Find companies:
Husky Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Husky Energy Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with careful watching surroundings
Mechanical Coordinator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: hard working required
Cons: get good appreciations from superiors
Very punctual , discuss work to be done, work output and difficulties to improve upon.
Learned a lot about working procedures , conditions and dealing with colleagues and superiors in new atmosphere in Canada.
Learned a lot about management by attending many types of management courses.
My co-workers were excellent , very cooperative , paying respect – more... and mostly doing jobs on time.
Hardest part of the job was getting info about technical details from the consultants , contractors and sometimes from other departments.
On time completion of my jobs allocated by my superiors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked so hard and learned so much
procurement site representative / fleet manager (Current Employee), Rainbow Lake, ABJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: great money
Cons: location
I have added to my skills with so much work experience.

HUsky is willing to show me what I need to better my self and to add to my skill I already have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Supply Chain Technician / Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: lot of activities.
It's a great place to work with flexible start timings.
Employees have the option to attend online or class room trainings along with online modules in the subject matter relevant to the duties.
Management reviews performance and provides feedback from time to time. Encourages to participate in departmental meetings and to bring up own topics for discussions. – more... Co-workers are always willing to assist. One enjoy's working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment, gets boring after 3 years
Power Engineer/ Plant Operator (Former Employee), Rocky Mountain House, ABDecember 28, 2013
Pros: easy going plant
Cons: theres at least one questionable manager
The night shifts prove to be pretty boring, best used for studying for ABSA's or learning a new skill on you-tube. Try not to get suckered into doing Husky courses over getting your ABSA tickets.
Most of your coworkers will be great easy going people, you're certain to find things you have in common, and you should because you'll be spending a lot of – more... time together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities and supportive staff
Procedure Lead/Analyst (Former Employee), Lloydminster, SKNovember 16, 2013
Pros: very modern building and friendly staff
Cons: cubicles
The opportunity to see results in the field made the work very exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and effective environment
Senior Project Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2013
This is one of most enjoible work place I have ever had.
The management is great efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pour safety culture
electrician (Former Employee), SunRiseOctober 29, 2013
Pros: if you know someone your in!!!
Cons: have to quit or they will relocate you. bad management
as an electrician for husky i have witness in a short period of time more electrical near miss then anywhere i ever worked combine. their lack of commissioning procedure and practice will hurt them in the long run. The management do not impress when time come to implement their safety value " you see it you own it" should sound more like "you see it – more... better be quiet" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 26, 2013
Pros: special discounts
Cons: long hours
new people everyday...........................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky Energy
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Norman Wells, NTOctober 1, 2013
As a contractor I rrather enjoyed my time with them.

My collegues are all professional and skilled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Senior maintenance and support analyst (Current Employee), CalgaryOctober 1, 2013
Good place to work
Excellent colleagues
Diverse
A little hard to get promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work place
Field Operator (Former Employee), Turtleford, SKSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: people, management
Cons: training.
Was servicing before before going to operations. Good management.
Good people.
only reason why i left is i'm moving
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky is one of the top producers of oil in canada and a very solid company to work for.
Well Site Supervisor (Current Employee), Lloydminster, SKJuly 28, 2013
Pros: solid company that stands for safety of the worker.
A typical day would start off with a safety meeting with all on site and review scope for the job.Review any safety alerts or concerns from any workers.All directions are explained and all workers know this is the prime contractors stand on how things are to be completed.I have to always make sure that workers are doing the job safely and that they – more... don't put others / themselfs in harms way.When the days done and all went according to plan it's been a good day.I have completed what I set out to do and what was exspected of me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Battery Employee
Seasonal Field Operator (Former Employee), Lloydminster, SKJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great introduction to battery operations
Cons: good summer job
Reviewing shut-in wells to see if they meet regulations.

Cover operators holidays as necessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water engnr
i work long hours (Current Employee), yesJune 20, 2013
Pros: i give god the glory
Cons: yes
water project which i manege in my country nigeria u can take we dont work but i we tell u i work day to day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job mates. Enjoy the time off.
Electrical Technician (Current Employee), offshore, NLJune 16, 2013
Pros: 3 weeks off
Cons: 3 weeks away, plus i miss alot of holidays, etc.
I work 12hrs a day, with a 3 week on, and a 3 week off rotation. Its been a great learning experience. Great people to work with. The hardest part of the job is been away from my family for 3 weeks at a time. The best thing about the job is that I get 3 weeks home with my family. I would add that the safety culture is second to none. To me, that is – more... the most important part of any job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Summary
QA Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 12, 2013
At Husky Energy I was QA Analyst worked in Agile methodology where I created Test Strategy document, identified Test Scenarios and created Test Scripts ensuring to cover all the Business requirements. I used to report to Project Manager in daily Scrum meetings. I used to co-ordinate with the development team off-shore.
I have executed the Test Scripts – more... in Quality Center, logged defects based on priorities and severity, generated reports in Dash board. Managed the Quality Center as Administrator. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sexism is rampant
Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryJune 4, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: sexism
I would warn anyone who is female on joining this company. Some managers are not trained on how to manage people with result being, you work for ignorant men.

It was my experience that job promotion was based on gender and most females are stuck in the "pink collar ghetto".

Upper managment is unaware of the toxic work environment and HR is useless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary ABApril 29, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: no over time but long hours
Free training and Lunches some times.
Other techs are friendly and available to help.
Most people are very friendly good work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with safety issues in the heavy oil industry.
Field Technician/ Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABApril 24, 2013
Pros: excellent working conditions and rewards.
Cons: jobs may depend on external conditions such as the price of oil.
Review the work-day agenda: meetings, inspections, teaching assignments and OH&S regulations. Carry out the assignments as required.

I learned that Safe Operating Procedures, regulations and legislation are a very important part of the job.

Managers and co-workers were professionals (mostly engineers) who were knowledgeable and dedicated to their – more... work.

The hardest part of the job was keeping abreast of the changes in regulations and legislation for the work being done.

The most enjoyable part was occasionally being sent out on a training program to some other place, for example, Texas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste lots time on political things
Engineer (Current Employee), CalgaryApril 17, 2013
Last 5 years I have worked for two managers who like political things, kind of extreme, can't say that Husky has good culture. Every year Husky has employee performance review but HR never does investigation on employee's feedback about their supervisor, sometimes higher management doesn't know what happened truly. If let it go this way to leak on foundation, – more... not sure how far Husky can go. – less

About Husky Energy

Husky Energy Inc. (TSX: HSE) is a large integrated Canadian energy company based in Calgary, Alberta. Focusing on petroleum and – Read more