (4) days as I was placed there as part of my Power Engineering course. But from what little I experienced there, it was great. The environment was very relaxed and friendly, I learned a lot about plant operations, water purification and water tests, and got a good idea of what it is like to be a power engineer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going and great custumer exerence gined
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2017
normal day at work would be a 10 hour shift serving custumers, cleaning the store, restocking the shelfs and counting lottrey and smokes , i learned alot about how to handle a unhappy custumer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Camp Enviroment
Senior Instrumentation (Current Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC25 April 2017
This has been a rewarding and demanding job. However want to head south for my later years in life as we seek warmer climate and acreage. I have learned most of my trade here and in the patch
Pros
Gym
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Accounting Technician (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL25 April 2017
Great company to work for. They have very knowledgable employees and management who help you learn and grow. The pay and benefits package is well above average and there are many opporunties to build and grow your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empire state of mind
Sales (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2017
Promotions based on secret friendships and no appreciation for hard work.

They claim a diverse company only about 10% minorities. Their diversity team is are all white.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for a long time.
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 April 2017
I worked for Husky for over 20 years before they sold our areas in the past year due to the downturn in the economy in Alberta. In that 20 years I was treated very well with good compensation and benefits and enjoyed it very much. Husky rewarded us for good work and made it an enjoyable place to work.
Pros
Good compensation and benefit package.
Cons
Company downsizing due to economic climate in Alberta.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operator (Former Employee) –  Provost, AB22 April 2017
Loved working there, employees were looked after well. Limit to advancement however as average age of management is 40's. I would recommend working there.
Pros
Team environment
Cons
On call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work! The people are friendly and highly motivated.
Senior Staff Geologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary18 April 2017
A typical day at Husky starts with a quick team meeting to discuss project status. To work at Husky one must have great communication skills and strong project planning skills.
Pros
Training and skills development provided by Geological services.
Cons
To many levels of Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always looking over your shoulder
Employee (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK16 April 2017
While Husky offered a great wage, there was always grumbling in the ranks due to management mistakes and heavy-handedness. Some of the common mistakes were to indulge bad behaviour in some employees, especially operators. If they were to lay you off, it was a quick handshake and a talk about thanks for your service then a rush to get you out the door. Not very conducive to a nice working environment
Pros
many little gifts and celebatory lunches
Cons
unstable work environemnt, cliques, no job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive management, positive environment
Contractor Accounts Payable (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 April 2017
Was hired for maternity leave... extended to cover vacations and special projects. Casual, open minded environment, Approachable caring management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Turnaround & Project Planner / Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 April 2017
Poor management, poor communication, always cutting back.
Contractors treated badly, promised bonuses were cancelled.
Two pay cuts in 12 months.
Camp life was none existent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Husky Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 296 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7