Find companies:
Hudson's Bay Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
213 reviews

Hudson's Bay Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Fulfillment position
Fulfillment (Current Employee), Rideau Centre, Ottawa, ONSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: other employees
Cons: management
You will not actually work in the Fulfillment Dept, you're basically a gopher. Paraded around the marketing and stock departments as you're needed. Some of the management is very very unorganized, some are great. Unless you're looking to get experience all over the store (literally) and not in places that you choose or may even like to work, don't waste – more... your time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the working time in The Bay is intensely. As the large working area and customers' flot rate. so it is an opportunity to practice customer service.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), SaskatoonSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: 10% discount when you buy goods in the bay
Cons: long hours
co-workers are friendly, knowing different brand of the clothes and what kind of clothes that customers like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of proper and professional management
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABSeptember 13, 2014
I had been a victim of workplace harassment and I was pretty much told that if I wanted to leave I could but there was nothing they could do to make it any better. After complaining several time I had to walk out. Managers there do not care about you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Kingston, ONSeptember 13, 2014
A work environment that was made more enjoyable by friendly and helpful coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laidback retail workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 10, 2014
Management is great and very flexible with availability, perfect for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Manager for Polo Ralph Lauren shop (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: very challenging
Cons: long hours
Review Daily sales and report.
Merchandising the shop.
Replenishing.
Conference call.
Product knowledge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to work
Customer Service - Seasonal (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 9, 2014
A typical day is long, you never get home before dinner.. Not good if you have a family or life.. Management needs more training.. I enjoyed a few co-workers... The product was the most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Counter Manager (Current Employee), Regina, SKSeptember 5, 2014
I like to talk with customer, when they are talking, I can find out what they need and what they like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding work
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONAugust 22, 2014
Manage the revenue and margins of the selling departments within major home fashions.
Build sales and control costs, in major home fashions
Forecast sales and required labour and schedule appropriately for operational efficiency and customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rising Star
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Burlington, OntarioAugust 20, 2014
I was employed by Hudson’s Bay Company from 2008 to 2013. My employment with Hudson’s Bay allowed me to gain invaluable knowledge on providing excellent customer service. As a lead associate and supervisor for the Men’s Department, every day provided an opportunity to turn a negative situation into a positive experience for the customer. In addition, – more... I worked with the Marketing Department, assisting vendors, and reviewing inventory documents. I trained new hires on point of sale process, following policies and procedures, and key sales techniques. I prepared monthly schedules as well as go over submitted hours for payroll. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
Pros: co-workers, people, customers.
Cons: inconsistent schedule
Management and co-workers where easy to get along with, employees goals were to sell credit cards, easy access to eaton centre.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Luggage Associate
Sales Associate-, (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 12, 2014
•Lead sales associate and supervise sales person’s daily activities
•Generate sales and provide outstanding customer service
•Promote products with proper display and training sales persons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co workers and different everyday
Shipper (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 10, 2014
Pros: one paid break
Cons: managers
Unload truck, deliver stock to the doors, break down boxes, fix things round the floors, help move fixtures and manikins round, wrap furniture. manager expect a lot from my work, but I always fullfill it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hudsons bay company
stock/sales (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 8, 2014
Pros: i move fast pace so i almost always had free time
Cons: be prepared to work extra hard during bay day sales.
it was ok for a while I was taught everything I was supposed to know in a short time considering it started off as a seasonal job I had to learn things very quickly or else I probably wouldn't of been able to keep the job. The staff was actually very polite and they welcomed me in open arms the only thing I suggest for people who apply during the seasonal – more... period I think your best option to keep your job is to stand out go above and beyond in the tasks that they give you show interest and if you want to keep a job take advantage of the fact you are better then all the other employees in your department and talk to your manager depending on who and how they are I am sure they'll take you on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi-Fi job,no benefits, but good place to shop when sales are on.
Sales representative (Former Employee), Guidlford, Surrey BCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches at specific festivals and special ocations.
Cons: not many working hour.
The working team is so good, caring each other, good behaviour and manners. Even the managers respest all employees. It's a nice place to work. They have a good training techniques and customer skills to teach new employees. 1st day at work was warm and awesome. The good part is it's white collar job , But no benefits and wage rate is so-so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commision Based Salary
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 30, 2014
Cons: commision, short hours, hostile work environment
Sales target must achieve
Co-workers are very eager and competative also steal sales
The hardest part of the job is commision based
There is no enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 29, 2014
I enjoy helping people with a positive attitude and a friendly face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely a lot of experience gained there.
Customer Service and Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, ONJuly 23, 2014
At the bay i worked as a customer service, cashier, sales associate.
And i worked in shoes men's wear and suits and luggages so i learnt a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work place with lots of opportunity's.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MB 1485 portageJuly 21, 2014
Pros: staff party's and hour long lunches
Cons: early mornings
A typical day starts with letting in the cleaners, followed by letting the delivery trucks in and receiving packages in to the system.

I learned how to be a team leader and the in's and out's of shipping and receiving.

The management at the Bay is excellent. My manager always lets me know when I'm doing a good job and if I ever need a day off its – more... never a problem.

My co-workers are hard working, enthusiastic and make work very enjoyable.

The hardest part of my job is moving big fixtures.

The most best part of my job is it always keeps me on my feet and never gets boring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with satisfying employee discounts
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: great employee discounts
Cons: hard work, minimum wage
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at The Hudson's Bay Company. When I first started, I was placed in the Men's Wear department, which was an extremely busy section of the store. My co-workers became a second family to me and we all enjoyed our time together while maintaining a productive working environment.

Tasks included cleaning out the fitting – more... rooms, folding dress shirts back together, returning items back on to the floor, handling transactions on the cash register, opening new credit card accounts for customers, and accepting credit and debit payments.

After working at Men's Wear for nearly two years I was transferred to Lingerie where I completed training to fit customer's for undergarments. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Hudson's Bay Company

Hudson's Bay Company (HBC), founded in 1670, is North America's longest continually operated company. Today, HBC offers customers – Read more