Find companies:
Hudson's Bay Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
202 reviews

Hudson's Bay Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Asset Protection Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 6, 2014
Over my years with the company, I got to work with some amazing people. The job was always different. I learned "GREAT" customer service.

Overall a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people to work with
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Metrotown, BurnabyOctober 6, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: not enough staff
A typical day is arriving to work, greet customers and keeping the store presentable. Management team is good but could be better and co-workers are all very nice people. The hardest part of the job is to help all the customers when you are the only one on the floor. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting great people and making someone smile – more... when they are having a bad time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 4, 2014
Pros: working alongside co-workers
Cons: constant folding for long hours
* A typical day was pretty straight forward. Folding clothes, helping customers with certain clothing questions, helping them find the escalator or bathroom. Things of that nature.

* I learned how retail was like, the rush of the holidays, and about people, really.

* Solid management, very clear and straight forward.

* Great co-workers. All around – more... the same age as myself, and supportive.

* Hardest part of the job was going up and down floors to exchange clothing that didn't belong there, and finding the rack or shelf in which it did.

* Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers, helping them with their issue, and having them leave with satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved going to work every day, always changing environment. Fun and fullfilling.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), men's clothes, shoes, luggage, childrens wearOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: fuxuating hours of employment
This was my first retail job and I absolutely loved it. Dealing with unhappy customers was the most enjoyable and challenging part of the job. I can defuse the most unpredictable person from blowing up. I have 7 years of experience managing and bartending in the Windsor area. All that experience comes in handy when dealing with the public especially – more... an unhappy public. I further developed my skills in all areas of customer service while on the floor at The Bay.
I worked with the most amazing fellow associates as well as most of management. The hardest obstacle was adapting to new managers as there are many managers that flow through the retail world.
I thoroughly enjoyed working with my colleagues and that includes most management. I especially enjoy the customers, I felt like a bartender/ social worker as people with needs are people in need of attention, understanding, and caring as well as a professional opinion. It is so easy to please people.
Every day is a learning experience. Everybody, all though similar in many ways are all individuals and need to be treated as an individuals. Attention to personal detail can come in very handy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal job, Exciting, busy, and diverse work place, dealing with the general public
Retail Sales Clerk / Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 1, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Diverse work environment
A team player
Enjoyed dealing with general public
Flexible to changing shifts
Enjoyed helping customers with accessorizing and jewelry needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary for the christmas month
Christmas helper/customer service (Former Employee), nanaimo, BCSeptember 29, 2014
temporary for the christmas month, help customers, maintain work area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant and friendly respectful environment
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 25, 2014
The Hudson's Bay Company has been a very positive experience. It has been a welcome change from being a stay at home mom and working from home. Everyone I have worked with have taught me well and made learning the job enjoyable. Due to my calm and patient nature, I interact well with customers and my co-workers. A typical day at work is to maintain – more... all the handbag displays, keep all the shelves clean, and provide exceptional customer service. I have not found anything about this job hard, I have been very eager to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Concierge (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: breaks are long
Cons: shifts are long
Co workers were reliable
average work day was fun
stressful work environment when busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different counters at Hudson's bay
Beauty Advisor- Philosophy counter (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good hours
My day begins with opening the register and counting the float. My co-workers are very loving, nice and supportive. I love interacting with different clients as each have a different story of their own. My job is to sell but also to make sure the client is satisfied with my service. He/She depends on me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major lack of communication, poor attitude of management towards the employees
shipping, receiving maintanence (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: working iwth public
Cons: lack of respect for their employees
There tends to be a very poor level of communication between the management team and the on the floor employees. Little consideration for the employees. Benefits are very poor. Great expectations of the amount of work required without an equal amount of payment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the working time in The Bay is intensely. As the large working area and customers' flot rate. so it is an opportunity to practice customer service.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), SaskatoonSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: 10% discount when you buy goods in the bay
Cons: long hours
co-workers are friendly, knowing different brand of the clothes and what kind of clothes that customers like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of proper and professional management
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABSeptember 13, 2014
I had been a victim of workplace harassment and I was pretty much told that if I wanted to leave I could but there was nothing they could do to make it any better. After complaining several time I had to walk out. Managers there do not care about you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kingston, ONSeptember 13, 2014
A work environment that was made more enjoyable by friendly and helpful coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laidback retail workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 10, 2014
Management is great and very flexible with availability, perfect for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Manager for Polo Ralph Lauren shop (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: very challenging
Cons: long hours
Review Daily sales and report.
Merchandising the shop.
Replenishing.
Conference call.
Product knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Customer Service - Seasonal (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 9, 2014
A typical day is long, you never get home before dinner.. Not good if you have a family or life.. Management needs more training.. I enjoyed a few co-workers... The product was the most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Counter Manager (Current Employee), Regina, SKSeptember 5, 2014
I like to talk with customer, when they are talking, I can find out what they need and what they like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 22, 2014
Manage the revenue and margins of the selling departments within major home fashions.
Build sales and control costs, in major home fashions
Forecast sales and required labour and schedule appropriately for operational efficiency and customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rising Star
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Burlington, OntarioAugust 20, 2014
I was employed by Hudson’s Bay Company from 2008 to 2013. My employment with Hudson’s Bay allowed me to gain invaluable knowledge on providing excellent customer service. As a lead associate and supervisor for the Men’s Department, every day provided an opportunity to turn a negative situation into a positive experience for the customer. In addition, – more... I worked with the Marketing Department, assisting vendors, and reviewing inventory documents. I trained new hires on point of sale process, following policies and procedures, and key sales techniques. I prepared monthly schedules as well as go over submitted hours for payroll. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
Pros: co-workers, people, customers.
Cons: inconsistent schedule
Management and co-workers where easy to get along with, employees goals were to sell credit cards, easy access to eaton centre.

1 2 3 4 5

About Hudson's Bay Company

Hudson's Bay Company (HBC), founded in 1670, is North America's longest continually operated company. Today, HBC offers customers – Read more