Husky Energy Employee Reviews

Found 129 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJuly 15, 2016
Job is okay to work with during school, not enough pay and management is not good at all. To much work and no appreciation
Pros
Good people
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONSeptember 11, 2015
Excellent customer service and satisfied customers. customers leave premises happily and praise customer service.They always respond positively and go happily after shopping with the store.
And the always get best service in return from the store.
Pros
Honesty at the store
Cons
Best customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky gas resources
Completions Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 24, 2016
enjoyed working at Husky, the people the atmosphere and their safety culture were key to my goals and interests. We were on the edge of new and exciting growth. when the price of oil tanked our project has now stalled.
Pros
work as much or as little as you needed too
Cons
price of oil fell
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Development Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJuly 4, 2016
Good place to work. Very procedure oriented company with set work flows and check lists to apply to every project or scenario.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Staff Process Safety Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 17, 2016
Not much for comments. Just to be cautious and careful. Not a diverse and culturally favorable. Racist management lays off visible minorities and other immigrants.
Pros
Good size
Cons
average place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky is an excellent company
Lead Inspector Ram River District (Current Employee) –  Rocky Mountain HouseFebruary 25, 2016
Husky is an excellent company. Desire to find another employer is based on personal issues. Enjoy working for Husky very much.
Pros
Husky is an excellent company
Cons
Husky is an excellent company
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and team
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 1, 2016
Husky was a great company to work for - they invested in staff to assist in your progression.
No two projects were the same - problem solving was always required to resolve issues.
I identified system improvements and implemented them which reduced the need for manual updates.
The most enjoyable part(s) was implementing a change which significantly improved performance or a departments compliance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Contractor
Contract IT (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 22, 2016
It's hard to write positive review after the way IT laid off people a couple weeks ago. The business people are great to work with, but IT seems to have an ego that needs to keep being fuelled. I heard of IT people being told they were let got by their recruiter, not the person they actually reported to.
Pros
Business attitude is great to work with
Cons
IT is micro managed and then dismisses people without actually telling them
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company - Downside is Management
Field Operator 4 (Current Employee) –  AlbertaOctober 15, 2012
I have worked for Husky for a total of 11 years. I have worked in a facility and in 2 fields.

Facility - great workplace, people were awesome. Summer BBQs, positive environment and very safety oriented.

Field 1 - people were great, busy area and monthly lunches/ team building. Problem everyone newly hired was someone's cousin, son or somehow related and manager wasn't open to others ideas, his way or no way at all.
Field 2 - great place, great culture, breakfasts at morning meetings and busy area as well. No problems yet and almost a completely different mindset in management, open to suggestions and others' ideas.

Husky has amazing job security, works with very safe and modern equipment and after hours is more than willing to compensate workers fairly. Never been questioned on my overtime once in 11 years.
Pros
great team atmosphere, family oriented
Cons
certain district has management issues
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity is the word when working at Husky
Document Management Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 12, 2016
Everyone is given the freedom to be himself/herself. encouragement to bring the best into the workplace. Excellent team spirit.
Pros
Feel at home
Cons
A lot of meetings which sometimes impact on your effort to put in your best on what you do
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Autonomy
Junior Sales/Analyst, (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 20, 2016
As a business analyst, I have been exposed to more than just analytics. Over time I have had the chance to work on the sales side of the business with the marketing team, including pricing work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can see the difference you are making .... every day
Project Controller (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABDecember 7, 2015
A very engaging and rewarding place to be at. Supportive management and awesome team atmosphere. Excellent lessons learned database.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Job
Site Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Salmon Arm, BCApril 13, 2016
Flexibility and freedom to work on your own.
Corporate has no clue as to what running a store is really like.
Poor hourly rate for management and staff.
Pros
Create your own schedule
Cons
Corporate incompetance
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work amid falling oil prices
accounting technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 4, 2015
My time at Husky was amid a large drop in oil prices. Moral wasn't exceptionally high and communication among co-workers was kept to a minimum. Would be a great place to work in ideal economic conditions. Overall, enjoyed my time there but it could have been better if oil was higher.
Pros
Great team leads, organized culture
Cons
Morale on the low side.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work.
Facility Operator (Former Employee) –  Lashburn Sask.April 2, 2016
Economic downturn was hard on a lot of people myself included. I enjoyed working for Husky over all. I learned quite a bit and appreciated the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Environmental Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 11, 2016
Learned a lot about SAGD. Great new challenge to help further my tools for any employment opportunities which may come my way
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I admired the CEO of the company a lot.
Process Engineer Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort Mackay, ABFebruary 25, 2016
Company showed a lot of compassion and was very reluctant to let staff go even in the face of dwindling revenue.

Team work
Acceptable
Great co-workers
Alignment with other groups in the OSBU
Fun environment
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Oil sands project delays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Master Data Analyst (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 28, 2016
As a summer intern for Husky, all duties and responsibilities are clearly explained and the team was very supportive. Once they knew I could work efficiently on my own, I had little supervision which allowed me to understand the job better.
Pros
Great work environment, supportive team
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SKNovember 4, 2015
Overall rating is excellent. It was the best work place ever. I had so much fun, my co-workers were the best friends. Productive and fun workplace.
Pros
the best work place ever
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work.great camp,clean,good food.nice gym.clean safe job site.
Iron Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 1, 2015
a great bunch of guys.The camp was great,your own bath,food was great,clean.Safety meetings were very informative.and gave a safe place to work.
Pros
great comunication
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 132 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5