Husky Energy Employee Reviews

Found 130 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great people.
Production Foreman (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB29 March 2016
Advanced my career into a supervisory position that gave me skills to manage properties and people. I learned a lot about risk management and process safety while in this role. My co-workers were all good people with a diversity in culture and values. Most enjoyed part of the job was working with a variety of people and groups.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
High expectations that cut into work/life
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Downstream Group (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 March 2016
Husky has long been known as an industry lager. Unfortunately poor management throughout the company can be viewed as the reason for this. Husky has a long history of under performing in its stock price, and under performing with financial results. It has never been viewed as a great place to work and unfortunately even with a recent change in upper management the culture has not changed. Employees at Husky are not valued, advancement only occurs based on the number of years you work there and the HR department is one of the worst i have every seen in more than 25 years of working both in canada and the US.
Until the culture changes, and there are significant changes at the mid to upper management levels Husky will continue to be viewed as one of the worst large companies to work at in Calgary.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity is the word when working at Husky
Document Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 March 2016
Everyone is given the freedom to be himself/herself. encouragement to bring the best into the workplace. Excellent team spirit.
Pros
Feel at home
Cons
A lot of meetings which sometimes impact on your effort to put in your best on what you do
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary9 March 2016
Learned and grew personally and professionally. Management could do better in leveraging employee expertise. Enjoyed working with the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and team
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2016
Husky was a great company to work for - they invested in staff to assist in your progression.
No two projects were the same - problem solving was always required to resolve issues.
I identified system improvements and implemented them which reduced the need for manual updates.
The most enjoyable part(s) was implementing a change which significantly improved performance or a departments compliance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky is an excellent company
Lead Inspector Ram River District (Current Employee) –  Rocky Mountain House25 February 2016
Husky is an excellent company. Desire to find another employer is based on personal issues. Enjoy working for Husky very much.
Pros
Husky is an excellent company
Cons
Husky is an excellent company
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I admired the CEO of the company a lot.
Process Engineer Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort Mackay, AB25 February 2016
Company showed a lot of compassion and was very reluctant to let staff go even in the face of dwindling revenue.

Team work
Acceptable
Great co-workers
Alignment with other groups in the OSBU
Fun environment
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Oil sands project delays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Contractor
Contract IT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2016
It's hard to write positive review after the way IT laid off people a couple weeks ago. The business people are great to work with, but IT seems to have an ego that needs to keep being fuelled. I heard of IT people being told they were let got by their recruiter, not the person they actually reported to.
Pros
Business attitude is great to work with
Cons
IT is micro managed and then dismisses people without actually telling them
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and fun place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB18 February 2016
Usually it is busy before lottery cut off time. Awesome coworkers and boss. Have learned a lot about dealing with different customers and handling pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well structured Company
SAFETY ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK17 February 2016
Husky is a very friendly, respectful and professional place to work . Great safety awareness at all levels, People are not afraid to say stop and evaluate any task.
Always open to opinions on growth .
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team
Superintendent Calgary Corporate Office (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 February 2016
The management team at husky was very accommodating and supportive. They made great efforts to help you feel like you were making a difference in the company.
Pros
productive office atmosphere, cheaper rates on parking
Cons
Multiple meetings, redundant paper work
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Senior Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 February 2016
Great company to work for. Unfortunately the oil crisis is pushing companies to lay off people.
I loved to work for Husky these 5 years.

Management is excellent, respectful and encourage the team to get training and develop themselves.

Great team to work with.
Pros
Great benefits, flexicble hours, good environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Master Data Analyst (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2016
As a summer intern for Husky, all duties and responsibilities are clearly explained and the team was very supportive. Once they knew I could work efficiently on my own, I had little supervision which allowed me to understand the job better.
Pros
Great work environment, supportive team
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest effords and achievements are not their highest priority or acknowledgements.
accounting technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary16 January 2016
To many people in the wrong roles and human resources are obvious to whats really going on regardless of there non bullying posters all over.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incivility on a daily basis
Deskside Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK14 January 2016
The 'work' was excellent. The personal interactions with management and senior staff... not so much.

I learned a new word working at Husky. "Incivility"

There were two senior staff members in my area (one of them the manager) that were adept at rude, condescending, bullying type behaviors. I found it very toxic. After my 6 month contract was up I had mixed feelings about leaving.

Overall Husky is your typical corporate environment. They ask that you put the company first while they put the people last. Lots of bonuses at the top and lots of cuts at the bottom. Watch what you say and who you say it to. Smile a lot and kiss the right behinds.
Pros
excellent 'work' opportunity
Cons
incivility, workplace bullying, corporate mentalities and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a family oriented company
Document Controller (Secondee) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 January 2016
Company Management is not great compared to other companies. I have learned a lot only too much pressure on a day to day work load. Co-workers sometimes are good. the job is easy and the most enjoyable part of the job I would say is constant learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can see the difference you are making .... every day
Project Controller (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 December 2015
A very engaging and rewarding place to be at. Supportive management and awesome team atmosphere. Excellent lessons learned database.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to work with a broad portfolio of operations
Pipeline integrity engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2015
a company with diverse technical challenges. good company to learn and apply the fundamentals of pipeline integrity. different pipeline materials and streams make Husky good place to develop your potential
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Infrastructure Management (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 November 2015
Was a good place to work. very professional work space.
Money was good. the people were great to work with. Lots of room for advancement
Pros
coffee breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK4 November 2015
Overall rating is excellent. It was the best work place ever. I had so much fun, my co-workers were the best friends. Productive and fun workplace.
Pros
the best work place ever
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 134 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5