Husky Energy Employee Reviews

Found 167 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to work with this organization.
Assistant Gas station Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 July 2017
It was always fun to work with this management. Learnt alot about the business and mostly about the people, how they behave and the way they communicate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some challenges but overall a positive experience
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK10 July 2017
Over the years, I have gained numerous skills have been able to collaborate with a variety of great people. I have made a lot of memories that I will carry with me in my next career. The most difficult part of my job is adjusting to re-organization and the layoffs of my colleagues, but overall Husky has been a positive experience.
Pros
Numerous learning opportunities, warm and welcoming environment
Cons
Lack of communication between departments, unclear expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great personal learning, flat structure
Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 July 2017
Pretty flat structure and great for personal learning. Not too much room for advancement and weak job rotation programs. As with many organizations in the current oil and gas downturn, there is an expectation to do more with less. Sometimes there are long days at the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energy Leader
Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 June 2017
Husky keeps safety/environmental concerns at its forefront while ensuring performance standards are consistently met. Great company to work with and thrive!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
60 Hr Work Practicum (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK26 June 2017
Great place to work, people are great, they practice what they preach, Family oriented, have great communication with the employees. Their employee training program is very through. Everyone is always willing to lend a hand and help you out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at work
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 June 2017
Long hour shift and have to repeat the same work all day long, it was boring job, no fun at all don't know what to do. no one there to help you or to tell you about the solution of the problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2017
I learned so much working at Husky as a HSE advisor. There were many great resources and learning opportunities. I met many amazing contacts and people I would love to call my friends
Pros
Many respurces
Cons
Not enough resources
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB24 May 2017
Busy work day with much diversity
I learned a lot about the gas and oil industry
Management was respectful and approachable
I did not find anything difficult about this job
I did enjoy the challenge with the many changes that occurred on a regular basis.
Pros
Good company and people to work with
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Heavy Oil Well Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK16 May 2017
This is a good place to work, the pay is good, lots of room for growth and advancement, good compensation package, some of the work places can be a little negative in atmosphere.
Pros
good pay
Cons
negativity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place. Could be worse.
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC9 May 2017
The worst part about this job was the customers. For some reason, customers feel they can treat gas station attendants like scum. The hours were good, as was job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Husky Energy?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK3 May 2017
Good company to work for. Good job security and my boss cares about his employees. Compensation isn't at the top of the charts but reasonable for not working up north.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place helped me to improve my communication skills and my time management skills.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2017
Being a Customer Service Representative is a big responsibility. At Husky i learned lots of things like time management skills and working as a team mate with my other employees. The management was very helpful in helping me learn all my duties and finishing work on time. The thing i liked most about my job was meeting new people everyday.
Pros
Management was very understanding
Cons
No extra pay for overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husky
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 April 2017
currently, i am employee of the husky energy. i am working as cashier so i learn lot of things like how to interact with customer in qualitative manner and how to develop customer relationships. so, it teach me too many things and I am thankful to that manager for giving me this kind of opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Accounting Technician (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL25 April 2017
Great company to work for. They have very knowledgable employees and management who help you learn and grow. The pay and benefits package is well above average and there are many opporunties to build and grow your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empire state of mind
Sales (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2017
Promotions based on secret friendships and no appreciation for hard work.

They claim a diverse company only about 10% minorities. Their diversity team is are all white.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for a long time.
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 April 2017
I worked for Husky for over 20 years before they sold our areas in the past year due to the downturn in the economy in Alberta. In that 20 years I was treated very well with good compensation and benefits and enjoyed it very much. Husky rewarded us for good work and made it an enjoyable place to work.
Pros
Good compensation and benefit package.
Cons
Company downsizing due to economic climate in Alberta.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Operator (Former Employee) –  Provost, AB22 April 2017
Loved working there, employees were looked after well. Limit to advancement however as average age of management is 40's. I would recommend working there.
Pros
Team environment
Cons
On call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work! The people are friendly and highly motivated.
Senior Staff Geologist (Former Employee) –  Calgary18 April 2017
A typical day at Husky starts with a quick team meeting to discuss project status. To work at Husky one must have great communication skills and strong project planning skills.
Pros
Training and skills development provided by Geological services.
Cons
To many levels of Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always looking over your shoulder
Employee (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK16 April 2017
While Husky offered a great wage, there was always grumbling in the ranks due to management mistakes and heavy-handedness. Some of the common mistakes were to indulge bad behaviour in some employees, especially operators. If they were to lay you off, it was a quick handshake and a talk about thanks for your service then a rush to get you out the door. Not very conducive to a nice working environment
Pros
many little gifts and celebatory lunches
Cons
unstable work environemnt, cliques, no job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive management, positive environment
Contractor Accounts Payable (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 April 2017
Was hired for maternity leave... extended to cover vacations and special projects. Casual, open minded environment, Approachable caring management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Husky Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 172 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

78%
57 ratings
Add your rating