Hudson's Bay Company

Hudson's Bay Company Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 792 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJuly 25, 2016
• Sales associate, department Ladies Shoes, customer services.
Great manager, team worker, brave people, good location, bigger Company to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication
Senior General Manager - Flagship & Multi-Unit (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCJuly 25, 2016
Communication from C-Level always from last minute.

Undecided, no directions for a long period of time and brought store engagement at is lowest.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hudson Bay
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJuly 19, 2016
The Hudson's Bay company is a really fun place to work. The co-workers were really easy to get along with. There was always something to do at work and there wasn't much down time, which is a good thing.
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, very fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BCJuly 18, 2016
I would open and close the store, sell merchandise help people find the perfect outfit for whichever occasion they needed. Cleaned up , and closed the store.
Loved working here was very fun and exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Co-workers and excellent Management
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 18, 2016
Hudson's Bay Company is a place that thought me to do team work and mange all hard situation, with great management and support that I have ever seen in my life.
Pros
team work and good management
Cons
closing alone
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant environment in workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONJuly 14, 2016
Every day is the same thing, you do the exact same things every shift. Nothing exciting occurs throughout a shift.
Age difference is a big factor. Im the youngest person there currently while everyone else is 21+.
Hardest part of job is that there is not enough to do.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment with wonderful people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BCJuly 13, 2016
I learned a great deal while working at HBC. They taught me how to interact with customers, work a cash register, and communicate with my co-workers. I am very grateful for the time that I spent there but I chose to leave because of scheduling conflicts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to work
Visual Presentation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJuly 13, 2016
Excellent company, flexible schedule, friendly environment, very good and knowledgeable team. My Boss was always very approachable, hard-working and dedicated.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management culture
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 12, 2016
very poor work culture for employees. the management was not helpful with most issues .there was no human resources dept.
Pros
none.
Cons
overall atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really have a great time working in Hudson's Bay
In-Store Marketer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 10, 2016
It is really have a great time to work in the Hudsons Bay. My Boss is very approachable. My co workers really nice and fun to work with them
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work because of the staff
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BCJuly 6, 2016
If it wasn't for the friendly staff I would have been out of there a lot faster. Management is a joke and it's all about sales and not what is actually achievable or best.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Management, scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cash, Sales Associate, Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Hudson Bay, SKJuly 5, 2016
A typical day at the Hudson Bay is slow. While customers do walk through the store a lot of them already know what they want. The management staff as well as all co-workers always have a smile on their faces. The hardest part of the job is having to constantly re design an entire section multiple times, without helping any customers. For myself the most enjoyable part was helping customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ONJuly 5, 2016
It was my first experience with retail and it was overall a positive experience. The hardest part about the job would be: having to work alone in a department on weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and competitive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 30, 2016
Friendly staff
Sales quotas
Helpful Management
Assisting managers with tasks
Room to grow
Working with the company develops employee customer relationship thus building clientele.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High End Retail Low Chance of Advancement
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJune 28, 2016
Since the Hudson Bay Company is high end you have little chance of becoming a manager unless you have an MBA or some kind of secondary education mixed with experience. Work life balance at the Limeridge Mall store was pretty good when I was working there only had to work one week end and it is closed for the holidays. Worked there for almost six years, but only had a high school education no chance of advancement with that kind of education unless you work there for 10+ years.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
active and productive work
Auxiliary Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 27, 2016
Typical day at work was always professional with a smile.
On a daily basis i learned how to keep customers happy.
Management could have been better due to the fact that one was always struggling because another would be away or on vacation.
Co-workers were great but there's always someone you don't get along with, but i made it work.
Hardest part of working there was fighting for more hours.
Making my customers feel happy with their purchases was my favorite part of my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A safe work place that offers many opportunities.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJune 24, 2016
Working at Hudson's Bay required you to stay alert as a rush could happen at any time. I learned how to use and operate the cash register and process purchases made by customers with efficiency. The management was very understanding and patient. The co-workers were very helpful. For example, when I was still new, they would be ready to show me the steps needed to be done on the cash register in order to complete a transaction. The hardest part of the job was that the hours were not flexible and it was hard to manage both school and work. I would say the most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONJune 20, 2016
i worked at this company for the last 1 and half year. i have been promoted several times. i was working at the front desk. then got moved into the warehouse working as an investigator. and was moved to the head office where i am a receptionist.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Performing company with international growth
confidential (Current Employee) –  OntarioJune 15, 2016
The in store leadership teams really care about their employees. They strive to find balance between commitment to the needs of the business.
The hardest part of the job is performance managment, when an employee isn't following the rules or isn't hitting targets its a hard conversation to have.
Pros
Great Corporate Culture
Cons
Retail shift work that includes, nights, weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Jewellery Lead (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABJune 8, 2016
*Always tried to fulfill the customer needs
*Coaching the team member
*Stock display & manage them efficiently to improve sales
*Nice co-workers; they were very helpful & supportive (family environment)
*Low income
Pros
Family environment & supportive co workers
Cons
Low income
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 874 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

Hudson's Bay Company Reviews by Location