Hub International Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured, efficient and fun!
PERSONAL LINES ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 November 2017
Hub International has been amazing for me in both Manitoba and BC. wonderful management team and organization of the many offices they hold. Best work-life balance i've established so far in the insurance industry. Perfect for those looking to get involved with insurance
Pros
Happy enviroment
Cons
Open Sundays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful for a reason
Manager (Current Employee) –  British Columbia6 October 2017
HUB is successful for a reason. It's a large company but still has an entrepreneurial spirit and staff have the ability to always do what is right for their clients (both external and internal).

At a company as large as HUB, you have growth opportunities both locally and across the organization. You are only really limited by yourself.

We work hard but have fun while doing it.
Pros
Great growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work life balance
Insurance Broker (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC5 October 2017
no work life balance everything good happens at head office if your not there don't apply work long hours with over time for nothing
11 hour days is the norm
Pros
if your work 30 hours a day you can make alot of money
Cons
work every weekend and lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company but cheap
Personal insurance Advisor (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC29 September 2017
Hub is big and reputable company.

However, Management and company's culture is very narrow minded and old fashioned.
Little to no support to employees.
Salary increase only after 2 years of working for them, no bonuses.
Very hard to get promoted and move between departments.
Pros
Big company
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Temporary Mail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 September 2017
I was here temporarily, I enjoyed learning new things and getting to know everyone in the office as i Picked up all there mail that was suppose to get delivered.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bias management
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2017
Management is bias. not encouraging employees. Not repact hard work. Not a best place to work. I learned how to manage with turf customers. No growth opportunity.
Pros
Not much pros
Cons
Bias management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and forward thinking company
Commercial Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2017
HUB International is the largest brokerage in Canada for a reason. They provide a lot of resources to their employees and provide a productive and focus driven work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  British Columbia19 June 2017
LOTS OF WORK- very little pay. Expect a 0 life/work balance. It is all about pushing through the clients with no thought for their employees. Management turns a blind eye. Very little pay. Good place to start and then jump to something else within 1 year. Wouldn't reccomend this company
Pros
It is a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter place to work with limited experience
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Armstrong, BC3 June 2017
Hub International is a great place to start your Insurance career. They are great for training. Very little room for wage increase however. There is room for advancement within the company but only due to poor turn over.
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Business Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC29 March 2017
Pretty much a normal day in the life of an IT guy. You usually start the morning providing support to the end users and management as needed via email, chat or phone. It was a family environment with a good relationship with the other employees and co workers. I enjoyed the team I was with as we were all there to help eachother and keep the business functioning from a technology stand point.

The hardest part of the job was keeping a work/life balance as current technology makes it so easy to stay connected to work even once the day is over.

I enjoyed my time with HUB and hope to find a similar environment one day.
Pros
Family environment.
Cons
Hard to find a work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management / Pressure
Claims Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2017
I spent my entire time there looking over my shoulder. Everyone seemed to be in a hurry. My manager talked out of both sides of the mouth and sanctioned bullying. Glad to be gone.
Pros
Lots of meetings
Cons
bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unprofessional
AUTO INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC15 March 2017
management was never there, children were running the business, and not too professional on the training, management were lazy. i was over worked under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture unfair wage
Insurance agent (Former Employee) –  British Columbia20 December 2016
I worked for Hub for two years. The turn over is very high. Due to the job demands versus the pay. The more people quit the more work is on your lap. I would not recommend working for this company.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company to work for.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC10 November 2016
A great opportunity to learn more about the accounting world from a very unique perspective. It is a large company with many different aspects to learn from
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply to this company
Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 October 2016
I worked at the Oakville location and this was the worst job I've ever had. You feel like a slave, everyone is miserable and management is brutal. Everyone is walking on egg shells and nobody stays here long.DO NOT wast your time applying here. They don't pay well either.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Slave Drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Relax environment
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC30 August 2016
My Team was awesome, amazing controller and supervisor, able to learn a thing or two but do not expect much growth but definitely relax environment don't expect a competitive salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ce que j'ai appris
Adjointe (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 March 2016
J'ai appris à être autonome dans mon travail. J'ai aimer travailler avec une équipe dynamique. Ils m'ont beaucoup appris au point de vue professionel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Commercial Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC9 February 2016
Good company to work for. Decent support structure. Average marketing department. Good training program for new employees.
Pay is average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Auto Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 March 2015
Company was good to work for. Great Benefits, not enough communications between management. Great place depending on location, you are working for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working in a busy environment
Account Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mississauag27 November 2014
meet requirements, work and get things done on time, work as team , adapt systems changes until succeed, always take the initiative, efforts, contribution, and most of all co-operation and communication, enjoyable part is work independently with or without supervision, acts quickly and take initiative, I always work in advance and meet deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 34Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hub International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4