Find companies:
Husky Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Husky Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Battery Employee
Seasonal Field Operator (Former Employee), Lloydminster, SKJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great introduction to battery operations
Cons: good summer job
Reviewing shut-in wells to see if they meet regulations.

Cover operators holidays as necessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water engnr
i work long hours (Current Employee), yesJune 20, 2013
Pros: i give god the glory
Cons: yes
water project which i manege in my country nigeria u can take we dont work but i we tell u i work day to day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job mates. Enjoy the time off.
Electrical Technician (Current Employee), offshore, NLJune 16, 2013
Pros: 3 weeks off
Cons: 3 weeks away, plus i miss alot of holidays, etc.
I work 12hrs a day, with a 3 week on, and a 3 week off rotation. Its been a great learning experience. Great people to work with. The hardest part of the job is been away from my family for 3 weeks at a time. The best thing about the job is that I get 3 weeks home with my family. I would add that the safety culture is second to none. To me, that is – more... the most important part of any job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Summary
QA Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 12, 2013
At Husky Energy I was QA Analyst worked in Agile methodology where I created Test Strategy document, identified Test Scenarios and created Test Scripts ensuring to cover all the Business requirements. I used to report to Project Manager in daily Scrum meetings. I used to co-ordinate with the development team off-shore.
I have executed the Test Scripts – more... in Quality Center, logged defects based on priorities and severity, generated reports in Dash board. Managed the Quality Center as Administrator. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sexism is rampant
Analyst (Former Employee), CalgaryJune 4, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: sexism
I would warn anyone who is female on joining this company. Some managers are not trained on how to manage people with result being, you work for ignorant men.

It was my experience that job promotion was based on gender and most females are stuck in the "pink collar ghetto".

Upper managment is unaware of the toxic work environment and HR is useless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee), Calgary ABApril 29, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: no over time but long hours
Free training and Lunches some times.
Other techs are friendly and available to help.
Most people are very friendly good work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dealing with safety issues in the heavy oil industry.
Field Technician/ Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABApril 24, 2013
Pros: excellent working conditions and rewards.
Cons: jobs may depend on external conditions such as the price of oil.
Review the work-day agenda: meetings, inspections, teaching assignments and OH&S regulations. Carry out the assignments as required.

I learned that Safe Operating Procedures, regulations and legislation are a very important part of the job.

Managers and co-workers were professionals (mostly engineers) who were knowledgeable and dedicated to their – more... work.

The hardest part of the job was keeping abreast of the changes in regulations and legislation for the work being done.

The most enjoyable part was occasionally being sent out on a training program to some other place, for example, Texas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste lots time on political things
Engineer (Current Employee), CalgaryApril 17, 2013
Last 5 years I have worked for two managers who like political things, kind of extreme, can't say that Husky has good culture. Every year Husky has employee performance review but HR never does investigation on employee's feedback about their supervisor, sometimes higher management doesn't know what happened truly. If let it go this way to leak on foundation, – more... not sure how far Husky can go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad state of affairs
Operator (Former Employee), LloydminsterMarch 24, 2013
Pros: 3 hours a day 10 hours pay
Cons: not enough space to list them all
These comments were obviously left by the management types at Husky, the truth is every 3 years all the seniors are shuffled so that any promises made as far as wage increases or level advancement goes with them. In most cases people who become seniors, not for work ethic or knowledge, but ability to lie and con the dinosaurs they call "co-ordinators". – more... Most of Husky's upper echelon is 20 years past optimum retirement age and their poor decisions and antique methods are laughable. Time for Husky to look at youth for direction because the dementia laden squids they have at the top will be their undoing. Great place to work as a last resort before the soup kitchen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant company
Accounting Technician (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 19, 2013
Pros: advancement, group lunches
I really enjoyed and miss my time there. I have met so many great people who I miss dearly. The benefits provided are awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have a high regard for Husky
Special Projects (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABFebruary 4, 2013
I am currently employed with Husky however after 25 years I feel the need for a change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Summer student (Former Employee), Provost AlbertaFebruary 3, 2013
Started work at 8am. I would do a morning and night run to check all the wells. Then during the day I would mow leases, paint and maintain the wells
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company - Downside is Management
Field Operator 4 (Current Employee), AlbertaOctober 15, 2012
Pros: great team atmosphere, family oriented
Cons: certain district has management issues
I have worked for Husky for a total of 11 years. I have worked in a facility and in 2 fields.

Facility - great workplace, people were awesome. Summer BBQs, positive environment and very safety oriented.

Field 1 - people were great, busy area and monthly lunches/ team building. Problem everyone newly hired was someone's cousin, son or somehow related – more... and manager wasn't open to others ideas, his way or no way at all.
Field 2 - great place, great culture, breakfasts at morning meetings and busy area as well. No problems yet and almost a completely different mindset in management, open to suggestions and others' ideas.

Husky has amazing job security, works with very safe and modern equipment and after hours is more than willing to compensate workers fairly. Never been questioned on my overtime once in 11 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Operator level 3 (Current Employee), albertaSeptember 14, 2012
Pros: awesome people to work for
love this company, I love the options you have, the hours can be long but everyone makes it worth your while set days off and love to go to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there and the job itself was very nice
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: lunches with all staff great team to work with
Cons: long shifts
Enjoyed all aspects. Safety oriented, good working conditions, good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Operations Technician (Current Employee), St. John's, NLSeptember 12, 2012
•Part Time Employee
•Worked closely with the following teams:
oProduction and Operations
oLogistics and Procurement
•SAP data entry
•PLS Manager data entry
•Maintenance Plans and Work Packs creation and updates
•Inventory control
•Materials management
•Familiar with ISO Standards
•Coordinated offshore personnel
•Maintenance planning and scheduling
•Arranged – more... vendor visits
•Ensured appropriate personnel for specific jobs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly family like setting enjoyable
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Lloydminster, ABSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: barbeques and lunches
Cons: long shifts
receiving equipment, filling orders, organizing stock, deligating jobs to be done.
I learned more about the process in constructing a battery.
My position involved managing employees within the warehouse.
My co-workers were great.
The hardest part of the job was getting used to long shifts. 10 12's 4 off.
Working in a family feeling setting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with new challanges every day
Land Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 23, 2012
Pros: personal office
Cons: downtown traffic could be a handful at days
Check emails for any road use request, and learned to process the requests back to the client with signed agreements.
Management always asked how things were going, and how I felt.

My peers were awesome, always had a great day with whom I seen in passing

Hardest part of the job, was trying to get signatures back from the Landman to process for the – more... clients.

Enjoyable part of the job was getting to meet so many people, and taking on all new challanges that came my way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Systems Analyst (Contractor) (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 8, 2014
24/7 rotating shifts - I would not recommend.

No family life
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Strong Company
Project Engineer Intern (Former Employee), Lima, OHDecember 23, 2013
Well managed, healthy working environment. Friendly employees in the field and in the offices. Safety is highly valued.

About Husky Energy

Husky Energy Inc. (TSX: HSE) is a large integrated Canadian energy company based in Calgary, Alberta. Focusing on petroleum and – Read more