Find companies:
Human Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Human Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woking with mentally challenge patients.
Direct Care/CNA (Former Employee), Woburn, MAAugust 28, 2012
Woking with mentally challenged patients and amking sure that their acctivities of daily livings are met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
TWP-Office Assistant (Current Employee), Indianola, MSMarch 26, 2014
I love this job because of the fact that I love workign with children and also working in the office atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, honest people.
Qualified Mental Health Professional (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: company bought food when we had certain functions.
Cons: great place to work.
Fun and productive company and likeable trust worthy coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great program for the adults
Program Specialist (Former Employee), Johnstown, PAMarch 20, 2014
Every day the people would come into the program and either attend an outing that I may have had scheduled or they would do activities at their stations.
I learned that having a connection with the families was a priority in this job. I was blessed to have so many families eagerly involved in their children's lives. It was very hard to make that connection – more... at first, but the families earned my trust and were supportive of any ideas or concerns I may have had.
My co-workers were horrible to work with. I was the youngest and they were 40yrs old and above, been with the company for more than 15 years. I was their boss and they did no like change. I did not have support from management to find ways how we could compromise and make the work environment a positive atmosphere.
The most enjoyable part would be just spending some one on one time with the people. They all love life and they made you realize that life isn't all that bad. No matter what, they always had a smile on their face for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice and rewarding employment
Employment Specialist (Current Employee), Moorestown, NJFebruary 20, 2014
Anyone who loves to encourage and help people would love helping people who are viewed as less desirable for employment, find a job and maintane that job. It's an awsome feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with others with high standards
Certified Nurses Assistant Certified (Former Employee), Brenham, TexasFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: working with different people and hearing about others lives
Cons: stress level can be high
A typical day at work was to provide a safe environment for the individuals I am to monitor. I have learned in all my jobs that every person has a stories and this is what makes everyone different. Each person deserves respect regardless of race, sex, or anything else that makes them different than the norm. When working managing can become stressful – more... because everyone each person has his or her own personal views and personalities. The hardest part is being able to put aside my own personal feelings to ensure that the service I am providing is one of a high standard. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping each person that I have come in contact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start to a career
Residential Instructor (Former Employee), Newport, RINovember 6, 2013
Pros: relaxed work environment
Cons: somewhat too eventful at times, no overtime
Great management

Care giving is a good way to make money

working for this company opened up an understanding of the healthcare environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place
WX Compliance Field Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, INOctober 14, 2013
stay away from this place bad working hours boss is a jerk management sucks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with challenged indivisuals
Sub Contractor (Former Employee), Burlington, VTSeptember 17, 2013
I felt at this job I really made a difference and impacted someone elses life. Spending time together going places. learning their special needs and teaching life skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions
Senior developmental Care Worker (Former Employee), Holden Hill, SASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: good
Cons: good
I enjoyed my work but now need a change.It was rewarding to see clients reach their goal of independent living and to have them feel they could make an ability out of a disability
Management were very supportive,and i was saddened to retire
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ST. John's Luthern Home
Hallmark Hospice Volunteer (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 20, 2013
Pros: life changing...
Cons: little to no benifits
I so enjoyed my time with the eldery! They brought great wisdom and joy to my day. I met their dietary needs and made their environmet a happy and safe one.
Each shared many life stories with me and was always eager to hear about my family. These people enriched my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careers
Crew Worker (Former Employee), Sharon HillJuly 6, 2013
Pros: any food
Cons: two hours
How work going to be in the future went I'm grown and learning about life experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family owned business
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 7, 2013
not very reliable, family owned ,so they did whatever they wanted with thier employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-tasking using web based programs and constant people interaction
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Monroe, MIApril 20, 2013
Pros: of my current job are my co-workers, corporate interest in investing in the community and benefits packages.
Cons: of my current job are you are being micro-managed and not having face-to-face customer interaction.
A typical day at work is to serve customers through phone communication. I am able to problem solve. I aid customers questions with information regarding complaints, company culture, product features and product maintenance needs. I am able to do this through learned knowledge of product or problem solving to operate many web-based computer programs – more... to find the answer. I have to use strict time management to balance a heavy work load.

It has increased my words per minute typing performance. It has helped to further develop my ability to multi-task and problem solve. I have learned when dealing with angry customers to not take it personally because their issue is with the company, even if they take it out on you. I have gained more communication experience through a phone call and written language.

The thing that I most enjoy about my job is the challenge and working with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot of skills
Rehabilitation Case Coordinator I Department (Former Employee), Springfield , IllinoisMarch 20, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: no healthcare benefits
I enjoyed my position and I had a chance to learned a lot for the years that I was employed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping clients with everyday issues and a hot meal
Cold Weather Shelter Volunteer (Current Employee), Westminster, MDMarch 13, 2013
Pros: communication, social interaction
Cons: crowded
The Cold Weather Shelter feds around 30-40 clients a night and volunteers communicate with clients and help with any needs a person may have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee), Commerce City, COMarch 13, 2013
I learned how to use a electronic device to count inventory. Management was very organized and respectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular day in the office.
Family Protection Specialist Advanced (Current Employee), Brandon, MSMarch 11, 2013
Pros: flexability
Cons: pay
A typical work day consists of: daily investigations and making face to face contacts with alleged victims, alleged perpetrators, and other family members. Documentation in the MACWIS System, and returning phone calls. I also participate in court activities and county conferences. Assisted workers with work loads and trained workers on the agency's – more... policy, concepts, and practice model. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child protective services serving children first.
Social Worker IIII Child Protective Services (Former Employee), Solano County CaliforniaFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: sense of purpose.
Cons: high stress environment.
Great people to work with. Priority to protect children and work closely with families to resolve safety issues. Very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportuinities for hands on experiance in human service field
Program Specialist (Current Employee), Mashpee, MAJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: health care benefits, earned leave, diversification
Cons: a cap on certain job attainment positions, no raises, no stratification
There are no typical days of work in this field.Learning to be self sufficient and at the same time openly communicative with a team or staff, is a necessary aspect of human services. Maintaining a professional attitude with a humanitarian drive for service aids in using core life experiences and learned skills adding to job performance. The hardest – more... part of this job has been obtaining effective long term and annual resources for program support. Having a breakdown in effective management as the company has gone through agency changes and financial redevelopment. The most enjoyable aspect of the job was being able to grow professionally and mutually sharing skill sets and job competencies with co-workers and clients. – less